Opendoor Reviews

4.5 Rating 2,928 Reviews
86 %
of reviewers recommend Opendoor
Read Opendoor Reviews

About Opendoor:

In 2014, we set out to reinvent life’s most important transaction with home sellers and buyers in mind. Since then, we’ve helped thousands of people sell their homes and move in one simple, seamless transaction.

Life’s biggest milestones come with a move. Whether you’re getting married, starting a family, or taking a new job, moving is a natural step towards your dream. But it isn’t easy. Each step is more stressful than the last, and sometimes it seems like everyone but you is in control of your destiny.

Opendoor is here to change that. From selling your current home to choosing your next one, we’ve revolutionized the process to put you at the center of your move. Because we believe only one person should be in charge of how your future unfolds, and that’s you.

Visit Website

Email:

community@opendoor.com

Write Your review

Tell us how Opendoor made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Opendoor 5 star review on 28th August 2022
Jean
Opendoor 5 star review on 15th July 2022
Jessie
Opendoor 5 star review on 8th July 2022
Gilberto
Opendoor 5 star review on 23rd June 2022
Jeffery
Opendoor 5 star review on 21st June 2022
Mary
Opendoor 5 star review on 16th June 2022
Gary
Opendoor 5 star review on 2nd June 2022
BOB
56
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
These offers are borderline theft. Nothing more than advertising flippers with outrageous fees. We had an open offer from a realtor for 275k in our hands at closing. But thought we would try open-door and boy what a waste of time. there offer 185.300 LoL The realtor that is now buying the house had it inspected with minor repairs needed vs open doors 33k in repairs lol. DONT WAIST YOUR TIME.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, your feedback is important to us. Please reach out to resolution@opendoor.com with your name, property address, and the details of your situation, so we can look into this further.
Posted 4 days ago
I am a Realtor and this is one of many Opendoor listings I have had experience with. First of all, for a licensed, experience real estate agent to show, we have to do more work than with other listings. We cannot schedule online. We have to text or call and provide five pieces of information about our brokerage. Offers are not present and reviewed quickly, many times not within 24 hours. It is difficult to find obtain answers to questions and the majority of times, there is not anything known of the property. Today I am trying to show a property built in 1956, and all questions on the seller's disclosure are market as "no". I don't know any home that old that has not had settling, drainage problems, wood rot, etc. The company should indicate that they have never occupied the property and do not have knowledge. It is misleading to a buyer to indicate the home does not have any issues. Not to mention the commission offered is only 2.5%. This is sad, considering all the extra work the buyer's agent has to do.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, your feedback is important to us. Please reach out to resolution@opendoor.com with your name, property address, and the details of your situation, so we can look into this further.
Posted 6 days ago
I must admit I really wasn't that keen to show my house even in a video without cleaning it up and making it presentable. I actually felt pressured into doing the video and was told several times I didnt need to clean it up and make it presentable, so the time came for the video and I was directed what to do Opendoor got the video and told me someone would be coming to view the outside of the house. No-one showed on the day I was given and no-one ever came I got a email telling me because they could not get suitable comps, they could not make an offer on my house, personally I believe they were turned of my house because of the huge mess it was in I had been clearing out closets to donate the clothes in them plus the house needs painting pretty well all the inside which I pointed out before the video was done but they said they didn't care about any of that. The fact they didn't even bother making me an offer told me they wanted houses in perfect condition and everything they said about not cleaning etc., was just a line.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
We value your feedback and would like to investigate this further. Would you please send us an email describing the issue with your name and property address to resolution@opendoor.com?
Posted 1 week ago
Can't browse for homes....useless on my own.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Thanks for letting us know, John! We would really like to continue to improve our services and we kindly ask you to send us an email with your name, address, and story to resolution@opendoor.com, so we can investigate this issue further.
Posted 2 weeks ago
Price offered was $224,546 below our appraisal- you are given no number etc to negotiate. They don’t ask for pictures, etc. I could have the best house on the block, or the worst & id get the same offer. No thanks. Mines towards the best. I should get way more than the folks down the street.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Feedback like this is truly impactful and allows us to deliver world-class home buying and selling experiences. We would appreciate the opportunity to learn more. Feel free to reach out to us at resolution@opendoor.com with your name and property address. We look forward to hearing from you.
Posted 1 month ago
I truly don’t know how fair they are with the seller, but as a buyer haven sent two offers to two homes they have listed, and for months already, they came back with a plain Not accepted!!! Not even professionally say we don’t accept your offer, this is the lowest that we can go down, or can we discuss a different option, they don’t negotiate, they are greedy second time they were only willing to go down $1000 !!!!🤨🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
We value your feedback and would like to investigate this further. Would you please send us an email describing the issue with your name and property address to resolution@opendoor.com?
Posted 1 month ago
They backed out the very last day they could after the market changed a little my friend and I both got screwed by these people I would not recommend them at all I'm glad the government went after them although I will not see anything from it they deserve to go bankrupt very bad company
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, your feedback is important to us. Please reach out to resolution@opendoor.com with your name, property address, and the details of your situation, so we can look into this further.
Posted 1 month ago
WORST COMPANY EVER!!!!! DO NOT BUY A HOUSE FROM THEM! THEY BUY LOW AND SEND IDIOTS IN TO TRY AND MAKE HOUSE LOOK GOOD! THEY ACTUALLY SPRAY PAINTED SHOWER AND TUBS WITH PAINT THAT BUBBLED AFTER FIRST SHOWER!!!SWEPT UP COCKROACHES AND HID IN LINEN CLOSET! HAVE NEVER SEEN ANYTHING LIKE IT!!! RUN WHEN YOU SEE THERE NAME ON ANYTHING!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you for this candid feedback Jamie, we appreciate it. If you could reach out to us at resolution@opendoor.com with your name, property address, and additional details, our team will look into this and get back to you as soon as we can. Thank you!
Posted 1 month ago
A neighbor sold their house to OpenDoor and the contractors being used by OpenDoor appear to be bottom barrel. The painters they hired for the outside of the house did ZERO prep, spray-painted one thin layer over the house, including the brick trim (which they were not supposed to do-try reading the HOA paperwork next time). There are also splotches of the prior color showing all over the place. I would not want to buy a house being sold by OpenDoor because if this is how they treat the outside, I can only imagine the corners cut on the inside of the home.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, your feedback is important to us. Please reach out to resolution@opendoor.com with your name, property address, and the details of your situation, so we can look into this further.
Posted 1 month ago
After receiving call after call about a property I have no connection with, I decided to play along. One my second call from them today, I gave just enough info to get a price quote, after which I commented that I was tired of them wasting my time after I have told them to stop calling me. Below is the actual text I the received.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Debra, Thanks for reaching out. To be very clear, the referenced "call" and follow-up "text" would not be a representative of Opendoor. We do send out occasional market material but do not cold call potential sellers. We also do not refer to ourselves as "Open door". Also, in a check of that number, it is not in our system. Communication, including sms, is recorded for quality and training purposes. I am sorry to read the inappropriate message that was sent to you but can confirm that this is not a message generated by someone that works for Opendoor.
Posted 1 month ago
I'm a real estate agent and booked a showing to view a "vacant" property with my clients. We arrived 10 mins late and called customer to assist with access to the property. The customer service made me wait 10 mins outside the home and that I had to create a new appointment on a property that's been on the market for 120 days. You need to have better systems so that we can all work together as a team.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, your feedback is important to us. Please reach out to resolution@opendoor.com with your name, property address, and the details of your situation, so we can look into this further.
Posted 1 month ago
They offer a seriously weak, low-balled offer. In my case $50K below the bottom value range of our home. THEN they assess a bunch of repairs ro further weedle away your cash, AND charge you a service fee, seller's costs, etc...
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Thank you for bringing this to our attention, we want to look into the issue further. Could you please send us an email with your name, more information about your experience, and the property address to support@opendoor.com?
Posted 2 months ago
This company is ridiculous for offering pennies on the dollar for a home. I would never use Opendoor to sell or buy a home even if I was desperate. In my opinion, they are predatory and similar to Pay Day Lenders by taking advantage of the underserved community or those who are in a difficult situation. I WOULD GIVE THEM ZERO STARS.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Thank you for this candid feedback, we appreciate it. If you could reach out to us at resolution@opendoor.com with your name, property address, and additional details, our team will look into this and get back to you as soon as we can. Thank you!
Posted 2 months ago
I cannot recommend OpenDoor Home Loans. Stick with your local credit union or local bank as I did on my first home purchase. No issues then. With OpenDoor Home Loans for my second home purchase, it was nothing but issues. I sold my first home to OpenDoor so decided to apply with them for a mortgage on my new second home. The first loan officer I was assigned was hard to reach and did not promptly return calls or emails. I was able to switch to a new loan officer, just to have the same issues. Things move fast with a mortgage, I feel it is reasonable to hear back within a business day, 2 max. I had done everything paperwork-wise with OpenDoor Home Loantoto get a pre-approval with full underwriting completed. This was to ensure a smoother and quicker closing. Knowing I had gone through full underwriting with OpenDoor Home Loans, it influenced the close date on the eventual home contract that was accepted. When I submitted the accepted home contract to my loan officer, I was told OpenDoor now uses a separate third-party loan processor (a company called Lower) and would have to go through underwriting all over again. No notice was ever provided. To make matters worse, my second loan officer was still learning how to submit all the paperwork over to their new loan processing partner and I was not able to lock my rate that day. My loan officer had all afternoon to lock my rate, and was not able to. Unfortunately, rates jumped the next day and I ate that cost. OpenDoor does not offer the ability to float down your rate if rates lower while your mortgage is pending or match a competitors' rate, so don't let anyone tell you otherwise. My loan officer said both were true, just to find out OpenDoor's policy changed and was no longer an offered featured. It gets worse. Usually 48 to 72 hours before your closing day, your lender will send you a preliminary closing statement. This statement covers all the debts, credits, rate/APR, closing costs, etc. This never happened. I only received a preliminary statement from the title/escrow company which had every item accounted for. The day of closing, day of closing, I get told due to the credits I was receiving (credit from the seller and rebate credit from my realtor), it threw off my minimum contribution (my down payment). My options were either to use my credits and buy down my rate (buy discount points) which I did not want to do as they did not make financial sense for me, or increase my down payment to meet my minimum contribution, but it would delay closing by 3 days. The seller would not accept closing late and threatened to pull out. To close as soon as possible, I accepted using my credits to buy discount points. Despite this, I still was not able to close on time and had to close a day late. Why the day of closing, was this issue brought up? Why wasn't it brought up days before, even within the 48-72 hour window before closing where everything normally gets verified and vetted with title? Another feature OpenDoor no longer offers is the $100 credit for closing late. They still have it as being offered in a blog post on their website, but there is no guarantee/no financial backing they will close your loan on time. Overall, don't let OpenDoor's $1000 or whatever lender credit influence you to go with them. It is not worth it from my experience. Work with a local bank (that also offers no origination fee) that keeps underwriting and loan processing in-house and doesn't outsource it to a third party. I believe that was the source of most of my issues. I'm sorry for the long post, but hopefully will help future home buyers.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, your feedback is important to us. Please reach out to resolution@opendoor.com with your name, property address, and the details of your situation, so we can look into this further.
Posted 2 months ago
I rented a room at a home that opendoor foreclosed in Las Vegas. They took everything a owned overnight and i suppose through it in the garbage. In conclusion i lost everything i had. When i called them they said there was nothing they could do. My laptop, my tablet, everything i had gone and cleaned out over night. No warning or a place for me to get my things. I thought it was law to store the tenants belongings in a storage for 30 days in Nevada. Well, i lost everything. No phone call nothing from opendoor to help me get my stuff .
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
These guys are crooks! First, they give you an "estimated offer" which sounds pretty fair based on the market evaluations from all the real estate websites. They tell you that the quote is the estimated net that you would profit. Then, after they lure you in and have you take photos, they give you another offer that is so much less that your head would spin. Then, they tell you the original quote was not the net but rather the gross. They say that they will beat other companies providing the same service, but when you provide them with that quote they refuse to match it or even come remotely close. Unreal. Save yourself the headache and just go with a real estate agent.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
We value your feedback and would like to investigate this further. Would you please send us an email describing the issue with your name and property address to resolution@opendoor.com?
Posted 2 months ago
Offered to purchase my home for less that value and wanted me to pay $9k in repairs and pay 5% fee. It would be better to list my home! No deal! I can’t give you equity and pay for repairs!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
We value your feedback and would like to investigate this further. Would you please send us an email describing the issue with your name and property address to resolution@opendoor.com?
Posted 2 months ago
I was recently sold a house april of 2022 and it was not disclosed that the house was on a septic system and of course the system is failing. How do you not disclose what kind of sewer system the house has this is pure negligence. I’m it looking at a minimum of 20k to replace the system.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Thank you for reaching out and taking the time to provide feedback relating to your experience. We invite you to reach out to us directly at resolution@opendoor.com so we can review this further with you. Please provide the property address that you transacted on and a copy of the review and we will look into this further. Thank you again for your time. Regards, Opendoor
Posted 2 months ago
I had a contract to sell my house to Opendoor. They went through the inspection process and found nothing that they wanted repaired. Less than 3 business days from our agreed closing date, they cancelled the contract, with NO explanation!!!! Do NOT EVER trust Opendoor for ANYTHING! Never, ever believe that you have a contract with them, they are NOT to be trusted! EVER!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
First: classic bait and switch. They give you a good offer, but then as you read down you realize that, despite there not BEING any realtor involved, they are still going to charge you 3% as if there was. Second, they make the offer, but then, once more, you read down their offer and they're removing thousands of dollars for repairs. Lather, rinse, repeat - it's not an honest way to do business, you get this HUGE font line with their "best offer" and then read down and realize that the real offer is 50, 60, 70 thousand less. It's all verrrry disingenuous. "We will pay you $500,000!" But by the time you get past their fees, repair deductions (which are not itemized mind you) and their terms, you wind up being at or below just about every other "pay cash" investor who is low-balling your home. So at first it appears to be your best option, but by the time you figure out what they really intend to pay you it's a low-ball insult. It's one thing to make profit, it's something entirely different to bait-and-switch the customer. Just go with a straight forward company where you don't have to read past that seemingly decent initial offer to get to the "real" amount they're going to pay you, it's easier when there's not a lot of fluff and attempts to distract you from what they are actually offering.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
We value your feedback and would like to investigate this further. Would you please send us an email describing the issue with your name and property address to resolution@opendoor.com?
Posted 3 months ago
Opendoor is rated 4.5 based on 2,928 reviews