Policy Expert Reviews

4.7 Rating 18,325 Reviews
96 %
of reviewers recommend Policy Expert
4.7
Based on 18,325 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
On-time Delivery
99%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
100%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.7 out of 5
Read Policy Expert Reviews

About Policy Expert:

Our customers are at the heart of everything we do, and our team of experts have a real passion for making sure people get the right cover for them.

Policy Expert is driven by a desire to help our customers find not only the best value insurance, but the right insurance for their individual needs.

Our dedicated Experts are always on hand to help - either online or over the phone. Whether you want assistance in finding the right policy or even handling a claim, we make sure it’s all handled by experts.

Visit Website

Phone:

0330 0600 600

Email:

ask@policyexpert.co.uk

Location:

352-390, Silbury Boulevard, Milton Keynes

Write Your review

Tell us how Policy Expert made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Policy Expert 5 star review on 11th June 2022
Stephen J
Policy Expert 5 star review on 9th March 2022
Anonymous
Policy Expert 5 star review on 25th January 2022
JOHN O
Policy Expert 5 star review on 18th January 2022
Simon
Policy Expert 5 star review on 3rd September 2021
Easterine M
Policy Expert 5 star review on 14th July 2021
Anonymous
Policy Expert 5 star review on 26th June 2021
Bob H
10
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I was going to change this year because you were £60 dearer than other companies for the same thing, but you already took the money from my account. I have never had to use insurance for anything but it keeps on creeping up in price. I would like yourselves to review this and give me a saving
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I have had a look into things and I can see that we contacted you roughly 30 days prior to your renewal date confirming that your policy was due to renew. In this correspondence we confirmed that we will automatically renew your policy (and take payment) 3-5 days before the renewal date to ensure that the payment is successful. This also ensures that we do not leave our customers without cover unknowingly in case there are any issues with processing the payment. I am sorry to hear that your policy premium increased at renewal. Unfortunately, even if you have not claimed, an increase is sometimes unavoidable and due to many different reasons. As requested, in order for you to discuss your renewal further and review your future cover, I have arranged for somebody on our renewals team to get in touch. However if you have any further concerns you wish for me to address in the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact me via telephone, email, live chat or social media. I'll be more than happy to help. Thanks, Jasmine
Posted 3 years ago
I’m sorry to say I have to say, I wasn’t happy that Policy Expert gave me no notice of renewal until an email arrived to say they had taken the money from my bank account without notice. For this reason I would not recommend them, this is not good practice, I had no notice of amount to renew or chance to review my policy
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I have looked into things for you and can see that we contacted you 30 days prior to your renewal date confirming that your policy was due for renewal. We send our renewal invites 30 days before our policies expire to allow our customers plenty of time to review their cover, shop around, make any changes and opt out of renewing should they wish. However I am sorry to hear that your policy renewed unexpectedly, and I apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused. Moving forward, if you wish to review your renewal or discuss your policy in any further detail, our renewals team will be happy to help - they can be contacted on 0330 0600 648. Thanks, Jasmine
Posted 3 years ago
Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I have looked into things for you and can see that we contacted you 30 days prior to your renewal date confirming that your policy was due for renewal. We send our renewal invites 30 days before our policies expire to allow our customers plenty of time to review their cover, shop around, make any changes and opt out or renewing should they wish. However I am sorry to hear that your policy renewed unexpectedly, and I apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused. Moving forwards, if you wish to review your renewal or discuss your policy in any further detail, our renewals team will be happy to help - they can be contacted on 0330 0600 648. Thanks, Jasmine
Posted 3 years ago
All great except a rude female who provided a quote
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I'm really sorry to hear you were not happy with the service you received, we would not expect any rudeness from our team. I understand you have since spoken with one of our service managers regarding this but if there is anything else you wish to discuss or have any queries at all please don't hesitate to contact our customer services team and we will be more than happy to assist. Thanks, Vicky
Posted 3 years ago
Did not want it to auto renew but it did anyway plus it goes up 10% year on year. Will not be using next year.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We usually send out your renewal correspondence around 30 days prior to the expiry date of the policy, this is to allow you time to review the cover, shop around, make any changes or opt out of renewing. I am sorry to hear you were not expecting this to renew and that there was a slight increase. A premium could change as a result of claims, changes or the risk to the insurer. If there is anything you wish to discuss further please don't hesitate to contact our customer services team and we will be more than happy to assist. Thanks, Vicky
Posted 3 years ago
I knew my policy was coming up for renewal and was going to look and compare prices but before my renewal date Policy Expert just went and renewed it without first informing me. So whilst I will stay this time maybe next is different.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Good morning, Thank you for leaving a review. We usually send out your renewal correspondence around 30 days prior to the expiry date of the policy. This is to allow you time to review the cover, shop around, make any changes, opt out of renewing, etc. In this correspondence, if your policy is due to auto-renew, it states we take the premium around 5 days prior to the expiry date of the policy. We take payment a few days early so that if there are any issues with the processing or payment we have a few days to rectify the issue without leaving the property with no cover. I want to thank you for staying with Policy Expert for another year, if you have any queries or wish to discuss this further at all please don't hesitate to contact our customer services team by phone, text, email, live chat or social media. We will be more than happy to help. Thanks, Vicky
Posted 3 years ago
Wish I hadn't got involved with these people
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Good afternoon, Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am sorry to hear you've not been happy with the experience you have had with us. I have taken a look into your account and sent you over a direct email to request some further information. As soon as I have heard back from you we will be looking into what has happened here to get this resolved. Thanks, Vicky
Posted 3 years ago
Not happy as my home insurance does not start until 28th you have taken the money out 3 day's before
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I have had a look into things and I can see that we emailed you a renewal invite 30 days before your policy was due to renew. This invite explained that we will automatically renew your policy (and take payment) 3-5 days before the renewal date to ensure that the payment is successful. We also do this to ensure that we do not leave our customers without cover unknowingly in the event of any unforeseen circumstances. However I apologise if this was unexpected, or caused you any inconvenience. If you wish to discuss this in further detail or have any other questions, please do not hesitate to contact our team on either 0330 0600 648, or ask@policyexpert.co.uk. Thanks, Jasmine.
Posted 3 years ago
Still waiting for my Policy Documents....Renewed 6/1/2019.....
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Good morning, Thanks for leaving a review. We don't automatically post your policy documents if you have registered an email address with us. I have, however, posted your policy documents out to you today, they should be with you within 3-5 working days. If there is anything else you need please don't hesitate to contact us via phone, text, email, live chat or social media and we will be more than happy to help. Thanks, Vicky
Posted 3 years ago
Rang up with some details to change to my renewal, as had got the letter through, and a Couple of things had changed very recently. Guy said he would check with underwriters and get back to me - hopefully that afternoon. Well it’s now a full week and day later and no call back. = no insurance.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Good morning, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I would like to apologise that you have not yet been contacted. I have chased this up with our renewals team, someone will be in touch to discuss this further today. If there is anything else you need please don't hesitate to contact our customer services team on 0330 0600 632. Thanks, Vicky
Posted 3 years ago
Would have been nice to know you were taking a large amount of money out of my currant account before hand , no notice what so ever no E,mail , no phone call , no letter , no excuse , very bad practise , and just after the most expensive time of the year , you could have got me in real debt with the Bank .
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Good morning, Thank you for your review. I have looked into things for you and can see that we contacted you 30 days prior to your renewal date confirming that your policy was due for renewal. In this correspondence, we confirmed that if we did not hear from you, we would assume that you were happy for us to automatically renew your policy and take payment. Therefore, as we did not hear from you, your policy with us automatically renewed and the payment was taken. However, we apologise if this has caused you any inconvenience. I have looked into things and can see that you've spoken with us since leaving this review and that things have been resolved for you. However, if you would like to discuss this further, or if there is anything else we can assist you with, please do not hesitate to get in touch via telephone on 0330 0600 632, via email: ask@policyexpert.co.uk or via live chat which is available on our website. Thanks, Hannah.
Posted 3 years ago
Very disappointed that you do not ask if we would have liked to renew policy. Taking payment a week before policy is due seems a some what out of order. So more that a little put off from renewing next year!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We send out all our renewal correspondence 30 days before your policy is due to expire, detailing your premium, cover levels and the fact your policy will renew 5 days early. This is so If any payment issues arise, we have time to rectify these to prevent leaving you without cover. If you would like to discuss this further or if there is anything else we can help with please do not hesitate to reach out to our customer service team. Thanks, Georgie
Posted 3 years ago
My property was damaged by a snowstorm and was horrified to learn that snow and wind damage wasn’t covered in my policy. After reading small print further I discovered frost damage wasn’t covered either, I feel it was a waste of time insuring as storm damage of any kind doesn’t seem to be covered. Definitely read the small print before you buy.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Good afternoon, Thank you for leaving us a review. I am sorry to hear that your property has recently been damaged. It is outlined in our policy wording that in order for a storm damage claim to be accepted, the winds need to reach Force 10 on the Beaufort Scale - this is common with most home insurers out there. Apologies that we are unable to assist you on this occasion, and good luck with getting things sorted. If you would like to discuss this further, or if there is anything else we can assist you with, please do not hesitate to get in touch via telephone on 0330 0600 632, via email: ask@policyexpert.co.uk or via live chat which is available on our website. Thanks, Hannah.
Posted 3 years ago
I have had the misfortune to make 3 claims in the past 3 years, the last claim for a burst pipe took 6 months to resolve, which is much too long, the previous claims also took a long time to resolve. Dealing with Trinity is a pain, having to make numerous phone calls to them to find out what was happening!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am sorry to hear you have not been happy with our claims process. We will always do our best to make claiming on your policy as quick and stressfree as we possibly can. Unfortunately, depending on the nature of the claim this can sometimes affect the timescale subject to the works that need to be completed. If you would like to discuss this further or you have any additional questions please do not hesitate to reach out. Thanks, Georgie
Posted 3 years ago
I have found them quite unhelpful when trying to claim. The price quoted for renewal did not include the 'extras' that I previously included in my policy. When trying to stop the auto-renewal, they made it as difficult as possible to do so.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Good afternoon, Thank you for leaving us a review. I am sorry to hear that you found us unhelpful when trying to claim. If you'd like this side of things looking into further, please get in touch with us to give us some further details regarding this. Regarding your renewal, the home emergency policy is only free for the first policy year, however, this cover can be included for the following year for just £9.95. To confirm, you would have still received free legal expenses cover. I apologies if you felt that we made it difficult to opt out of automatic renewal, I'll certainly get your call listened to in order to ensure we followed the correct process here. If you would like to discuss this further, or if there is anything else we can assist you with, please do not hesitate to get in touch via telephone on 0330 0600 632, via email: ask@policyexpert.co.uk or via live chat which is available on our website. Thanks, Hannah.
Posted 3 years ago
Renewal notice not sent, but money taken from credit card I do not use anymore without consulting with me
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Good morning, Thank you for leaving us a review. I have looked into things for you and can see that we contacted you 30 days prior to your renewal date confirming that your policy was due for renewal. In this correspondence, we confirmed that if we did not hear from you, we would assume that you were happy for us to automatically renew your policy and take payment. Therefore, as we did not hear from you, your policy with us automatically renewed and the payment was taken. I can see that you've spoken with us since the renewal was processed and that you've decided to keep the policy in place with us. However, if you would like to discuss this further, or if there is anything else we can assist you with, please do not hesitate to get in touch via telephone on 0330 0600 632, via email: ask@policyexpert.co.uk or via live chat which is available on our website. Thanks, Hannah.
Posted 3 years ago
i didnt like the fact that you have not sent me a quote for 11 december when this years policy runs out you have automatically taken money off the card i used last year to proceeded to sign me up again with you but hadnt notified me first. i do not the same thing happening this tiume next year i want time to find a cheaper quote so please do not automatically renew my policy in december 2019 without contacting me first.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Good afternoon, Thanks for your review. I have looked into things for you and can see that we contacted you roughly 30 days prior to your renewal date confirming that your policy was due for renewal. In this correspondence, we confirmed that if we did not hear from you, we would assume that you were happy for us to automatically renew your policy and take payment. Therefore, as we did not hear from you, your policy with us automatically renewed and the payment was taken. I have sent you an email regarding this now in order to get things resolved for you. Thanks, Hannah.
Posted 3 years ago
They take your money without telling you.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Good morning Pamela, Thanks for your review. Around 30 days before your policy is due to expire, we send out your renewal invite. Within this document, it states if the renewal cover is due to automatically renew, what the premium is, when payment will be taken, how to opt out, etc. We also send several renewals through the month to ensure you are aware of the process. If you need to make any changes or cancel the policy please give us a call on 0330 0600 632 and we will be more than happy to help. Thanks, Vicky
Posted 3 years ago
I required to make zero changes to my policy yet I had to go through the whole initial questions etc again. The reason was because my card details had changed. I spent a long time over the telephone with a gentleman who, although pleasant enough, I could not understand because he didn't seem to be able to speak intelligibly.. It may have been his regional accent but I had to get him to repeat just about everything he said because I was literally unable to comprehend him. It was a painful experience. Having disclaimers and policy aspects read out over the telephone is a terrible way of conducting legal business and to be honest I had to just say yes to things I hoped were correct because I didn't have the heart to ask the poor lad to repeat himself over and over again. I don't ever want to go through this again.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We need to reconfirm all details to yourself over the phone to ensure the policy in place is correct and appropriate for your needs. I am sorry to hear you were unable to understand our agent over the phone, it is important that all of the information on your policy is correct so I have therefore sent you a copy of your documentation via email to read over and check this. If there is anything else I can help with please do not hesitate to respond to my email. Thanks, Georgie
Posted 3 years ago
Disappointed that they took the auto renewal a week earlier than expected. Also, they were not helpful when I had issues with my front door. ☹️
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We send your renewal correspondence out around 30 days prior to the expiry of your policy. Within this correspondence, we state the proposed premium & cover, how to opt out, when payment is taken, etc. We take the premium around a week before the expiry date of the policy so that if there are any processing issues we can rectify them without the risk of your property being without cover. I am sorry to hear you had issues with your front door, if you would like us to look into this further please don't hesitate to contact our customer services team by phone, email, text, live chat or social media and we will be more than happy to help. Thanks again, Vicky
Posted 3 years ago
This insurance may come cheap as "chips", but their loss adjusters would not accept any claim and tend to repudiate on the first instance. When I asked for a Freedom of Information about the subsidence or heave claims that were accepted, their customer service put the phone down on me??? Stay away from such non-serious insurance cowboys!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Good afternoon, Thank you for leaving us a review. I am sorry to hear that you're unhappy with things. Unfortunately, I have been unable to locate your policy with the details left within this review. Please get in touch with us either by telephone on 0330 0600 632, via email: ask@policyexpert.co.uk or via live chat which is available on our website to give us your details and enable us to investigate things for you. Thanks, Hannah.
Posted 3 years ago
Policy Expert is rated 4.7 based on 18,325 reviews