Opendoor Reviews

4.01 Rating 751 Reviews
74 %
of reviewers recommend Opendoor
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
On-time Delivery
99%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read Opendoor Reviews

About Opendoor:

In 2014, we set out to reinvent life’s most important transaction with home sellers and buyers in mind. Since then, we’ve helped thousands of people sell their homes and move in one simple, seamless transaction.

Life’s biggest milestones come with a move. Whether you’re getting married, starting a family, or taking a new job, moving is a natural step towards your dream. But it isn’t easy. Each step is more stressful than the last, and sometimes it seems like everyone but you is in control of your destiny.

Opendoor is here to change that. From selling your current home to choosing your next one, we’ve revolutionized the process to put you at the center of your move. Because we believe only one person should be in charge of how your future unfolds, and that’s you.

Visit Website

Email:

community@opendoor.com

Write Your review

Tell us how Opendoor made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Terrible experience. They left my Dad waiting outside the apt for 45 mins. Came and went and never let him know, despite having set up the appointment to meet him. After all that, didn’t make an offer with no clear reason why. Waste of time and effort.
Posted 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry we didn't meet your expectations and will utilize your feedback to further evaluate and develop.
Posted 1 week ago
Very frustrating and waste of time. They gave us a high range then after gave a low ball offer of $12k under the low range. This was before they estimated $3,000 in repairs. Agent wasn't even sure why, then got back to me and said their comps changed! This was all within one weeks time! I would not give them even one star!
Posted 1 week ago
We value your feedback and take it seriously. We want to look into this! Please email community@opendoor.com with more information about your experience and the property address.
Posted 1 week ago
I previously complained that Opendoor required that I work with a real estate agent, and was told that self tours were once again allowed. But when I tried to schedule one, I was told that no, I had to have an agent. They are dishonest.
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry we didn't meet your expectations and will utilize your feedback to further evaluate and develop.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Woe to those that are unfortunate to live near an opendoor home...I had 2 trees from one near my home. The 1st time their team did a g=eat job.. tree had root rot. The next one way bigger than the first took out one of my evergreen trees. They took care of the debris on that property but never returned to take care of the limbs and branches on my property. This tree also had root rot. If you are buying a home from this company....you already know your not getting the best of the best houses in your local market. Buyer beware that you will also have issues on the property surrounding your money pit.
Posted 1 month ago
Dawn, We value your feedback and take it seriously. We want to look into this! Please email community@opendoor.com with more information about your experience and the property address.
Posted 3 weeks ago
By far the worst people to work with. When buying a house there is much better service and respect out there than Opendoor. Will NEVER recommend. Highly disappointed.
Posted 1 month ago
We value your feedback and take it seriously. We want to look into this! Please email community@opendoor.com with more information about your experience and the property address.
Posted 1 month ago
They lie and cover stuff up and suck
Posted 2 months ago
Amanda, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry we didn't meet your expectations and want to look into this. Please reach out at community@opendoor.com with your property address so we can further evaluate this situation.
Posted 2 months ago
My selling experience was not pleasant. I felt my offer was too low but Opendoor was not willing to budge and insisted it was based on a computer program that gives a fair market value of the home. Opendoor claims instead of buying low and selling high, that they give you a fair offer and then charge a fee. My offer was $258k and was charged approx $19k fee. My home was put by on the market by open door and listed for $282k without any upgrades. I do not believe the market changed that much in 30 days to equate for a $24k difference. I feel Opendoor scammed me and is a complete rip off. I wish I never sold to Opendoor and I will never use Opendoor again and will definitely not recommend this service to anyone. My buying experience was much better. I was paired with Melissa who was very knowledgeable. She went above and beyond.
Posted 2 months ago
We're sorry to hear about your experience with Opendoor, and if we’ve fallen short of your expectation of us we'd like to look further into it. Please reach out at community@opendoor.com with your best contact information and property address.
Posted 2 months ago
I recently bought a house in Florida with Opendoor and am completely disappointed with the repairs from my inspection period. Now that we are living in our house it is clear whoever was hired by your company couldn't have been less qualified to do repairs in a home. Every single thing that was replaced based on my inspection was wrong. It has cost me an additional 1,000 to fix since I had to hire a handy that was actually qualified to do the work. Not to mention the repairs posed safety issues due to being repaired incorrectly. I had glass windows that were repaired with plastic and not sealed correct and when your rep was contacted that stated that was the only way to fix it. Turns out that was a lie once i had a glass technician come out and fix it correctly. I also had door rot repaired and the door was placed back on incorrectly and was unable to close. The dishwasher your company replaced was wired incorrectly and live wire was exposed. This could have burnt down my house! It is completely disappointing that your company cannot afford to hire quality workers when all you do is buy and sell homes. I am a disabled vet with three children and should have to worry someone can break my windows and doors or my house could erupt in flames due to your negligent.
Posted 2 months ago
We value your feedback and take it seriously. We want to look into this! Please email community@opendoor.com with more information about your experience and the property address.
Posted 2 months ago
Purchased a house 2 weeks ago. Master shower needs gutted, tiles caving in before 1st use. Estimating $2500 or more for repair if mold is present. Electrical had double tapped wiring $225 to repair to insure home. A.c. condensation exhaust line was buried causing interior to flood. One outdoor lighting fixture still non operational. All outdoor water bibs leaking. Ready to seek legal advise.
Posted 2 months ago
Hi Richard, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry we didn't meet your expectations! I see you are currently in communication with our teams to address this issue. Please continue communication through those coms and if any additional questions or concerns come up please email community@opendoor.com
Posted 2 months ago
I requested an offer - this is what I received: Here's your offer from one of Opendoor's Trusted Partners
$235,000 - I purchased my home last year for $270k - the offer they sent was for $235k - has anyone noticed the market going down dramatically? I find this offer offensive - PLUS they want me to pay a 3% commision on top of it. I would have to bring qooo's of dollars to the table to sell to this ridiculous company.
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry the offer didn't meet your expectations and will utilize your feedback to further evaluate and develop.
Posted 3 months ago
we bought a house from open door All open door did was put lipstick on the exterior of house and tried on interior but my 4 year old grandson could have done a better job the spilled paint on carpet without even trying to clean it up. they dropped paint spots from whit ceiling onto brown walls again didn't even try cleaning it off but here are the real problems.
1. Landscape irrigation tired into main water line illegal code requires a backflow preventer installed , irrigation timer did not work , irrigation line had more holes then swiss cheese but they advertised irrigation cost to get it done ( $3250.00)
2. kitchen Faucet would not move in any direction cost to replace ($250.00)
3.carpet was Filthy pet pee stains all over cost to clean ( $225.00)
4. pool equipment ( pump and filter ) did not work correctly over 20 years old cost to replace ( $5057.00)
5. Garage doors no remotes was a starter but after looking closer the double door had only ( 1 ) spring on it and it was broken the door where the opener connects to was 3/4 ripped off the door had to replace door and opener cost ( $2575.00)
6. Smoke alarms inside house did not work with each other to warn you if smoke or fire was on other side of house like they are made to do had to replace all Smoke alarms
cost ( $3780.00 )
7. only keys the gave was for front door dead bolt had to replace all exterior door locks and dead bolts Cost ($ 350.00)
all Open doors wants is to put money in there pockets they could give a Rats Ass about anything or Anybody
Posted 4 months ago
We're sorry to hear about your experience with Opendoor, and if we’ve fallen short of your expectation of us we'd like to look further into it. Please reach out at community@opendoor.com with your best contact information and property address.
Posted 4 months ago
We were in contract with the on a house and presented them with tested evidence of all three bad molds in 4 places in the property as well as evidence from two sources that the foundation was 6” out of level. These repairs are going to be very expensive. Instead of making the repairs, they decided to reject them, have us terminate the contract and put it back on the market hoping someone else will buy it without realizing and save them money. What a sad reality that they are focused on profits even if it is destructive to a buyers health and life. I am posting this in hopes of protecting a potential buyer
Posted 4 months ago
We're sorry to hear about your experience with Opendoor, and if we’ve fallen short of your expectation of us we'd like to look further into it. Please reach out at community@opendoor.com with your best contact information and property address.
Posted 4 months ago
Be careful l if you are going to buy from them.
We just got our first home and even with and extensive home inspection they where able to hide several things.
Just to give you an example, they put white bondo in the master bathroom tub so we would notice it and as soon as we stepped in it broke and now we have change it.
My wife decided to change the floor and thank God we did, we found mold under there. The kitchen was a mess put together just enough to pass the inspection, once we started to move things around we found rot, more mold and we are in a economic hole.
We have no master bathroom shower and kitchen because we spent all our money fixing the other problems they hid in the house.
Don’t buy from them! Worst decision of my life and a very expensive one too.
Posted 4 months ago
Hi Gabriel, sorry to hear that this was your experience with us. We always strive to provide a stress-free, positive experience with Opendoor, but if we've fallen short, we want to look into it. Could you please reach out at community@opendoor.com so we can investigate? Thanks a lot!
Posted 4 months ago
These guys do not care about the realtor community either. Most listings carry a 1.5% selling commission which is 1/2 of the customary rate. They can pay whatever they choose but seems to me if you have inventory that has been reduced in price over and over and over that they would pay MORE in order to get the home sold.
Posted 4 months ago
Bob, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry we didn't meet your expectations and will utilize your feedback to further evaluate and develop.
Posted 4 months ago
We are in the Nashville area, The whole purpose behind Open door is Self guided tours without a realtor. They will not let me tour a house citing Covid 19 as the reason. The funny thing about this is your putting me at greater risk by forcing me to be around a realtor I do not want to be around. I understand the issue in our country currently, However when Companies use this tactic to reshape the rules to there favor it is sad. Self Guided tours, is your Business, Why do you Site Covid -19 and then try and put me at greater risk. I do not recommend this company, and think they are taking advantage of people. And by the way we toured another house last week, Found this one and the changed the rules also Citing Covid -19. So i guess what ever the company decides to do they will just put this handy free pass sticker on it (Covid-19)
Posted 4 months ago
Josh, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry we didn't meet your expectations and will utilize your feedback to further evaluate and develop.
Posted 4 months ago
We purchased a property over a year ago. It was a disaster. No one was available for questions, I just found out they miscalculated the tax portion on the settlement statement. Not much, but really? The title company missed that there are 2 HOAs, now we are stuck with an additional monthly payment of $267 a month! If you see a house for sale by Opendoor, better run!
Posted 4 months ago
Thanks for letting us know about this! This is not the experience we strive to deliver at Opendoor. Please reach out at community@opendoor.com with your property address and best point of contact so we can look into this matter!
Posted 4 months ago
4 different prices , From to low, in that order. OD is a joke of a company
Posted 5 months ago
We value your feedback and take it seriously. We want to look into this! Please email community@opendoor.com with more information about your experience and the property address.
Posted 4 months ago
Living next to a home owned by Open Door has been a nightmare.

Last fall the home next to mine was sold to Open Door. The problems started when a vendor decided to park in my backyard while doing some repair work on the recently acquired home. This caused major damage to my yard due to tire tracks on wet ground.

Fast forward to this spring. The house still has not sold. The grass and landscaping are completely trashed and overgrown due to lack of oversight by Open Door. I contacted my HOA about this and they had to present Open Door with a notice so that they would send someone out to mow the yard. The yard was finally mowed on April 9th.

Fast forward 5 weeks and we are in the same boat with the yard needing to severely be mowed. (For the record I have personally mowed my lawn 5 times since Open Door send someone out the first time)

I call Open Door this time. They tell me that this is going to be addressed, but I’m not too hopeful. Open Door stated that they discontinued the landscaping contract due to a “flaw in the system”. The problem with that is I am not certain that a landscaping contract ever was in place due to the grass never being mowed to start with.

If you value relationships with future neighbors, I would highly recommend that you look elsewhere to find your new home. If you value your relationships with your current neighbors and are thinking about moving, don’e even think about using Open Door. This house has been on the market for over 8 months in one of the hottest real estate markets in the country. Our neighborhood is one of the most sought after areas of Nashville. It really makes you think about what Open Door’s priorities are. Clearly it is not selling homes or being good neighbors while they are in possession of a home.
Posted 5 months ago
Jordan, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry we didn't meet your expectations and want to look into this. Please reach out at community@opendoor.com with your property address so we can further evaluate this situation.
Posted 5 months ago
This company trys to low ball you Waste of time
Posted 5 months ago
We value your feedback and take it seriously. We want to look into this! Please email community@opendoor.com with more information about your experience and the property address.
Posted 5 months ago
I would give you a negative start if I could. To start we continued with our purchase of this home even though a pandemic hit the world. We asked to let us hire a cleaning service to come in and disinfect the house and was told that your team would take care of it. All they did was vacuum. There was dried food on the counters, the toilets were disgusting (dried urine and fecal matter on the seats) and there were boogers on the garage door button. My realtor paid to have it cleaned professionally. Then the camera was removed from the front door and the hole that the camera caused was not filled or plugged. Then the door. bell that was placed back in place of what was there was broken and missing the actual button for the bell. We got into the house only to find out that oven is half working. I feel like I bought a lemon and was scammed. When I tried to get some sort of resolution to at least the oven the RUDE women I spoke with told me she had photos of them cleaning, and basically I was on my own. I would highly recommend not working with Opendoor.
Posted 5 months ago
We're sorry to hear about your experience with Opendoor, and if we’ve fallen short of your expectation of us we'd like to look further into it. Please reach out at community@opendoor.com with your best contact information and property address.
Posted 5 months ago
Opendoor is rated 4.01 based on 751 reviews