Hyperoptic Reviews

1.4 Rating 39 Reviews
10 %
of reviewers recommend Hyperoptic
1.4
Based on 39 reviews
Customer Service
Avg Email Response Time
51.86 minutes
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Hyperoptic made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
They are unwilling to cancel my (now finished) contract without me paying an extra month for no reason. The customer service experts are complaining TO ME that they need to spend "6 minutes on the phone to deal with my issue" I queue for 30-60 minutes with no response, yet I'm number 1 in the queue. Once I get connected, it gets disconnected. No call back, need to queue again. All this to cancel a contract that is now finished. Did I forget to mention that they charge you double the price for rolling the contract? Aka this extra month I need to pay is actually worth 2 regular months. The list keeps going. This company is CRIMINAL and I have never seen a more unprofessional bunch congregated like this. Did I forget to mention that their speeds aren't actually what they claim in speed tests? THE LIST GOES ON!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
No internet for two days. Multiples calls , emails , tweets but no response on status of fault and when service will be repaired. Just renewed contract recently so can’t cancel without hefty penalty but this rubbish
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
My internet has been down for 29 hours and it is still not fixed! I have lost a day of work and now on day 2 of lost work, what is going on?!? As well as no internet, I have no phone as it is a VOIP phone, and no TV too. When I call to complain to a manager they don’t have any available, offer no compensation or any alternatives for people working from home. Very poor.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Poor service! I need to move home and this company has no coverage there. The bad customer service said I need to give £179 punishments for the cancellation! Everyone has this same situation will get waived at the other company because every company knows that it is not the fault of the customer!
Hyperoptic 1 star review on 25th July 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
They claim that I have renewed late and charged me an extra £1.14, I asked for it back and they refused..... that's right £1.14!!!! no customer goodwill, NOTHING...
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hyperoptic hides the fact that they share your IP. Most Internet providers do not do that, because it creates a wealth of insolvable problems for the end-user. When confronted with this hidden sabotage, hyperoptic demands an extra 5 pounds monthly to stop sharing your IP and thus bring you to a similar setup as what most other Internet providers obviously do for free. This is extortion.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Avoid. This company is a scam and total waste of time ans money. Go somewhere else who will actually install your wifi and not accuse you of lying
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Ordered Hyperoptic fibre in London, they confirmed it was available in my area. Throughout the installation process I got sms's, phone calls, and emails that were all inconsistent with each other (an sms would say something is ready, then I'd phone and it wouldn't be ready, etc). The website to book installation didn't work at all and always had incorrect info on the status of the installation. Asked several times to escalate, to be forwarded to a manager, employees would reply, but always ignored my requests to escalate. After 2 weeks, no work had been done. I was told I could finally book a pre-install (not even the install!), but next availability was in 10 days. I told them this is terrible service and they forwarded me to the complaints department, who would contact me within 48 hours. The complaints department never contacted me. After 2 days, I told them to cancel the order and signed up with Zen (which took 15 minutes).
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Extortionate cancellation fees and terrible CS! Iv been with hyperoptic over 4 years and had to move out of an apartment due to my landlord selling up. Hyperoptic assured me on chat my cancellation would cost no more than £150.70 and to contact CS before cancelling to see if possible to reduce. After going to CS they added on another months charge making the total cancellation fee £171.22 their CS agent on the phone couldn’t even explain why the fee had changed from £150.70 to £144 plus an extra month! Iv reccomendd hyperoptic to many people and was a loyal customer but never again!! AVOID
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
The worst customer experience I have ever had. Rather than go into the details i'll be brief and to the point. No internet since 1st December 2022 (3 months ago), three engineer visits with no solution. A 7 week wait for them to arrange a fourth. 6 phone calls where I've have had to chase and no resolution date in sight. I would cancel if i could but they are the only providers of fibre in my area. Currently escalating to regulator. STAY AWAY.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Despite being sold as all singing and all dancing, I've been left far from impressed with this "service". Engineers visited on 31/01 to install in my flat. The router was installed, but the fibre couldn't be used, as "stage 1" need to revisit the downstairs cabinet, as the "fibre is damaged". A few days went by and nothing happened until I got confirmation on 05/02 that it was now working and it worked from 06/02 until 07/02. The router is now flashing red on the internet button and "stage 1" need to revisit. After waiting on hold for around 28 minutes, I get through to complain but they've misunderstood and sent out an engineer to my flat again today, when it is a DIFFERENT TEAM needing to attend. Sheer incompetence so after 9 days, still no consistent service. I really would avoid.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
I wouldn’t recommend this company very bad bad customer service I had issues with land line and they could not fix this issue as the deny there is a fault I do not get any incoming calls from outside to my landline
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
I've been with Hyperoptic for years and have recommended them to many people which is why I now feel a sense of guilt. There have been a few occasions where the service has gone down unexpectedly and that's totally fine, no service always works perfectly and whenever I've called the people have been polite and helpful, and the issue was resolved quickly. On the last occasion however ther service went down due to a battery failing (the backup didn't kick in/hasn't been replaced) which led to over half a day without service when it is something that could easily have been prevented, and most recently, on Christmas day itself the service went down. It was the first time in 2 years my family have been together due to the pandemic, and I'd been planning to host virtual parties and movie sessions and games with extended family who couldn't be here due to the rules. When the connection went down I immediately called customer service and don't think I've ever spoken to a more apathetic person. They couldn't have cared less, explained they had no information, advised I'd get an update via text (9 hours later, still no update), advised there was no ETA and I'd just have to wait. All my of Christmas plans came to a halt, I've had no update from Hyperoptic, I can see from twitter someone else's account has gone down hundreds of miles away, and I'm currently calling (40 mins on hold) to try and find out what's going on. Hyperoptic used to be the #1 service I'd recommend, but in increasingly uncertain times (working from home, relying on an internet connection to host parties or catch ups) you need reliability more than just speed and I don't think Hyperoptic focus too much on the latter. Unfortunately I'd recommend people look elsewhere; Hyperoptic are just getting worse. I still don't know why the service went down, and is **still** down, but it ruined my Christmas plans which had been two years in the making and the customer service couldn't care less. Avoid.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
I would give 0 stars if it were an option. I enquired about having hyper optic installed at my property 8 weeks ago. 2 full days off work and over 50 phone calls later... no internet. The company is completely incompetent- will arrange installation and then not show up, will send only two contractors to send out a 3 person job (hence why I was told I had to wait so long for an appointment). Absolute shambles of a customer service department - constantly promised call backs that never happen. AVOID AT ALL COSTS! I’ve told them to close my account and I’m going with BT.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
If for any reason you are not 1000% sure that you will going to complete your contract period avoid at all cost. They charge you £20 per month for each remaining month on top of a 30 days notice you have to provide so if you have 5 month remaining get ready to pay £100 for the privilege of not having internet (in my case was 80% of my remaining contract). All this just for turning off a switch. If you think you will move your contract to your new address or atleast they will be reasonable if they are unable to provide the service to your new house then tough luck in the likely case they don't service your new house they still charge you the entire amount. So if you need some flexibility in your life and there is even a slight chance you will move house in the near future then Hyperoptic is not the company for you.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Terrible, predatory and outdated company policy of forcing new customers to pay an extortionate cancellation fee if you are forced to move house. £100 cancellation fee if you move and Hyperoptic do not support the location where you are moving to. An absolute disgrace. Look elsewhere (BT don't do this, for example).
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
So bad and so frustrating
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Claim to have 24-7 customer service. Waited on line for 40 mins and nobody picked up.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Completely unreliable service. I filled an on-line form and then spoke to a customer service representative who said that since I’m a new customer, someone will give me a call shortly to provide all of the information. After giving them two more calls no one wants to take responsibility, trying to redirect me to their colleagues. I spoke with them a month ago and they told me that they will have to build an infrastructure (bring the cable from the next street) and one of the engineers will contact me within two week as obviously they want me to become their customer. I've been waiting for more than one month now, using my personal data with a hotspot. Now when I ask them why no one gave me a call saying we’re not available in your area I received “I don’t know”. Don’t waste your time with these people, they're just completely unprofessional like they were running the company for the first time. Customer service does not even exist. Very disappointing!
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Hyperoptic are complete hustlers and scammers. Beware! Don't go with them. The internet has been off for weeks. They say there is £8 compensation per day. But it's not true. I have never had a penny. Be careful, because they charge you for FREEPHONE NUMBERS! YES! I only use it to call my doctor and the hospital, which is free of cause. BUT NOT WITH Hyperoptic. No! just had a massive bill for FREEPHONE NUMBERS! Disgusting!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hyperoptic is rated 1.4 based on 39 reviews