Opendoor Reviews

4.17 Rating 1,013 Reviews
78 %
of reviewers recommend Opendoor
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
On-time Delivery
99%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read Opendoor Reviews

About Opendoor:

In 2014, we set out to reinvent life’s most important transaction with home sellers and buyers in mind. Since then, we’ve helped thousands of people sell their homes and move in one simple, seamless transaction.

Life’s biggest milestones come with a move. Whether you’re getting married, starting a family, or taking a new job, moving is a natural step towards your dream. But it isn’t easy. Each step is more stressful than the last, and sometimes it seems like everyone but you is in control of your destiny.

Opendoor is here to change that. From selling your current home to choosing your next one, we’ve revolutionized the process to put you at the center of your move. Because we believe only one person should be in charge of how your future unfolds, and that’s you.

Visit Website

Email:

community@opendoor.com

Write Your review

Tell us how Opendoor made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
I don't usually endorse any company but Open Door was wonderful. I couldn't believe how easy they made the sale of my home and I was extremely pleased with the price I got for my house. It was far more than I expected. Logan my experience coordinator was friendly and knowledgeable and made me feel very comfortable at all times. I would recommend them to anyone selling their home.
Posted 6 days ago
Paul was very professional and customer service driven! I found Open Door to be proactive, timely, organized and friendly! They removed the stress and made it smooth and easy to sell my home!
I would highly recommend this company!

Thanks Again!

A satisfied customer
Atlanta, GA
Posted 1 week ago
Go with Opendoor! We actually tried a similar process with another company a few years earlier and we're not impressed, so we had low expectations going into this. We're happy to say that we had a very good experience working with Opendoor! The entire process took less than a month. They worked with a great title company to do the closing. A critical part of the process was their use of software and technology: from the video walkthrough, to the document signing workflow, and the buyer dashboard - the entire process is set up to make things easy for the seller.

Do your homework on the value of your home! You will have the option to take the cash offer, or list with them with the cash offer as a backup. If you know how much you need out of the deal, then the choice is clear. However, bear in mind the value of not having to do the following fun things: staging your home, repairs, negotiations, inspections, or having strangers in your home. We set the date of our closing and then were able to focus on packing up our house. We knew that we could rent the house back from Opendoor if we needed extra time, but in the end they actually allowed us to close earlier than initially agreed!

The entire process took about a month. In fact, from the day we did our virtual walkthrough to closing was only 21 days. While we're not quite ready to buy a new home, we will definitely consider buying from Opendoor when that time comes.

Our Opendoor experience partner was very responsive and did a wonderful job of communicating expectations to us at every step of the way. I have already recommended Opendoor to a friend and would definitely work with them again if the opportunity arises. I did my research into the company before reaching out to them, and while they might sound too good to be true, our experience is that they fulfilled every promise they made and made a huge difference in our lives.
Posted 1 week ago
Opendoor is the best option when buying or selling a home. They meet you halfway.
Posted 1 week ago
1. I think its a hit and miss experience. The current experience amid the pandemic I would honestly say 5 stars. I have sold to Opendoor and for individuals who have the motivation to sell quickly they are great alternative as long as you understand that there will be a sacrifice in equity. But this is to be expected as they have to make money. Would I recommend Opendoor, absolutely, unlike its competitors I say they are the most honest and transparent. The representatives both in the brokerage and customer service seem genuine about helping making the process uncomplicated. When I first started dealing with opendoor it was a little frustrating ( hence the 4 stars). I'm not sure what has happen in the last year or so, but the experience is so much better. Instead of being a last choice to sell a home (even letting go of some equity for a peace of mind make then one of the first considerations for myself and some of my difficult clients.
Posted 2 weeks ago
Everything was very good although the virtual meetings were troubling. Due to my age if my daughter hadn't been nearby I don't think it would have worked as easily. The title company was irritating. overall I was very satisfied with Opendoor.
(Phoenix) - Posted 1 month ago
So glad to hear this John. Thanks for letting us know! We're so glad you were able to benefit from the ease and certainty the Opendoor experience provides!
Posted 1 month ago
It was very easy to sell my home the people I work along the way of the process were very knowledgeable in their field it was a very reasonable experience I definitely would do it again if I have to the kiero you open door .
Posted 2 months ago
Thrilled to hear this. Thanks for the positive review! We wish you all the best in this next chapter!
Posted 1 month ago
This was overall a great experience. No showings, hassle free. My only suggestion is that if you are not working with a realtor on your behalf, then you need to follow up yourself with your Opendoor contact and the title company, if you think things are not progressing quickly enough. They have a support team that is helpful and will escalate to a manager if things get stalled. You might also shop around for your own title company to do your closing. And, when you are doing the walkthrough video, declare the items in the house that you would like to take with you such as washer, dryer, refrigerator, curtains, etc.
Overall, a way better experience in the sales process. For closing I used all virtual and that should be the way to do this from now on. We signed everything we could by ourselves, then the Notary joins a call with you and he witnesses you signing the rest. Get started on closing day as early as possible, this way you should have funding the same day. Would I use them again? Absolutely!!!
Posted 2 months ago
That's amazing to hear! We strive to provide a great customer experience with Opendoor and your feedback is incredibly valuable to us. Thanks for taking the time to share this, Tim.
Posted 2 months ago
A relative told me about Opendoor. I didn't think too much about it but decided to see what it was about. I reached out to Opendoor during the night and the next day the process started. We were offered a competitive price for the house and after some family discussions, we accepted. Closing timeframe was up to us. No hassle, no showings. I will use Opendoor again in the future if I have ever have to move again.
(Dallas) - Posted 2 months ago
Hi Trey! We appreciate the review. Thanks for sharing, and wishing you all the best in this new chapter!
Posted 2 months ago
Very pleased with process. Felt comfortable with time line and pleased with offer. Recommend this for anyone selling. Definitely a game changer and convenient. So relieved. These guys handle the big stuff!!
Posted 4 months ago
Bianca, We appreciate your kind feedback 💙
Posted 4 months ago
Excellent
Posted 7 months ago
Glad to hear you had a positive experience with us Christopher. We appreciate your feedback!
Posted 7 months ago
I left an earlier review saved only have two stars because of some sq footage issues. Open Door finally fixed it, so I changed my rating to 4 stars.
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for sharing your experience Kris and happy to hear that!
Posted 1 year ago
The process was easy and quick. Very good customer service, always someone will to help explain or guide through the process. I was able to rent back a few days on the property I sold which allowed me a seem less transition into my new home. The over cost may seem a bit costly. But when you factor in the showing of your home. To me being a Dog lover and only. This was a no brainer!
Posted 1 year ago
Thrilled to hear that Domenico. Thanks for the positive review! We wish you all the best in this next chapter!
Posted 1 year ago
Very easy process so far. Great job Opendoor.
Posted 1 year ago
Thrilled to hear that, Thanks for the positive review! We wish you all the best in this next chapter!
Posted 1 year ago
For us, the best reason for choosing Opendoor for the sale of our house was being able to specify and plan around an exact closing date and a delayed move out date.
The offer amount was just ok which brings up my recommendation for improvement. Had there been an opportunity to discuss the offer and present evidence for why the offer price should have been increased a bit, our rating could have been 5 stars. We had installed significant energy efficiency improvements which were ignored in Opendoor's valuation of the house. Giving customers an opportunity to discuss the offer price would be highly desirable.
Posted 1 year ago
Ray,

Thank you for sharing your story - we're happy to hear our experience has worked out well for you and will provide your feedback to our team!
Posted 1 year ago
We had a very positive experience buying our home from Opendoor. Although our inspection report came in past the contract's due diligence period due to an error on my part, Opendoor was kind enough to honor our request for repairs. All went smooth and timely with the closing. The house was in great condition and the purchase price appraised below market value. A win-win! Thanks.
Posted 1 year ago
We’re always happy to hear about the positive experiences our customers have with us. Thank you for sharing!
Posted 1 year ago
Structuring and making real estate deals aren’t always easy. Open Door particularly Karly Hamilton worked hard to make it a win win experience!
Posted 1 year ago
Easy to look in your own time, bid, get connected with a realtor, inspectors and cash back at closing is by far my favorite part
Posted 1 year ago
I got my first "Open Door Estimate" out of the blue-one of those mailing list things. It was about $20K under what I thought it should be. Fast forward one year and another estimate arrives at exactly what I was looking for. My husband and I needed to move-20 years in too much house and not enough maintenance. The team came to do the walk-through and were wonderful-very professional. (They are contractors and aren't able to give any information about how much the repair-credit will be). We expected to hear from Open Door within 5-10 days, but no word. We finally got in touch with someone and they said they were going to walk away and not buy. This is the only negative thing I have to say-they didn't communicate this to us.

We asked why and it was due to too much maintenance needed. So......we had the siding on the house redone and tried again. We had to restart the whole process, but it worked like a charm the second time. The repair credit list was very long, and fair. We just couldn't afford to put any more money into the house. In total, we conceded ~ $17K-after putting ~$10 into the siding.

The closing process was seamless and easy. I signed the paperwork the day before the final walk-through. *HINT* Have EVERYTHING out of the house BEFORE the walk-through. Our movers were about halfway through and the walk-through was pushed back ~ 4 hours--very stressful when you are closing on a new home the next day. But-Lisa at Open Door was AWESOME and pushed everything through anyway.

After the close, I was concerned about whether Open Door would just let the house sit there and not do any of the work from the repair list. Within ~ 4 weeks, the house was listed with photos of a clean, beautiful home. This really impressed me about Open Door-they did the work and flipped the house.

All in all, it was a hard move since I was emotionally tied to the house. It was a long process for us, about 4 months from the time we accepted the offer to the close, mainly due to our purchase of another home, but Open Door was very flexible about pushing out the close date.

I would definitely recommend them-they gave a fair price and did the work that was listed.
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Tracie, great to hear you've had a good experience with us! We appreciate you choosing Opendoor for such an important transaction.
Posted 1 year ago
Could have been a little more flexible on price.
Posted 2 years ago
Opendoor is rated 4.17 based on 1,013 reviews