Legal & General Reviews

1.79 Rating 508 Reviews
19 %
of reviewers recommend Legal & General
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week

Write Your review

Tell us how Legal & General made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Terrible experience. Don't buy pet insurance from them. For the last month I have been trying to get the money they owe me and I've been told that on 2nd,3rd,6th,8th,15th,17th,21st and 23 i was paid. Its a different day each time I've rang. I have not received the money owed and my dogs cancer removal operation had to be delayed 22nd because of this and now the 4th January may be cancelled again because they refuse to pay me 500 that they owe. Each time i ring its the same script with variations. I've been paid on different dates(I haven't) they will email finance to sort it out because they can't contact the finance team by phone?!? Some one will call me back (they dont) and then the next day I ring I get the same run around. Even worse is I've emailed the people direct that respond to messages on here and get an encrypted email response that I can't read as I'm unable to reset my email because of an error on their end Contacted a solicitor and financial ombudsman about this today. My poor dog is seriously ill and they will not pay me what I'm owed.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
A waist of time and money.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
My mum started a terminally I’ll life cover policy in June. She sadly died in September. I am still arguing every week with them to get an answer on the claim. They are a joke. Over 4months and I still don’t know if they will or won’t pay out. Utter disgrace!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Wanted to increase life cover, called them up, the first time since taking the policy out or needing to speak to them...there systems were down, called up again 2 hours later and waited for 30 mins on the phone to speak to somebody...when I eventually got through to somebody I needed up cancelling my policy instead as I don't want my wife dealing with these tools during a hard time.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I would have given no stars if I could. Would be better if a group of 5 year old ran this company. So incompetent.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Terrible service applied for my pension and still waiting 3 months later.. Did not received my paperwork then they sent me another clients paperwork. Was promised a manager’s phone call within 48 hours still waiting abysmal service words fail me with this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I made a terminal illness claim when my husband became ill, L&G continually sent me text messaged giving incorrect information, they finally paid out the claim 2 weeks after my husband died, addressing the letter to both of us and then followed that up by sending him an email survey to ask how they'd done! I have no words for the level of incompetence.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
My term life insurance was, cancelled I recently found out. I was told my dd was cancelled or payment not received. Despite many phone calls asking for confirmation of payments returned I have received nothing. Can Legal and General treat customers this way. I recently had a, death in my family so I was checking up on my life insurance. I was a, non smoker then. But two years later I took out an over 50s plan and I had started smoking. I'm reported this to the FCA, as, I really think this is only about my smoking status that my policy was cancelled. Nothing else and furthermore an over 50s plan I have taken out more recently I'm getting letters, regarding my smoking and also that L & G will contact my gp. Isn't this rather threatening behaviour. I've cancelled my policy and to tell you the truth I will never get L & G insurance again
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Had to wait 5 months now for £156, made to feel as if I had to beg, then the person took the wrong account number so this made me wait a Futher 3 weeks and have just received this so would advise no one to go with this firm legal & general with insurance or pensions take it out & invest else where as I never had this problem with nest or people's pension as you can access them through the app
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Overview Reviews About Legal & General Logo Legal & General Reviews 11,036 • Average 3 stars: Average 3.2 In the Insurance agency category Reviews 11,036 Excellent 43% Great 16% Average 9% Poor 7% Bad 25% Filter by: All reviews company policy service time customer service year month claim money week ... Search reviews Mrs Dinnie 3 reviews 1 star: Bad Updated 21 hours ago Sadly my husband passed away 9 weeks… Sadly my husband passed away 9 weeks ago, Claim on life insurance was submitted 9 weeks ago, Very little communication apart from " we will review in x amount of days" all paperwork required by them was sent by return, 8 weeks into the claim ( all paperwork in place) Legal and General decide to request deceased husbands medicial records. When at the most stressful time of my life I have to borrow to pay Mortgage is not what life insurance was taken out for.It was taken at the same time as a remortgage to clear mortgage in the event . Funeral expenses I also had to borrow even though " A Funeral pledge " is Part of there sales pitch. My anxiety levels are through the roof, I can't grieve properly due to stress, 1/10/2021Email sent as requested by Beth, Will update accordingly 4/10/2021 Still no contact , Even though promised would be priority, 5/10/2021 As you can see, The " Generic" response promised " priority" As yet still no update, This is really not good Business practice when dealing with vulnerable people at the worst time in their lives, It was supposed to " help " take some of the worry..Instead it has made it far far worse my the delays and lack of communication
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Like many others I've tried to cash in a small pension pot but they have ignored my numerous emails and letters. They just sit on the fence of you call and answer very generically without being specific. They are useless and very hard to deal with.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Overall the worst experience with Legal & General life insurance. Every year, I get locked out of my account online. Customer service will not provide me with the mailing address for my premium payment-it doesn't even require a policy number! I have had to switch to non-electronic communication because of all the hassles of their online system that I use once a year. Very disappointed, and I will never get another policy with Legal and General Again!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Terrible company causing my husband stress! L&G appear to excel at customers taking out policy's and handing over their regular hard earned money. Paying out is another story. Pension pot withdrawal takes forever for no good reason. My husband has been misled and misinformed many times. He is still waiting for pay out. If you value your health and want to avoid stress then avoid L&G Pension scheme.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Worse insurance company ever. Dont want to pay out. I pay over £100 per month and they don't want to pay when I send a claim form in. This happened twice now and im stuck with a vet bill that I could have paid if I actually saved the £100 per month instead of giving to this waste of space company. I would not recommend to anyone
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Horrible vile company they will not payout they have specialist teams to find a way not to payout.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COST!!! AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COST!!! Legal and General are possibly the worst company I have ever dealt with for customer care. They promise everything and deliver nothing. I was told I would get my pension lump sum for the end of September and now told November! I was told a manager was going to phone me - this never happened. The reply they give on Trust Pilot is just a front to make them look as if they care but nothing comes of this! Andy
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Further to my last review Further to my last review I have recently had spinal nerve issue which has left me disabled they won’t payout as I answered a question wrong on the policy in 2013 the question was Have I had in past 5 years been doctors for Lupus,ankylosis spondylitis, gout , or any form of arthritis , neck , back , spine or joint trouble example rheumatoid arthritis, sciatica I put no not realising it meant back ache which every one just about has had I went doctors 3 times in my 43 years of life about my back before taking out the policy I only went to get painkillers so I could keep working I’d never had time of work even though it is a heavy manual job and it was muscular pain So they have decided to exclude my back from the policy and also my spine and anything spinal Oh but I’m still covered for lupus etc which is in the same question I’ve never been doctors about my spine so why are they excluding it on the policy now The answer I got is because they can exclude anything they want it’s up to them as a company and they can add spine as well as back to the exclusion I said how can you include spinal cord in this His reply it’s a secret that the underwriters have with the regulator so the customer or competitors dont know So it’s a secret Well in the end there not paying out for a spinal cord hernia because I answered the question wrong I should have put yes because I had been doctors for back ache which was muscular in my back Not my spine or spinal cord Next step is the ombudsman and then solicitors Beware this company has loopholes and secrets you are not aware of until it comes to them paying out I just hope people will see this company for what it is A rip off and I’ll be reporting them
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
I've been trying for 5 weeks plus to claim a work place pension,I ran every week and been sent to same form 4 times, arrange a call back from the pay me team with in a 3hour slot still waiting,it's a company I will not be using and will tell people not to use😖
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
The worst company I have ever dealt with, I am trying to downsize because I’m nearly 80 yrs old and all they keep doing is asking more and more questions about the lease of the flat I’m hoping to buy, I’ve lost one buyer and in the throes of losing another buyer , I know the reason they are taking their time is because they are getting daily interest on the equity I already have. my solicitor agreed they are dreadful. I could easily top myself with all the stress I’m going through , the problem is you can’t speak to their solicitor, I honestly think the company should be closed down it’s about atrocious 😠😞 ,
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
As I have already reached my pension retirement age and have tried to draw my pension I started the process in June and the only corespondence I have had is me calling them numerous times with no resultant pension. I have requested management to call me but still no phone call. This company is the worst company I have ever dealt with and rue the day I took out my pension plan with them
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Legal & General is rated 1.79 based on 508 reviews