Opendoor Reviews

4.33 Rating 550 Reviews
83% of reviewers recommend Opendoor

About Opendoor: In 2014, we set out to reinvent life’s most important transaction with home sellers and buyers in mind. Since then, we’ve helped thousands of people sell their homes and move in one simple, seamless transaction.

Life’s biggest milestones come with a move. Whether you’re getting married, starting a family, or taking a new job, moving is a natural step towards your dream. But it isn’t easy. Each step is more stressful than the last, and sometimes it seems like everyone but you is in control of your destiny.

Opendoor is here to change that. From selling your current home to choosing your next one, we’ve revolutionized the process to put you at the center of your move. Because we believe only one person should be in charge of how your future unfolds, and that’s you.

Are you a business owner?
Click Here

Write Your review

Tell us how Opendoor made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
on-time delivery
99%
Customer Service
communication channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
queries resolved in
Under an hour
"It was a smooth process and great communication between Opendoor until their vendor Affordable Glass came into the scene that ruined all the positive experience. Very poor communication and coordination by the vendor, Affordable Glass."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 hour ago
We strive to provide a great customer experience with Opendoor and your feedback is incredibly valuable to us. Thanks for taking the time to share this, Joseph.
Posted 1 hour ago
How did you work with Opendoor? I sold my home to Opendoor AND bought a new one with Opendoor
In what city did you work with Opendoor (e.g. Phoenix, Nashville)? Clayton NC
Your Name: Leslie Hobbs
"Opendoor made buying and selling our property seem less, on top of listings quickly, answered questions promptly and I worked with the best agent"
Helpful Report
(Raleigh) - Posted 2 hours ago
We love hearing stories like these! Thanks for taking the time to share, Leslie.
Posted 1 hour ago
"I would really like to thank the people at opendoor that made the selling process of my old super easy. They were always willing to help and offeradvice. I would most definitely recommend Opendoor. Thank you from the bottom of my heart."
Helpful Report
Posted 7 hours ago
Jim 💙 Happy to hear that - and even happier you took the time to tell us! Thanks for spreading the word!
Posted 1 hour ago
"Excellent experience from start to finish."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
Glad to hear you had a positive experience with us Terry. We appreciate your feedback!
Posted 3 days ago
"Extremely nice to have a firm offer for a closing date that I set to coincide with the move in of our new home we were building. I would certainly go back to Open Door again"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
We love great customer stories like yours. Thanks for sharing Coy!
Posted 6 days ago
"You will waste time with them dangling an offer. They will drill you back an forth an still deny their offer. They want their items ASAP before 8pm an will have you waiting three of four days with negotiation. It’s a headache an mind boggling. The people negotiating aren’t realtors they’re regular 9-5 agents!"
2 Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
We strive to give everyone a great experience, and we are sorry you did not receive one. Could you please reach out at community@opendoor.com so we can investigate? Thanks a lot!
Posted 1 week ago
How did you work with Opendoor? I sold my home to Opendoor
In what city did you work with Opendoor (e.g. Phoenix, Nashville)? Lithonia
Your Name: Tamara Maiden
"Our experience with opendoor was phenomenal. They answered all and any questions we had effectively and promptly. They cared and was Very understanding of our situation."
Helpful Report
(Atlanta) - Posted 1 week ago
Thrilled to hear that Lee. Thanks for the positive review! We wish you all the best in this next chapter!
Posted 1 week ago
"The online offer to sell our house was almost a joke. Their comps were 3 bedroom vs 4 bedroom, not upgraded, etc."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Jeff, I’m sorry to hear your experience with Opendoor was less than stellar. Your feedback matters to us. Please email community@opendoor.com with more information about your experience and the property address so our team can learn more.
Posted 1 week ago
"Opendoor agreed to a repair and it took them nearly a month to complete it and my inspector still could not clear the property for the close. Closing was pushed back four times until I finally gave up on the home."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Sorry to hear this, and thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. If you would like please email community@opendoor.com with more information about your experience and the property address so we can better understand how our teams can improve.
Posted 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry we didn't meet your expectations and want to look into this. Please reach out at community@opendoor.com with your property address so we can further evaluate this situation.
Posted 1 week ago
"They came in on the preliminary visit and tore the house apart. They did not realize that I have been a builder for over 30 years. Their List of items that needed to be "repaired" was a joke. Remove cabinets and a AC unit from a garage in VEGAS!!!!! They tried to find a way to knock the price offer down on the basis of savings us on a realtor fee. Luckily we sold the house in 1 day for over $45k they what Open Door said it was worth. They are a rip off. The house at the end of our street that they had for sale was on the market for 2 months after we sold ours."
2 Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Jim, We're sorry to hear about your experience with Opendoor, and if we’ve fallen short of your expectation of us we'd like to look further into it. Please reach out at community@opendoor.com with your best contact information and property address.
Posted 1 week ago
"Everything about open door was terrific Rebecca was terrific Jennifer was terrificVery easy to work with very professional"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Thanks for the love Donald! We will be sure to share your kind words with the team.
Posted 1 week ago
"Opendoor needs to be aware that nickel and diming potential buyers in order to satisfy their bottom line is not going to work. We had an inspector and appraiser as well as me being an appraiser and adjuster to see all the repairs needed in a home we were interested in. They didn't heed the words or reports of three professionals, they wanted to rep as "seller" even though they own the property and change numbers over the course of the diligence period. Water heater that was 17 yrs old making noise, foundation issues, etc. Don't let your home be sold by them either!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Thanks for letting us know about this. This is not the experience we strive to deliver at Opendoor. Please reach out at community@opendoor.com so we can look into this matter!
Posted 1 week ago
"The entire process went smoothly, from initial offer to closing. We had not done much home upkeep over the years, so there were substantial repairs to be done before selling our home. It was too much for us to handle, so we went with Opendoor. They gave us a fine offer, and the evaluation of repairs needed was spot on."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
So glad to hear this Gary. Thanks for letting us know! We're so glad you were able to benefit from the ease and certainty the Opendoor experience provides!
Posted 2 weeks ago
"They are a rip off. The 7% fee they charge that claims to cover "commission" and "utilities"...they charge you again for it at closing. They also claim big things need to be repaired but obly do small things and make oit like a fat tat, with your money. I wish we disputer the 8000 reroof claim (it was 4 years old and the paperwork was right there in the kitchen. They just listed it for 185,000 and we got 166,100 for it. The people are amazing to work with, we just needed that crappy house gone now that we are military again. Jokes on them! Got traditional, they wont bickle amd dime you like these crooks. Shop around."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
We’re sorry to hear that you’ve had a less than satisfactory experience with us Brodie. We'd like to learn more. Please email community@opendoor.com with more information about your experience and the property address. Thank you!
Posted 2 weeks ago
"These people are crooks. They come in your house break your heating system, and create more problems than before they ever came. They need an inspector supervising them if you let them in your house."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
We apologize for the less than satisfactory experience with us. Please reach out at community@opendoor.com so we can investigate.
Posted 2 weeks ago
"While Ben, my OpenDoor rep, was fantastic the rest of the process ended up being a nightmare due to lack of research on Opendoors part. On my first request for an offer, they did not look at the location at all and needed to drop the offer by 23k. Because the offer was so good, that ended up being a hiccup that we could work around. Unfortunately the home I was buying fell through, but when I found another I requested another offer with OpenDoor a few months later. After requesting verification that the location was taken into account with the offer, I signed a second contract to sell with OpenDoor and put on offer on a home contingent with that sale. Unfortunately, there was a massive oversight that was somehow missed and OpenDoor was actually not accepting home sales in my area any longer, but this was only figured out three weeks later, after I had already spent money on appraisals and inspections for a home I am no longer able to buy due to no longer meeting the contingencies. Overall, both experiences were stressful and very unorganized, and there should have been some sort of oversight not allowing the company to make offers on homes they are unable to support. While it is good that some of my costs are being recouped with the escrow from Opendoors cancelation, there is no way to recover everything or the time and energy spent going through a process that they knew from the beginning would not be successful."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Alicia, Sorry to hear this, and thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. If you would like please email community@opendoor.com with more information about your experience and the property address so we can better understand how our teams can improve.
Posted 2 weeks ago
"We have had a great experience with Opendoor! From being able to see houses easily by booking tours or being able to do a self tour to getting a 1% assist with closing costs, we have had the best and least stressful process imaginable! I highly recommend Opendoor!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
That's wonderful feedback to hear! We always strive to provide a great customer experience with Opendoor and your feedback is incredibly valuable to us. Thanks for taking the time to share!
Posted 2 weeks ago
"We thought that Open Door was going to be a life savor. We were at our ropes end with our mortgage company. Then came along Open Door. They gave us a competitive offer on our house. But when the repair estimate came in, it did sting a little. We took it, thinking that all the repairs we going to be done. I have read with others that Open Door said that they would do took money for repairs and never did them. This was definitely the case in our house as well. They took money for a new roof, this was not done. They took money for new appliances, old appliances were left in the home. They took money for small repairs to be done to the house that we not done at all. I wish I could go back and get that money back from them, this is very dishonest and fraudulent. In the end Open Door takes advantage of people looking to get out of a bad situation."
2 Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Kelly, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry we didn't meet your expectations and want to look into this. Please reach out at community@opendoor.com with your property address so we can further evaluate this situation.
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Although they cleaned and painted the interior they kept from us that the HOA here was requiring that homes be painted by the end of the year and didn't inform us of that cost just 6 months down the road. The HOA mailed out letters in advance of us purchasing the home but naturally Opendoor is denying it and won't even be decent enough to work with us "basically said it's not their problem". Never purchase a home from them unless you have everything in writing and check your HOA for any future costs coming up they may be hiding. I would have had more respect for the company if they would have worked with us instead of giving excuses and brushing us off."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
We're sorry to hear about your experience with Opendoor, and if we’ve fallen short of your expectation of us we'd like to look further into it. Please reach out at community@opendoor.com with your best contact information and property address.
Posted 3 weeks ago
"We needed to sell our home quickly, so we called Opendoor. We were offered a generous amount for our house, and absolutely no hassles. No buyers walking through, no open houses, no staging. We were able to pack up and leave at our own pace. I highly recommend Opendoor. They do the work for you, and make your home sale quick and free of unnecessary worry."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
That's wonderful feedback to hear, Greg! We always strive to provide a great customer experience with Opendoor and your feedback is incredibly valuable to us. Thanks for taking the time to share!
Posted 3 weeks ago
Opendoor is rated 4.33 based on 550 reviews