Opendoor Reviews

4.4 Rating 3,022 Reviews
86 %
of reviewers recommend Opendoor
Read Opendoor Reviews

About Opendoor:

In 2014, we set out to reinvent life’s most important transaction with home sellers and buyers in mind. Since then, we’ve helped thousands of people sell their homes and move in one simple, seamless transaction.

Life’s biggest milestones come with a move. Whether you’re getting married, starting a family, or taking a new job, moving is a natural step towards your dream. But it isn’t easy. Each step is more stressful than the last, and sometimes it seems like everyone but you is in control of your destiny.

Opendoor is here to change that. From selling your current home to choosing your next one, we’ve revolutionized the process to put you at the center of your move. Because we believe only one person should be in charge of how your future unfolds, and that’s you.

Visit Website

Email:

community@opendoor.com

Write Your review

Tell us how Opendoor made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Opendoor 5 star review on 10th November 2022
Mike
Opendoor 5 star review on 10th November 2022
Mike
Opendoor 5 star review on 28th August 2022
Jean
Opendoor 5 star review on 15th July 2022
Jessie
Opendoor 5 star review on 8th July 2022
Gilberto
Opendoor 5 star review on 23rd June 2022
Jeffery
Opendoor 5 star review on 21st June 2022
Mary
58
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I would have rated much higher except for the apparent bait and switch with my 'ASIS' contract. I was in the process of signing the first contract when I noticed my first name was spelled wrong. I contacted my representative who said it would be corrected and sent back to me the next day. I received the contract and proceeded to sign assuming the financials did not change. After signing, to my dismay, I noticed Opendoor had added a $7100 'Repair Addendum' to my 'ASIS' contract for my 2b/2ba condo. Very high and not what I thought I was agreeing to. I would have disputed this had I known at the time.
Helpful Report
(Jacksonville) - Posted 5 months ago
We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, your feedback is important to us. Please reach out to resolution@opendoor.com with your name, property address, and the details of your situation, so we can look into this further.
Posted 5 months ago
Opendoor did a good job accomplishing the purpose of purchasing my home. Still, my communication with the individual assigned to me as my coordinator wasn’t as I liked. Each time I called him, I got his mailbox. He would then at some point call me back. Sometimes it was very quick, other calls, may not so quick. My guess is he was busy, and I can understand that. The thing is, when he returned my calls, quickly or not, he sounded like he was in a tunnel, and it was difficult to hear and understand him. I never found out if it was just the service from the phones, or he was on speaker phone[which I understand can play havoc with quality on the other end]. I was looking for answers to my questions, and I did get those reassurances I wanted, but it proved to be a real barrier for trying to hear him, and understand what he was saying. I tried to limit my calls to him simply because I couldn’t hear him on his phone, and then couldn’t understand him. Any other problems, issues, questions, we’re nothing compared to the poor sound quality I was receiving. The Spruce Mortgage company had some issues getting the Notary to my place on Friday, the week prior, but in my opinion, they really came through on the following Monday, we got all the necessary paperwork, doc-u-sign done by cob Monday. Great job Spruce, they were awesome!👍👍.
Helpful Report
(Sacramento) - Posted 6 months ago
Thank you for supporting what we do, Peter, and we're happy to hear that you've had a great experience with us. We would be honored if you would like to share your story in more detail by sending an email to community@opendoor.com. Have a wonderful day!
Posted 6 months ago
I'm still in the process of selling a home to Opendoor and now having to buy back a home from Opendoor which we wanted to buy without having to have them step in. This is not a stress free process for me at all! The communication between departments is almost non existent! I feel like I've had to initiate every communication between these teams when their website states they'll be the ones walking me through everything. We lost out on the 1% cash back incentive because our agent said she wasn't aware we were also selling a home when that was one of the first things I mentioned in a text for that matter. I also was making an offer on a home and uploaded a home sale document which she removed when she sent the offer. She had to have known! This caused our closing dates to not line up and as a result we aren't eligible for the 1% cash back since Opendoor had to step in to buy the home. OSN title mispelled my spouses middle name on our closing docs so they have to re-redo them. We applied for a loan using Opendoor Home Loans and I was told we're on track to close on June 3rd. I'm really hoping this is true because our rate lock expires after that date and I'm losing trust in them. Our experience partner didn't even know that we were told the closing date was likely June 3rd. He had to internally change our close date twice after I asked what was up with our closing docs saying May 25th still (the original close date for the home we are selling) after he said he'd take care of it. Would he have if I didn't remind him in time? Our loan officer is out of the office until Wednesday and I haven't had an update from our loan processor since last week when I had to initiate that conversation. Where is the communication? Where is the oversight? All can be forgiven if they can actually close us on the 3rd of June. I'm just really stressed out and frustrated with my Opendoor team. I am walking through this process seemingly alone when I was told they'd make sure to take care of these things. I generously gave 3 stars because I have a tiny bit of hope we'll be out of here and into our new place on June 3rd.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Feedback like this is truly impactful and allows us to deliver world-class home buying and selling experiences. We would appreciate the opportunity to learn more. Feel free to reach out to us at resolution@opendoor.com with your name and property address. We look forward to hearing from you.
Posted 6 months ago
the reason why a three star. is because i have some concern. I am selling to buy with open door and it is my first time doing it. and no directions after i got the offer. I call customer and they transferred me three times until someon said that i will get a call then the next day i got text from a 623 number to find out if i need something. ( a text) what about a phone call. i am selling and with a equity i am planning to buy and i explained that from the beginning and i even put an offer i a new home but suddenly i see myself paying for a bunch of staff. I am unemployed and i I new that i have to make all this payment before i sell and buy i will never get into this. now with the money than i getting an all you fees i can not afford to buy and that was never explained to me. The only person professional agent is my buying Lakeisha Mondrey
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Thank you for reaching out, your feedback is a gift, and we would love to learn more. Please contact us at resolution@opendoor.com with your name, property address, and your experience details so we may look into it further.
Posted 7 months ago
While the experience with Opendoor was great , our agent was also very good , the experience with Opendoor home loans was below par I would honestly stay away from that product. There is a lack of transparency and false advertising
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
We strive to provide a great customer experience with Opendoor and your feedback is incredibly valuable to us. It would really help us if you could send an email with the details of your experience, your property address, and your name to resolution@opendoor.com, so we can look into this. Thank you very much for your support, Marcelo, and have a wonderful day!
Posted 7 months ago
We are in the process of selling our home and thought we'd check out Opendoor to see what it's all about. So far customer service has been totally fine, we routinely receive answers to text messages and our assigned rep was promptly on our video Zoom walk-through call. I have no complaints about that at all. However, I am starting to feel very wary of this company and my experience is lining right up with other sellers' reviews. Our initial offer seemed super fair (and the initial offer came with a list of comps included stating how they came up with the offer; i.e. if the other home was larger, had a larger yard, no pool, etc.) and during the walk through, the rep suggested the offer would likely increase based on what we've done to the home, condition, etc. Yea, right?? Yeah, not so fast...I have been doing my due diligence researching everything I can find out about this company and some of the things I've learned scared me off a bit. I sent a text asking the rep if the final offer we're supposed to receive on Friday (after their scheduled outside walk around for Wednesday) will have ALL closing costs listed, ALL repair costs listed, and ALL service fees listed. I was up front and disclosed I had read there are some backdoor cost/fees reportedly being slid in and sellers end up getting a lot less than what they were originally told. Her response was that all of that would be listed but there would not be an itemized list of repairs (we have recently completed more than $60k of upgrades in the home) but that she would get one for us. She then included that, "Hey, by the way, your offer seems to be lower than what was originally sent because the comps they've pulled in your area are lower than anticipated." Really? Why all of a sudden are these comps lower on Sunday and Monday than what they were on Saturday? I told her we would likely just go with a realtor to list our home because I wasn't liking the sound of this and that we're not "Motivated" sellers. Her response was that "Opendoor is just one option and it's not an option for everyone." We will wait and see if the outside walk-around guy shows up on Wednesday and if we actually get a final offer. Betting we get ghosted which is fine because that will definitely be confirmation that they are not a company with which we want to get involved. (Oh yes, my husband is a real estate attorney...and a judge!!)
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, your feedback is important to us. Please reach out to resolution@opendoor.com with your name, property address, and the details of your situation, so we can look into this further.
Posted 7 months ago
Our experience selling to Opendoor was a mixed bag. In general, the offer was actually more than we had expected considering comparable sales of identical units over the previous 6 months. Opendoor's offer was actually more than 10% above the highest sale in the last 6 months of an identical floorplan. That sounds awesome until you get into the rest of the details. What they like to advertise is that you don't pay a commission. While this is absolutely true, what they do charge is service fees in the 5.5% - 6% range which is as much as you would pay the realtors in commissions and you still have to pay title company fees just like in a traditional sale. So, in that case you really save nothing and possibly pay a bit more than a traditional sale. Repairs: Well that's a bit of a joke. They take a 10-15 minute video tour of the property and determine what repairs were required. In our case they said it was $4,638.22. This is an oddly specific number, but they do not provide any form of details on how they arrived at that number, but in the end if the net sale price is what you are looking to get, just ignore this as a cost of doing business. Our property was 100% turn-key ready (painted, carpet clean & serviceable, everything in perfect working order) as it was a rental and we had prepared it for putting it on the rental market before Opendoor sent us an e-mail that made our eyes pop. It would have been interesting to see what they would have asked for in terms of repairs if the property was not turn-key ready. Where things fall apart is primarily with communications and details. The Opendoor advisor assigned was not very responsive to questions and would always tell you they'd get right on it, but you'd have to continue to bug them to actually get an answer. After going through the video tour, they say they will deliver a final offer within 48 hours. In our case, after a week and continuing to press for where the final offer was, I got a different advisor who told me that they had lost the video tour and we'd have to do it again. So, we had to start all over to schedule and complete the video tour and get the offer. Once all the details came in, we got down to business and signed the contract. Then the advisor just dumped the entire thing on the title company. The title company is the coordinator, but not the buyer. As questions came up, it was difficult to get answers from Opendoor. The draft settlement statement was trying to withhold $800 for HOA dues even though they got the HOA letter showing all fees paid and current. Then they tried to hold an additional $500 for final water bill, even though the HOA pays the water and there is no liability. The only way I could get Opendoor to respond is to refuse to close unless they corrected the statement. Yes, eventually you would get the money withheld back, but frankly it is a pain to deal with and what if they decide they aren't giving it back? How much would you have to spend to fight it? If you are in a time crunch, they say they can close in as little at 14 days. That is an utter impossibility with their process and title partner OSNational. Since our property was vacant, we wanted to close as soon as possible to minimize our costs of holding a vacant unit. Opendoor never waited on us for any response to any needs and the process took 6 weeks. A week of that was lost to them "losing" the first video walkthrough, but even after the 2nd one it took an additional 5 weeks. The final week and ½ of delay was due to the title company failing to order HOA letters in a timely manner and then attempting to charge us nearly $600 in extra rush fees because of their failure to order them until 48 hours before closing. While that really was the title company’s fubar, Opendoor did nothing to help and it was their chosen partner for closing. Ultimately we did close, albeit late, and we did get the price we wanted with somewhat less uncertainty, but much more hassle and stress than a traditional sale. I will note that I believe that we did close in 6 weeks only due to the fact that I was pressuring them every step of the way. Will we use them again? Well, if they offer us 10% over market again, sure. If they make an average offer, we wouldn’t due to the added stress and involvement required to get the job done in a timely fashion.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, your feedback is important to us. Please reach out to resolution@opendoor.com with your name, property address, and the details of your situation, so we can look into this further.
Posted 8 months ago
Unfortunately did not go with this company , would of been my second choice to sell my home but it Wasn’t the highest offer.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, we are always striving to improve and find the best ways to assist our customers. Please send us an email with your name, property address, and more details to resolution@opendoor.com, so we can investigate.
Posted 1 year ago
The process behind Opendoor is great. The agent I worked with in the Denver area, Kurtis, was outstanding. The mortgage officer I was assigned to through Opendoor’s financing did not impress me and simply didn't want to put in the work for us. From our exchange on the phone, he was much more concerned with his personal plans than making a deadline. Thus the lower rating. The decision to finance with another company was solely based on our mortgage advisor and her work ethic. I'm disappointed we didn't get the opportunity to access incentives Opendoor finance was offering because of the one particular mortgage contact we were assigned…
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thanks for letting us know, Fowkes! We would really like to continue to improve our services and we kindly ask you to send us an email with your story at contact@opendoor.com, so we can investigate this issue further. Thank you again for taking the time to write this review and please have a wonderful day!
Posted 1 year ago
I was pleased with the way every thing transpired in the selling of My home through Opendoor. I would reccommend this company because l had never sold a house before and their help was A-plus!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
We appreciate the review. Thanks for sharing, and wishing you all the best in this new chapter!
Posted 1 year ago
In the beginning our contact at Opendoor was very responsive. For the most part that continued even post sale. They offered us a fair price for our home. There were a few glitches around closing that caused me some headache since we were coordinating a simultaneous close (selling to Opendoor and purchasing through a non-Opendoor realtor). I knew Opendoor was goi by to hold $2k in escrow for 2-3 days after closing as a damage deposit. I hadn’t heard anything and knew we’d left our previous house in very good condition. I had to contact Opendoor 10 days later to get the status of the deposit. They pointed me to JetClosing who, despite emails and phone calls, will not respond. Opendoor confirmed that they’ve authorized the release of funds but I can’t get them. It’s been over 2 weeks and I can’t get my money. I’ve contacted Opendoor again and they also don’t respond. I gave 3 stars because I have received most of the funds but this last part is putting a very negative damper on what should have been a better review.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry we didn't meet your expectations and will utilize your feedback to further evaluate and develop.
Posted 1 year ago
I completed the request for an offer yesterday to determine offer validity. I’ll keep you posted as the story develops
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The price they offered was as good as I expected to get on the open market. But they were very disorganized and unprofessional. It felt like I was the first client they’ve ever had and everybody was trying to figure out how things work. To top it off, on closing day I had to jump in to get a payoff quote from my bank - opendoor was going to delay closing One Week because they didn’t have the loan payoff amount - it took me at most 15 minutes to get the bank to fax it to them.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry we didn't meet your expectations and will utilize your feedback to further evaluate and develop.
Posted 1 year ago
Tim and Carissa were outstanding. Process was a breeze. Except OS Title was horrible and the additional fees were excessive considering your already selling at a discount.
Helpful Report
(Las_vegas) - Posted 2 years ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry we didn't meet your expectations and will utilize your feedback to further evaluate and develop.
Posted 2 years ago
Basically it seems like OPENDOOR is fine to sell your house quick, but buying a house from them is problematic - not surprised. You need to do your own due diligence when buying a house - whether its the owner or Open Door making claims about repairs or house status. Not sure how the process works when someone is purchasing a home from their inventory.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry we didn't meet your expectations and will utilize your feedback to further evaluate and develop.
Posted 2 years ago
My girlfriend bought a house through Open Door , and I will say that the process was extremely easy. Except for the fact that they kept changing her closing date and said someone would come to her, and then they emailed everything and wanted everything done by the end of the day, the rest was pretty easy. That's all I can say, the process was fairly easy but they come across as really unorganized. And on top of that, buyer beware of the company that they hire to do any changes, remodels or renovations. The company that did her house basically did a shoddy job of putting new flooring down, the cabinets were not supported as we eventually found out, they painted over rotting wood on the outside. Basically they will come in and paint over anything and everything and put cheap flooring and carpet down while doing a really crappy job and then up the price of the house to the premium dollar. When she called to complain about certain things,, they offered her a $150 credit, that was quite laughable, but she liked the house, it was indeed cute and I own my own home maintenance business and told her I could do her no good job I'm getting the house where she wanted it. Moral of the story, pay attention unless you want to put a lot of extra money into the house on top of what you paid for it, unless you can do the work yourself, because they obviously don't care about what they're actually selling you. Not a good way to maintain a reputation
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Scott, Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. If you would like please email community@opendoor.com with more information about your experience and the property address so we can better understand how our teams can improve.
Posted 2 years ago
They changed the family carpet and the carpet on the stairs, so we asked that they shampoo the rest of the carpets since they were covered with pet urine. They told us that they would have the carpets shampooed, but instead they sprinkled the carpets with carpet powder and vacuumed it.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Thanks for letting us know about this. This is not the experience we strive to deliver at Opendoor. Please reach out at community@opendoor.com so we can look into this matter!
Posted 2 years ago
I bought and sold with Opendoor. I really should write 2 reviews. Selling was a 5 star experience very easy and efficient. Both the gentlemen who did my home inspections were so great. Buying on the other hand was a 1 star experience. We didn’t specifically go out looking for an Opendoor home it just happened to be the home he loved. We used a realtor to help us find a home which did make us exempt from all monetary extras. It does say that on their website. The reason they get 1 star is when we submitted the offer we said we wanted the 15 year old upstairs carpet changed. They excepted our offer only wanting to change our close date. It was written in bold letters they excepted all other terms. When it came time for me to sign the contract my realtor could not find the paper about the carpet. When she called to ask about this they told her They would discuss it after the due diligence period. Which of course meant no new carpet. I thought this was very sneaky if they had just been upfront and said no we will not replace the carpet it would’ve been fine. There are a few things after our own inspection that needed to be repaired. Open door only gave us $150 to repair the dishwasher and toilet. Just know that these homes are very much as is. And even though I lost money by having my own realtor I am grateful she was there because she had to be on top of them constantly to make sure things were done. It would’ve been a very hard process to go alone.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
We're sorry that this was your experience Stephanie, and thanks for letting us know. Please reach out at community@opendoor.com so we can look into this further!
Posted 3 years ago
My experience was very positive. Everyone I came in contact was professional. I would recommend your company to. Anyone looking to sell their home.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
That's wonderful feedback to hear, Walter! We always strive to provide a great customer experience with Opendoor and your feedback is incredibly valuable to us. Thanks for taking the time to share!
Posted 3 years ago
We bought our first home through Opendoor & the experience was quick and easy. Their customer service was great, but their repair team was lacking. Everything started to fall apart after we moved in. Their new paint job started peeling in the first few days, the front door disintegrated when we tried installing new weather stripping. The garbage disposal failed within the first month. The houses "look" great, but it's all just a big bandaid covering a lot of issues. If buying from them, be prepared to have things go wrong & to fix a lot of issues.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Karyn, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry we didn't meet your expectations and want to look into this. Please reach out at community@opendoor.com so we can investigate.
Posted 3 years ago
Opendoor is rated 4.4 based on 3,022 reviews