Policy Expert Reviews

4.7 Rating 18,183 Reviews
96 %
of reviewers recommend Policy Expert
4.7
Based on 18,183 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
On-time Delivery
99%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
100%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.7 out of 5
Read Policy Expert Reviews

About Policy Expert:

Our customers are at the heart of everything we do, and our team of experts have a real passion for making sure people get the right cover for them.

Policy Expert is driven by a desire to help our customers find not only the best value insurance, but the right insurance for their individual needs.

Our dedicated Experts are always on hand to help - either online or over the phone. Whether you want assistance in finding the right policy or even handling a claim, we make sure it’s all handled by experts.

Visit Website

Phone:

0330 0600 600

Email:

ask@policyexpert.co.uk

Location:

352-390, Silbury Boulevard, Milton Keynes

Write Your review

Tell us how Policy Expert made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Policy Expert 5 star review on 11th June 2022
Stephen J
Policy Expert 5 star review on 9th March 2022
Anonymous
Policy Expert 5 star review on 25th January 2022
JOHN O
Policy Expert 5 star review on 18th January 2022
Simon
Policy Expert 5 star review on 3rd September 2021
Easterine M
Policy Expert 5 star review on 14th July 2021
Anonymous
Policy Expert 5 star review on 26th June 2021
Bob H
10
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Great policy cover but sadly let down by inability to help me change the date my policy was due to start. Customer services very unhelpful on this and I ended up having to cancel original policy and buy a new one all because they wouldn’t change the start date.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Good Afternoon Nicky, Thank you for taking the time to both leave us your feedback and discuss it with me further on the phone today. Firstly, it is great to hear that you are pleased with our policies and therefore decided to continue your home insurance with us! After looking into your account, and speaking with you over the phone, I was able to establish that you are currently in the process of moving home. However, at the time of speaking to our agent, your exchange of contracts had not happened. Here at Policy Expert, our policies are only suitable for policyholders that have already exchanged contracts and will be completing the sale and moving in within 14-days. Whilst we appreciate that the cancellation of your policy must have been inconvenient, our main concern is making sure you and your home are adequately covered. I was so pleased to learn that you now meet our requirements when speaking with you today. I hope that our discussion has ironed-out any concerns you had. However, if there is anything else you wish to raise, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. I am available via telephone, email and live chat. Thanks, Jasmine
Posted 3 months ago
I was disappointed to find that after paying for additional cover for boiler repairs/ maintenance in my policy and after my boiler breaking down, I found out it was basically useless. I was told that the boiler had to have been serviced within a certain time frame and as I was just outside of that, I couldn’t use it. It is misleading to offer such a policy to customers for them to then realise that when they actually need it, they can’t use it. It seems very unfair. I had to then pay additional costs to have my boiler repaired by another company.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Good Afternoon Louise Thank you for taking the time to outline your concerns to us. Here at Policy Expert, we are proud to say that we have never failed to pay out on any valid claims, and within our home emergency care documentation, we outline that in order to be covered, your boiler has to have been serviced within the last 15 months. I appreciate that this was not the outcome you wanted; however, I hope you can understand that we can only honour claims within the limits of your policy. If you do wish to discuss things further or if there is anything else I can help you with, please contact me directly. I am available at homereviews@policyexpert.co.uk. Thanks, Nisha
Posted 5 months ago
Waiting for a reply for days 3 from customer services
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to raise your concerns. Here at Policy expert, we aim to contact our customers back within 48 business hours, however, I appreciate you have not been contacted. Unfortunately, I am unable to locate your policy with the details you have provided in this review. Therefore, please may you contact me directly, in order for me to assist you further, I can be contacted on homereviews@policyexpert.co.uk. Thanks, Ellie
Posted 5 months ago
Simple process for arranging cover. Competitive pricing. I have not had need to make a claim, so can not comment on this element of Policy Expert's cover and service. Indeed, review requests should be requested at the END of the policy to provide a more accurate reflection of service. It's a bit naughty asking at this point. How can they be 5 star trust pilot if asking for reviews at the point of purchase is standard practice? Bit naughty. 2cstars for that alone.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Good Afternoon Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for choosing Policy Expert as your home insurer! I appreciate that you may not feel in a position to review all of our services, however, we hope that feedback obtained from reviews such as yours gives us an opportunity to look into ways our overall services could be improved - from the efficiency of our website, how clear you find our policy documentation, to any interactions you may have had with our agents. Nonetheless, if there is anything additional you feel we could have done to achieve a 5-star rating, we would love to hear it. Feedback like this really helps us build on the service we offer. If you would like you can send your thoughts to us at homereviews@policyexpert.co.uk. Thanks, Nisha
Posted 6 months ago
Useless, it won't let me log in to my account or reset password
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Good Afternoon Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Firstly, I am sorry to hear that you're having trouble logging in to your account. We have tried to contact via phone to assist you with accessing your online account, unfortunately, we were unable to get through to you. I have emailed you directly with a temporary password along with some instructions on how to log in to your account. If you still have trouble logging in, please contact me directly at homereviews@policyexpert.co.uk. Thanks, Nisha
Posted 10 months ago
Hi, I bought a building and contents cover on the 4th of Aug, 2021. The site crashed the first time just when I was about to pay for the order. I called the call center and my call was answered by (I believe) David within 2 minutes. He sounded tired. He neither could explain why the site crashed nor he apologised for it. He took my details because he said all the agents were busy due to COVID (when are the companies going to stop using this as an acceptable excuse for unacceptable levels of service??? - it's been nearly 18 months now.) He promised a call back in an hour. A did get a call from the center and a few other calls from other agents. But, I had re-logged to the site and had completed the payment. I feel that my call could have been handled better and an assurance to look into the site crash should have been provided. Thanks.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Good Afternoon Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Here at Policy Expert, we pride ourselves on our high levels of service and ensuring a positive customer experience within every aspect of the business. We therefore treat negative feedback from any customer very seriously and aim to quickly investigate their situation. I would appreciate the opportunity to look into your concerns, however, I am unable to locate your account with the details you have provided on your review. If you could please contact me directly at homereviews@policyexpert.co.uk, I will pick this up right away. Thanks, Nisha
Posted 10 months ago
Everytime I tried to log in it was saying my password was wrong I had to change it about 10 to 20 times
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Good morning, Thank you for leaving your review and I am sorry to hear you were having difficulty accessing your online customer portal. If you can please email me your policy details to motorreviews@policyexpert.co.uk, I'll look into this for you. Thanks, Mick.
Posted 11 months ago
I am being asked to write a review for Policy Expert before I have even started my cover. So all I can say is go compare did the work and I hope not to have to claim
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I appreciate that you may not feel in a position to review our services. however, we hope that feedback obtained from reviews such as yours could give us an opportunity to look into any ways our overall services could be improved - from the efficiency of our website, how clear you find our policy documentation, to any interactions you may have had with our agents. If your rating of 2-stars is also reflective of your experiences with things such as this, please do let me know - we would love to get some further feedback from you. I am available by via phone or you can email me at homereviews@policyexpert.co.uk. Thanks, Nisha
Posted 11 months ago
I find as an older person that your on line buying programme Is impossible to navigate.It just goes round and round between my email and password. In the end a young friend had to complete too complicated by far. Live chat never got going
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Good Afternoon Anne, Thank you for taking the time to raise your feedback with us. We appreciate that not all customers are most comfortable taking a policy out with us online, therefore we have a team on hand to help you over the phone! I'm pleased to hear that with the help of a friend you were able to get things sorted. However, if you have any additional comments about how our website could be made clearer for you, we would love to hear them. You can call us on 0330 0600 632, or email us at homereviews@policyexpert.co.uk. Thanks, Jasmine
Posted 11 months ago
Unable to open any file on my account as all are currpt.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Good Afternoon Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am sorry to hear that you are having trouble opening your documents. I would appreciate the opportunity to assist you further with this, however, I am unable to locate your account with the details you have provided on your review. If you could please contact me directly. I am available via phone or you can email me at homereviews@policyexpert.co.uk. Thanks, Nisha
Posted 11 months ago
Received a credit agreement that I think relates to this but there is no cross reference therefore I am very reluctant to sign it
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to raise this feedback with us. When you set up or renew a policy with us, we make you aware that Policy Expert is registered as a Credit Broker with the Financial Conduct Authority, and we arrange monthly payments with the lender Premium Credit. To ensure that you are fully aware of the terms of your agreement with them, Premium Credit require a signed copy from you. The template of this agreement does confirm that Policy Expert is the 'Credit Intermediary' of the agreement. In addition, the agreement always includes a welcome letter/payment schedule which contains our branding. Nonetheless, I apologise if you missed this. I appreciate you may wish for some further clarification or reassurance, which I'd be happy to help with. As I have been unable to locate your account with the information left in your review, please do not hesitate to email me at homereviews@polixyexpert.co.uk. Thanks, Jasmine
Posted 1 year ago
Gave us new roll over quote increased yet again. No loyalty shown by them as never claimed and when I called to cancel they offered me the same as new offer. Same old rip off.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Good Afternoon Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. When generating your renewal, we will always look to offer you our most competitive quote. However, as our automatic renewal quotes are based on the information provided in your previous policy, we are only able to look into changes that may potentially lower your premium, when we speak with you over the phone. However, I am sorry for any inconvenience this has caused you. If you do wish to discuss things further, please contact me directly. I am available via phone or you can email me at ask@policyexpert.co.uk and mark for my attention. Thanks, Nisha
Posted 1 year ago
I had to make a claim for the first time in 28 years regarding my building insurance. I had to call 7 times to the claims department as my builders were asked not to proceed until an assessor came out. From 2nd July they did other jobs but eventually had to do the job by 20th July as they had to leave for other work. It was only after my renew conversation that an assessor was asked to get involved, I had to contact them. I am not sure if my claim will be honoured now based on this.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm sorry to hear that your claim has not been managed as efficiently as expected. I understand that you have recently received an update on your claim from our claims team. However, I have arranged for somebody to contact you again to clarify the next steps. They'll be in touch shortly, but please do not hesitate to email me at ask@policyexpert.co.uk if there is anything else that I can assist you with in the meantime. Thanks, Jasmine
Posted 1 year ago
You took money out of my account on the 20th and policy is not up till the 25th so that is why I have given 2stars that's 5 days before its dew you would not be so quick putting it back in my account
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Good Morning Mr May Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We automatically renew your policy and take payment 3-5 days before the renewal date to ensure that the payment is successful. This is also to ensure that we do not leave our customers without cover unknowingly in case there are any issues with processing the payment. This will have been explained in the renewal invite that we sent to you, however, we apologise if this has caused any inconvenience. If you do wish to discuss this further or if there is anything else I can help you with, please contact me directly. I am available via phone or you can email me at ask@policyexpert.co.uk and mark it for my attention. Thanks, Nisha
Posted 1 year ago
Tried to reset my password (I keep forgetting them) & informed I would be sent a 'token' to be able to reset it, which would be sent to my email address - got annoyed after waiting over 2 hours. What is the point of a reset button if it doesn't function. Useless
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Good Afternoon Mr Elliot Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm sorry to hear that you're having trouble logging in to your online account. I have managed to locate your account and tried contacting you to assist you further but unfortunately, you were unavailable. I have sent you a separate email with a temporary password that should allow you to log in to your account. If you still have any problems logging in, please respond to the email and I will pick it up right away. Thanks, Nisha
Posted 2 years ago
Easy to deal with & competitive but what about claims? My FREE legal cover proved worthless. Why? After buying a new vehicle which proved troublesome, they rejected my claim for legal support. After having given the supplier 10 months to fix recurring defects I wanted to return the vehicle and get my money back. The supplier refused and Policy Expert wouldn't take the case because I hadn't told them with 90 days of the first complaint.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Firstly, I am pleased to hear that you find out services easy and competitive. However, I am sorry to learn that you are unhappy with the outcome of your legal assistance claim. We will always review claims in-line with the cover provided by the policy, and in order for us to assist with legal claims, we do need to be notified of any circumstance that may lead to a claim, within 90 days. I appreciate that this may not be what you were expecting and I apologise for any inconvenience caused. If you would like to discuss this further, or if you have any additional concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me via telephone, email, live chat or social media. I'll be happy to help. Thanks, Jasmine
Posted 2 years ago
Very sneaky, had the money out of my account several days before the renewal date.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We look to automatically renew your policy 3-5 days before the renewal date to ensure that the payment is successful. This is also to ensure that we do not leave our customers without cover unknowingly in case there are any issues with processing the payment. This would have been explained in the renewal invite that we send roughly 30 days prior to your renewal date. I apologise if you felt this process was deceiving and for any inconvenience caused. If you'd like to discuss this in any further detail, please do not hesitate to email me at ask@policyexpert.co.uk. Be sure to highlight your email for my attention so I can pick this up right away. Thanks, Jasmine
Posted 2 years ago
Previously would of rated (Very Good) After an automatic renewal took place on my 3rd year of being with you. I noticed you had my property down a a 3 Bedroom End Terrance, where it should of been Semi- detached. after the update was applied your customer service agent said you were no longer able to provide cover??????????? great way to treat a customer after 2 years of loyalty.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Good Afternoon Mr Maiden Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It's great to hear that you were happy with us, however, I am sorry that us being unable to offer you cover has changed that. As we are a broker, we work with various different insurers and unfortunately, are unable to confirm a specific reason for being unable to offer you a quote as there are many factors that could contribute towards the decision. This could be the postcode area, the type of property you have etc. Once again, I do apologise for the inconvenience this has caused you and if you do wish to discuss this further or if there is anything else I can help you with, please contact me directly. I am available via phone or you can email me at ask@policyexpert.co.uk and mark it for my attention. Thanks, Nisha,
Posted 2 years ago
Disappointed with service. Never claimed before and recently claimed for broken back door lock repair - only £125 after excess paid and so far not having much luck.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Good Morning, Thank you for leaving us a review. I'm sorry to hear that you're not entirely satisfied with the outcome of your claim. As defined by our policies, the excess is the first payment of any claim and is deducted from any cash settlements that we pay. I apologise if this was unexpected and for any inconvenience it may have caused you. I understand our claims team are waiting to hear back from you about the settlement of your claim. If you'd like me to arrange a call back for you, please contact me via email, live chat or social media. Alternatively, you can call them directly on 0330 0600 633 if you'd prefer. Otherwise, if you have any further concerns, or if there is anything else that I can help you with, please do not hesitate to get in touch. Thanks, Jasmine
Posted 2 years ago
I was going to change this year because you were £60 dearer than other companies for the same thing, but you already took the money from my account. I have never had to use insurance for anything but it keeps on creeping up in price. I would like yourselves to review this and give me a saving
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I have had a look into things and I can see that we contacted you roughly 30 days prior to your renewal date confirming that your policy was due to renew. In this correspondence we confirmed that we will automatically renew your policy (and take payment) 3-5 days before the renewal date to ensure that the payment is successful. This also ensures that we do not leave our customers without cover unknowingly in case there are any issues with processing the payment. I am sorry to hear that your policy premium increased at renewal. Unfortunately, even if you have not claimed, an increase is sometimes unavoidable and due to many different reasons. As requested, in order for you to discuss your renewal further and review your future cover, I have arranged for somebody on our renewals team to get in touch. However if you have any further concerns you wish for me to address in the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact me via telephone, email, live chat or social media. I'll be more than happy to help. Thanks, Jasmine
Posted 3 years ago
Policy Expert is rated 4.72 based on 18,183 reviews