Opendoor Reviews

4.4 Rating 3,311 Reviews
86 %
of reviewers recommend Opendoor
Read Opendoor Reviews

About Opendoor:

In 2014, we set out to reinvent life’s most important transaction with home sellers and buyers in mind. Since then, we’ve helped thousands of people sell their homes and move in one simple, seamless transaction.

Life’s biggest milestones come with a move. Whether you’re getting married, starting a family, or taking a new job, moving is a natural step towards your dream. But it isn’t easy. Each step is more stressful than the last, and sometimes it seems like everyone but you is in control of your destiny.

Opendoor is here to change that. From selling your current home to choosing your next one, we’ve revolutionized the process to put you at the center of your move. Because we believe only one person should be in charge of how your future unfolds, and that’s you.

Visit Website

Email:

community@opendoor.com

Write Your review

Tell us how Opendoor made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Low offers high fees unexplainable repair cost line item direct response from opendoor representative, on fully paid solar system with over 20 years of warranty left. "... Opendoor does not value solar panels for the cash offer...." when asked why.... no answer.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
Bait and switch big time. The final offer came in 30% lower than the preliminary offer. Big waste of time and effort
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Opendoor told my buyer if they didn't use a realtor (me) that they would come down on the price! Thanks Opendoor!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
They will take advantage. I tracked the home I sold and they profited over $40k from what they offered. Do not sell with them. Beef or virtues keep your home with a traditional realtor and keep your hard earned money to yourself. They took me to the cleaners. Lesson learned
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Buying a house from open door is pretty good. Selling your house you purchase from Opendoor they will try to rob you. I’m trying to sell my place I got from open door and they are very dishonest blood suckers. 4-8-2024
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Open door is a damn joke. They came and appraised my house for 317000. Their initial price offer was 400200. On top of the 317000 they also said my house needed 48000 in repairs, it was completely remodeled within the last 3years. I recently (the same day as their appraiser came out) have had 3 cash offers that would give me 355000 cash with no service fees or closing as is. Opendoor is a joke and would do business with anyone else other than them
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I did a zoom walk through with Opendoor and then an inspector came out to my house and walked around with me. My house is near Tucson, AZ where tile roof homes are common. My house is 35 years old and has the original tile roof with no leaks. My whole house (2 story home) AC unit is about 14 years old and I just replaced the 2 stage motor on it 3 years ago. The AC is working perfectly as it was serviced at that time also. The offer came back to me as much lower than the current market price and then subtracting almost 40K for a new roof and AC unit. If you want to subtract that expense from a 40K higher offer that would be closer to market value, or if the offer included the replacement costs in it, it might be more reasonable but not the low offer and subtracting 40K in unnecessary replacements.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Brian, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We appreciate the ability to look into your feedback to see what opportunities we have to provide better experiences for our customers moving forward. If you have anything additional you would like to share you are welcome to email us at resolution@opendoor.com. Thanks again for your time and we wish you the absolute best with your listing experience. Respectfully, Opendoor
Posted 2 months ago
Please only use if you are desperate!! My home only needed 794.00 in repairs!! The value of my home is around 290000 the offered 255700 minus over 12000 in fees plus 794.00 in repairs which the amount would have dropped to 240000 nope that is me giving you my home for free. What is a service fee for I don’t understand that at all!!! Never see a service fee that high!! They making money from you and getting double back!! Not for me ever!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Beware of their deceptive practice. Their preliminary offer was very attractive but then after we opened our house to show them they told us they cannot give us an offer with a reason that can be determined ahead of our showing (nothing to do with our house). It seems that they just want to come to our house to gather information for their database. Fortunately, we were alerted and refused to do the video recording(a staff came to take pictures with our guidance instead) as we are still living there. We feel lucky when compared with the suffering of so many reviewers who were actually given the final offer by Opendoor.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Thank you for providing feedback about your experience. We would appreciate the opportunity to learn more about your specific experience if you are willing to share. Please email us at resolution@opendoor.com with additional details such as the property address and we will look into this further and get back to you with a response. Respectfully, Opendoor Team
Posted 2 months ago
I feel that this company wants to rip off consumers with the BS fees and repair costs. 1. A convenience fee of $14,300 is a none sense 2. The repair cost of $17,592 is insane, I feel like they want to remodel the house with me paying for it. 3. Closing cost- is buyers' resp, not sellers. Do not sell your home to companies like this.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I initiated contact with Opendoor in early January (around the 9th). They sent someone to confirm the square footage the next day so they could provide the quote. On Jan 17, I asked for an update on my offer. On Jan 24, I asked for another update on my offer. On Jan 25, Ashley sent me a small screen shot with very little details about my offer. I also asked that she not use my Gmail account and instead use my work email. No response. Feb 21, I get the official finalized offer. It took 6 weeks and multiple requests. I also know that MY offer was sent to OnePath realty. WHY DIDN'T YOU SEND MY OFFER TO ME? After reviewing the official offer, WHICH TOOK 6 WEEKS, they're deducting $7225 for "repair costs" but don't explain how these funds will be used. My house is immaculate and well-kept. There is nothing to repair so what is this deduction for? Opendoor is a joke. I honestly have no idea how they are in business.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, your feedback is important to us. Please reach out to resolution@opendoor.com with your name, property address, and the details of your situation, so we can look into this further.
Posted 3 months ago
I have just figured out how opendoor works. I used them in the past and was pleased with them. They gave me a good offer but then I realized that they were chipping away at the offer with work that had to be done and I had to use their contractors so they just deducted that from the offer amount. It would have cost me much less if I had done the work on my own or hired other to do it, but I was in a crunch and had to go with them. I decided to use them again since I was receiving numerous advertisement in the mail from them. I figured that since my house was only five years old and had need for very little work to improve it, they gave me a fair offer so I was going to pursue it. I scheduled the video conference with them, but I then uploaded videos of my house. It was ten minutes before I was to have the video conference with them that they called me and told me they no longer buy homes in Gated Communities that don't have a guard. My guess is that when they saw the video of my house they realized they would not make all the extra money from the purchase because there was very little work that they would have to do in the house and would not make as much money. I could be wrong but that's my guess. They knew from the very beginning that I lived in a Gated Community. Be cautious when dealing with them.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for bringing this to our attention, we want to look into the issue further. Could you please send us an email with your name, more information about your experience, and the property address to support@opendoor.com?
Posted 3 months ago
It’s not a good experience with open door. Wasting your time and get nothing. Talking more than action. Not straight forward.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Dan, thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Could you please email resolution@opendoor.com with your name, property address, and experience details? We will review and get back to you.
Posted 3 months ago
Open door will lowball you up to 30% below market value. Dont use this service unless you are desperate to sell. We were lowballed over $100k below asking price and comps. Of course we did not sell and decided to stay in our home. If you decline their offer, they will sell your data to investors and you will we greeted by thousands (not kidding, thousands) of phone calls from investors hoping to rip you off. STAY AWAY UNLESS DESPERATE AND YOU DONT CARE ABOUT YOUR EQUITY
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Thank you for bringing this to our attention, we want to look into the issue further. Could you please send us an email with your name, more information about your experience, and the property address to support@opendoor.com?
Posted 4 months ago
Uploaded information about my house that I am planning to sell. The house is located in the Richmond area. They sent the initial offer and set up a video meeting. Received text messages and advertising emails prior the video meeting. Gabby came on the meeting and informed me that they are currently not purchasing homes in the Richmond area. I have no issue that they do not want to purchase the home, but they should not of brought me through the process, if they are not looking to purchase homes in the Richmond area. We both could have saved time. Update: called customer service and they said they ARE making offers in the area. Open door is looking into the issue?
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Thank you for reaching out, your feedback is a gift, and we would love to learn more. Please contact us at resolution@opendoor.com with your name, property address, and your experience details so we may look into it further.
Posted 4 months ago
Open door back out couple of days before closing not wanting to submit a back ground check by my HOA put in the notice seller cancelled - I through my belongings out told I had one day after closing to get out they should have had to pay being they didn't follow through home is in great condition passed inspection took advantage my lack of education
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, your feedback is important to us. Please reach out to resolution@opendoor.com with your name, property address, and the details of your situation, so we can look into this further.
Posted 6 months ago
TRASH! Not worth the 1 star need for the review. We had an appointment for Open Door to view the property in hopes of them increasing their initial low-ball offer. I sat in the car waiting for almost an hour just to receive an email that the appointment was canceled. The whole while, I was texting the phone # Open Door was communicating with me on AND was referred to. I texted and left messages because no one was answering the #. Nor were they responding to texts. I then get a voicemail from a # my carrier thought was spam saying he knocked at the door. He must've been at the wrong house. Open Door is not worth the headache with their low-ball offers & poor communication. And they want you to put aside a 4 hour window then lack proper follow through.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Feedback like this is truly impactful and allows us to deliver world-class home buying and selling experiences. We would appreciate the opportunity to learn more. Feel free to reach out to us at resolution@opendoor.com with your name and property address. We look forward to hearing from you.
Posted 7 months ago
I am buying a new home with Lennar and was referred to Open Door. Since then, my Lennar agent will not refer his customers to Open Door, and this has nothing to do with me. I was offered 630K for my home. I had an appraisal, and it was a little low but acceptable. The home that we wanted in a corner lot took almost two years to become available. Open door let us know that they could only hold our offer for 9 months. When we had a closing date for our home, we listed our home for a short time with a real estate agent to see if we could sell it at 620K. Things were a little slow, so we went back to Open Door for another offer. They came out and offered us 530K for our home. When I asked for the reason, they said the market had changed. I am a home inspector, and it is true that it has slowed down a little but not that much. When I called to ask I had to make over seven phone calls to get an agent who would talk with me. They refused to review the offer to see if it made sense. I will never work with this company again.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Your feedback is valuable, thank you for sharing with us. Please contact us at support@opendoor.com with your name, property address, and the details of your experience so we can investigate the issue further.
Posted 7 months ago
I saw and fell in love with a home and it was being sold through Opendoor. After the home inspection we raised a few concerns and the agent acting on behalf of Opendoor said their contractors who did the quick fix up said it was an easy “fix” and it would just cost $35 for the fireplace and a little bit of caulking for the kitchen sink that wasn’t put in correctly. They swore it was no more than an easy fix. Opendoor wanted a fast closing and we made it happen. After going in to clean the house we found out that the kitchen sink wasn’t even put in properly and after using it a couple of times the whole sink started to sink down - the contractors that were used didn’t use the correct caulking, used cardboard pieces and didn’t set the sink so the whole kitchen counter has to be taken apart to fix the sink area. They painted over the kitchen cabinets and tried to hide the damage. They shut off the water so the inspector couldn’t check for leaks. Once we turned on the water there were leaks in the kitchen and in the bathroom. I mean everything these people told us was a lie. They knew nothing of the house. They purchased it, did a crappy job making it look half decent, oh and the “new” stove is actually damaged so it tilts and is not leveled which is hazardous. The countertops are not cut correctly; short on one end and sticking out on another end where my fridge won’t fit unless I cut off the extra hanging edge piece. So if you are buying an Opendoor property, run the other way!!! It’s not worth the headaches and extra hidden costs!!! They will lie and say anything for you to buy their houses. They find the cheapest contractors to do the cheapest and fastest job, they don’t check the quality of the work and they want fast closes. They don’t care who they rip off, it’s just business to them meanwhile we worked hard for our money to put down, we are working even harder now to get the house in a livable condition where we can use the kitchen sink and stove bcs at this point the kitchen is off limits until we come up with more money to fix all the issues Opendoor lied to us about. I understand they are selling “as-is” but they told us their contractor said it was an easy fix so I don’t know who’s lying to whom. It’s just so crazy. If this was a car I would have returned it bcs there’s a lemon law protecting consumers. But there’s no such protection for home buyers.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, your feedback is important to us. Please reach out to resolution@opendoor.com with your name, property address, and the details of your situation, so we can look into this further.
Posted 7 months ago
Their initial offer is to get your hopes up. Then they come in and low ball the first offer. And claim the house house needs a lot of work. They told me over 30,000.00 worth of work. I have a new kitchen, new floors , brand new A/C new paint inside and out. They prey on people who are in a desperate situation. Don't know how they sleep at night. Only reason I considered them was my buyer backed out of sale at last minute. And I figured let's try Open Door.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
We value your feedback and would like to investigate this further. Would you please send us an email describing the issue with your name and property address to resolution@opendoor.com?
Posted 9 months ago
Opendoor is rated 4.4 based on 3,311 reviews