Opendoor Reviews

4.4 Rating 3,072 Reviews
86 %
of reviewers recommend Opendoor
Read Opendoor Reviews

About Opendoor:

In 2014, we set out to reinvent life’s most important transaction with home sellers and buyers in mind. Since then, we’ve helped thousands of people sell their homes and move in one simple, seamless transaction.

Life’s biggest milestones come with a move. Whether you’re getting married, starting a family, or taking a new job, moving is a natural step towards your dream. But it isn’t easy. Each step is more stressful than the last, and sometimes it seems like everyone but you is in control of your destiny.

Opendoor is here to change that. From selling your current home to choosing your next one, we’ve revolutionized the process to put you at the center of your move. Because we believe only one person should be in charge of how your future unfolds, and that’s you.

Visit Website

Email:

community@opendoor.com

Write Your review

Tell us how Opendoor made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Opendoor 5 star review on 10th November 2022
Mike
Opendoor 5 star review on 10th November 2022
Mike
Opendoor 5 star review on 28th August 2022
Jean
Opendoor 5 star review on 15th July 2022
Jessie
Opendoor 5 star review on 8th July 2022
Gilberto
Opendoor 5 star review on 23rd June 2022
Jeffery
Opendoor 5 star review on 21st June 2022
Mary
58
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
It seems that everytime we find a property, even one that has been on the market for months with no offers, and we put one on, all of the sudden there are 5 offers that came in suddenly. It feels like you want me to up my offer and that is something that I will not do. I am also finding houses a bit more expensive then other companies.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Well, I heard back quickly once I submitted the online application. That part was really easy. When I heard back, it was with the offer. I couldn't believe it was that quick. However, all of the comps in my neighborhood were from over a year previously and the offer was $50,000 less than the market value of my home. The rep asked for pictures of the current comps that were just pulled on my home by my real estate agent showing the current value (I didn't tell her I was talking with opendoor :/ After sending the real time comps, I never heard back. Finally I followed up and he quickly sent over another offer. $48,000 below market. I guess this is how they make their $$$ offer way less and hike up the price when they sell it. I give them three stars for initial engagement and -2 star for laughable offers...both times.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
We appreciate you taking some time to share your honest feedback. Please know that we have shared your insights with our internal teams. If you have any additional feedback you would like to share please email community@opendoor.com.
Posted 3 years ago
Although it was a fairly easy process to sell my home to and buy one from OD there was some confusing parts. I will say that they will negotiate but you have to be on your P's and Q's throughout the process. I had to keep track of everything myself because I didn't always feel like they had my best interest at heart. Have to review the closing numbers carefully to make sure you're getting what was promised. I had to have them correct a few of the numbers or fight for what was promised. I had to continually remind them I was doing the trade in program. There were a lot of different contacts so that was confusing knowing who to ask about what. Overall I do recommend OD but they just need to button up some things with their process.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
We truly appreciate you taking some time to share your honest feedback. Please know that your insights will be shared with our internal teams. If you have any additional feedback you would like to share please email community@opendoor.com. We thank you for choosing Opendoor for such an important transaction.
Posted 3 years ago
We have purchased and sold residences several times previously. We tried OpenDoor because we were moving long-distance in mid-winter and had already purchased our next home. Selling quickly to OpenDoor avoided a couple of months loan payments, taxes, and utilities on the home. OpenDoor has a rigid purchase model with little flexibility. It is all done online. This made us somewhat uncomfortable. We knew the home needed some painting and a thorough cleaning. OpenDoor's inspection was thorough and found a few other things. OpenDoor's offer was fair. However, we were very surprised by the 6% fee they charged. Local Realtors only charge 5%. A disturbing aspect of selling to OpenDoor is you never see a company representative and you have NO ONE representing you or watching out for your interests as you would have with a Realtor. We also were passed from person to person, always by phone or email, as we proceeded thru the process. We were very disappointed in their choice of title company - Ticor. Ticor fees were almost double other local title companies and their agent became almost belligerent when I told her of comparable title company fees. We signed 5 days before closing because OpenDoor will not close until the house is empty. We had to sign on Thursday so we could be there when the packers came on Friday and Monday and the moving truck on Tuesday. The OpenDoor representative, who had no identification, came Tuesday evening to take pictures and collect the keys. We stayed in a motel that night. Closing was the next day while we were traveling. Another problem with Ticor, they did not promptly distribute the payouts. They took nearly 2 weeks to pay the final city utility bill, forcing us to pay it and look for a reimbursement, which, after a month, has yet to arrive. They also over-withheld on the home equity loan, causing the bank to have to send us a check the following month for the excess amount. I have NEVER had such problems with a title company before. In summary, if you need to sell a home quick and don't want to deal with repairs or showings, OpenDoor may be your ticket. Otherwise, use a GOOD Realtor who will assist you and ensure you get a fair price and a good title company. Remember, it is your choice.
Helpful Report
(Portland) - Posted 3 years ago
Set up of online account was a bit rough. Offers were fair and funds were received on closing day.Negatives, their Escrow/Title Company OS National is horrible to work with. Not enough experience and unprofessional. Use your own company right from the start if possible. Communications near closing are lacking.
Helpful Report
(Phoenix) - Posted 3 years ago
Thank you for sharing your honest feedback. Please know that your insights have been shared internally and our teams are following up accordingly. If you have any additional insights you would like to share, feel free to email community@opendoor.com.
Posted 3 years ago
It’s a good option if you need to sell quickly. Our initial offer from Opendoor was quite generous, but in the end, after their ‘corrections’ we walked away with a paid-off mortgage and $260. Thos was after complaining that it wasn’t our fault that Opendoor’s market research was lacking. In the end this was fine for us since I needed to free up the VA loan to buy a new house, but if you’re looking to make a profit, go with the classic realtor process.
Helpful Report
(ATL) - Posted 4 years ago
Opendoor is rated 4.4 based on 3,072 reviews