Opendoor Reviews

4.36 Rating 536 Reviews
83% of reviewers recommend Opendoor

About Opendoor: In 2014, we set out to reinvent life’s most important transaction with home sellers and buyers in mind. Since then, we’ve helped thousands of people sell their homes and move in one simple, seamless transaction.

Life’s biggest milestones come with a move. Whether you’re getting married, starting a family, or taking a new job, moving is a natural step towards your dream. But it isn’t easy. Each step is more stressful than the last, and sometimes it seems like everyone but you is in control of your destiny.

Opendoor is here to change that. From selling your current home to choosing your next one, we’ve revolutionized the process to put you at the center of your move. Because we believe only one person should be in charge of how your future unfolds, and that’s you.

Are you a business owner?
Click Here

Write Your review

Tell us how Opendoor made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
on-time delivery
99%
Customer Service
communication channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
queries resolved in
Under an hour
"While Ben, my OpenDoor rep, was fantastic the rest of the process ended up being a nightmare due to lack of research on Opendoors part. On my first request for an offer, they did not look at the location at all and needed to drop the offer by 23k. Because the offer was so good, that ended up being a hiccup that we could work around. Unfortunately the home I was buying fell through, but when I found another I requested another offer with OpenDoor a few months later. After requesting verification that the location was taken into account with the offer, I signed a second contract to sell with OpenDoor and put on offer on a home contingent with that sale. Unfortunately, there was a massive oversight that was somehow missed and OpenDoor was actually not accepting home sales in my area any longer, but this was only figured out three weeks later, after I had already spent money on appraisals and inspections for a home I am no longer able to buy due to no longer meeting the contingencies. Overall, both experiences were stressful and very unorganized, and there should have been some sort of oversight not allowing the company to make offers on homes they are unable to support. While it is good that some of my costs are being recouped with the escrow from Opendoors cancelation, there is no way to recover everything or the time and energy spent going through a process that they knew from the beginning would not be successful."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
"We thought that Open Door was going to be a life savor. We were at our ropes end with our mortgage company. Then came along Open Door. They gave us a competitive offer on our house. But when the repair estimate came in, it did sting a little. We took it, thinking that all the repairs we going to be done. I have read with others that Open Door said that they would do took money for repairs and never did them. This was definitely the case in our house as well. They took money for a new roof, this was not done. They took money for new appliances, old appliances were left in the home. They took money for small repairs to be done to the house that we not done at all. I wish I could go back and get that money back from them, this is very dishonest and fraudulent. In the end Open Door takes advantage of people looking to get out of a bad situation."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Kelly, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry we didn't meet your expectations and want to look into this. Please reach out at community@opendoor.com with your property address so we can further evaluate this situation.
Posted 5 days ago
"Obtained information and did not receive it as promised. This site only collects personal information without actually providing a service."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
We’re sorry to hear that you’ve had a less than satisfactory experience with us. We'd like to learn more. Please email community@opendoor.com with more information about your experience and the property address. Thank you!
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Very disappointed , the e mails received from open door looked positive then they told us they could not find comparable comps for our home in the area . I called and spoke with them that we are in a high value area and is one of the fastest turning markets I don't see how they cant find sales . so I asked them how they arrived at this and was told they use MLS. so I asked if they are using real estate agents with MLS. and was told no they have people that use MLS through a brokers account but they are not realtors, so I asked how they know how to use it and can they really understand real estate comps. I received no answer to this question . I told them that we have many major builders here in our area , so how we can we not have comps. the homes sales in our area are going so fast that due to the rapid growth in our area some people are having trouble as many homes sellers receive multiple offers. at this point they offered to help me find a realtor . very disappointed in the responses it seems like they are trying to make decisions without correct and accurate information."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
We are sorry your experience was less than stellar. We want to give the best possible experience to everyone and are sorry we fell short here. Please reach out to community@opendoor.com with more information about your experience and include the property address so we can quickly investigate.
Posted 1 month ago
I’m sorry to hear your experience with Opendoor was less than stellar. Your feedback matters to us. Please email community@opendoor.com with more information about your experience and the property address so our team can learn more.
Posted 1 month ago
"The property was not in good shape upon us finalizing the closing. Fence was knocked down, inspection remediation not completed, and HOA citations not fixed. Buyer beware!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
We're sorry to hear this, James. We work towards making the Opendoor experience a good one, and whenever this is not the case, we want to make it right. Please reach out at community@opendoor.com so we can help you with this matter? Thanks!
Posted 1 month ago
"After original offer, had inspection, inspection report was presented 25 days after(15 days after inspection period). OpenDoor was hell bent on recovering some of cost of notpickey items on inspection(ie trimming shrubbery and cosmetic painting). Eventually paid another $1k because I had 3 types of flooring in living area and was not an option on original site discription. House was resold within 2 weeks for $10k more than they paid. Lots of frustration for very little return. Will not use them again."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"I am not impressed with OpenDoor in TX at all as a buyer. They are not transparent, it's difficult to negotiate with them re: fixes or price, they do not bring down the price much even if home is old and needs renovation badly and are not reasonable regarding fixing homes. They own the home we are buying and they do not care about quality of the home very much. They do not even agree to pay for the first year home warrantee that most sellers would pay for. Their agents that we worked with kept changing so there's no continuity and you feel like you are working with a robot. Not impressed! They also won't let us show the home or list it on MLS till closing, not sure if this is standard process."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Opendoor would not even give us an offer citing a lack of comparable properties in our area. There are houses selling left and right around us so I don’t think they looked too hard in the entire hour it took them to answer us. Very disappointing."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Mac, we apologize for the less than satisfactory experience with us. Please reach out at community@opendoor.com so we can investigate.
Posted 1 month ago
"Open door is probably good for those in a hurry to sell or not wanting the hassle of going through the normal sales process with a Real Estate Agent and Company. However, it may cost you a lot of money. Open Door quoted my home at far below market value and they charge 6% plus other fees. They inspect and look for repairs that will need to be made in order reduce the price. Since I felt the price was far too low and I was not in a hurry or desperate, I contacted an agent. We eventually listed at $35K higher than the Open Door offer. The Real Estate Company I used charges a 1% listing fee and pays the buyers agent 2,5%. A total of 3.5% to sell We had full service and a team working with us. This led to a full price offer plus other incentives the day after our open house. In total we were listed for 4 days before a contract was signed. I know it can be tempting to take the easy way out, but in our case it would have cost us $35,000 in the sale plus the extra commission and fees that Open Door charges."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
I’m sorry to hear your experience with Opendoor was less than stellar. Your feedback matters to us. Please email community@opendoor.com with more information about your experience and the property address so our team can learn more.
Posted 1 month ago
"I received an attractive initial offer, and I understood I would need an in depth inspection on the property to receive the final offer. I attempted to schedule that inspection. I was sent an 18 page contract to sign before I could schedule the inspection. If I need a lawyer to decipher the contract before I can even schedule an inspection I’m not comfortable doing business with this company. I can’t make an informed decision without knowing the final offer amount and don’t want to be required to sign a legal and binding contract to get the facts I need. Zillow completed a thorough inspection today. I’m very disappointed by Opendoor because I was initially very impressed by their professionalism, service and website. If I can’t get the information I need, we won’t be doing business together."
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Hi there,

Our offers are no obligation, and even following the home assessment you are free to walk away at any time. However, we truly appreciate your feedback regarding how the documentation made you feel so we will be sharing this internally. Feel free to share any additional insights with us via email, community@opendoor.com.
Posted 7 months ago
How did you work with Opendoor? I bought my home with Opendoor
In what city did you work with Opendoor (e.g. Phoenix, Nashville)? Raleigh
Your Name: Rebecca
"I was really hoping that my experience with OpenDoor would be positive, however it has not been. I was looking for a fast house purchase which I got and I love my house but OpenDoor has not met my expectations. The workmanship used in the painting and repairs is just really poor. There are still outstanding repairs that were agreed before the closing that OpenDoor have repeatedly said the contractor will call me to complete but its now 3 week post closure and OpenDoor knew these repairs were not complete at closure and were chasing the contractor. Approach any house purchase through OpenDoor with caution. From my experience the repairs will either not be completed or they will be very poorly done. I am really hoping that OpenDoor will change my opinion, but I am not holding my breath."
1 Helpful Report
(RDU) - Posted 7 months ago
We want all of our clients to have the best possible experience with Opendoor, if we've fallen short we want to make it right Rebecca. Please reach out at community@opendoor.com so we can investigate.
Posted 1 month ago
"They’re going to blind you with the wow factor on your initial offer. What happens is instead of low-balling you up front, they give you the wow number. Then you accept the offer and go under contract. That’s when they decide to take back $15k from that offer because they “over-valued” the home on top of the list of requested “improvements”. Getting a revised offer while under contract...hmmm. Now we’ve got to back out of our contract with the builder of our new home because what was supposed to be our new home requires us to be under contract on the selling home in order to proceed. I’m out my earnest money and whatever penalties I’ll face from the builder."
2 Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Hi there,

We do apologize for what sounds like a frustrating experience here. We would like to learn more about your experience, can you email community@opendoor.com?
Posted 7 months ago
"What should have been and started out a seamless easy transaction turned into a NIGHTMARE!! Sellers be wary and I suggest looking at alternative i buyers."
1 Helpful Report
(Las_vegas) - Posted 8 months ago
We apologize for what sounds like a frustrating experience. If you have additional feedback you would like to share feel free to email community@opendoor. com. We rely on feedback like yours to continue to optimize the experience for both buyers and sellers.
Posted 7 months ago
In what city did you work with Opendoor (e.g. Phoenix, Nashville)? San antonio
Your Name: R
"Love the concept, the execution with myself purchasing a home from them though leaves a lot to be desired when it comes to inspection repairs, closing costs, etc. I understand they are in it for the profit but my experience is ridiculous. I am missing the personal touch of dealing with a person who understands that list price is negotiable and is based upon there being nothing at fault with the house."
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
In what city did you work with Opendoor (e.g. Phoenix, Nashville)? Hampton, GA
Your Name: Frazlier Pope
"Possible great service if they knew what was important like reimbursing deposits on time. Turned key and property over on the 14th. Deposit was to be returned in 2 or 3 days. Instead, 14 days later and no one will return my call nor return my deposit. Not that anyone cares, but I'll continue to purse while they earn interest free of charge on my funds. F. Pope"
1 Helpful Report
(ATL) - Posted 10 months ago
Hi there,

We apologize for what sounds like a frustrating experience. The team you were working with has been flagged and they will be following up with all parties involved.
Posted 10 months ago
Opendoor is rated 4.36 based on 536 reviews