RAC Insurance Reviews

2.34 Rating 1,043 Reviews
33 %
of reviewers recommend RAC Insurance
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
1.35 out of 5
Cancellations & Refunds
Cancellation Process
Difficult

Write Your review

Tell us how RAC Insurance made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Criminals. I changed my address, moving within the same postcode to a flat with a garden, three minutes walk away, and my renewal quote went up 6 times, from £519 to £3000. I couldn't get an explanation why from any of the machines who work there. Awful
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
I have car insurance with them about 3 years and when I want change address they said is not possible and cancel my policy and offer new one for 4k per year and £130 cancelation fee !!!!! I pay £35 full including break downs cover. more like 10 years no NCD. I said I call back and will research. When I call back offer was £1500 per year and £70 cancelation fee but different person. Something is wrong here I call back with 10 minutes cancel my policy even new person don't know I speak with someone before. My wife renew offer £500 more. Never again !!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
never sent me a renewal letter then just renewed my insurance without my permission, increased the cost by £500 even though I now had a years no claims and a year of having a black box score above 75% and will be over 25yo half way through the year, then charged me £75 to cancel the policy, when I rang within minutes of being informed the policy had begun - simply appalling - avoid wherever possible
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
So had a car insurance policy wanted to change cars from a Volvo c70 d5 to merc 220 cdi they wanted an extra £300 making the cost £840 im 52 with a full ncd and no points or bans... a big taken back by the cost i said i will call back so after 30 mins i called them back and the price had gone to £1130....told them to f...off..... went to direct line £440 same car same cover now im being charged £75 to cancel the policy even though it was paid in full up front and no claims had been made
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
We are both pensioners and unfortunately we have both had accidents within the last month, Which we were the innocent parties in. ln mine a lorry took me of the road and the lorry company even rang me to apologise and ask me how the claim was going...After £350 in excess and £81. to alter our policy which we may get £50 eventually the RAC and their side kick AGEAS have REFUSED TO SPEAK AND HELP TWO PENSIONERS..They are the worst companies I have ever had to deal with..My adviceeveryone is to go with anyone apart from RAC and their AGEAS side kick they don't even deserve one star but this website doesn't seam to have that facility
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
They keep harassing me for 25.00 despite me cancelling my insurance within a couple of days as my car ended up being scrapped. I will be reporting rac for harassment if they carry on.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Did note want to compromise
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Charged a £50 cancellation fee when we sold our car, the online portal inst great and the advisor was pretty blunt and rude to be honest.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Absolutely thugs, they make me £55 for cancellation and £61 extra for nothing. I will never use this company again. They have a ridiculous customer service a bunch of unprofessional team.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Absolutely pathetic service, had an accident which was not my fault three days later and still no courtesy car, been on the phone in total 2 hours 45 minutes and still getting nowhere. Would definitely not recommend RAC insurance, would rather pay a little more for someone like Direct Line whose business is solely insurance, my husband had a claim a few years ago and it was dealt with promptly and efficiently.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Disgusting customer service, I have been robbed I have paid 155 for 15 days of insurance paid a 75 deposit on may 31st and on 14 June they wanted 60 for my direct debit wich was missed and they added on 20 charge and I was told if I cancel I get nothing back o 160 for 2 weeks a can go AA insurance get insured for a year for 350 and the people skill is appalling disgusting rude people who have no customer service skillls I have a recording off the conversation wich is disgusting and all be posting on all my social media account and not to get insurance from rac rip offs
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Simple VALUE to money Easy buy And Fast
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
I had a policy with RAC changed my adddress and the underwriters didn’t like my new address and I made a claim and it all had an impact and they cancelled my policy and charged me for the rest of the yearly payment. Didn’t explain things very well.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Appauling company wanted to change our car have seven months left on policy wanted £180 to change policy and another £1,400to insure new car .Will never touch them again .
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Easy to contact t answered any queries with no judgement
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Insurance premium is rather low, although far from the lowest. Changes of address and cancelling come with ridiculously high fees. Can't make them online, need to call. I will not be using RAC INSURANCE ever again.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Automatic renewal at uncompetitive rate, way higher than last year despite no claims; you have to jump through hoops and have to hang on the phone to cancel - clearly hoping to make money by making it difficult to cancel - I won't use them for anything in future.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Read the reviews before taking out insurance with this company. They are very low for a reason. I recently sold my car as I have not been using it. I informed RAC and they want to charge £55 cancellation fee! I know there will be a small admin charge but £55 is ridiculous. Others like AA car insurance charge a more reasonable £30. I made no claims during my period with them and the £55 was about a quarter of my yearly full comp insurance price! Rip off company. I urge you to go elsewhere. I for one am telling as many people as possible to avoid this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Easy to use, everything is done for you on line, fantastic.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Lost £26+ of policy cost by selling car and cancelling with 3 months left on the Policy. Greedy as no refund given when car was hardly used during lockdowns. I will never use RAC again.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
RAC Insurance is rated 2.34 based on 1,043 reviews