General Accident Reviews

3.0 Rating 557 Reviews
50 %
of reviewers recommend General Accident
3.0
Based on 557 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat

Write Your review

Tell us how General Accident made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Don't make the same mistake as me As a first time driver, general accident was the cheapest option so I went with them despite the poor reviews I had read online. - I repeatedly received texts informing me I had been speeding, including one informing me I had somehow gone over 70mph on a day when the only driving I had done was a 5 minute Tesco run. There is no way to challenge these claims as it is not possible to contact the company after the first month of your cover. -My insurance ran out recently, I received no communication whatsoever and no renewal offer. My policy documents simply disappeared from the 'my account' page and that was it. - The app that is meant to be used to track your driving is horrendous, it constantly crashes and the information is not presented clearly which makes it very difficult to improve your driving to earn a better score. In addition, the scoring seems completely arbitrary I can drive like a saint and still earn poor scores. Edit: My policy just got cancelled for speeding, exactly seven days before it was due to end. Out of the kindness of their hearts, general accident is covering me for the next seven days (which I will have to pay for of course - as well as a £125 'administration' fee). I thought my opinion of this company could not get any lower but they are complete scum. I'll put the same information as my complaint below: My policy has been cancelled for speeding, suspiciously on the same date it was already due to end, the only difference now being I have to pay a £125 cancellation fee as well as the price for the next seven days of cover. I do not speed and after receiving the second notification on the 5th of March I sent an email to your customer support to find out when and where you claimed I was speeding I received no response I followed up this request for more information yesterday and was sent a cancellation email today. If I was speeding (which I am sure I have not been) a time and date would have been useful to help rectify this issue, simply telling me I was speeding 'at some point over the weekend' is useless in actually helping me address the issue, but I suppose that's the point. You are simply looking for a way to cancel the policy, charge the cancellation fee, making yourselves as much money as possible since you were already aware I would not be a returning customer.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
The company deserve bankruptcy a joke of a company you can't even get a reply from these money grabbers joke joke joke of a company
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Absolutely awful. Got an email after 6 months of driving, saying that over that period, I was speeding on the same 30mph road 3 times. The black box is faulty, and doesn’t know what the bloody speed limit is. I’m a great and safe driver and I use my cruise control to make sure I don’t speed. It’s ridiculous now I have to pay £6000 a year through a different provider for the negligence. Don’t have a human answering the phone, all automated. Save yourself the time, money and hassle and don’t be a cheap skate. Can’t believe they’re still up and running after reading what other people have had to say👎
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
NEED A PHONE NUMBER TO TALK TO SOMEONE PLEASE!!! NOT REPLYING TO ANY EMAILS...SO FRUSTRATING>
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Worst company ever! Don't ever go with this company. Apparently I was speeding and randomly received a email in my junk folder stating my insurance will be cancelled in the next 7 days. I tried to contact them numerous ways but no response it's like a ghost company you pay the money and your car is insured. Never go for this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
AVOID!!!!!!! In my first year of insurance I was involved in a car accident, that wasn't my fault, that wrote my car off. General Accident called me the next day to say the third party admitted fault. I then wanted to cancel my policy when it came to an end and paid a deposit with another company. A couple days later it came back as CANCELLED as the third party had not admitted fault. There was also another claim made against me that they did not make me aware of! I then had to continue using them as an insurance company because being a young driver no one would insure me. So when my insurance was cheaper with someone else I went to change with them telling my insurance would end on 30.1.17 23:59. I got an email this morning saying my policy is already cancelled and my new policy doesn't start until tomorrow with my new insurer. Meaning I have to insure my car for A DAY with someone else. Don't believe the 24 hour contact number either. It's only available for the first 30 days of you policy after that it's really difficult to get hold of them. Awful company! AVOID! AVOID! AVOID!!!!!!!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Very simple thing - before going ahead to buy their policy, called the company to check in which form they accept proof of no claim discount. Well, they would not accept an official letter of "Motor proposal confirmation" sent by my previous insure Sainsbury's Bank. The letter included all necessary details with no claim bonus clearly stated. They said that "Motor proposal confirmation" is not a right document. Good, I stay away from this company! Imagine through what nonsense you would have to go if you need to make a claim!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
It's been two weeks since their policy holder crashed into me and still nothing! I've been on hold 6 times for between 25-35 minutes and there's been no answer. Also no reply to my emails! I finally got through today to be told they hadn't even started the process and so it would take a further two days for the process to be started. Very poor service and has left me without a car for two weeks already, God knows how much longer it's going to take now
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
Cheap and easy to follow the steps Recently bought car insurance. Will update for further details
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
my mrs changed her car carnt get hold of you so had to take out a policy with churchill mine payed last DD by the bank then i cancelled it you say you havent had your money bank says you have youre going cancel my insurance yet youve had all the money going with some else YOU ARE THE WORST COMPANY i have ever been with. ps you owe me 3month insurance money
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I will NEVER renew or recommend anyone to general accident. Been with them 2 years and never claimed. However, im in a non fault claim and 3rd party dealing with all my claim car and personal injury. I have been trying to change my policy, amend my policy, and take out gap insurance, plus ask about legal protection. I tried to do on line but does not give options , quotes etc. Or answer 2 questions so i asked for a call . The reply was if i want a call to discuss my policy then i will be charged administration fee. .how do they get away with this. Im 5 days off getting my new car i fear i will get nowhere. I cant talk to a pc . I need a human being to go tho options. My advice STAY CLEAR of this company . Never again will i use
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Absolutely terrible customer service. Cant phone them. Cant log into site. 35 requests later I get a password reset which still doesn't work. My new car is at dealer and I cant collect it as unable to change vehicle details. STEER CLEAR OF THIS COMPANY!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dealt with a claim vrty welll but the online set up is poor and im two days from my renewal. i dont know how much its for because their password reset doesn't work properly. Wish me luck......
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I have recently been with this company, i was unable to log into my black box and received no warnings, I had a email in my junk stating my insurance will be cancelled in the next 7 days so I cancelled my insurance with them. I have also tried to ring them they no longer have a phone and they do not reply to emails. Do not go with this company
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Absolutely appalling service, would not recommend. No customer service call centre, our problem was only resolved by getting our bank involved ! Avoid at all cost
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dreadful service!!! No reply to my emails, no assistance with a claim, no-one answers the phone!! I had to deal with the third party insurers myself. Avoid at all cost!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
To much money for my age group!
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 4 years ago
Bunch of scam artists
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
awful service
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 4 years ago
Wouldn’t insure me because my brother had a claim which has nothing to do with me. Messed around with me for a week wasting my time. Useless pricks
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
General Accident is rated 3.0 based on 557 reviews