Investors Business Daily Reviews

4.2 Rating 971 Reviews
78 %
of reviewers recommend Investors Business Daily
4.2
Based on 971 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service, Courier
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read Investors Business Daily Reviews

About Investors Business Daily:

Our Mission is to Help You Make More Money in the Stock Market.

We accomplish our mission by delivering actionable investing content, comprehensive tools, and educational resources to help you make smarter trading decisions.

Visit Website

Phone:

800-831-2525

Location:

12655 Beatrice St

Write Your review

Tell us how Investors Business Daily made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
IBD has consistently failed me for my weekly printed edition. This is the third week in a row that I have not gotten my printed copy. I have talked with reps over the years, this has happened 3 or 4 times that I have missed multiple issues in a row. They seem to either make empty promises for delivery, or have no control over their delivery service. They extend my subscription and I have the electronic version available but I want and use the printed copy for an easy quick reference. I guess I should just cancel all my subscriptions and get the free copy at the library.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
I have subscribed to IBD for over 30 years. IBD has progressively moved toward an unapologetic money mill constantly urging benign upgrades and now limiting news feeds emplying the carrot and the stick marketing technique. William O'neil at best was a mediocre fund manager who decided to sell the oil lamps with the CANSLIM (can'tswim) investment method that has proven ineffective time and again. to wit the FFTY, a fund that tracks the IBD 50, has performed abysmally since its inception. If this an etf that tracks the performance of IBD's methodology and ideology than doesn't it tell something about the methods employed? The proof of concepts is failing. The center cannot hold and pretty sure William O'neil is either dead or suffers from dementia. The information provided is good however some of the data is incorrect as they don't always reflect the true revenues or debt held by the equities covered because they fail to update. They are on the west coast so they are a bit out of step with Wall Street too. Some may take this as a welcome different point of view but their methodology admittedly has a small influence on the market as a whole; their writeup and selections do very little to advance the volume of any stock they list or promote. They also are shameless in their excessive advertising using popups for discount brokers who advertise heavily on their website. This reflects their bias toward rapid selling and buying which the Discount online brokers enjoy but few who trade often ever make money. So if you can stay away from their voodoo methodology and just use their data as a starting point then you might be able to uncover some gems but remember you have to wade through all the noise and sputum thrown at you to get to the good stuff. I still use it but the quality is progressively becoming more mercantilist and limited with a large ambiguous bias: We are not telling you to buy this stock but it sure looks pretty. The Big Picture will give a nice snap shot but if you follow the market it will just echo what the talking heads are saying. Lastly they are very heavily biased toward the NASDAQ, even though they lag it in performance and most certainly lag against the S&P 500. Also rising interest rates and any hint of a bear market will crush your performance but don't be fooled in trying to time-- timers never win. At IBD you might find some gains on an updraft of a bull market but will lose the death of thousand knives that all rapid cyclers die of. The idea of cutting loses short has been proven time and again to be flawed against a simple buy and hold strategy of good equities some of which you might find in their pages only if you can resist their urging to churn your portfolio with the blessing of their advertising discount brokers.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
I have been a user of swing trader for nearly two years; I will canceling given that the service is unusable without captchas. This is sad, but literally you can not do the trades. The team could fix this problem if they wanted, but they are actively avoiding this tasks. The team at IBD does not care about this issue, and they do not want to fix it. If they fix it I will re join. I think many people feel like me given the reviews that can be seen on here. PLEASE FIX THE PROBLEM. THE SERVICE IS NOT USABLE! MAKE THE CHANGES NEEDED.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
2021 is the choppy market when the Mark Minervini's term "squat" has been flipping us back and forth. But the stock pick of swingtrader has really been a disappointment. Some great winners indeed but overall it's utterly frustrating. I have developed a habit of "doubting" the suggested tickers, to only participate in very few suggested trades, but whatever i've had gained, the next few trades take all back, and even cut deeper to make my portfolio turn negative. Please please I know you guys are working hard to help us make money but I dont wanna pay monthly fee to lose money anymore.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Stock picks were not good. They went down in value. My portfolio is in negative.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
ST has underperformed significantly in 2021 vs S&P 500, and requires more attention to trading once alerts are issued; I gave it 2.5 months, yet it was never profitable and more work than I was looking for.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
I was charged for digital and print for 3 months but never received the print version. I called customer service and all I got was, "I'm sorry" when asked for a refund for print he said he could not do that. A company that hails themselves as "customer service oriented" they fell short in my mind. I will not subscribed if I pay for something I am not getting.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi, After careful review we were able to successfully resolve the issue at hand. Should you require additional assistance we'd be more than happy to help!
Posted 1 year ago
I started subscribing to IBD Print edition back in 1988! I long for that daily edition. I subscribed for many years until the print edition ceased. Recently I did a trial subscription. I can't believe how IBD has bombarded me with the various add-on modules such as market smith, etc, etc. It is ridiculous! I'm dropping my subscription. I still believe in the basic CANSLIM formula and the chart pattern recognition taught by Wm. O'Niel. But as far as I'm concerned, the digital daily edition is a MESS. So sad to see such a good product deteriorate into a chaotic daily web mess.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
We have been with IBD for over 20+ years. Stop changing the user interface without a justifiable user interface tests especially for life-time users. As you get older, it is more difficult to navigate thru the new and interface screens on the web. We used to get a daily paper and now I rarely get a weekly paper with my subscription. I was told the USPS delivers our paper (contractors for USPS) whereas, I used to get a daily paper reliably delivered to my doorstep. We used to get much better charting, along with products and tutorials as part of the subscription. We feel like you nickel and dime your customers vs. providing the same or similar services as before. It has gotten more expensive and getting less, unless you are a consumer of MS, Live, LB, and so many additions to the basic services package. I feel like IBD is always trying to upsell us even though it has taken away so many of the standard features with our annual subscription. so many of the seminars are upsell sales calls, again trying to get you to buy additional services. When I call in for an issue, I have found myself on hold for over 45 minutes and sometimes for what seems like hours.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I’ve used IBD services over the past 5 years and have seen a noticeable decline in customer service, only because they don’t have enough staff. New mgmnt. seems to be focused on the bottom line more than the products they offer. Swing Trader has delayed BUY alerts so late that the break outs are missed & it’s not worth it. The weekly paper now gets delivered 6 days late & IBD doesn’t really care. I’ve had traces done by the postal service for other business & had the problem solved. MarketSmith is the best IBD product.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I just cannot see the value. I’m trying to cancel. Why do you make it so hard to cancel?? It just takes me to more ads when I try to cancel.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
---------- Forwarded message --------- From: Dilworth Cannon Date: Tue, Sep 29, 2020, 10:15 AM Subject: To: Cannon, Dilworth D.C. I joined Swing Trader on May 21, 2020, and am quitting on Sept. 30. I have compulsively entered every trade (missed about 2-3 trades) including shares, my transaction price and amount, the alert price, my profit/loss, Swing Trader profit/loss based on their alert price, my delayed buy impact amount, my delayed sell impact amount (combining delayed buy and delayed sell impact = $20,515 loss), my projected ARR (12.5% profit), and Swing Trader ARR (from 5/21/20, 62.7% profit). I have a son who is an expert in constructing Excel spreadsheets and he helped me with this. I estimate that my transactions based on the alerts (both the app and Gmail invariably come in within 2 seconds of each other) are carried out within 2 minutes of the alert in most cases, maybe 10% an hour later. I am disappointed that Justin Nielsen did not respond to 2 friendly emails from me. I think that their success has gone down since Mike Webster left. I think they should stop trading for a while since the market is in correction. Analyzing their trading exit dates, from 9/4-9/24, they had 17 losing trades and 4 profitable trades. That is unacceptable. Some of the reviews have missed the point that Nielsen and I guess Chris Gessel delay 30 minutes after the alert before making any transactions in their personal portfolios. My son astutely made a suggestion that they should have a hedge fund that we contribute our money to, and pay a fee to them for doing the trading at their alert prices. They would make money from us, and our performance would be significantly better.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
You'll never get the same return as their Swing Trader service due to delays in the alert vs their stated buy-in price. I place the trade literally within seconds of receiving the alert (browser, app, or email, whichever comes first). Yet I still lose 1-2% on average on the entry and sometimes even the exit. With their claimed average gain of ~4%, you're basically at a break even result (at best). When support was contacted they said "our developers have been made aware of this issue and are working on a fix. We do not have a estimated time frame for a fix" The whole exchange sounded fishy, which unfortunately has been confirmed by reading the reviews here and elsewhere. There is some type of game being played or other reason for delaying the alerts, and this issue is likely to never be fixed for the end user. Which is a shame, b/c if their entry prices are accurate this would be a great service
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for your response. Some SwingTrader users have expressed concern that a stock’s price is often well above the alert price when a new stock is added. That is often true. There is so much interest in the product that the price jumps almost instantly when a stock is added. It is not because there is a lag in the alerts. However, such spikes are usually temporary. You can take advantage of this fact in a few ways. First, consider using a limit order rather than a market order. Place your limit price within the suggested buy zone in the Trade Setup. If the stock pulls back after the initial frenzy subsides you will get filled at a much better price compared with a market order submitted soon after the alert. Some brokers offer a Time Weighted Average Price order, or TWAP. Select your limit price, number of shares, and desired time to fill the order. The broker will work the order until it is completely filled. Another strategy is to monitor an intraday chart such as the 5-minute. Look for a pullback into the buy zone or other area of support and then submit your order. For example, most stocks will retrace 25% - 50% of a strong move. If the stock jumped 2 points after the alert, you might place your order 1 point below the peak of the initially buying surge.
Posted 1 year ago
I purchased their Swing trader by IBD. I believe their stock picks are pretty good however they are always late. I'm just finishing up my first week with IBD and I have received a good number alerts. However by the time I receive the alert the stock already took off. Example, "AYX is a buy at 143.87" but the alert was received 5 min after the stock broke out. by the time the alert came across the stock was over 145. As a swing trader that's leaving way to much money on the table. I'm starting to think they are placing their own trades at 143.87 and then send letters out to their subscribers to pump the stock and then sell for short gains. If they are truly looking at the market they could easily send out an alert that would say something like this. "Watch for a move above 143.00 and we are buyers at 143.87 after breaking a swing high". I will gladly update and revise my review if I see a change on this front. If they cant give more of a heads up I will be a short term buyer.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
We are aware some users are receiving the alerts later than expected. Please send a response back with a private message and provide your contact information and we'll get in touch with you
Posted 1 year ago
Jason, some SwingTrader users have expressed concern that a stock’s price is often well above the alert price when a new stock is added. That is often true. There is so much interest in the product that the price jumps almost instantly when a stock is added. It is not because there is a lag in the alerts. However, such spikes are usually temporary. You can take advantage of this fact in a few ways. First, consider using a limit order rather than a market order. Place your limit price within the suggested buy zone in the Trade Setup. If the stock pulls back after the initial frenzy subsides you will get filled at a much better price compared with a market order submitted soon after the alert. Some brokers offer a Time Weighted Average Price order, or TWAP. Select your limit price, number of shares, and desired time to fill the order. The broker will work the order until it is completely filled. Another strategy is to monitor an intraday chart such as the 5-minute. Look for a pullback into the buy zone or other area of support and then submit your order. For example, most stocks will retrace 25% - 50% of a strong move. If the stock jumped 2 points after the alert, you might place your order 1 point below the peak of the initially buying surge.
Posted 1 year ago
A few years ago I received the paper in the mail. I signed up two weeks ago, have yet to receive a paper and 3 customer service reps give me 3 different stories. Service has really gone down hill and the app is rather frustrating with bugs. MarketSmith May be the only useful product they sell anymore, but it’s too expensive.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hello! We're sorry you're having issues with the delivery of your paper and the app. We'll reach out to you to resolve this!
Posted 1 year ago
I've been a long time subscriber to IBD but lately delivery has become unbearable. They don't seem to be able to get it resolved. I seem to miss a paper 25% of the time. Customer service systems are also going downhill. New subscribers be warned.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Sorry you're experiencing problems with delivery. Will you please send me your e-mail address and I will make sure a customer success manager gets in contact with you.
Posted 1 year ago
IBD. I don’t feel your website is easy to navigate and find the articles from the print edition. When I call for help, I am helped right away. But the staff even admits it’s difficult to navigate. Why not make it less cumbersome. You took away the daily print edition
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I wish I could see the industry rankings online and then how the individual companies rank within the group. Also, would like to see big block sales or buys. Finally. I wish you could pull up your positions and see how their performance was on a Dailey, weekly, quarterly and ytd basis,
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I've been an IBD subscriber a number of times, the most recent running till approx 7/2020. Last year, after a 3 hr trip and an overnight stay to listen an IBD Seminar, I purchased a 3 month trial IBD offered. Though personal commitments made immediate usage impractical, the IBD order said they'd accept an immediate purchase with an open start date so I made the $ 99 purchase. Several months later, I found an IBD charge on my credit card for an automatic subscription extension. Never having activated or the scrip in the first place, I asked that the charge to be removed which was reluctantly done. Several months later, when I called to activate the subscription, IBD refused to provide it. Their peculiar behavior and refusal to provide the service they'd been paid for greatly diminished my confidence in their integrity and value as an honest and reliable supplier, caused me to ask them to cancel the approx 10 month balance of my IBD delivery and online subscription and return the balance of my prepayment. Sorry to say, I can't recommend IBD any more. Jack Napor 412 722 09011
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I've happily utilized IBD inputs for years, but the recent downpour of pop ups in IBD Digital, disturbs me no end. When hunting for a quick bit of data for a decision, pot ups trying to sell something keep coming at me from all directions, distracting and destroying the track of your search.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Investors Business Daily is rated 4.23 based on 971 reviews