Opendoor Reviews

4.37 Rating 1,980 Reviews
84 %
of reviewers recommend Opendoor
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
On-time Delivery
99%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read Opendoor Reviews

About Opendoor:

In 2014, we set out to reinvent life’s most important transaction with home sellers and buyers in mind. Since then, we’ve helped thousands of people sell their homes and move in one simple, seamless transaction.

Life’s biggest milestones come with a move. Whether you’re getting married, starting a family, or taking a new job, moving is a natural step towards your dream. But it isn’t easy. Each step is more stressful than the last, and sometimes it seems like everyone but you is in control of your destiny.

Opendoor is here to change that. From selling your current home to choosing your next one, we’ve revolutionized the process to put you at the center of your move. Because we believe only one person should be in charge of how your future unfolds, and that’s you.

Visit Website

Email:

community@opendoor.com

Write Your review

Tell us how Opendoor made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Opendoor 5 star review on 23rd October 2021
Steve
Opendoor 5 star review on 20th October 2021
Ryan
Opendoor 5 star review on 7th October 2021
Michele
Opendoor 5 star review on 15th September 2021
Diane
Opendoor 5 star review on 6th September 2021
Mary Diaz
Opendoor 5 star review on 3rd September 2021
Russell
Opendoor 5 star review on 3rd September 2021
Russell
29
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
About a week ago, I received an estimated offer letter for my home from Opendoor. Prior to this communication, I had never heard them. The offer range seemed reasonable, so I started the process of inquiring further. Upon going to their website and entering several preliminary questions, I was told Opendoor was not in my area yet and therefore they would not make an offer on my home. So I ask, why send me a letter in the first place? I assumed it had to be some kind of marketing research to see interest in new areas. I call it false advertising and a waste of my time. You can't send a letter saying you're going to make an offer-and then say, "Oh, sorry, not in your area so disregard our letter!" That's deception and I would think borderline illegal. Point being, after this experience, I don't trust this company. If there initial letter is misleading and deceitful, imagine what selling your house through them will entail? By the way, I think it's also telling that before I wrote this review, I emailed Opendoor and asked that they contact me to explain why they sent such a misleading letter. I also said if they didn't respond, I would write a poor review. Well, my email went without a response... and so you see this review. My advice, stay away from this company!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
We value your feedback and would like to investigate this further. Would you please send us an email describing the issue with your name and property address to resolution@opendoor.com?
Posted 2 days ago
Open door tried to low ball me on my house price. 5 bedroom 5. Bath, 4212 square feet, 3 car oversized garage 401 thousand. House 2 doors down 1000 less square feet , 2 car garage sold for 612. My house was newer bigger and more modern. My own realtor I got after the fact laughed at it. Well sold finally 2 months later 680.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! A negotiation doesn’t reach a common ground every time, but we are constantly improving our services and we would like to look into this further for you. Please reach out to contact@opendoor.com with your name, property address, and the details of your experience so we can investigate this situation.
Posted 4 days ago
Lots of fees not mentioned until they sent offer saying property needed repairs that weren't needed offer way below market value closing cost very high waste of our time hard pass on open door we should have done research on them before wasting time on their walk through and inspection. lesson learnt
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
They gave us an initial offer $667k ($42k below market) for our very updated home. It was a low offer. They said if you let them see the house you can get a better offer. We have granite countertops and hardwood floors. Updated kitchen and appliances. New furnace and AC. Custom deck with mountain views. Finished basement with kitchenette, granite countertops. 5 bed/3.5 bedrooms Water softener, whole house humidifier. Almost everything in the house has been updated. And their offer was lower the 2nd time and added in a fee of possibly having to replace the roof. It is concrete tile! They didn't ask what it was just added it into their price. I would never recommend them! We are using a competitor and they came in person and took the time to really see the house. If you want a fair price this is NOT the company you want to use.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
They come in with a really good cash offer so we just have a few more steps to go so then I had my real estate agent upload the things that they needed to upload disclosure forms and whatnot they came in and expect it outside then they came in with an offer of $20,000 below Market and they wanted to add more on for repairs well it turns out that we buy ugly homes was about the same amount of money before I did any repairs on the house so I remodeled the house and Open Door came in about the same as We Buy Ugly Houses so don't waste your time and just go to We Buy Ugly Houses and you'll get about the same offer that they're going to give you
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
I am an agent in the Atlanta area. Open Door is a joke. They sent a cancellation notice to my client the day AFTER we closed and completely wasted my time and my clients time. my client lost a ton of money. He had other offers on the table and we selected Opendoor because we thought it would be smooth. What a mistake!!!!!! We could never get anyone on the phone. The entire situation was an absolute nightmare.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
We value your feedback and would like to investigate this further. Would you please send us an email describing the issue with your name and property address to resolution@opendoor.com?
Posted 2 weeks ago
Not too long ago 3225 58th Street was a nice little Tahoe Park house just right for a family. Its neighborhood was relatively free of problems. Then the nice family that lived there had to relocate out of state and they sold the house to an out of state, digital, real estate company called Opendoor. In the five months they've owned it Opendoor neglected the house letting it fall into the hands of vagrants, prostitutes, and drug users. Opendoor refused to respond to calls from neighbors, and even the police to correct the situation until the city was forced to board up the house. Now the boarded up house sits empty and sad. Thanks to Opendoor our neighborhood has become less safe and this is what greets visitors to the house.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to send this to us. We have forwarded this over to the appropriate team and they are actively engaging with security and law enforcement at this time.
Posted 1 week ago
My wife and I engaged Opendoor to potentially buy our home. The intial offer (provided on 10/29) was very close to the estimates from both Realtor.com (Opendoor was within 10%) and Zillow.com (within 1 percent) -- I understand those are estimates, not offers -- but that should set ballpark expectations. No issues there... We had the virtual walkthrough on 11/4, no red flags. Received the "final" offer on 11/8 -- the offer had dropped 30 (THIRTY) percent, with absolutely no justification. Minimal repair costs were noted, and much less closing cost that I had expected. The average home price, in Missouri, has increased 30 percent since we purchased our home -- but somehow, Opendoor only values this property at a 5% increase. Any justification provided as to the rationale for the precipitous drop should have been determined prior to the intial offer being made (it is all public information). Obviously, we will not be using Opendoor
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! A negotiation doesn’t reach a common ground every time, but we are constantly improving our services and we would like to look into this further for you. Please reach out to contact@opendoor.com with your name, property address, and the details of your experience so we can investigate this situation.
Posted 2 weeks ago
Don't buy a home from OpenDoor. They are extremely difficult to work with. In addition, their version of "make ready" leaves a lot to be desired. These idiots removed every blind from the house, took off the plug and switch covers, Spray-painted INSIDE the gang boxes, only replaced half the covers, painted over wall paper after spraying a terribly uneven orange peel texture over it and the rest of the walls, got paint splatters all over they didn't clean up and neglected to disclose many areas of hidden damage that it turns out they had to know about. All the functional repairs they are supposed to make weren't done except for the roof. The people they hired to fix the roof destroyed the gate and a section of fence and they still refuse to repair the damage. Absolutely will never work with them again, from either side of the equation.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
We value your feedback and would like to investigate this further. Would you please send us an email describing the issue with your name and property address to resolution@opendoor.com?
Posted 2 weeks ago
DO NOT USE this company, I was seriously considering using Opendoor to sell/buy a new home, but I definitely will NOT use them now, My son is buying and selling his house through Open Door and it has been nothing but STRESSFUL for him, they found their house at the end of August, all offers etc were accepted. He expected then to be closing and moving by October, in October they told him it would not be until November 12th, the end of October he received a call that everything would be a go for November 8th to close on his house now and November 12th closing on the house they are moving to. Today just 1 week before they are to close, his wife received a call stating they cannot close on the 12th. WHAT???? they said the appraisal has not been done, Are you kidding me, this company has had over 2 months to do an appraisal on the new home and they have not done it??? And the guy just called last week saying everything was good to go. I myself along with several others have taken days off work to help him move on the 12th, and now OpenDoor is messing with him yet again over this transaction. So now a week before he is to close on his new home and having to be out of his old home by the 15th, they are telling him he probably wont close until the 22nd. What is opendoor trying to pull? are they just screwing him out of his old home? I'm thinking maybe an attorney friend should get involved. I will DEFINITELY NOT use Opendoor for ANYTHING and I will tell everyone I know NOT to use them either. How awful to become homeless because of a shifty company. If this is not resolved and my son does not have a new home to move into, we will be reporting to the BBB and be hiring an attorney to sue them. They have one week to get their stuff together and close on that house on time. To me this is a breach of contract. NO WAY will I be selling or buying a house through Opendoor, I am too old to have this kind of stress in my life........Please anyone reading this, if you know what is good for you, DO NOT believe anything they say, DO NOT use this company to sell or buy your home.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Hello Jan, We always strive to provide a stress-free, positive experience with Opendoor, and we would like to learn more about what happened. Could you please reach out to resolution@opendoor.com with your name and property address so we can investigate? Thanks a lot!
Posted 3 weeks ago
Opendoor & Alex were one of the worst companies I have ever worked with. It took many phone calls, texts, emails and property appointments for them to say we will not be extending an offer because your house needs repairs. THERE ADVERTISEMENT: no showings, don't worry about repairs and get an instant offer is a lie. What a complete farce and waste of time. Do yourself a favor and just find a good realtor. CAUTION!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
We value your feedback and would like to investigate this further. Would you please send us an email describing the issue with your name and property address to resolution@opendoor.com?
Posted 3 weeks ago
We are trying to buy a home owned by Opendoor / Mark Spain. Our inspector found some major issues including none of the 3 AC units are working properly, roof only has 3 years left (last replaced in 2005), and the major one...it has a Sylvania electrical panel which is for all practical purposes un-insurable. Opendoor refuses to replace it for a messily $2k because "They can get a cash offer from someone who doesn't need insurance". So they purchase houses at below market price without regard for condition because the condition does not matter, in hopes of selling the homes for a profit to cash only buyers, which virtually excludes all traditional home owners out of the market. They are creating another housing crash.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, your feedback is important to us. Please reach out to resolution@opendoor.com with your name, property address, and the details of your situation, so we can look into this further.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Avoid this company. They will make you an offer then back out after several days with lies. I did an addition with permits gave them all information and they still told me they were backing out of the offer with no other reasons.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, your feedback is important to us. Please reach out to resolution@opendoor.com with your name, property address, and the details of your situation, so we can look into this further.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Avoid this company at all cost as a seller. They do not complete any inspections on there own but will sign your agreement that there are no issues. They are totally unresponsive but somehow pushed us to close in 21 days. Not realistic when you can't get a hold of them. So obviously trying to ignore you past your grace period and lock you into a purchase of a home they know nothing about. The dimensions, rooms, bathrooms, and even details like the countertop were not accurate whatsoever on the listing compared to in person. I have no idea how this company is even operable!!!!!!!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
We value your feedback and would like to investigate this further. Would you please send us an email describing the issue with your name and property address to resolution@opendoor.com?
Posted 3 weeks ago
I could have basically pasted the review one of the anonymous reviewers left on here except they didn't say they lost my video. I just plain stopped asking. I requested an offer from OpenDoor on 9/30 and they gave me the option to set up a walkthrough the same day. They then said that I would get my final offer by Friday 10/1 or Monday 10/4. I don't hear anything, so I contacted OpenDoor at the end of the day Monday. Tuesday 10/5 they said their fulfillment team is working on it and asked if I was still interested. I said yes but my window to consider it is closing. I left for a work trip and on 10/10 my camera recorded someone walking around the property. I reached out on 10/12 and asked if it was them. They said no and they had already sent someone on 9/30 to check utilities location they wanted to check. They also said they're reaching out to see why I didn't receive an offer. It's 10/26 and still crickets. I stopped asking. I essentially figured out what went down though but that's another story.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, your feedback is important to us. Please reach out to resolution@opendoor.com with your name, property address, and the details of your situation, so we can look into this further.
Posted 4 weeks ago
I requested an offer from OpenDoor. The representative contacted me and we scheduled a walk through tour and then they had someone come out and look at the outside of my house. They then said that I would get my final offer by Saturday. I don't hear anything, so I contacted OpenDoor on Monday. They said they would their team is working on it. I hear nothing, so I contact them on Tuesday and they same the same thing. Still no word, so I contact them on Wednesday. Now they say they lost my video walk through and we will need to do it again. I say no b/c I have lost trust that OpenDoor will be able to close on the day I want to close. OpenDoor says they understand, but they found the video and will get me a final offer out anyway. That was almost a week ago and still no final offer. OpenDoor isn't capable of doing what they say they are going to do and they do not contact you letting you know what is going on, you have to hound them.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, your feedback is important to us. Please reach out to resolution@opendoor.com with your name, property address, and the details of your situation, so we can look into this further.
Posted 1 month ago
Opendoor has no human beings working there. Simply automated and the folks you will speak to do not have a real estate license nor any knowledge about real estate. Impossible company to work with. Annoying and frustrating. DON'T USE THEM
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
We always strive to provide a stress-free, positive experience with Opendoor, and we would like to learn more about what happened. Could you please reach out to resolution@opendoor.com with your name and property address so we can investigate? Thanks a lot!
Posted 1 month ago
They undervalued my home by $20,000 over comps in the neighborhood, then said I would have to pay them $11,000 for landscaping a .28 acre lot! Then refuse to even discuss actual needs and say “we won’t come back out, it is what it is” Only sell to them if you are desperate!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! A negotiation doesn’t reach a common ground every time, but we are constantly improving our services and we would like to look into this further for you. Please reach out to contact@opendoor.com with your name, property address, and the details of your experience so we can investigate this situation.
Posted 1 month ago
My client purchased a house from OD, we had the inspection done, sellers did issue a credit but the other issues they failed to address after I had brought them to their attention. I have email trails. One of them is a safety issue with a water heater. My client has put out over 2k for repairs. The sellers disclosure failed to mention items needing repaired. Ones OD should have repaired. I will not be recommending OD to my clients.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Feedback like this is truly impactful and allows us to deliver world-class home buying and selling experience. We would appreciate the opportunity to learn more. Feel free to reach out to us at resolution@opendoor.com with your name and property address. We look forward to hearing from you.
Posted 1 month ago
Open door is great for sellers, but they are not great for buyers. Recently purchased a house from Open Door and the problems were endless! First, it took forever to get our offer reviewed (more than 2 weeks), and then once they accepted it they took forever to handle anything my realtor asked them about. The icing on the cake is the issue we asked Open Door to fix actually ended causing more problems for us now because they performed a crappy job. I wish I could give no stars. The best part of the whole ordeal is that no one from corporate will even care about this review.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, your feedback is important to us. Please reach out to resolution@opendoor.com with your name, property address, and the details of your situation, so we can look into this further.
Posted 1 month ago
Opendoor is rated 4.37 based on 1,980 reviews