Opendoor Reviews

4.37 Rating 534 Reviews
84% of reviewers recommend Opendoor

About Opendoor: In 2014, we set out to reinvent life’s most important transaction with home sellers and buyers in mind. Since then, we’ve helped thousands of people sell their homes and move in one simple, seamless transaction.

Life’s biggest milestones come with a move. Whether you’re getting married, starting a family, or taking a new job, moving is a natural step towards your dream. But it isn’t easy. Each step is more stressful than the last, and sometimes it seems like everyone but you is in control of your destiny.

Opendoor is here to change that. From selling your current home to choosing your next one, we’ve revolutionized the process to put you at the center of your move. Because we believe only one person should be in charge of how your future unfolds, and that’s you.

Are you a business owner?
Click Here

Write Your review

Tell us how Opendoor made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
on-time delivery
100%
Customer Service
communication channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
queries resolved in
Under an hour
"Although they cleaned and painted the interior they kept from us that the HOA here was requiring that homes be painted by the end of the year and didn't inform us of that cost just 6 months down the road. The HOA mailed out letters in advance of us purchasing the home but naturally Opendoor is denying it and won't even be decent enough to work with us "basically said it's not their problem". Never purchase a home from them unless you have everything in writing and check your HOA for any future costs coming up they may be hiding. I would have had more respect for the company if they would have worked with us instead of giving excuses and brushing us off."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
We're sorry to hear about your experience with Opendoor, and if we’ve fallen short of your expectation of us we'd like to look further into it. Please reach out at community@opendoor.com with your best contact information and property address.
Posted 4 days ago
"Trying to unsubscribe from mailings for a year but keep getting told may receive one more mailing in the next 6 weeks. Weekly letters still coming."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Thanks for taking the time to share this feedback with us, we appreciate it. Could you please reach out at community@opendoor.com with your property address so we can remove you from our marketing list? Thanks a lot!
Posted 1 week ago
"I have had the same experience as most of you... I am also looking to purchase and found a house opendoor is selling. The house has been under contract 3x and back on the market. Every time I go to offer they start off with no offers at first then all of a sudden it’s multiple offers. Ha! To opendoor keep your dam houses. I will keep looking and if I see that you are selling a house, I will look the other way! I will not partake in your shenanigans!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
We always want our customers to have a great experience with Opendoor Kita, and we’re sorry if this hasn’t been the case for you. We'd like to learn more - please email us at community@opendoor.com. We rely on feedback like yours as we continue to improve the experience for both buyers and sellers.
Posted 1 week ago
"What a joke. They massively lowballed my home offer. Within 24 hrs of listing, we had an offer in hand that was over asking price and $62k over what Opendoor offered. Our tax assessment (which is always much lower than what the house is worth) came in at almost $30k more than what Opendoor offered. There are unrenovated, half the size, 1/4th the lot sized homes in our neighborhood that sold for as much or in one case, 15k more than they offered us for our home. This is a predatory, garbage company. Don't waste your time."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
We’re sorry to hear that you’ve had a less than satisfactory experience with us Mre. We'd like to learn more. Please email community@opendoor.com with more information about your experience and the property address. Thank you!
Posted 1 week ago
"Absolutely a total joke. Open door offered me $335,000 for my home. Plus all of their fees, charges and scare tactics, that it was going to cost money in repairs to traditionally sell my home. I listed my home and got an offer for $383,000, (in 7 gays) less the 5% commission and absolutely no repairs to make. Don’t let them fool you into selling them your home"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
I’m sorry to hear your experience with Opendoor was less than stellar. Your feedback matters to us. Please email community@opendoor.com with more information about your experience and the property address so our team can learn more.
Posted 1 week ago
"Our friends have helped us investigate Opendoor's procedures as an added protection for ourselves as buyers due to many of their bad reviews. In doing so, we made inquiries on several properties to see how the negotiating process works. Obviously, Opendoor favors buyers that buy through Opendoor processes rather than with a private real estate agent who will actually advise them. In this way, they are able to take advantage of buyers who may be unfamiliar with buying real estate. We are working with Opendoor right now to buy a house that has been on the market for 90+ days. We have offered fair offers for the property and have asked for a 60 day close period per their stated declaration on their website, "With Opendoor, you choose your closing date so it can take anywhere from 10-60 days–the timeline is up to you". The agent refuses to go past 30 days and countered a price 1k lower than their published asking price. The next day, the agent says the seller has multiple offers and the seller is calling for everyone's highest and best offer by today at 3pm. This is a common trend for any offer they seem close to accepting based on other reviews and is meant to drive up the price. Furthermore, this is a property owned by Opendoor but the agent refers to Opendoor as "the seller". We all know that Opendoor is calling all the shots here. We find that Opendoor engages in non-tranparent, unethical business practices to maximize their profits. Quality control and customer service are lost in the way that they've set up their virtual presence, and obvious improvements could be made if they valued their employees and their customers. It is difficult to find reviews regarding the buyer's perspective, but I have searched Yelp, the BBB, Glassdoor, Indeed, and this page which is monitored by them. The consensus for buyer reviews is 1 star but Opendoor masks that with the higher reviews made by people who had a good experience selling to Opendoor (especially when they were in a bind). If any one is thinking about buying from Opendoor, we would encourage you to investigate their business practices and reviews for yourself and come prepared for the negotiation process."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Hi Vickie, sorry to hear that this was your experience with us. We always strive to provide a stress-free, positive experience with Opendoor, but if we've fallen short, we want to make it right. Could you please reach out at community@opendoor.com so we can investigate? Thanks a lot!
Posted 2 weeks ago
"I am buyer and please please please do not engage with this company to sell your home...it is twice as hard to buy home with these people than a normal realtor....not only will you be losing money when sell your home the buyer has also a worse experience...so the only winner is Opendoor at the expense of us..."
2 Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Hi, sorry to hear that this was your experience with us. We always strive to provide a stress-free, positive experience with Opendoor, but if we've fallen short, we want to make it right. Could you please reach out at community@opendoor.com so we can investigate? Thanks a lot!
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Beware of doing any form of business with opendoor. We purchased a property in Queen Creek Arizona, it was nothing but problems from the beginning. Upon home inspection it was found that our air conditioning unit was not working properly and needed small repairs. We submitted the report to open door where they refused to make the repairs to the air conditioning unit. Imagine buying a home in the hot desert and having the seller not agree to fix air-conditioning. Eventually after going back and forth, they agreed to fix it. Additionally, The property had three natural gas leaks.. These were detected by Mesa Gas where they actually had to shut the gas line down. We had to have our hot water tank completely replaced after only three days of moving into the property. We also signed an agreement that open door would repair to wooden banister going to the second floor within 30 days of the closure of the sale. Upon sending their own hired a contractor to our home, he stated that he could not make the repair because the banisters were custom made. He also stated that he has even asked other peers of his who also were not able to do it. The contractor advised Opendoor directly that he was not able to make such repairs. Now beyond 30 days and approaching 60, Opendoor failed to keep their promise to make all necessary repairs as signed by them. Our Real estate Agent advised us it is commonly known that open doors policy is to buy homes for a quick turnaround. They do not exercise any formal inspection of the property. This means you could be buying a property from Open door with many problems that are not being disclosed directly from the seller. Strongly advise purchasers of a home to be careful of what they are getting themselves into with this group because they will not honor their word even when its their own signature. Now we will have unnecessary legal fees and other expenses all because they simply do what they committed to."
2 Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Sorry to hear that Rob, this is not the Opendoor experience we strive for and see that Opendoor is actively trying to make this right with your agent. Please reach out at community@opendoor.com if you have any further concerns. Thanks for your patience while we are discussing a solution!
Posted 3 weeks ago
"If you buy a house that Opendoor is selling be prepared. Shoddy repair work. Painted over doorbell, house was filthy, ac was fixed only after we threatened not to close on house. They refused to fix defective windows gave us a credit to fix one of 16 windows."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
We always want our customers to have a great experience with Opendoor and we’re sorry if this hasn’t been the case for you. We'd like to learn more - please email us at community@opendoor.com. We rely on feedback like yours as we continue to improve the experience for both buyers and sellers.
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Heard great things. Was even referred to them by my neighbor. The experience was less than impressive. After providing a detailed description of our property, inclusive of price and associated details re cash purchase upgrades, as well as providing the same for a custom built-in and backyard development, along with pictures of all, Open Door (OD) fell very short in customer centric delivery. After thoroughly reviewing their website (and getting first hand experience from my next door neighbor who actually sold his home through OD), a cash offer would be presented without an OD direct interface (i.e. phone contact). That didn't happen. Apparently because I only tentatively agreed to speak with the "OD Advisor" several days after my expected cash offer, the phone rang. OD liason proceeded to try and sell me home improvement services, possible agent referrals, and so forth. No sooner had I got off the phone and told my wife I would cancel my tentative call with the "OD advisor" did I then get an email offer...Surprise! Strangely, I received a low ball offer, which I declined immediately. Then within minutes and without prompting, I received a higher offer. Recognizing my situation is somewhat unique, in two aspects: A) I paid cash for my home B) My neighbor's house is still on the market by OD Re (A), I didn't need to take any offer as I am not transitioning to another home and therefore needing it as a down payment. Re (B), they bought my friends home for 288.5K and immediately (8 days later post painting) listed it for 314K. After less than a month, OD dropped the price 4K. My point is, I am paying for OD's own sins. A lower than acceptable offer because they are still carrying the home next door. As an FYI, the comps they presented were somewhat weak; the highest being the model that sold in January - OD did offer me a higher price however not by much. My home is lightly lived in and shows like a model. If you're next to an OD home that is on the market, wait until it sells. Also as they have been in the market, they seem to be trying to PUSH other revenue generating services without following their original SOP, which made them attractive; NO HASSLE service provider. If you're in need, I get it. If not, the traditional realtor sale might be worth considering again. Hope this helps..."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi, thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We will definitely share this with the team so we can continue improving the Opendoor experience. If there's anything we can help with, please reach out at community@opendoor.com so we can look into it.
Posted 3 weeks ago
"So, my husband and I have recently begun relocation cross country to his hometown. When I got a very good job offer it put some urgency into selling our home. We only had it on the market about a month before we decided to go with Opendoor. I knew we would not make a big profit, but since I had good equity, we would be okay with the settlement. I had read all the reviews, done some research and even retained my agent for the process at my expense. The offer was very low, and the fees are very high, the cost of convenience I suppose. At this point the repairs came out to 4,300. A bit high, as if I am paying for improvements for them to flip it, but again, perfect victim due to urgency. This is where it gets bad, really bad, I am already losing tens of thousands versus a market sale, I am in my new hometown closing remotely. The mobile notary comes to my Airbnb on Wednesday, we sign, husband signs in Texas. Done. Nope, TWO hours after closing I am informed the math was wrong and it would be 6K less! After closing! People, I cannot stress enough the fact that this was AFTER closing! The first story was Opendoor commission, the second was taxes, nobody really knows. They just want an extra 6k and since I am even more pressured with pending home purchase, I believe they thought I would have no choice. Wrong, I went through the settlement sheet and every department that let the error slip was forced to rebate their fees, my agent reduced hers and they made up the difference. Did I mention I am in leadership?? The story is not over though, as I sit here on the east coast on Friday afternoon, still no funds. They can’t seem to put a trace on the wire that they documented as executed on Thursday and was not executed until this morning. But, still NO funds. I call the closer and she informs me that that they accidentally sent a live check via FedEx to the property address they now own, in Texas, and the wire transfer tracking number I was provided was for my agents funds not mine. Please note the finance company and title company are owned by Opendoor. To conclude, it is 5:15 EST on Friday and I just got funded on a transaction from Wednesday. My closer was genuinely upset and did resolve it, but had it not been for multiple calls to the office, my bank, my mortgage company and agent it could have been weeks. Only use Opendoor to get rid of a mortgage payment, nothing more. There are people that depend on the equity to buy a new home and with Opendoor you will not be sure even after closing."
3 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi Jennie, This is not the Opendoor experience we strive for and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback to help us grow from this situation. I do see that this was resolved internally but if there's something further we can help with, please reach out at community@opendoor.com so we can look into the matter.
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Open door is a greedy company and no customer service like other Brokerage companies. My agent has been trying to get a hold of the agent to find out more details. Not responding. They purchased a house a few months ago and they are not living in it or fixing nothing in the house. The windows are bad."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I’m sorry to hear your experience with Opendoor was less than stellar. Your feedback matters to us. Please email community@opendoor.com with more information about your experience and the property address so our team can learn more.
Posted 1 month ago
"Shad wouldn't take the time to give us an offer. Canceled our scheduled meeting, did not answer when we called, and told us we were high risk."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Jennifer,

Sorry to hear this, and thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Please email community@opendoor.com with more information about your experience and the property address so we can better understand how our teams can improve.
Posted 1 month ago
"Opendoor told me they could not find my house that I entered the wrong address when I told them it is correct they came back with oh we can't get you an offer bc we don't have enough comps."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"We bought a home from Opendoor, the process was seamless at first then the time came for repairs. It took forever to get an answer on what they were and weren’t going to fix. One of the HVAC units was not working and recommended to replace by a professional, Opendoor decided to repair the unit, they had said that all repairs were done. We walked the property for the last time and none of the repairs had been done even after a document saying they had was presented. They were called and swore these things were fixed but during the second walk through the day of closing the repairs were done very unprofessionally. We ask for a escrow on HVAC unit to which they finally agreed. 1 month later we are still waiting on the payment."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
We truly apologize for what sounds like a frustrating experience. We've been able to confirm that our team was able to connect with your agent to provide a resolution. Please do not hesitate to email community@opendoor.com with any additional feedback.
Posted 1 month ago
"Very disappointed. I was hoping to work with you after seeing all the positive reviews. But you said you don’t buy houses built before 1960. I don’t think you should make a judgment like that just from a few questions without seeing the property. Very disappointing."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
We’re sorry to hear that you’ve had a less than satisfactory experience with us, We'd like to learn more. Please email community@opendoor.com with more information about your experience and the property address. Thank you!
Posted 1 month ago
"I've tried multiple times to get a quote from Open Door. There is a house literally one street over from mine that they purchased, said they "couldn't figure out" why my house isn't even providing an offer. I've spoken to two different people at the company extensively with a "we will follow up with you" promised by both... here we are a month later and not a peep from either one of them. *HORRIBLE* customer service."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi Bonnie,

We always want our customers to have a great experience with Opendoor, and we’re sorry if this hasn’t been the case for you. We'd like to learn more - please email us at community@opendoor.com. Your feedback matters to us!
Posted 1 month ago
"My experience started out positive with Opendoor, then over time, I realized what kind of company they truly are! I asked Opendoor to make an offer on a house that I would be owning in a matter of days. I felt the offer was fair and said I would accept it, but I wasn't the legal owner at the time so I didn't sign the paperwork. They asked for me to renew the offer when I was the owner and I did just 12 days later, their offer price went way down (but they couldn't provide any data showing why their offer went down -(huh?)), and then they BACKHANDEDLY raised, their "service charge" fees - (WHAT>???) I asked why these fees went up and they blamed it on the expenses they pay for keeping up all of their other properties! WHY AM I BEING CHARGED FOR THEIR OTHER PROPERTIES? That isn't an expense for them buying MY property! Ironically, the CSR gave the example of running ACs in the summer, and right now, we are going into fall, so these costs should actually be going DOWN, not up, so my fees should be LESS not MORE! IF their operating costs changed, it should be reflected in their purchase offer, not trying to sneak MORE MONEY out of you by hiding it in their service fees where its very difficult for someone to detect (they won't let you access the details of expired offers so take screenshots of everything!!!). This IS NOT being upfront and honest in the way they conduct business. IT is very SHADDY and UNDERHANDED ways of trying to screw people out of money! I wonder how many other people they have swindled out of more money, even if they kept the offer price the same on a renewed offer, they could have raised the service fees without people remembering or proving it and got 1000s more in the transaction! Out of principle, I will probably sell my house with an agent (and make more money with statistically too!) and its based off of their underhanded techniques to screw me over! My Lesson learned - When these clowns get through with you, you will have lost a lot of $$$ in the house!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi Phil,

Sorry to hear this, and thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Please email community@opendoor.com with more information about your experience and the property address so we can better understand how our teams can improve.
Posted 1 month ago
"Buyer Beware. My wife and I recently purchased a home from open door in Queen Creek Arizona. Let’s just say the service has been anything but favorable. We had the home inspected and forward the punch list to open door. Remember earlier I stated we moved into Queen Creek Arizona. Our inspector discovered that the air conditioning system in the home was malfunctioning. We contacted open door to have them repair it, initially they refused. Open door Was provided with additional items that they agreed to repair prior to closing to which they knowingly and willingly failed to do so. Specifically the bathtub in the master bedroom needed the mixer valve replaced because cold and hot water was not mixing through the faucet. They agreed to fix it but failed to do so nor could they provide a receipt proving that they acted on their word and contract. We had a refrigerator delivered that had water and ice dispenser in the door. When it was hooked up there was no water coming from the waterline. We looked under the kitchen sink and discovered that a plumber had been under there and buried the waterline when he was attempting to repair a backed up sink. Upon moving into the home, we discovered the dishwasher, sink and garbage disposal backed up into the sink after running for approximately 2 1/2 minutes. Open door failed to report that there was clearly a plumbing issue in the home and hid the fact that they attempted to repair it and failed. When a company Refuses to knowingly and willingly fix and air conditioning system in the middle of the desert, you know they are unscrupulous. Emails and phone calls have gone on unanswered. There will be absolutely no more attempts to ask them to do the right thing. Next stop legal action and various complaints filed with local and state agencies ."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi Rob,

Please send an email to community@opendoor.com with the property address. We will have our team take a look. We apologize for what sounds like a very frustrating situation.
Posted 2 months ago
"Do not use this company because they are only interested in money & getting your home. They came to do an inspection, a crew came they were all over my house. Im rhe type of person that likes to see what their doing but, I couldn't because there was 1 checking hvac, 1 checking rhe attic, 1 checking appliances & inside/outside our home. They basically sabotaged our home by removing screws, gutter elbows removed & weren't put back properly, our shutters looked as if they were damaged & coming off our home, which they weren't, they made up a repair bill of over $7,200 eventhough we left paint/ tile/flooring. We were suppose to receive a $500 credit which we did not! I believe they used the flooring because I actually went back & saw the inside. Please do not use these people, we got ripped off, not just by them but another well known realtor, Mark Spain! He received almost 10k & fir what fir listing iur hime on the market which we have no proof!!! Everyone received more money than we did! Beware of companies like this... sell your home by yourself so that you will receive top dollar! We only got a little over 4k, no equity, no nothing! We needed to sell fast & we were really under duress, so everyone took advantage of our situation!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi Elaine,

We apologize for what sounds like a frustrating experience. Please email community@opendoor.com with the property address if you are still waiting on your credit. We can assure you that this is not standard practice and we will be sharing your feedback with our internal teams.
Posted 2 months ago
Opendoor is rated 4.37 based on 534 reviews