Halifax Insurance Reviews

2.7 Rating 437 Reviews
43 %
of reviewers recommend Halifax Insurance
2.7
Based on 437 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read Halifax Insurance Reviews
Visit Website

Email:

security@halifax.co.uk

Write Your review

Tell us how Halifax Insurance made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Terrible! Happy to take over £1000 a year for past 15 years but can’t even answer the phone or reply to messages and emails. Having read other reviews I’m not alone. Moving companies next year.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Halifax did not send me a letter or email about renewal this summer. I was two months without insurance! When I phoned them to get it renewed they a) kept me on a paid for phone line for 25 minutes - just for a renewal! And b) quoted me over twice as much at the end of that phone call. All I’d claimed last year was for a windscreen replacement. I changed to another, of course, but I think it was VERY POOR service.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
I have a claim with Halifax Car Insurance but as the claim progressed it became clear they personally deal with nothing they are just an intermediary. My claim was passed to Enterprise Credit Hire who before taking the claim forward required me to sign a Credit agreement which left me liable to cost recover if they could not recover costs from the 3rd party. This type of product is totally unregulated and as such if I had any dispute with Enterprise their would be no options for recourse. Eventually after many frustrating conversations with customer services and claims handlers I was advised the policy is underwritten by AXA and I could discuss the issue with them. Thankfully the lady was amazing and they are arranging everything no credit agreement required. What have I paid Halifax for? due to being informed there is not a complaints department I have emailed the chief executive James Crosby James_Crosby@Halifax.co.uk I advise everyone to do the same then some changes may take place.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
How surprising ! I had an issue after a bump in my Nissan … I had transferred my insurance from a corsa previously but the operative did not move my no claims protection as requested … as previously … this was battled out and Halifax agreed that I was correct and that this would apply … I have this in writing … well well … upon renewal the price has increased by more £1,000 per annum !! I rang … no excuses given just … it’s gone up …!! Is this because I put in several complaints about the service … ??? Shocking and outrageous service throughout … went up from £35 pm to £145 pm … how can that be nobody else is charging this despite the claim … ( protected ) … come on Halifax what’s the craic here … don’t moan or we work you out ???
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Halifax is a useless car insurance who sold ur policy to a third party and they do nothing for the customer. Please avoid Halifax insurance to the best as possible. That are the worst insurance company ever
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Absolutely useless, happy to take your money but when it comes to claim they don’t want to know, had insurance for 10 years with them and never claimed, came to claim and they referred me to a third party, they have been impossible to contact, they have asked me for the same information on several occasions, I have submitted it and they never get back in touch, almost 3 weeks now and still not had a settlement, I’ve had to pay out of my own pocket now
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Unhelpful! Promises not kept! Home emergency not worth the paper it written on. Roof leaking two days to respond - contractor eventually arrives stands in rear garden and looks at the roof from ground level “nothing wrong with the roof” no ladders even removed from the van his colleague didn’t even leave the van until a torch was required, and left! Phoned to hear the contractor had attended and looked at the front of the house 🤣 no damage visible believes leak via mortar at side of property! Halifax advised to complain calls recorded - Home emergency it’s down to Halifax buildings and contents! Manage to obtain a trustworthy local roof contractor some 6 days after emergency. These guys out a ladder to the roof a bungalow by the way so not high up! Immediately identified a broken/damaged tile within one metre of the guttering. Removed the tile repaired the leak and replaced with new tile. All in 45 minutes and fetching a new tile! Halifax / Home emergency deny fault rely on subcontractors they employ not me. Damage slightly worse as issue on going in current weather - not interested. Just re read home emergency cover lifted from Halifax web site which states make temporary repair to prevent roof leak! It’s lies just lies! Promise call backs but still waiting! Not fit for purpose DO Not Use! I should have read the trust pilot reviews earlier!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Halifax insurance produce great products at competitive prices They have an easy to use well designed website
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
We were really pleased with the level of communication from Halifax and ease. However, our renewal price was not competitive at all even after speaking to them and then offering us a discount it was still almost double what we could get elsewhere with the same excess and listed items.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Deplorable service … had a prang … two and a half weeks later the car is taken for assessment ! … my ‘guaranteed’ replacement car I can’t have as the repairer doesn’t have one and neither do their designated car rental company enterprise so I am without ability to get to work or to any emergencies… no excuses pretty much tough luck even though I pay for it … no apologies or offers to remunerate for travel costs given it is not my problem but theirs .. too many intermediaries.. Halifax , underwriter, car repair organiser, car repairer… I have spent hours on the phone to these people … just for a simple repair job … never again … shocking !
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Halifax Car Insurance is just a marketing front for abysmal customer service provided by various faceless organisations - 3 months after a no-fault rear end bump and I am still waiting for my car to be repaired ! After the initial report Halifax bow out and Enterprise, IMS, Markerstudy and Minster Law take over. What a dogs dinner they make of it, no communication, no common sense and a lack of joined up knowledge that is hard to believe. Why, do once reputable firms join up with such partners who drag them down with such poor customer service. Obviously I've not renewed with Halifax and my Home Insurance will also be moved next year - this won't cause them concern I know but at least I can vote with my feet as well as sharing my experiences.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
what an absolute joke, i have just tried to call them to discuss my renewal and they will not speak to me because they cannot get me through the security. but they don't want to know normal things like my name address date of birth post code email, telephone number, how i pay, the amount i pay what date i pay etc - that not enough no they want details of the policy that i just cannot answer. I am now off to make a formal complaint to the ICO as they are holding my data and will not give me access to what they are holding which is a breach. What's wrong with these companies?
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Bad experience is the understatement given I’ve just received my home insurance renewal that has gone up 95%! With no reason other than your premium is based on our risk assessment in your area. We have very crime, no flooding, no subsidence reported in our area, and no demonic possession apart from whoever decided to raise our premium. A desultory £100 reduction was offered. Would I like to complain? To quote Mark Rylance in Bridge of Spies “would it help?”
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I've had car insurance from Halifax for 3 years on the trot, usually better deals come from switching to a different provider, but happy to say that was not the case for me. One very happy customer!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
So I have passed my driveing test in April and I have had noting but trouble with Halifax car insurance somebody crashed in to me had a letter to say it was not my fault but Halifax have got it down as its my fault thay haven't listened to a word I say I will not be going a head with my car insurance with Halifax ever agin absolutely rubbish cost me a job I was in no sorry kiss my ass or nothing like I said I would not recommend these
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
If it was possible to give negative star ratings it would be 99.99% negative, the 0.01% would be given because it is not possible to give the full 100% Never have I ever had to put up with so many dishonest, deceitful, underhanded and downright disgraceful acts if dishonesty other thzn when I had to investigate criminals in the police service If thete was ever a case for a company to be forced to cease trading then the Halifax insurance comoany is a prime example of everything that is rotten with large corporate companies in the UK. Sadly this is not a unique one off case these days, especially with insurance companies. Do yourself a favour, stay away from Halifax Insurance, it will be one if the better decisions you make in your life.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Have been with Halifax 40 plus years with no claim Moved into new build 4years ago Four weeks later we had a burst pipe causing extensive damage The builder/ plumber admitted liability Claim is still not settled . Indeed Halifax has not been in touch for more than two years Halifax have now increased insurance 100% with no explanation We cannot get insurance from other companies as this claim isn’t settled and we don’t have a claim value. After phoning Halifax they were so unhelpful They have stopped me renewing elsewhere and after four years we still have a unsettled claim None of this is our fault as the builder/plumber have admitted liability
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I was promised that they have 5 day SLA on every phone claim, now I am being told that it's actually 9 working days as they need 3 days to pickup 3 for engineer to look at it and 3 days to drop.. so not sure how is that 5 days.. can someone explain?
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Halifax charged me 282 pounds for insurance last year and I have an ultimate reward account with them paying 15 ounds per month. The renewal for this year is 540 pounds. I have not claimed on house insurance for over 20 years so why has the premium doubled? Is it because they think people won't check the price? Ridiculous and needless to say I won't be reinsuring with them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
very very very poor company...not recomended...
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Halifax Insurance is rated 2.7 based on 437 reviews