Halifax Insurance Reviews

2.7 Rating 437 Reviews
43 %
of reviewers recommend Halifax Insurance
2.7
Based on 437 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read Halifax Insurance Reviews
Visit Website

Email:

security@halifax.co.uk

Write Your review

Tell us how Halifax Insurance made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Excellent customer service
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I searched on confused.com for house insurance and saved over £347 compared to my old insurance. When I proceeded with the offer the Halifax couldn’t offer me a cheaper quote but the reference number I gave them from confused site helped me save a huge amount of money. Would definitely recommend everyone to you use this site. Also I received a £20 petrol voucher.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
A freak hailstorm has damaged the top layer of our conservatory roof. I cannot get through on the phone, I had to complete a claim online, this was 21st December, still cannot get through online and no contact. My neighbour had exactly the same incident and he has already had a visit from his insurance company.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Good cempeny
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
What a load of charlatans. I claimed for damp coming through 3 walls, their answer " the area had not had sufficient millimetres of rain to pay out" ! There's nothing in the policy to say I have to experience a deluge of rain, talk about worming out of paying. Don't touch this company with a barge pole, I wish I hadn't, they are a load of cr.p
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I wish I had read the reviews before taking out a Home Insurance Policy with Halifax. I have just been told that my claim for damage to my home contents as a direct result of the recent storms and excessive rain is not valid. Their customer service is a disgrace and it appears that they will go to any length to avoid paying out for claims. My advice would be to avoid this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Called today to discuss my renewal price. The agent was really helpful and offered a few options as well as reducing the price.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
The policy is a sham, they will do anything to avoid assisting when you need it. I have had a claim free policy for years. My key can open/lock the outside of my front door but I can’t take the key out. Insecure outer locks are covered, but apparently as it will lock it is secure and not covered. Locked door with key in secure? Yes, I am sure the attached home policy would cover a theft in those circumstances, I am off to the financial ombudsman
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
expensive and if you have to make a claim .they send out a surveyor that works for them and will not sanction the payment. all my banking and insurance is with Halifax for over 30 years first time i have claimed and got refused offed me £25 as a good will jester i refused the offer never go with Halifax.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Very poor service. Notified them of incident on Thursday night. Its process was apparently to send to incident management company who close for the weekend so car hire company can’t release cover car until Monday so no car for three days. Worst still, they started trying to blame the incident company’s processes. I have no idea who they are, I took out my cover with Halifax. Rubbish.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Car insurance did not auto renew and when I tried to renew the premium went up by 33% even though none of the details had changed! Surely something wrong here, but the sales assistants were powerless to honor the renewal premium.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I ve been a loyal customer for over 30 years. Opened an account for my daughter online so she can have a card to shop for me as shops are not accepting cash. I had to go to the branch with ID to be told they won’t accept anything we took with us. Went back to find them closed. Returned a third time for them to refuse the ID as my daughter has to be there. No compassion, no attempt to compromise or find a solution just simply- well she can’t have an account then. They fell over themselves to offer us a mortgage just a few weeks prior. There were no ‘restrictions’ then and solutions were found on that occasion. Went online tonight with a different bank. Signed up, rang them, explained my difficulty with out of date passport. They worked with me to find a solution. I scanned the documents and that’s the account opened. 30 minutes and I have no banking history with them. 2 months I tried to open an account with Halifax. They are helpful to make a profitable sale and that is about it. I don’t usually like leaving negative reviews but after explaining my vulnerabilities and speaking to the complaints department they still claimed it wasn’t their problem.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Re: home insurance I phoned today to ask a question regarding my daughter starting a baking business from home. I was asked all the usual security questions but as I couldn't remember whether I paid for my insurance with a credit or debit card, (9 months ago) I could go no further. I knew exactly how much I paid and on which date and I offered to give the last 4 digits of both my cards, to be checked but no. No questions allowed. No resolution. Plan cancel and get insured with someone sensible.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Can not fault Halifax. First home insurance claim so didn’t know what to expect. Fee had an extensive water leak under the floor boards so had to remove half of a relatively newly fitted kitchen to access it. The process was easy to follow online and agents kept us updated. The claim was paid without any issues.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
This is the worst insurance service i have ever had to deal with. I made my claim for my phone, they sent me another reconditioned phone, when i received it i couldn't get any reception there was a data error on the phone and the phone kept turning off (clearly hadn't been tested prior to it being sent out). When i called them to advise them that they had sent me a fault pohone within 24hrs of receiving it i was advised that i had to go through their warranty process which is a joke when its their fault for sending me a faulty phone in the first place, my phone should have been replaced immediately without any issues. I have now been without a phone for almost 2 weeks and still not heard anything of when i will be receiving my phone back. it is a joke, you spend hundreds on the policy and excess and this is the service you get for it, its a joke and i will be cancelling as soon as i have my phone back.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Horrendous customer service. We took out what seemed to be a comprehensive home insurance policy. We have attempted to make two claims. We were covered for both scenarios. The first time we were told to go to the expense of fixing the problem ourselves and then they might reimburse us. The second time, they refused to pay for a fridge/freezer which was damaged when the power went out in our home because nobody could confirm it in a report, even though it was impossible for this to happen unless they were there at the time. Absolute cowboys who will use any loophole to fail to provide the service they have signed up to provide. STAY AWAY FROM THESE COWBOYS!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Life cover. So , took out decreasing life cover with Halifax 15 yrs ago as part of mortgage. Fast forward 15 yrs and i needed to make a claim on the critical illness cover section as I've been diagnosed with 2 different types of cancer. Called up and made my claim , all went through with no issues. Get a phone call 2 days later to say they're sorry but my policy doesn't have critical illness cover. When i took out this policy i was explicit in what i needed it for , as i already had ample death benefits from different sources and my mortgage would be paid by sick pay for a period of 12 months then all i actually wanted was the critical illness cover i was missing . I'm now having to go through their complaints procedure and i dare say to the financial ombudsman as well. So far they've only provided documentation that to be honest i could have knocked up on my laptop it 5 mins. They're failed to provide the original documents ( surprise surprise) . At the very least this has been mis sold at worst its down right fraudulent and at a time when tbh i could do without the stress. Its now been 5 weeks since I've tried to claim and received a text message saying they need another 4 weeks . Surely if they could miraculously provide 1 set of supposed documentation then they should be able to find others just as quick. I'm beginning to think that if they delay it long enough then I'll die , then they will say sorry you only had critical illness cover . Total rip off merchants , untrustworthy, dishonest and downright wa****. AVOID HALIFAX AT ALL COSTS
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I have had no claims or alteration on cover but my premium has just increased by over £150 (61%). They told me on the phone that this is not unusual and they could do very little about it. I would advise people to avoid Halifax... most good reviews on here are for purchasers but there are no good reviews when people are making claims which is what you're paying for.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
If I could give minus 1000000 I would. Emergency cover purchased and never filed a claim in my life with any insurance company. The first time is needed it due to bad weather causing a leak in my roof they rejected the claim due to claiming it was wear and tear. The 3rd party company they used came round but wouldn’t go on the roof to check anything- wouldn’t even look through the loft. It took them forever to get back to me around the issue and I had to constantly chase them for any update- finally got an update that due to needing scaffolding the cost for the repair was too high- they knew when taking my money I lived in a townhouse😳 logged a complaint about it and they took 2 months to get back to me and say the same thing. If I can stop just one person from wasting their money I will be more than happy. They are the worst company I have ever dealt with in my life- I hope they go bust!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Burglered July 2020 insured by Halifax ....first impression was great totally supportive, helping n starting look,and seem correct company with....UNTIL HAD VISOT OF GUY HE GREAT NO ISSUE CALLED MANI (ONLY BIT N PERSON ID RECOMMEND COMPANY HES ABOVE N BEYOND) ...HALIFAX IS THROUGH LLOYDS ....STARTED CLAIM SETTLEMENT ....3RD PARTY COMPANIES SETTLE CLAIM ELECTRICALS GOLD ECT APPARENTLY NO BIKES REPLACEMENT.... GOKD ANOTHER COMPANY CANNOT REPLACE ...VOUCHER FOR GOLDAMITHS EXPENSIVE ..HAD RAGDOLL N BELCHER CHAIN PAID OUT FOR 1 ITEM GOLDSMITHS DIDNT STOCK (COULDN'T REPLACE SAME ITEM) ELECTRICALS AGAIN VOUCHERS BIKES SAME ....WEVE SPENT £ 143.75 IN CALLS CHASING UP HALIFAX N COMPANIES,CASH THAT TAKEN WAS FOR SCHOOL UNIFORM N FOOD/BILLS THAT WK TOLD SETTLE WITHIN ACCEPTABLE TIME ....WE BAGGED/BORROWED TO GET THROUGH.... YOLD 3WKS AFTER EXPECT ££ ..NOTHING TOLD AGAIN 41/2 WKS AFTER TOLD REQUESTED 1ST SEPT AND EXPECT... NOW 8WKS LATER 3RD TIME TOLD CASH AND OTHER CASH PAYMENT PAYING IN 1 CHEQUE POSTING THRS 8/9TH EXPECT 3 DAYS 5 MAX ....7DAYS ON NOTHING.....ITS STRESSED ME OUT PLAYED ON HUSBANDS PTSD MY DEPRESSION MY KIDS HAVEN'T FULL UNIFORM HAD TAKE SON OUT MARTIAL ARTS CLASSES, PARTIALLY SIGHTED SON ENJOYED BOXING (ONLY THING ENJOYED) HAD STOP GOING.....WERE STRUGGLING COMPLAINING N HEAR NOWT .....CANNOT SPEAK ANYONE THAT ABLE TELL ME ANYTHING ....NOT COMPANY ID RECOMMEND UNLES WILLING WAIT AND FOBBED OFF ASWEL AS BE WILLING CALL charges .....GETTING NO WHERE ....DISCRASE UNPROFFESIONAL ....YOTALLY FINANCIAL DIFFICULTY AND PRESSURE AND KIDS HEALTH TOO
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Halifax Insurance is rated 2.7 based on 437 reviews