Lancaster Insurance Reviews

1.96 Rating 199 Reviews
23 %
of reviewers recommend Lancaster Insurance
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week

Write Your review

Tell us how Lancaster Insurance made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Never go with this company I moved home and they refused to insure me pathetic then said I had to till midnight to re insure my car great thanks for that it’s stressful enough moving but my other insurance company I have been with for years insured the other car and even halved my deposit for me better than this stupid company
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Appalling company they cancelled my insurance because I moved and did not have a garage they then said I had to pay £200 cancellation fee I was one the phone 1hr trying to get through offer to pay £10 a month what I could afford they refused this I have never been with a disgraceful insurance company do not use these jokers they are apalling
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I Cancelled insurance 7 months into the policy as I had sold the car and was not replacing it. I took advantage of their monthly payments and had paid seven months premiums. They charged me for the remaining five months when I cancelled so I ended up paying the full years premium with no refund. AVOID this company and never pay in instalments! Appalling service!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Terrible company, had 14 days cooling off period, didn’t buy the car, managed to get through after 9 days, gave me less than half my policy back, what a joke, stay well away from this company
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Please stay away from this insurance company look elsewhere they charge you for any little extra change of address change of number plate and they even charge for cancelling your insurance half way through the year even though I had paid in full for the whole year they are a total rip off insurance company and make my blood boil
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Awful service for loyal customers!! Avoid them and go to the NFU instead. I did. Never answer calls from current customers ( the phone cuts dead after waiting over 12.15 mins!) and take ages to respond to emails. Funny, but I posed as a new customer - they answered within 30 seconds each time!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I phoned up half way through my year policy (paid up front) to swap policy to another car, on the phone for 45 mins, then they tell me due to my old car being on a '4x4' policy, they couldn't transfer the policy to a 'road car'.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
appalling, make sure you read the small print, to cancel early the premiums are shocking and they want you to pay for the whole policy, and any amendments you have come with a fee too
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Completely disgraceful, completely ripped me off, cancel my policy half way through due to house move with a secured car park but can no longer insure yet want payment in full for remaining 5 months. Plus extra charges. No breakdown given just demands . Telephone and promised solution but just got passed onto a debt collector.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I paid over £170 for one of my classic car insurance 3 weeks later i sold it and cancelled my insurance only to be told no refund as its all gone in there fees, i would say its very short sighted as my total anual insurances for my classic are over £3,500 and these will not be getting any more of my business "feeling Robbed"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Paid 0ver £170 for insurance on one of my classic cars which i sold 3 weeks later so went to cancel insurance only to be told no refund as its gone in there fees, i will not be renewing any of my other policies with them when they come up for renewal id say short sighted as my total anual insurances come to around £3,500 "feeling Robbed"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Good service easy to deal with
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
They want pictures of my car!? Is this a joke?
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
No reply to my email ,tried to cancel my insurance policy mid term but would not be given a refund ,wish I checked the other reviews and used a different company .
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Absolutely appalling customer service! Their vehicle database is over 18 month out of date and pulled up the correct brand but the incorrect model of my car so they had insured a non existent vehicle, couldn't contact then because it was a weekend. When they did cancel the policy they charged me over £30 for their mistake and refused to budge. They are an absolutely pathetic excuse of a insurance broker
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
DO NO USE LANCASTER . i took out a policy and 2 months later i bought a new car their quote was to high so i cancelled and went elsewhere they wanted me to pay the extra 10 months i refused ive now been contacted by ICB to recover the outstanding amount , after seeing all the complaints i have now asked for this to go to court i will not pay and that is final , ive now instructed my local solicitor who has advised me foc not to pay anything . BRING IT ON .
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Insurance Cancellation :-( I informed Lancaster Insurance that my policy was due to run until 24 Sept 2019 i.e with 7 months remaining. Lancaster Insurance informed me that due to "administration costs etc" that this 7 months does not qualify for any refund whatsoever?????? I accept that I would have incurred an administration fee for cancelling the policy early but to receive absolutely no refund at all I am aghast and if this is the way Lancaster Insurance Services treat their customers then it is, quite frankly, most outrageous! I for one am deterred from using them again - as are all my friends, and associates 'et al' that I have related this to..................... Investors in people champion + Customer Charter = 'A Mockery'
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Very good service and helpful there staff was very good at there job
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Please keek away from this insurance company they charged me £30 for change of number plate and £30 for Canceling our insurance half way through the year even though they had full payment up front I refused to pay the £30 cancellation fee and today they have threatened to hand my debt over to the debt collectors they just try to screw you for every penny.....
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
WARNING In 45 years of driving this is the worst experience I have had with a broker and the insurance company they used,( Equity red star) it would seem they are tied in with Markstudy who also have a terrible reputation. I was invited to renew my policy for another year and did so, 2 weeks later they e.mailed me to advise that they thought my car was undervalued and advised me that the insurer was going to cancel the policy, if I did not pay another £210. whilst obtaining proof of its value they cancelled my policy with no refund. I made a complaint and this was rejected. They are very hard to get a reply from and I would not trust them with a Classic car ever again. There was no continuity in discussions. If you read the reviews of Markstudy they seem even worse, with people struggling to get paid out on claims. I have written to the Ombudsman and await a reply. They will not now send proof of my no claims discount for my new insurance company, and they are now advising me that if I cant get hold of proof of ncb they will cancel my new policy. I think the whole insurance industry needs a big shake up. You have been warned, DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Lancaster Insurance is rated 1.96 based on 199 reviews