smarTours Reviews

4.39 Rating 1,171 Reviews
85 %
of reviewers recommend smarTours
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Email
queries resolved in
Under an hour
customer service
3.91 out of 5
Read smarTours Reviews

About smarTours:

smarTours is a leading provider of direct-to-consumer, affordable travel experiences to exotic global destinations. The Company offers travelers curated, pre-packaged itineraries to over 40 destinations across the globe. By offering tours directly to consumers, the Company provides premium-quality experiences at value prices, and as a result, has cultivated a highly passionate and loyal community of repeat travelers. More than 200,000 travelers have taken a smarTours trip since the founding of the Company in 1996. smarTours is… the smarter way to see the world.

Phone:

800-337-7773

Email:

info@smartours.com

Location:

545 Eighth Ave. Suite 2250
New York, NY 10018

Write Your review

Tell us how smarTours made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
They ar well-organized and the tour leaders/guides are excellent. The hotels are first rate and the meals arranged are superb.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
The river boat selected for us could have been nicer. It is getting old in years. However, the staff were excellent (friendly, helpful, and accommodating). Our guide Sheri (Egypt Tour) was top notch. Her knowledge of ancient Egypt is very extensive.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Enjoyed every moment. Hotels and food excellent. Our tour guide Enrique Virto was very knowledgeable and was able to answer all our questions. He kept us well informed on the days activities, what to bring,safe places to eat, punctual departures and handled a difficult solo traveler with kindness and diplomacy. 10 out 10 stars for Enrique.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
The professionalism of tour guides and hotel staff at each location was outstanding. I particularly enjoyed the punctuality of all planned excursions. The sharing of personal insights and historical information made my Peru experience one I shall always cherish.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Great tour guide
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
My trip to the amazing Thailand was nice my tour guide was wonderful very knowledgeable the only complaint I had was the hotel resorts were not he best out of the 5 we stayed at I only really cared for 2 ... that need to change all hotel resorts should be 5 star nothing less
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Our guide was GREAT!!! The itinerary was GREAT!!!! The Thai people were lovely! Elephant Nature Park was an amazing experience! I wouldn’t change a thing! Best trip ever!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Great areas to visit, wonderful guides at events each stop, lovely hotels and a wonderful experience overall!! And at age 87 I did it!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
The weather was not the best but the country of Iceland and its people were very special and gracious. We did so many things. I might only have wished for more history of the Vikings. Enjoyed our guide. Thanks again. Mary Starke
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
The tour itself was amazing. The guides and drivers were excellent. The accomodations and food supplied were great. There were some small admin details that could have been improved.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
I have taken approx 5 SmarTours trips over the years, however, the recent SmarTours trip my wife & I took to Iceland was a disappointment. The communication was poor and we did not meet our guide until Day 3 of the trip. We have already sent in a review to Smartours and are waiting for a reply.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
I have NEVER had a worse guide on a land tour than Sigrun Eiriksdottir. She did not meet us at the Reykjavik airport (5 a.m.)--instead another guide took care of us in the dark & wind & rain, & showed us various attractions for several hours until our hotel rooms were ready, around 12:30-1 p.m., on Friday, Nov. 8. THEN, she decided not to meet us for a possible Northern Lights tour that evening--a notice was posted at the reception desk instead. Saturday was a "free day" anyway, so again she didn't appear. It was rainy, so on Sunday, Nov. 10 she took us to the Blue Lagoon during the morning, & that was it for the rest of the day. Similarly, when she actually DID show up, she never was early--often 5 min. or so late. She seemed to think she was charming enough to ignore the basics of "guiding." No one is. Then on the night of the last dinner, she never thanked us for coming to Iceland, nor did she EVER have us introduce ourselves in her presence (the sub. guide did do that after the 1st breakfast, but that was not a normal way to handle that). I have taken 3 smarTours, I believe, & this was the worst guide ever. On any extended tour, anywhere. With any company. What a shame, given that the country of Iceland is such a fascinating one. Also, on the last afternoon, she vanished from the airport before several of us had the chance to give her a tip (obviously it was going to be a modest one, since she barely spent any time with us). I sincerely hope you will give serious thought to eliminating Sigrun Eiriksdottir from your group of Icelandic guides, as she obviously doesn't care to put in the time to do her job correctly. Furthermore, I shall never bother to take a smarTours trip again--there's no point in wasting my money on your company. For your information, I have traveled to nearly 150 countries, both singly, with land tours & cruises--I hope I can put this unpleasant experience out of my mind soon. And of course will never recommend smarTours to anyone, anywhere.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
This was our first group tour. It exceeded our expectation in every was,hotel accommodations,transportation and variety of experiences. Our guide Ketsara added much to our experience thru her knowledge and apparent love of her country and culture. She also took care of many administrative details which made it a very smooth trip She’s the best!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
No news in English at the Allure Café Mocawa and the Estelar Milla de Oro Hotels in the Coffee Triangle. The Novatel Parque 93 in Bogota was clean and acceptable and had news in English. The Capilla del Mar in Cartagena was outstanding in every respect and had news in English.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
This Israel-Jordan tour was comprehensive, well-paced, informative, and great fun. I am not really a tour person, but this one worked for me. Our guide, Arie, was a fountain of knowledge, humorous, and meticulous in all aspects! When you take this Israel trip, you must take the extension to Eilat and Petra, Jordan. With the Eilat resort town coming at the end, it was a perfect, relaxing experience. Of course, we all knew what Petra would behold, but one is never really ready for such magnificence—just wonderful. However, we had no idea that the shores of Eilat have beautiful reefs with stunning tropical fish of many varieties, so definitely go snorkeling at Coral Reef Beach! At this price point the accommodations and food were very good—oh, those amazing breakfasts with giant bowls of huge, plump dates! From Arie to our drivers to all the hotel personnel, people were so accommodating, friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. Go for it!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
My second time using ST to Dubai. This time was a lot better experience with the newly added attractions. Mohammed was my guide both times and he was excellent. The hotel and airline choices were great. For the amount paid for the entire trip, it was well worth it.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Our guide, Kiet, was exceptional!!! He couldn't have provided a better tour experience. My disappointments were with communication before the trip. I was inquiring about getting a Vietnam Visa and kept being referred to a company (CIBT) and I had read online that it was very easy to apply and a whole lot cheaper ($25 as compared to $300 through CIBT). I think maybe there is some connection between the companies and it doesn't seem fair to not communicate to people the less expensive option!! The other change that I would suggest would be a longer stay at the Pilgrimage Village Hotel in Hue. That place was awesome and we only had 13 hours there. It would have been a nice place for a day of rest and relaxation! The return flight was not fun with a 7 hour layover in Shanghai. But overall with the incredible guide we had, the trip was awesome!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
I THOUGHT THE PORTUGAL TOUR WAS VERY WELL DONE.....THE TOUR GUIDE WAS EXCEPTIONAL....SHE WAS VERY KNOWLEGABLE AND KNEW THE CITIES VERY WELL.....IT CERTAINLY IS A BEAUTIFUL COUNTRY.....WILL DEFINETELY RECOMMEND........
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
It was great. I think of second coffee plantation wasn't really a plantation. I would look around and find another one and delete the one we saw. Our tour leader Carlos is excellent!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
The tour guide was excellent in Peru Enrique Virto was very informative and he was very well prepared. I enjoyed my trip tremendously. Enrique Virto gets 5 stars from me
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
smarTours is rated 4.39 based on 1,171 reviews