RAC Insurance Reviews

2.34 Rating 1,041 Reviews
33 %
of reviewers recommend RAC Insurance
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
1.35 out of 5
Cancellations & Refunds
Cancellation Process
Difficult

Write Your review

Tell us how RAC Insurance made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Good Customer Service
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Absolute rip off! These thieving clowns charged £225 to swap my vehicle with little over a month left even there own agent couldn't believe the extent of the pure greed! Avoid like the plauge thieving scumbags!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
extra years no claims and the policy cost went up by nearly 40%, what a rip off, ring up and all i get repeated to me was, "underwriters criteria", would be very cautious if anyone is looking at using the RAC. When i wrongly pointed out that i thought laws had changed ref looking after new policy holders more than existing it was pointed out to me that this is not yet law. Gave one star as not possible to give zero stars
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
International Student Experience after only 2 weeks with RAC. Signed up for black box insurance for Citroen C4. When installed, all the electrics went wonky setting it to km and French. When told about it, RAC said it wasn’t their fault and I had to simply deal with it. Proceeded to go back on their contractual agreement and demanded more money or they would cancel my insurance. So many numbers and long waits on hold just to be told there was nothing that can be done. Would not recommend and cancelled after 2 weeks despite all the ridiculous cancellations fees.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Atrocious customer service. My husband changed his car and rang them to transfer his insurance to the new car. He was told he couldn't do this as they would need to cancel the existing policy and transfer the insurance to a different company. There would be a fee of £25 to cancel the existing policy and he would have to start a new policy, which was fair enough. We decided we could get a better deal elsewhere and told him we'd look around . We then rang to cancel and were told we had to pay £55. Why didn't he tell us that? We lodged a complaint and all we got was a load of waffle and excuses. I will certainly be taking my own car insurance away from them when it's due for renewal and recommend anyone reading this do the same.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
STAY AWAY FROM THE BLACK BOX. I've been insured since October last year, with my daughter as a named driver. I've been driving for 40 years without ever having one accident. My daughter who is 39 had only just passed her test so policies were coming out really expensive. We had the black box fitted and had no issues for the first 6 months then suddenly in May got a first red alert, then In June got a second red alert. I rang them to find out what the issue was, they said breaking and accelerating, I explained it was better to break than to hit a child or a car that come in front of you. As for accelerating I'm not sure how to move a car without this function and we are not boy racers. After this the scores went up for a week even though we drove in exactly the same way. However in July we got another alert that they are cancelling the policy from August, and charging £128 for the privilege. I wish I had read the reviews before using this company who appear to be nothing but a bunch of thieving scammers. Pay a bit extra and use a reputable company. I will be reporting them as eventually someone will look Into their practices.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
there is no option to cancel auto renewal through online, renewal email goes to junk email box and they take money auto renewal for years.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Simply shocking they take your money without sending any info about renewal, then when you tell them jot to renew they have the cheek to say you have to wait 2 weeks fir a cheque to be sent out and they keep 25% of the renewal fee, I am still waiting 2 months later for the cheque even though I have rang on several occasions, they took my money direct from the bank so they should put it back! Robbers DO NOT USE
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
I have never dealt with such a shambles of a car insurance company, sorry ‘broker’, in all my days as the RAC. A week after my wife’s car took a hit, we’ve been passed from company to company and mislead along the way. I’ve spent hours on the phone chasing 3 different companies as the RAC, who the insurance is with, do nothing to help. Waste of space!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Rang to cancel my insurance policy due selling my car, was informed of a £55 cancellation fee. Criminals operating under the name of a once great and trusted organisation. I have also just cancelled my Green flag breakdown cover because my new car had alternative breakdown cover, they charged a much more reasonable £11 to do so. Sandra
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
I rang to cancel my policy. I am then informed by a young lady called Ash that there will be a £55 admin charge for cancellation. I am not happy with this. Ash then started to inform me why etc and I calmly told her that I am still not happy and I am disgusted with the ethics of the RAC and I will never ever use RAC for Insurance, or breakdown cover. If it has RAC, I will not be using you. I remained calm. I said are we done, she said yes, I said well I am not happy, she said you have already said that and hung up on me. So Obviously the quality of RAC is pretty low. I will tell my friends and family and write as many reviews as I can on how bad your company is. Not that any of you give a damn. Martin
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
I was in my 2nd year with RAC. Phoned them to arrange cover for my new car. I agreed to this on the phone but later discovered that I could have similar insurance elsewhere for half the price. It cost me £40 to cancel with them 24 hours later. Disgraceful. I wouldn't spend another penny on an RAC product.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
If I could give zero I would, obviously aimed at young people. My car hasn’t been used much because of covid so they send threatening emails saying I’ve disconnected it when I haven’t. Terrible customer service.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Unfortunately had to call out RAC twice for breakdown cover.first time we waited 6 hours the second time over 5 hours.they blame it on covid regs.when they did turn up there was no sign of a face mask or social distancing so think that is a lie.my wife had to get home to take her medication but they did not give a monkeys about that.unfortunately my wife became ill because of this and had to attend hospital.would not touch them with a barge pole.terrible service and would advise not to use rac.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
In general company with very bad costumer service and very good at ruin your credit score. Difficult to contact. They sent all my correspondence to inbox set up by them, one you can't log in later .If you put request to change your password, you can be sure you won't get any link or email to do it. Last thing, if you own them money they will send your details to debt recovery company like myCRS.co.uk without any warning. I wouldn't recommend to anybody.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
I was lied to from start to finish and it took over twelve hours to get me to the end of my journey.. without my vehicle. I asked for a taxi at 0330 when they told me to expect another 3 plus hour delay for recovery! When I asked for the taxi they said that was part of my policy. They could have mentioned this at 1900 the day before when I broke down but didn’t give me that option at all. They made a bad day even worse. Please save your money / time and effort and go to AA or GreenFlag. The RAC are useless!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Had to cancel a contract mid year and the fee is £55. Must be very expensive using minimum wage staff to push a button. Overpriced and poor customer service
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
This company is a fraudulent one. They send e-mails which are vicious and abusive. The questionnaire which they send after they have cancelled your policy for no good reason leads to a bogus website. Do not insure with this company. Ed.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Criminals. I changed my address, moving within the same postcode to a flat with a garden, three minutes walk away, and my renewal quote went up 6 times, from £519 to £3000. I couldn't get an explanation why from any of the machines who work there. Awful
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
I have car insurance with them about 3 years and when I want change address they said is not possible and cancel my policy and offer new one for 4k per year and £130 cancelation fee !!!!! I pay £35 full including break downs cover. more like 10 years no NCD. I said I call back and will research. When I call back offer was £1500 per year and £70 cancelation fee but different person. Something is wrong here I call back with 10 minutes cancel my policy even new person don't know I speak with someone before. My wife renew offer £500 more. Never again !!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
RAC Insurance is rated 2.34 based on 1,041 reviews