General Accident Reviews

3.0 Rating 557 Reviews
50 %
of reviewers recommend General Accident
3.0
Based on 557 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat

Write Your review

Tell us how General Accident made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
No loyalty to me after two years with them. Given a renewal price of £414 after last years £324 ??? Then with one week to the end of their policy they came up with £363 !!!! Unacceptable sharp practice from a previously top rated company !!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
My only current issue with GA is that my blackbox seems to only consider lower scores. My bb score per journey rarely if at all drops past a certain benchmark but over the weeks it continuously drops despite my individual journey scores not decreasing. Even when I drive near perfectly my score doesn’t improve. And I always always lose a point when I drive on the motorway which is impossible to avoid because of where I live and where I go to uni. I’m a student and I can’t afford to have my insurance cancelled because of “bad driving” where it isn’t even the case. I went with them because they’re cheap and I anticipated no issues but the lack of accuracy on this blackbox is an issue waiting to happen. And obviously there’s no phone to call them on or an alternative blackbox they can install so I don’t even know what to do or if I can get help. It’s frustrating because I’m not looking to cancel I just want a fairer blackbox so I can finish out my contract and shop elsewhere come renewal time.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Shocking service takes ages to reply As no phone contact cant even change dd date
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
Big over charge for cancellation of motor policy which only had three months to go
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
Told them I would not be renewing policy and they tried to say it would cost me
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Tried to call Customer Service, gave up after 15 minutes on hold
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
Dealt with a claim vrty welll but the online set up is poor and im two days from my renewal. i dont know how much its for because their password reset doesn't work properly. Wish me luck......
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Needed to speak to someone and CD only access on line won't be using them again.
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
I have tried to contact GA and there website is unhelpful and I have tried to email them and it says server down, I cant call them, so how the hell am I expected to deal with them?????? They are absolutely shoddy.
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 4 years ago
Rubbish
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 4 years ago
I am not at all impressed with this provider. Somebody hit and run my car on Jan 3rd and the repair has only just been organised!! Also they are hard to get hold of. They do not provide paper copies of the insurance details and I have no printer to print them out for myself. I will not be using General Accident again when my Insurance comes up for renewal in August!
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 4 years ago
I think the insurance should keep in contact with the customers. I've had no contact since I bought my policy. Everything seems to be on line.
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 4 years ago
Unable to contact them keep being told ring back
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 4 years ago
ferry hard to get intouch with
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Great initially. Had my car written off by someone who wouldn't admit liability. Paid my £300 excess with the understanding I would get it back when they made a full recovery from third party insurers. Two years down the line, I can't get my excess back. By the tone of voice of the person I spoke to today, he didn't believe I'd actually physically paid an excess and are not giving me my money back. Won't go with them again. Would rather pay more for a better customer service. Pay peanuts, get monkeys springs to mind.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Found a car insurance quote that looked good via MoneySupermarket, but needed to query something. Gave up after 15mins on hold on the quote "help" line. No big deal, but would be if I was making a claim? If they're this lax about new biz I can't imagine existing policyholders get looked after? Then noticed they hadn't quoted as requested (no protected no claims...), so wondered what else they'd wriggle out of if I thought I had it. Shame. A great old name in insurance too...
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Well i have not had to contact you up until now. I have now bought a new vehicle and want to change my insurance to this vehicle but have no number for them so have to do it by email which seems a little silly to me. Wont be using them again after January 2017.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Appalling customer service. If you're "lucky" to have a 30 day phone line to them, you will wait forever to speak to someone. No apologies when you finally get through, the staff sound as if they could not care less. Good riddance.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
i have a quote to buy a new policy. i had a quiery and phoned to get an answer. after a wait on line i entered a number for a call back. none came same proceedure next day. i will now look else where.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Won't buy another contactless policy
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 5 years ago
General Accident is rated 3.0 based on 557 reviews