General Accident Reviews

3.0 Rating 556 Reviews
50 %
of reviewers recommend General Accident
3.0
Based on 556 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat

Write Your review

Tell us how General Accident made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Over 6 months and I'm still waiting for my car to be fixed!! I have had no communication from anyone regards to the accident/claim I've had to do their Job for them and have spend hours of my time sitting around phoning people and chasing up what is happening with my car to be told it will get done when it gets done. After last speaking to them in July chasing things up I rang Friday to be called a liar about phone calls and that the garage had tried to contact me several times to book my car and only once did they try which I answered but no one on the other end of the phone after 3 minutes. And now they have switched where my car is getting repaired so now I'm back at square 1 and have no idea where I stand and when I'm car is going in and it's 26 weeks since someone crashed into my car. This company and vizion are a joke and are quite fond of putting the phone down on you when you've waited on the phone for over 30 mins! Don't go with them.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
No loyalty to me after two years with them. Given a renewal price of £414 after last years £324 ??? Then with one week to the end of their policy they came up with £363 !!!! Unacceptable sharp practice from a previously top rated company !!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
This has got to be the worst company I have ever used .. avoid this company
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I wound advice not to choose this company. As I paid big money for the incurrence.After I had an accident and company write off my car as it was cat N. Promised to pay £3000-£250 aces fee. But they paid only £1850 no even provide any document .
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Very helpful & easy to take on car insurance instantly
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Worst company I have ever dealt with
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Two weeks ago I contacted General Accident registering a glass claim for a shattered car window. I was told to speak to Auto windscreens which I did. They informed me that they were unable to get the window. I contacted General Accident and informed them of this. I was told to call national Windscreens and Autoglass. I called national Windscreens and was informed that they could not get the window either. I called auto Glass but they said that they do not deal with General Accident. I called General Accident back again and was told to resource the window myself. Despite a huge amount of time searching I have been unable to resource a window. I contacted General Accident and explained this and that they should be sorting this out and not myself as thats why I pay insurance. I was informed that an engineer at General Accident had been spoken to and agreed and that this would now be escalated. A few days later I received a text from Auto Windscreens stating that they were unable to help as they could not resource a window. I already knew this !!!. I again called General accident and went through all this again (With a very helpful young lady) who said that this had now been escalated to the top level, whatever that might mean. I again called General Accident and was informed that there is no record of the claim as its a glass claim and this was with the escalation department. i asked for their number but have been told that its not possible to speak to anyone. I have now had an insecure car on the driveway with a broken window for two weeks with water pouring in when it rains. (Unfoirtunalety due to being a cabriolet its difficult to make a seal and the car is used daily) Coincidentally I've had an auto renewal come through with a contact number thereon. when I call the number it asks for my policy number. When I put this in it says that the policy number isnt recognised. I registered an online complaint but still haven't heard anything back. General Accident really are a joke and avoid at all cost !!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Tried to pay, on various occasions through Amazon Pay, without success. Kept getting emails saying not paid. Tried to contact General Accident on various occasions. No joy! No phone number. No address to forward any payment. Insurance was good price. Disappointed!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
I tried to ensure my new car carrying on from the old policy to a new one. Simple action you might think having been told to call back. Previous policy due to expire very soon in May. Advisors in Customer Service had no idea how to insure under a new registration plate even after doing a search with the specific make and model details I'd provided. (Checked details with a well-known car dealership on the phone twice to ensure accuracy). Took two phone calls with both advisors at GA, having to go off the line to find out what to do next. In the end I was told they could not insure my new car but prior to this they found the wrong make and model so I could have ended up with void insurance due to incompetent staff imputting incorrect details into their computer system regarding my new vehicle!!! I got so frustrated with the lack of help and knowledge, I simply gave up and have take my business elsewhere now. Funny, as the new insurance company I'm using found the details easily through a search on their systems so why couldn't GA do the same? Mind boggling! There is no means for being able to complain either on your personal account site. This says it all really, they don't like feedback at all and therefore never learn from their mistakes by listening. Personally, it was a case of either lazy staff, a lack of knowledge with not enough training provided or simply GA do not like to insure new vehicles as it costs more to replace if there is an accident? Also when I had a previous accident, my policy covered a curtesy car for me which I never got but GA were still charging me this. Poor service all round, won't be returning to them unless they do better. An easy task of transferring over a policy from one car to another was a complete and utter disgraceful nightmare today and a far too larger job for their call centre to deal with. Little point in them existing then if they can't carry out a simple policy change? Will lose mountains of business and profits if they treat customers like I have been. A very frustrated customer soon to be gone for good from GA who are incompetent! Do they care, the answer is nope! Never hear anything back. Awful situation and spoilt me getting a new car I worked hard for. Steer clear is my best advice to anyone thinking of becoming customer of theirs. Not worth the agro and stress caused.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
General Accident insurance provided my daughter, a young driver with the best cover at the cheapest price. They made the process so easy.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Saved £175.00 by changing to this company.. also got extra benefits at no extra cost. Which I would have to pay for with my existing company this will end in June.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
New to this company
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
They renewed my policy with out checking with me with no discount stuck in paying for another 6 months you cannot get hold of them with your policy number either seems like a scam can’t wait to finish paying and change provider
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
I am in the process of making a claim for repair to my vehicle which was straightforward until you have a query. Like can I get the tyre repaired locally. I was unable to speak to any one except 'live chat, to a call centre far away who were unable to help or make any decisions. Further the only repair garage offered was 1 hr away. I cannot believe in a large city like Bristol you havent got appointed repairers. They say you never know how good a car insurance company is until you make a claim. I will not be renewing this policy. Oh and I have just heard from The garage that they cannot repair the vehicle until 5th May the incident happened on the 26th March 6 weeks!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Contacted them to change my insurance for the vehicle purchased in readiness for 1/3/2002 .The reply was not possible as the BMW model is not listed on our system.This made me drop GA and look for another insurer.Very pleased to find Admiral pleasant people with a competitive price
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Received an email informing me that this company was not inviting me to renew my car insurance. No explanation given. Could not speak to a real person. Eventually discovered the reason was my age, I'm 81! This smacks of age discrimination. In 65 years of motoring (cars and bikes), this is one of the worst insurance companies I have ever dealt with. If I could have given zero marks I would have done so. Customer service with this rabble is a joke.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Trying to change my medical status cannot access there customer services it's a joke and adding to my anxiousness. Can't wait till renewal. I have been with them over two years all goes well when starting ir renewing my policy however after 38 days nothing
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
General accident is a scam! You may think you are insured, but you are not. I was involved in an accident September 2021 and its now 4 MONTHS and counting without general accident settling my claim. They will make you suffer. Each time you call and say you are enquiring about your claim they either hang up, put you on a very long hold that goes straight to voice mail, or tell you they are going to check on it and you should call back next week. The only good experience you will get is when it's time to pay your premium.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Where to begin this company is an absolute joke. I was involved in an accident in July that was not my fault as I was reversed into. This resulted in my car having a cracked grill and bumper. It took the garage 5-6 weeks to repair my car. When my car came back it looked brand new. Perfect I thought, nope. A week or two later the wheel falls off. Luckily I was driving slow on the back roads so no one was hurt. Two weeks have passed almost three and my car is lying in the garage gathering dust. Wqit half an hour on the phone only to get hung up on. They pass me through to Aviva or Vizion network. Vizion network are meant to manage the body repair shop. They don't. They all blame each other. They hang up on you. I have no car. Not been given a courtesy car. They are blaming the garage for this. joke of a company. If I cpuld leqve no stars I would. I will be taking this further...
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
I had an accident that was not my fault and hit at 50-60 mph. This was May 2020 and medical agency still not in touch Sept 2021. I know we have COVID etc, but the Legal teams that are employed must be better elsewhere?? Hire car company and efficiency are spot on, legal side let's them down hugely.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
General Accident is rated 3.0 based on 556 reviews