Paws and Claws Reviews

2.7 Rating 89 Reviews
44 %
of reviewers recommend Paws and Claws
2.7
Based on 89 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone

Write Your review

Tell us how Paws and Claws made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Not possible to contact them by mail! Not possible to contact them by phone! Not even react on contact form on their page!!! It's absolute scum - save your time and energy and get any other insurance... I'd give them 0 or negative score if there is such option!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Paws and Claws is a complete scam. They take your money and when you make a claim they do not pay out. Even with a letter from the Vet supporting the claim, they refused. I am going to an ombudsman. Whatever you do, do not go with this company. I reckon the positive reviews on here are all written by the company. If you go to http://www.pet-insurance-surveys.co.uk/ you will find some interesting reading.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Unfortunately, we chose this company as the price was competitive. But, as with most insurances, you only get to know how good they are when you need to make a claim. Our experience has not been a good one. Our dog has developed arthritis in her elbow. At the moment, it's not severe. We had to arrange an x-ray and some medication, resulting in a claim. The claim form was submitted at the end of April. It is now 19th July and we are still awaiting payment!! Even though over two weeks ago, we were told that the claim had been approved! They are awaiting a cheque to be authorised... despite us giving over bank details and requesting a bank transfer. I'm now told we will probably have to wait another few days for the cheque to be signed and then posted!! Please.... If you are looking for an insurer... check to see how long they take over claims. This lot say they take 10 days!!!... But in truth, it's taken nearly 80 days!!! The problem is now that we are stuck with having to renew cover with this company as we have a 'lifelong policy' and no other insurer will accept our pet and cover a pre existing condition. ALSO, the premium has just over doubled in cost from last year!!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Do not under any circumstances take out a policy with this company unless you want to throw your money away. If they can get out of paying they will. Paws and Claws are charging me for the next 7 months because i have had a claim and cancelled my policy when my dog died suddenly. It was not my fault my dog died at such an inconvenient time to the company. When I cancelled they were straight on the phone wanting to know why I had stopped the policy. When I explained my dog had died and insurance was no longer required they were right on to me that I now owe £148.98. I have a letter in my hand from Roythornes Solicitors saying if I don't pay in 7 days they will commence legal proceedings against me. Also they let me take out a Four Paw policy for which I have since found out half of it is irrelevant ie no death or loss benefits are payable for pets over 8yrs old. Please please if you are reading these reviews please go to another company for peace of mind knowing you are no going to be out of pocket at the end of the day
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
Things were going ok during my claims for my daschund who had to have surgery for anal sac carcinoma then she sadly had to be put to sleep as she was fitting. That awful insurance paws and claws are charging me for the next 9 months because i have had a claim and cancelled. It was not my fault my poor dog was so poorly. I am planning on getting another dog and already have the reputes pet plan lined up. Don't beed by cheap premiums with small print crucifying you
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
Incredible how you can take out insurance with this company only to find most matters of treatment fall outside of the policy! They offered us £127 toward a £1650 bill! We are pensioners and our lovely dog died following treatment and investigations into what was wrong with him. They deducted 15% because he was over 8 years as well as the excess. Just seems they are out to try NOT to pay up. Heartbreaking for us, they just make it more painful and couldn't care less!
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
Very poor customer service, i was informed by email I had cancelled the direct debit for my insurance (which I hadn't) and told I would have to pay £31 and then re-start a new policy. I can only assume this is a scam for money. I tried to explain to several different people on the phone I had not cancelled my direct debit and I wanted to reinstate my policy and was met with very little empathy or understanding. Very poorly run business, I would not recommend paws and claws pet insurance at all.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
Insured my dog with Paws & Claws Insurance when I tried to claim for my dog with terminal stomach cancer, they declined to pay. When I opened the policy i declared my dog had trouble with bile for a few years. They used this to get out of paying they are robbers in suits. DONT INSURE WITH THEM.If your dog dies you have to pay rest of years premiums if you claim and they take it out of your claim if uou did manage to claim AVOID THEY WONT PAY OUT
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
Unfortunately I have had to make a claim recently and it was immediately rejected based on the fact that the vet said that the condition was a possible infection and not an accident. I had not contact with in insurer to ask me any questions about the condition and did not see a report of what the vet wrote. I will be cancelling my policy as result of my experience and looking elsewhere.
Helpful Report
(Pet Insurance) - Posted 7 years ago
Paws and Claws is rated 2.7 based on 89 reviews