Paws and Claws Reviews

2.7 Rating 89 Reviews
44 %
of reviewers recommend Paws and Claws
2.7
Based on 89 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone

Write Your review

Tell us how Paws and Claws made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I made a claim for an injured dew claw on my dog and it has been rejected saying this is a cosmetic procedure. Why would I want to remove my dogs dew claws is they were healthy and the dog is 3 years old. I took the dog to the vets who advised it was the best solution due to a chronic infection because of the injury and my claim has been rejected twice. I will not be renewing my policy and I will pursue this via the insurance ombudsman however I shouldn't have to be going to all this trouble. Disgraceful company.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Watch out for the terms of business - there is no cooling off period (usually 14 days) on the autorenewal of policies. You have to pay a fee to cancel the policy which is very cheeky and it is not explicit despite being in the terms of business. Such a fee is not ethical in this day and age when people tend to shop around and switch providers. My policy payments went up significantly each time the policy renewed despite making no claims in one year. No reasoning as to why there was such an increase - I wish I had made the time to shop around sooner. Also unable to tell me how much I would be refunded on the monthly premium I had paid. Not ideal - surely someone could hazard a guess?! I would not use them again, nor would I recommend them. For any who use them, make sure you are ready to pay the exit fee which I am informed cannot be waived!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Paws and Claws deliberately sent me unuseable telephone numbers to make a claim after avoiding my emails. I think they are a deliberate con. Please do not use!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
I would never use this company again every time I have made a claim surprisingly they have not received the claim form I have been with them for the past 6 years and made 5 claims and over a month later on (each claim) be told not received. Even though I have waited and posted the filled in paperwork myself and posted first class and twice were by recorded delivery. My vet as emailed them the forms too and they tell lies that did not receive and also did not receive the faxes. It is terrible enough experience to deal with your injured or poorly pet but then you have to deal with the nightmare of dealing with (Paws and Claws) and it truly is a nightmare believe me lies and endless phone calls. I would warn anyone to stay away from this company and spend your money with a company like pet plan more expensive but no problems at all with my other dog and cat very very helpful. Plus my polices with petplan do not more than double every year. Me personally I would not give them 1 star if the opinion was available. Please all stay away
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Absolutely dreadful company. AVOID AT ALL COSTS PawsnClaws will employ every dirty trick in the book to avoid paying out. Resending correspondence and then claiming they didn't receive it, constantly waiting for 'updates' from vets, despite the fact I sat and listened to the vet give them everything they need. Even had the cheek to hang up on me when I asked them what had happened tO my claim that I had submitted 3 months prior! USUAL DIRTY CHEAP TRICKS TO NOT PAY OUT. AVOID AVOID AVOID
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Tried to insure my cat. Their website was really difficult to negotiate and I managed to pick the wrong cover. Informed them I would have to cancel and they charged me £30 for the privilege. They could have offered to upgrade the policy to one that suited me but they were quite rude so in a way I think it was a lucky escape and I will be looking elsewhere
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
If I could I would give this company zero stars. They are very quick to offer a low insurance cost to hook the customer but seem to have a policy of either delaying settling in the hope customers will give up or not settling a claim at all. I submitted a claim for less than £100 over five months ago. Since then I've been fobbed off with excuse after excuse. I would advise anyone to go elsewhere even if the policy cost is a bit higher as if you are unfortunate enough to have to make a claim you will struggle to get settlement.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
I wouldn't insure with these when I needed to claim for my dogs ligament damage I was insured for £2500.00 a year when it came to it they said I would only be paid £1000.00 ,scam very rude and very unprofessional . Cancelled straight away.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
We insured our red fox Labrador with them fully comp . He hurt himself while playing with his brother in a play fighting so this involved x-ray medicine vets fees and the rest quess what this terrible insurance company says its not a accident and refused to pay over £900 in vet fees complete rip off have told kennel club not to advertise them am also telling local vets to warn customers to be aware that they wont pay
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Yet again I submitted a claim and the claim form is returned on a technicality so I have to post it off again. After three weeks I phone the claims line to ask what is happening - I have not received any response following the claim. I'm told that they need more information - why wasn't I informed?? Oh sorry we have the information we will endeavor to push the claim through. I then get an email to say that the claim has gone for assessment but they have noticed that my dog has put on weight so they will need to increase the premium! Call them back and ask what is going on - apparently are going to back-date the additional premium to the beginning of the policy renewal, bit cheeky as they've only just noticed? Best bit to come - dog weighs over 20KG (just) so premium is more than doubling!!!!! How can that be. And I'm still waiting for information on the claim I have made. Person I spoke to the second time said of course I have the option to cancel - GREAT except I would then have a very costly pre-existing condition. Very fed up with Paws & Claws.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
lie constantly about not receiving claim ,after faxing post by myself and the vet
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
If I could rate this as zero I would - do not use this "insurance" company Not only do the pretend not to receive correspondence (despite putting a read receipt on the 4th email), they will come up with any excuse under the sun not to pay out. Refusal to pay for tests as lead to diagnosis of cancer which is not covered, however the tests, bloods and other investigation to get to this stage should have been covered.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Unfortunately I can't give zero stars!! Absolute disgrace of a company, not only did it take nearly six months to process a the claim, but they refused to pay saying was a pre existing condition! Tried to explain that the knee is a completely different joint to the hips and that the claim was to investigate what was wrong as the vet didn't know. Ws initially transferred to a different department, which the advisor puts you through to by terminating the call!!!! Needless to say I pay £25 a month for nothing as this company will always say "well it appears to be linked to her previous condition" Please save your money and don't use this company, these company's don't get rich by paying out, they will always find an excuse to weasel out of a claim!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
1st thing it took 3 months to receive 1 claim for my dog. Was hang up on when rang them to ask my policy and every time I have rang them. When my policy was up for renewal I never received the emails for the renewal and the policy payment was doubled. I have had to cancel my policy because I am unable to pay the bill. Absolute joke of a company I would never use this company again.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
worst company ever dealt with. refusing to pay for my dogs operation, insisting it was an existing condition, despite the fact my vet has sent several letters, emails to confirm it wasn't. they have claimed on 4 occasions the vets letters wrrent received. come on. 1 letter might get lost, not 4. having appealed the decision not to pay we were told it would take over two months for the appeal. we have now lodged a small claims court against them to get our payment. we are now receiving fake solicitors letters from them. we even got a call from them today saying we couldn't sue as 'paws and claws' does not exist. unbelievable. do not use this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
12 year old dog now having a few problems, they paid out on one of his illness but a couple of months after needed his tail amputated, they wouldn't pay out saying vet did not disclose proper information, got vets to write letter thought that would solve the problem but had an email back saying that the dog wouldn't keep his collar on and had he done so his tail wouldn't needed to be amputated, absolute Bol....., the dog did not attempt to touch the end of his tail once, the tube/bandage kept coming off, this company is a CON MERCHANT
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
I put a claim form in for an operation at the beginning of September and I was told it would take up to 20 working days to sort claim out, when I. called them after 20 days I was told there was a back log and would take a few days longer. Its now the end of November and I'm still waiting!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
This company has the worst customer service I have ever experienced. Takes months for them to reply to emails. Then they don't reply with the information you need. Full of excuses. I will not be using these ever again. I would never recommend them to family or friends. Quick enough to take my money but takes months for a reply. They refused to pay out on my policy and give terrible excuses! I'd never trust this company with my dogs health again! Wish I had read the reviews first!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Submitted a claim by post with all relevant documentation from vet. Have heard nothing since. Emailed them for confirmation and received no reply. Tried calling claim line and was on hold for over 20 minutes before I gave up. Will be going elsewhere in future. Utterly useless!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Absolutely useless, submitted a claim in July, now almost the end of September and they are still saying due to back log of claims it is going to be a few more weeks! - they say the same thing every time I ring - beginning to lose the will to live with this company - never again.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Paws and Claws is rated 2.7 based on 89 reviews