Policy Expert Reviews

4.7 Rating 18,183 Reviews
96 %
of reviewers recommend Policy Expert
4.7
Based on 18,183 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
On-time Delivery
99%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
100%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.7 out of 5
Read Policy Expert Reviews

About Policy Expert:

Our customers are at the heart of everything we do, and our team of experts have a real passion for making sure people get the right cover for them.

Policy Expert is driven by a desire to help our customers find not only the best value insurance, but the right insurance for their individual needs.

Our dedicated Experts are always on hand to help - either online or over the phone. Whether you want assistance in finding the right policy or even handling a claim, we make sure it’s all handled by experts.

Visit Website

Phone:

0330 0600 600

Email:

ask@policyexpert.co.uk

Location:

352-390, Silbury Boulevard, Milton Keynes

Write Your review

Tell us how Policy Expert made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Policy Expert 5 star review on 11th June 2022
Stephen J
Policy Expert 5 star review on 9th March 2022
Anonymous
Policy Expert 5 star review on 25th January 2022
JOHN O
Policy Expert 5 star review on 18th January 2022
Simon
Policy Expert 5 star review on 3rd September 2021
Easterine M
Policy Expert 5 star review on 14th July 2021
Anonymous
Policy Expert 5 star review on 26th June 2021
Bob H
10
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Stay away,at all costs !!!! Stay away, no idea what they are talking about. I had an accident where the 3rd party pulled in front of me and stopped on the motorway. The 3rd party admitted liability straight away. I phoned policy "expert" to explain the situation. The "lady" on the phone said I had hit someone in the rear therefore It's my fault, regardless of what the 3rd party said and I'll be losing my no claims even though it's protected. I got a solicitor involved, who eventually managed to get my claim settled in my favour "Winns sols, very good" Policy "Expert" shocking.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
Cancelled my renewal after changing my address, also charged £1.64 for changing my address, i know its not a lot but they dont have an option to do so online so had to ring them. So, thousands of customers get charged/ripped off for changing the address, which if theft. As this function should be free and available online. Not talking canceling my renewal. waste of pis' of sh@t
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Good afternoon Albina, Thank you for getting in touch and leaving us a review. We appreciate your feedback. I'm sorry that we couldn't offer you a renewal quote this year. Unfortunately, any changes in your details can affect whether we can offer a quotation as these are subject to our underwriter's criteria. Changing your details, including changing your address, can also affect your premium as all changes are subject to our underwriting rates. This is why there has been a slight increase in your premium, though I appreciate this does not take away from the frustration of paying this. We tried to speak with you today in the hopes of offering a further explanation, if you have any further questions regarding this, please do not hesitate to contact us on 0330 0600 602 or send an email to motorreviews@policyexpert.co.uk and we will be happy to call you back. Kind Regards, Heather.
Posted 1 week ago
DON NOT USE THIS COMPANY THEY ARE FRAUDULENT!!!!! THEY JUST CANCELLED MY CAR INSURANCE FOR THE STUPIDEST OF REASONS!!!!! THEY ARE OUT FOR YOUR MONEY!!! I dealt with a woman CALLED DENISE WAIRD who was disgustingly RUDE AND DISRESPECTFUL MAKING THINGS UP AND TRYING TO TRICK ME INTO SAYING WHAT SHE WANTED TO HEAR!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Good afternoon, Mr Mowatt, Thank you for getting in touch and leaving us a review. We appreciate your feedback. I'm sorry to hear you've been unhappy with our processes and the service received and I'm sorry to hear that we had to cancel your policy. We routinely conduct enquiries into the information provided by our policyholders. This is to ensure you are protected from fraud and identity theft, the information is up-to-date, and your insurer has offered you cover on the correct terms. We made several attempts to contact you by email and telephone to discuss this with you. Unfortunately, if there are discrepancies in the information provided to us, there may be occasions where the policy needs to be cancelled as the underwriter is not able to offer cover based on the corrected details, though I appreciate this does not take away your frustration with the outcome. We have reviewed the call you have referenced in your review based on the points you raised. Upon completion of the investigation, we found the agent you spoke with remained professional and acted with integrity throughout the call, only asking relevant questions and acting upon the information you volunteered to us. If you would like to discuss this further, please send an email to motorreviews@policyexpert.co.uk confirming the best contact number and time to get in touch and we will be happy to give you a callback. Kind Regards, Heather.
Posted 6 days ago
Would never use them again or recommend them. They tell you what’s covered if you upgrade however they just use excuses not to pay out! Go somewhere else and read the small print
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Good Afternoon, We appreciate you taking the time to outline your concerns to us. Our specialist claims handlers, Trinity, ensure that our claims process is fixed so that all claims are handled fairly and in line with the policy terms and conditions. After speaking with Trinity, I understand that you wanted to make a claim for the loss of a ring within your home. Your policy documentation clearly outlines that there is no cover for loss inside your home, your policy only covers loss of contents away from the home. We understand that this was not the outcome you were expecting, however, we are only able to cover claims that fall within the policy limits. If you do wish to discuss things further or if there is anything else I can help you with, please contact me directly. I am available at homereviews@policyexpert.co.uk. Thanks, Nisha
Posted 1 month ago
I've got charged 90 pounds in fees just for cancelling the insurance.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Good afternoon Peter, Thank you for getting in touch and leaving us a review. I'm sorry to hear you've been unhappy with the cancellation fee charged. We tried to call you today to advise that we are currently in the process of investigating this for you, however unfortunately we were unable to reach you. If you could send an email to motorreviews@policyexpert.co.uk confirming the best time to get in touch and the best contact number, we'll be sure to give you another call. Kind Regards, Heather
Posted 1 month ago
Got invited to renew then when i rang them to pay for the new policy i was told that they can not insure the house as it was going through probate
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Whilst a property is going through probate, we are unable to make any adjustments to the policy. Furthermore, if probate has not completed before the renewal date, then we would unfortunately, not be able to offer further cover. I have managed to locate the policy relating to your review and can see that we emailed you confirming this on 22 September 2021. Our regulator still requires us to send renewal invites and reminders when a policy is in the renewal window. I understand that this may have been upsetting or inconvenient. However, we wanted to ensure that you were aware of the upcoming expiry, so you have plenty of time to find an alternative, more appropriate insurer for the property whilst probate is outstanding. If you do wish to discuss this matter further or if there is anything else I can help you with, please contact me directly. I am available at homereviews@policyexpert.co.uk. Thanks, Nisha
Posted 4 months ago
Abysmal service regarding a Storm Damage . Be wary ! They used Google Earth to ‘virtually’ inspect my toppled wall . They have now cancelled my Policy, based on their error, leaving me uninsured . I have learnt a lesson - the cheapest Policy sounds great, until you need support & service with a Claim .
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Good Evening Mr Hughes, We appreciate you taking the time to fully outline your concerns. Here at Policy Expert, we are proud to say that we pay out on all valid claims submitted within the terms of our policies. All Policy Expert branded policies are written in Plain English and have Crystal Mark Plain English approval. Therefore, we are confident that the cover our policies include, and exclude, is clearly outlined for our policyholders. I can assure you your comments have been escalated and once all of the information has been fully reviewed, we will be in touch. Thanks, Ellie
Posted 4 months ago
AVOID POLICY EXPERT CAR INSURANCE AVOID NOT TO BE TRUSED THEY PAYED OUT ON TO SOME ONE ON A CLAM NEVER CAME BACK TO ME ` SO I COULD DEFEND IT DID NOT KNOW THEY HAD PAID THEM TILL A FEW MOUTHS LATER WHEN I GOT AN ALL ELETRIC CAR THEY SAID THEY DONT INSURE ELECTRIC CAR THATS WHEN I FOUND OUT THEY PAID A CLAM £66.+THEY CLOSED MY PLOLICE AND MADE A CHARG THOUGH IT NOT MY FULT. THEN TOLD ME THEY PAY £66.82 FOR THE MOUTHS NOT USED THEN NO MONEY PAID INTO MY BANK WHEN I PHONE WAS TOLD THEY WERE NOT PAYING ME FOR THE TIME I HAVE NOT USED RIP OF MERCHANS
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Fair price and good cover. Very user friendly website. UNTIL YOU NEED TO CLAIM THAT IS
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Good Afternoon Mr Handy Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Our specialist claims handlers ensure that our claims process is fixed so that all claims are handled fairly and in line with the policy terms and conditions. After speaking with Trinity claims, it has been established that your claim does not fall within the insured cover limits of our policy. I understand that our claims team have sent you a letter outlining these findings as their final stance on the matter. I appreciate that you're not satisfied with the outcome of your claim, however, please understand that we are only able to honour claims that are covered within the policy limits. As you have mentioned that you have escalated this to the Financial Ombudsman, our claims team will communicate with them directly to resolve this matter accordingly. Thanks, Nisha
Posted 4 months ago
AVOID AT ALL COSTS! Talking of costs, this company feel that they can profit from their customers moving house! I made a phone call simply to change my address. I was told there would be a £30 charge for doing so. THIRTY POUNDS! My GP Surgery, dentist, workplace, home insurance company, absolutely everywhere managed to change my address without charging me for the pleasure. Yet Policy Expert tried to make money on my personal choice of moving home. Unbelievable, upsetting and disgraceful. I told the woman to forget it as my policy was ending in a month anyway. This woman agreed. But she then went on to send me an email stating my policy would be cancelled within the next 7 days AND there would be a £60 cancellation fee. A cancellation fee for something I did not ask to be cancelled, they have decided to cancel the policy and charge me for it. A disgusting company who do not look out for their customers but instead try to profit from their personal choices throughout their home lives. KEEP AWAY FROM POLICY EXPERT.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. I am sorry to hear you were unhappy with the cost to update your policy details. I’ve located your policy and can see you’ve spoken with a member of our service team who has offered an explanation and a resolution which I understand has been accepted. If this is not the case, or if there any other concerns you have, please do not hesitate to get in touch. I am available via email at motorreviews@policyexpert.co.uk. Thanks, Mick
Posted 4 months ago
Worst insurance company ever. I have changed my car as old one was written off. When I called them I was told that they can’t insure my car and they couldn’t say what is the reason for that. And than I forced by them to cancel my policy and to pay £214 because they can’t insure my new car. How the such thing could be? I don’t suggest this company to anyone. Please be really careful as you can get into same situation like me if you decide to change your car
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Good afternoon Barash, Thank you for leaving us a review, we appreciate all feedback from our customers. I can see one of our team has now spoken to you regarding your issue and has offered what we hope is an acceptable resolution. If you do have any other questions or would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to email us at motorreviews@policyexpert.co.uk. Kind Regards, Vicky
Posted 4 months ago
Bad customer service
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Good Afternoon, I'm sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the service you have received from Policy Expert. We would love the opportunity to investigate your concerns, but we are disappointed to see that you have not provided us with any information to identify your account or policy. If you could please email your details to me at homereviews@policyexpert.co.uk, I'll look into your comments right away. Thanks in advance, Jasmine
Posted 5 months ago
Customer service is terrible my legitimate claim was refused then I was intimidated by management, other authorities are now involved.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Good Afternoon, Thank you for giving us the opportunity to look into your concerns. I understand that following a thorough investigation of the circumstances of your claim, in line with the terms of your policy, you have now received a final response letter from our claims team. This outlines their final position and what further steps you can take should you wish to escalate your dissatisfaction with the decline. You can also rest assured that our claims team will fully cooperate with any authorities involved in investigating your allegations. Thanks, Jasmine
Posted 5 months ago
Signed up to Policy Expert because there was a cashback incentive at the time. Months later this has been declined with no explanation. Baiting people with false advertising doesn't inspire trust.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Good Afternoon, We appreciate you taking the time to raise this with us. In order to be eligible for our cashback offers, policyholders must meet the terms and conditions displayed on the cashback site. These include terms such as: purchasing a quote directly obtained via a link on a cashback site, not having been insured with Policy Expert in the last five years and not attempting to purchase a policy in conjunction with any other offer. I would love the opportunity to look into this for you further and explain why you have not been eligible for cashback in this instance. However, I'm afraid I have been unable to locate your account with the details provided in your review. Please, therefore, email me at homereviews@policyexpert.co.uk and I will pick this up right away. Thanks in advance, Jasmine
Posted 6 months ago
There was a problem and misunder standing with your product after speaking to your staff about the insurance for my wife's rings was not included in the contents I informed I did not want to take out your policy but you already taken the £141 out of my bank which you promised to give me a full refund in the nest 3to5 days your prepossel form is very misleading
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Good Afternoon Terence Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. At the point of purchasing a Policy Expert home insurance policy, we ask all policyholders to ensure that they are providing us with honest and correct information. One of the questions that we ask in our application for insurance is 'Do you have any valuables or personal items worth over £2,000 each (not including bicycles)? We have a duty of care to ensure our policies are providing adequate cover and we will require for the valuables to be specified. We have reviewed the call that you had with our agent and found that you had informed us of the valuables after you had provided us with your card details and paid for the policy. The agent confirmed that we would need to adjust your policy accordingly and transferred you over to our adjustments team. You had then decided to cancel your policy, we had arranged this for you and advised that you will receive your refund within 3-5 working days. If you do wish to discuss things further or if there is anything else I can help you with, please contact me directly. I am available via phone or you can email me at homereviews@policyexpert.co.uk. Thanks, Nisha
Posted 6 months ago
One small accident in 10 years insurance quote 400% higher and took 2 months to settle
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Hi Victor, Thanks for getting in touch. I am sorry to hear your premium increased following your recent claim. Unfortunately, having a claim recorded on your policy can cause your premium to increase or even be unacceptable to your insurer, regardless of fault or size of the claim. I am sorry to hear of the time it took to settle your claim. There are many factors which can contribute to a claim remaining open for a significant period of time and there is no set time limit on how long a claim can take to be settled. If you wish to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to get in touch. I am available via email at motorreviews@policyexpert.co.uk. Thanks, Mick.
Posted 7 months ago
THIS COMPANY CHARGES £30 FOR A COOLING OFF PERIOD PLEASE BE SURE BEFORE PRESSING THE BUTTON. I TRIED TO CANCEL 10 MINS AFTER STARTED AND I HAVE BEEN CHARGED £30
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Hi Caroline, Thanks for getting in touch. I am sorry to hear you opted to cancel your policy. When cancelling within the cooling off period, which begins when the policy is purchase, not when the cover begins, we charge a £30.00 cancellation fee. Out with the cooling off period, we charge a £60.00 cancellation fee. Our fees and charges, which must be read and accepted before you can complete your purchase of your policy, are disclosed both online and via the telephone. I can see you have spoken with a member of our service team who’s offered an explanation and a resolution which I understand has been accepted. If you do wish to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to get in touch. Thanks, Mick.
Posted 7 months ago
Bought my car insurance from POLICY EXPERT and was expecting a "cool off" period for changing my mind. Cancelling only the next day I was confronted with a £30 'cancellation fee'. I consider this a deliberate contravention to my "cool off" rights. Most unhappy with POLICY EXPERT's 'policy' on basic buyer's rights.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
I get quote with good price from them but unfortunately when I phoned them and told my car was write off as cat C in 2016 they said not going to insure my car. I insuring car with others insurance providers without any problems. Zero stars for policy expert
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Hi Marius, Thanks for getting in touch. I am sorry to hear your vehicle was previously written off. Unfortunately, this is not something our insurers can cover as it is out with their criteria required to provide cover due to previously written off vehicle being considered a higher risk. If you wish to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to get in touch. Thanks, Mick.
Posted 8 months ago
Don't bother trying to claim. Experts in technicalities and loopholes but not customer service. Made a claim for £235 following a break-in. Excess £150 so sum total of £85 claim. They used technicalities to avoid paying and would rather instruct a surveyor to visit the property at xx cost to support their loop hole rather than pay £85. Unbelievably poor customer services
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Good Afternoon, Thank you for sending us your thoughts. I have raised these with our claims team directly to review. Here at Policy Expert, we pride ourselves on being transparent and clear - our policy documents are even Plain English approved! We do this, so our customers can be confident in the cover they have purchased. Our policy documentation highlights that in order for a theft claim to be valid, there needs to be evidence of forced and violent entry to your property. I understand that, unfortunately, this was not the case with your break in. We are only able to honour the cover outlined within our policies. I understand this matter has been escalated for you. Our claims team will be in touch shortly with their final response to your concerns. In the meantime, if there is anything further that you wish to add, please do not hesitate to email me at homereviews@policyexpert.co.uk Thanks, Jasmine
Posted 9 months ago
Policy Expert is rated 4.72 based on 18,183 reviews