Policy Expert Reviews

4.7 Rating 18,183 Reviews
96 %
of reviewers recommend Policy Expert
4.7
Based on 18,183 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
On-time Delivery
99%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
100%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.7 out of 5
Read Policy Expert Reviews

About Policy Expert:

Our customers are at the heart of everything we do, and our team of experts have a real passion for making sure people get the right cover for them.

Policy Expert is driven by a desire to help our customers find not only the best value insurance, but the right insurance for their individual needs.

Our dedicated Experts are always on hand to help - either online or over the phone. Whether you want assistance in finding the right policy or even handling a claim, we make sure it’s all handled by experts.

Visit Website

Phone:

0330 0600 600

Email:

ask@policyexpert.co.uk

Location:

352-390, Silbury Boulevard, Milton Keynes

Write Your review

Tell us how Policy Expert made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Policy Expert 5 star review on 11th June 2022
Stephen J
Policy Expert 5 star review on 9th March 2022
Anonymous
Policy Expert 5 star review on 25th January 2022
JOHN O
Policy Expert 5 star review on 18th January 2022
Simon
Policy Expert 5 star review on 3rd September 2021
Easterine M
Policy Expert 5 star review on 14th July 2021
Anonymous
Policy Expert 5 star review on 26th June 2021
Bob H
10
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Fairly easy to use
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Good and quick but BE AWARE if you are paying by monthly direct debit installments this will show as an UNSECURED LOAN on Equifax, Experian, ClearScore etc etc. If you renew with them the old insurance will remain on the Credit Agencies file for another 6 months so in effect showing up as two UNSECURED LOANS. Very damaging to your credit rating - I dropped 200 points due to Policy Expert (they used Premium Credit). If I was made aware of this beforehand I would never have used them.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Good Morning Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. When setting up your policy, you were provided with the option of paying in full, or by direct debit via a third-party finance provider. As you opted for direct debit payments, we organised your monthly instalments with Premium Credit. We do inform you that we will share your data with Premium Credit and they may carry out credit, affordability and/or anti-money laundering checks on you. If they do, then a record of the search or other information may show on your credit file. This is a fairly common practice among insurers, and we make you aware of this alongside our terms and conditions at the point of purchasing a policy. However, if you are not comfortable with this payment method, you do also have the option of paying for your policy in full at any time. If you wish for me to arrange a callback for you so you can pay for the policy, or if you would like to discuss this further, please contact me directly. I am available via all the channels displayed under the 'contact us' section of our website. Thanks, Ellie
Posted 2 months ago
I noted that jewellery over £2000 requires 2 yearly valuation otherwise may not be paid out on. This is quite different to other insurers and I only spotted by being quite Eagle eyed. So I either thinks this needs to be highlighted more or removed.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to raise this with us. Before proceeding with the purchase of a Policy Expert policy, you are directed to our website, where further details of the policy are displayed. This includes all of the policy endorsements. Not only do we make the policy endorsements available to view on our website prior to taking out a policy, but these are also clearly displayed within your policy documentation - specifically your policy schedule. The endorsements on your policy schedule have a page of their own, which is clearly entitled 'Endorsement(s) that apply to this policy'. They are written in bold, sizeable font to ensure they are clear. We provide all policyholders with a 14-day cooling-off period to thoroughly review their cover. If they are not satisfied with the cover limits, including the policy endorsements, they are able to cancel within this cooling-off period, without being subject to a cancellation fee. We are satisfied that this is plenty of time to assess all of the policy terms. If you wish to discuss this in any further detail, please do not hesitate to email me at homereviews@policyexpert.co.uk. Thanks, Jasmine
Posted 3 months ago
The excess is too high. There is no option for changing compulsory excess.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Good Evening, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is common for insurers to have a slightly higher excess for perils such as the escape of water and subsidence. This is just due to the nature of these claims. However, if you feel your standard excess is too high, this can always be amended, as this excess would be selected by our policyholders. Unfortunately, I am unable to locate your policy with the details in your review, therefore, please may you contact us at home.review@policyexpert.co.uk. I would appreciate the opportunity to look into this and assist you further. Thanks, Ellie
Posted 4 months ago
Seems to be reasonable value but have not yet needed to claim
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Good Morning Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for choosing Policy Expert as your home insurer! I appreciate that you may not feel in a position to review our claims service, however, we are proud to say that we have never failed to pay a claim that is covered by our policies. We write our policies in Plain English to ensure they are clear and we support thousands of customers every month by paying their claims. Nonetheless, if there is anything additional you feel we could have done to achieve a 5-star rating, we would love to hear it. Feedback like this really helps us build on the service we offer. If you would like you can send your thoughts to us at homereviews@policyexpert.co.uk. Thanks, Nisha
Posted 5 months ago
Thus far it has been fine although parts of the policy were not immediately clear. How good Policy Expert really are will become apparent when/if I have to make a claim.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Good Afternoon Hilary Thank you for leaving us a review and for choosing Policy Expert as your home insurer! Here at Policy Expert, we are proud to say that we have never failed to pay a claim that is covered by our policies. We write our policies in Plain English to ensure they are clear and we support thousands of customers every month by paying their claims. I'd be more than happy to go through the parts of the policy you had found unclear, however, I am unable to locate your account with the details you have provided on your review. If you could please contact me directly. I am available via email at homereviews@policyexpert.co.uk. Thanks, Nisha
Posted 5 months ago
The telephone customer service is excellent The reason for giving 3 stars is the site access to log in to your account is not working. I have tried over several weeks to access my account and ,although ,the company has been aware for sometime that there are issues, they haven't been resolved. This is such a shame as the quality of service provided by the people on the phone is excellent.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Good Morning Joy Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Firstly, I'm pleased to hear that you're happy with the service you have received, however, I am sorry that you're having trouble accessing your online account. I'd be more than happy to assist you with logging into your account but unfortunately, I'm unable to locate your account with the details you have provided on your review. If you could please contact me directly, I am available at homereviews@policyexpert.co.uk. I look forward to hearing back from you. Thanks, Nisha
Posted 5 months ago
Easy to buy
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Good Morning Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It's great to hear that you had found it simple to purchase your policy! We welcome all feedback ranging from the process of setting up/renewing a policy via our channels to the quality of our online services and communications. If your rating of 3-stars is also reflective of your experiences with things such as this, please do let me know - we would love to get some further feedback from you. I am available at homereviews@policyexpert.co.uk. Thanks, Nisha
Posted 5 months ago
This policy was the cheapest by a long shot and provided all I needed such as emergency cover for electrics , heating etc. I’ve only given 3 stars as so far I haven’t tried to make a claim and have no experience of how that would pan out. Happy so far especially as I did not want to do everything online as it’s so much easier to call a helpline which policy expert provide.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Good Afternoon Lynn Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Firstly, it's great to hear you have found our premiums competitive. Here at Policy Expert, we appreciate all feedback our customers have from completing a quote to the service they have received. However, I appreciate that you do not feel in a position to leave a review of our claims service, we write our policies in Plain English to ensure they are clear. I can also say we support thousands of customers every month by paying their claims. If your rating of 3-stars is also reflective of the experiences you have had so far, please do let me know - we would love to get some further feedback from you. I am available at homereviews@policyexpert.co.uk. Thanks, Ellie
Posted 5 months ago
Easy to purchase although still waiting for reward. Not had to claim at all
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Excess shown on comparison website shows £100 but when you buy the policy it changes to £250. Moneysuprmarket need to change their evaluation criteria.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to raise this with us. Before proceeding with the purchase of a Policy Expert policy, you are directed to our website, where further details of the policy are displayed. This includes all of the policy excesses. Not only do we make the policy excesses available to view on our website prior to taking out a policy, but these are also clearly displayed within your policy documentation once a policy has been purchased. It is common for insurers to have higher excesses for damage caused as a result of escape of water and subsidence, due to the nature of these claims. We provide all policyholders with a 14-day cooling-off period to thoroughly review their cover. If they are not satisfied with the cover limits or policy excesses, they are able to cancel within this cooling-off period, without being subject to a cancellation fee. I'm afraid I have been unable to locate your policy with the details you have provided in your review. Therefore, if you wish to discuss this in further detail, please do not ​hesitate to email me at homereviews@policyexpert.co.uk. Thanks, Jasmine
Posted 5 months ago
The web journey to buy the policy was easy, simple and user friendly. When I look at the claims and other policy related points are very far from other competitors.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Good Morning Krishna, Thank you for taking the opportunity to leave us a review and for choosing us for your insurance this coming year! I'm pleased to hear that you found purchasing a policy easy, simple and user-friendly. However, I note that you have only left us a 3-star rating. I have attempted to contact you by telephone and email, to see if there are any additional concerns you would like to discuss, but unfortunately, I was unable to reach you. If you do have any feedback about your experience, or if there is anything else I can assist you with, please contact me directly. I am available via phone or you can email me at homereviews@policyexpert.co.uk. Thanks, Ellie
Posted 6 months ago
Does the job, not had to call on it yet
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Good Afternoon John Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for choosing Policy Expert as your home insurer. I appreciate that you may not feel in a position to review our claims service, however. we do welcome all feedback ranging from the process of setting up/renewing a policy via our channels to the quality of our online services and communications. As we are always looking to improve on the service we provide, if you do have any feedback about your experience, or if there is anything else I can assist you with, please contact me directly. I am available via phone or you can email me at homereviews@policyexpert.co.uk. Thanks, Nisha
Posted 6 months ago
Good policy covers home emergency and legal aid included.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I'm pleased to hear you are happy with our Home Emergency and Legal Expenses policy. If your rating of 3-stars is also reflective of your experience, please do let me know - we would love to get some further feedback from you. I am available at homereviews@policyexpert.co.uk. Thanks, Ellie
Posted 6 months ago
I've not had to make a claim as yet or speak to anyone but impressed with the price for the cover
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Good Afternoon Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Firstly, I'm pleased to hear that you're happy with your policy and premium! I appreciate that you may not feel in a position to review our claims service, however, we are proud to say that we have never failed to pay a claim that is covered by our policies. We hope that feedback obtained from reviews such as yours could give us an opportunity to look into any way our overall services could be improved - from the efficiency of our website, how clear you find our policy documentation, to any interactions you may have had with our agents. If you have any comments with things such as this, please do let me know - we would be happy to receive your feedback. I am available at homereviews@policyexpert.co.uk. Thanks, Nisha
Posted 7 months ago
I expected to be provided with a summary of my form entries for checking before the payment page. Surprised this was missing.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Good Morning Anthony, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Your feedback has been taken on board and will be logged with the relevant team to review. We are always trying to improve our services for the benefit of our customers so we appreciate you highlighting this. If there is anything else you wish to discuss with your policy, I would be happy to help. I can be contacted on homereviews@policyexpert.co.uk. Thanks, Ellie
Posted 7 months ago
Guy was friendly enough, but I didn’t like him trying to hard sell some other covers
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Took out Policy confusing due to previous quotes still on my profile. Last years quote with renewal taken out 24/10/21 for 25/10/21 expire 24/10/22
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Good Afternoon Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We believe it's important that our customers always have access to all their policy documents which would include the ones that are now expired. The reason we do this is for any claims or complaints that may potentially arise in future. However, I do apologise for any confusion this may have caused you. If you do wish to discuss things further or if there's anything else I can help you with, please contact me directly. I am available at homereviews@policyexpert.co.uk. Thanks, Nisha
Posted 8 months ago
About average. Less than good, better than poor. Just fine.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Good Afternoon Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate that you may not feel in a position to review all our services, however, we hope that feedback obtained from reviews such as yours could give us an opportunity to look into any way our overall services could be improved - from the efficiency of our website, how clear you find our policy documentation, to any interactions you may have had with our agents. If your rating of 3-stars is also reflective of your experiences with things such as this, please do let me know - we would love to get some further feedback from you. I am available by telephone, email and live chat. Thanks, Nisha
Posted 8 months ago
Lowest price found
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Good Afternoon Thank you for getting in touch with us. Firstly, I'm pleased to hear that you're happy with your policy premium. Here at Policy Expert, we welcome all feedback, ranging from our website and policy documentation to any interactions you may have had with our agents so if you do wish to discuss things further or if there is anything else I can help you with, please contact me directly. I am available via phone or you can email me at homereviews@policyexpert.co.uk. Thanks, Nisha
Posted 8 months ago
Policy Expert is rated 4.72 based on 18,183 reviews