Halifax Insurance Reviews

2.7 Rating 448 Reviews
45 %
of reviewers recommend Halifax Insurance
2.7
Based on 448 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read Halifax Insurance Reviews
Visit Website

Email:

security@halifax.co.uk

Write Your review

Tell us how Halifax Insurance made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Unhelpful! Promises not kept! Home emergency not worth the paper it written on. Roof leaking two days to respond - contractor eventually arrives stands in rear garden and looks at the roof from ground level “nothing wrong with the roof” no ladders even removed from the van his colleague didn’t even leave the van until a torch was required, and left! Phoned to hear the contractor had attended and looked at the front of the house 🤣 no damage visible believes leak via mortar at side of property! Halifax advised to complain calls recorded - Home emergency it’s down to Halifax buildings and contents! Manage to obtain a trustworthy local roof contractor some 6 days after emergency. These guys out a ladder to the roof a bungalow by the way so not high up! Immediately identified a broken/damaged tile within one metre of the guttering. Removed the tile repaired the leak and replaced with new tile. All in 45 minutes and fetching a new tile! Halifax / Home emergency deny fault rely on subcontractors they employ not me. Damage slightly worse as issue on going in current weather - not interested. Just re read home emergency cover lifted from Halifax web site which states make temporary repair to prevent roof leak! It’s lies just lies! Promise call backs but still waiting! Not fit for purpose DO Not Use! I should have read the trust pilot reviews earlier!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Halifax insurance produce great products at competitive prices They have an easy to use well designed website
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
We were really pleased with the level of communication from Halifax and ease. However, our renewal price was not competitive at all even after speaking to them and then offering us a discount it was still almost double what we could get elsewhere with the same excess and listed items.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Deplorable service … had a prang … two and a half weeks later the car is taken for assessment ! … my ‘guaranteed’ replacement car I can’t have as the repairer doesn’t have one and neither do their designated car rental company enterprise so I am without ability to get to work or to any emergencies… no excuses pretty much tough luck even though I pay for it … no apologies or offers to remunerate for travel costs given it is not my problem but theirs .. too many intermediaries.. Halifax , underwriter, car repair organiser, car repairer… I have spent hours on the phone to these people … just for a simple repair job … never again … shocking !
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Halifax Car Insurance is just a marketing front for abysmal customer service provided by various faceless organisations - 3 months after a no-fault rear end bump and I am still waiting for my car to be repaired ! After the initial report Halifax bow out and Enterprise, IMS, Markerstudy and Minster Law take over. What a dogs dinner they make of it, no communication, no common sense and a lack of joined up knowledge that is hard to believe. Why, do once reputable firms join up with such partners who drag them down with such poor customer service. Obviously I've not renewed with Halifax and my Home Insurance will also be moved next year - this won't cause them concern I know but at least I can vote with my feet as well as sharing my experiences.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
what an absolute joke, i have just tried to call them to discuss my renewal and they will not speak to me because they cannot get me through the security. but they don't want to know normal things like my name address date of birth post code email, telephone number, how i pay, the amount i pay what date i pay etc - that not enough no they want details of the policy that i just cannot answer. I am now off to make a formal complaint to the ICO as they are holding my data and will not give me access to what they are holding which is a breach. What's wrong with these companies?
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Bad experience is the understatement given I’ve just received my home insurance renewal that has gone up 95%! With no reason other than your premium is based on our risk assessment in your area. We have very crime, no flooding, no subsidence reported in our area, and no demonic possession apart from whoever decided to raise our premium. A desultory £100 reduction was offered. Would I like to complain? To quote Mark Rylance in Bridge of Spies “would it help?”
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I've had car insurance from Halifax for 3 years on the trot, usually better deals come from switching to a different provider, but happy to say that was not the case for me. One very happy customer!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
So I have passed my driveing test in April and I have had noting but trouble with Halifax car insurance somebody crashed in to me had a letter to say it was not my fault but Halifax have got it down as its my fault thay haven't listened to a word I say I will not be going a head with my car insurance with Halifax ever agin absolutely rubbish cost me a job I was in no sorry kiss my ass or nothing like I said I would not recommend these
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
If it was possible to give negative star ratings it would be 99.99% negative, the 0.01% would be given because it is not possible to give the full 100% Never have I ever had to put up with so many dishonest, deceitful, underhanded and downright disgraceful acts if dishonesty other thzn when I had to investigate criminals in the police service If thete was ever a case for a company to be forced to cease trading then the Halifax insurance comoany is a prime example of everything that is rotten with large corporate companies in the UK. Sadly this is not a unique one off case these days, especially with insurance companies. Do yourself a favour, stay away from Halifax Insurance, it will be one if the better decisions you make in your life.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Have been with Halifax 40 plus years with no claim Moved into new build 4years ago Four weeks later we had a burst pipe causing extensive damage The builder/ plumber admitted liability Claim is still not settled . Indeed Halifax has not been in touch for more than two years Halifax have now increased insurance 100% with no explanation We cannot get insurance from other companies as this claim isn’t settled and we don’t have a claim value. After phoning Halifax they were so unhelpful They have stopped me renewing elsewhere and after four years we still have a unsettled claim None of this is our fault as the builder/plumber have admitted liability
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
I was promised that they have 5 day SLA on every phone claim, now I am being told that it's actually 9 working days as they need 3 days to pickup 3 for engineer to look at it and 3 days to drop.. so not sure how is that 5 days.. can someone explain?
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Halifax charged me 282 pounds for insurance last year and I have an ultimate reward account with them paying 15 ounds per month. The renewal for this year is 540 pounds. I have not claimed on house insurance for over 20 years so why has the premium doubled? Is it because they think people won't check the price? Ridiculous and needless to say I won't be reinsuring with them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
very very very poor company...not recomended...
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Appalling. Took out an insurance with them to start in two weeks. Declared previous accidents but got the exact date wrong. They put the price up by nearly £100. I rang they were very unhelpful so I cancelled. And they charged twenty pounds cancellation fee. Wouldn't budge. Reading these reviews think I have had a lucky escape. WHAT A DISGRACE to the Halifax name beware
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Very good. I used them last year and they were very good.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Stay away from Halifax home insurance we had roof damage caused by 3 storms in february 2022 we have made over 30 calls and 30 e-mails to person in charge of our claim and gets ignored or never received them even though they are logged on our phones and can be proved she is useless they are refusing to pay as it is ware & tare according to there contractor who never went on it only walked around the house with a camera on a pole and never went on the roof even though it s a flat roof on the extension. We were told to get 2 estimates we did this and both quotes were around £5500 and the guys found the problem straight away but still they say they are not paying got a copy of there contractors reports and they say the roof looks good but getting old the problem is not the roof but the side of the house where the storm hit it hard with winds over 60mph and has lifted the whole side which is allowing the rain water, snow and wind under the roof and inside the house we have to have the kitchen ceiling hall ceiling and bedroom ceiling replaced as well. The customer services are useless they hang up if they can't answer your questions and are not interested to cut a long story short we have had to go to the ombudsman as we are fed up of being lied too. Avoid and save your money
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Halifax & Lloyds insurance is the worst insurance company ever they refuse to pay for anything
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
It was a good deal for car insurance.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
I got a auto renewal I never wanted. These are designed to rip pensioners off. I had told them I didn’t want it yet it was activated. I refused to pay the charge and it went to a debt collector.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Halifax Insurance is rated 2.7 based on 448 reviews