Trainline Reviews

1.41 Rating 131 Reviews
10 %
of reviewers recommend Trainline
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Live Chat, Telephone, Email
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Trainline made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Trainline 1 star review on 26th March 2020
Jagoda Risteska
More Photos & Videos
Trainline 1 star review on 23rd February 2020
Sara Marijuan
More Photos & Videos
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
HORRIBLE
We were suppose to travel from the US to London on March 18th and were suppose to use a train to and from Manchester but the travel plans got cancelled because of Covid 19. We have been trying to contact trainline for the refund of the tickets but they want to keep changing our tickets but we dont even know if we will e having any travel arrangements in the near future because we dont get vacation time as such here.
We have tried to reach out to them numerous times and then they want us to contact the parent company as trainline is just the booking agent for them. Their response was to contact back to trainline
Really disappointing and frustrating....
Posted 1 week ago
So unhappy with Trainline services! Stay away from them!!! We’ve been a client for over 10 years now and with the covid19 situation we lost close to £1,000 worth of train tickets which Thetrainline won’t refund or issue any voucher or anything at all even though we qualify for refund as we did call before the departure date and we did contact them on a number of occasions after! Will never use this greedy company again!!!! Hope you are happy ripping companies off at this difficult times!!!! The worst customer service ever!!!! #traintickets #traincovid #trainrefunds
Posted 4 weeks ago
I used my visa,thought I had purchased a ticket,but no confirmation of transactions. when I sent you an email,it came back as un known address.
Posted 1 month ago
Wife and I rode from london to Newcastle. Somewhere in between my large suitcase was stolen. There is hardly any place to store a big piece of luggage and we had to put ours near a door entry. If we would have been warned of possible foul play I would have stood near my luggage at every stop! There are no warnings issued during the trip to watch your bags, whatsoever. Our tickets were not even checked until half way through the trip. On the way back we did not even have our tickets checked! They let any Joe walk on the train and go where they want without a ticket. They can case the train and get off before the train leaves a station. How secure is that?? Very poor security. We were very disappointed with trainline. Boooo!!
Posted 1 month ago
I can't use my ticket because of coronavirus, yet they don't allow me to change the date. When I applied to a refund they ask me to post the tickets back through recorded post even though the government asks us not to do non-essential trips. I tried to phone them today but they decided to stop all customer service phone options. Very unprofessional.
Posted 2 months ago
I can't use my ticket because of coronavirus, yet they don't allow me to change the date. When I asked for a refund they ask me to go and post the tickets, even though the government asks us not to do any nonessential trips. I tried to phone them today, but they closed all phone lines for customer service. Very unprofessional.
Posted 2 months ago
Would not refund a Hull Trains 'Advance Ticket' that cannot be used because of the COVID-19 pandemic, although Hull Trains DO offer refunds due to the exceptional current situation. Absolutely shameful!!! Trainline have just lost a long-time customer!
Posted 2 months ago
I think that cancellations due to the GLOBAL pandemic should be refundable, regardless of the type of ticket. If I could travel, I would. But the event is cancelled and in any case government advice is not to travel. There is no point in rescheduling. You are taking advantage of an exceptionally unfortunate situation. I will be writing to my MP. Not impressed.
Posted 2 months ago
When trying to "change date/time" of a booking (due to Coronavirus) and looking through various dates and times, all the prices are £50 more expensive than buying a new ticket. Essentially, there is no point in changing the date and time of your tickets.
Posted 2 months ago
I cannot attend a football match due to the Covid-19 pandemic causing all games to come to a close. So it is pretty obvious I would be refunding my tickets. Needless to say to my surprise there was a £10 ADMIM FEE???

£10!! Are you sick in your head? I did not use either of the two legs of the ticket and the admin fee comes to the price of one of them??


Disgusting
Posted 2 months ago
Booked tickets for journey in May, not all issued by machine at my local station. No help what so ever when asked trainline if they could issue. Was told NO as not their responsibility,only option was to buy one return ticket in its place,difficult when purchased with a two together railcard. In other words "not trainlines problem" Eventually rang company who manage the machines and they get 5 stars for issuing all my tickets again at their own cost. I shall never use Trainline again.
Posted 2 months ago
We booked our return journey online and my partner requested table seats as we had a 6 hour journey. We were not only not given them, but not even given seats together so we had to sit separately and squashed for just over 6 hours from Cheltenham to Edinburgh. We tried to call to request to pay for an upgrade to first class as we were so uncomfortable, explaining I have a slipped disc and my partner has injured his ribs. Not only were we denied this, but we were told we couldn't even reserve seats. So we'll constantly have to move seats for 6 hours.
Our return journey is today and we are both absolutely dreading it. Never again.
Posted 2 months ago
Tossers made me buy x2 tickets as Indian conductor was a little hitler no flexibility!! Once bitten twice shy never again 🤡🤡🤡🤡
Posted 2 months ago
Useless useless useless... Like the others ... No refund under any circumstances...
Posted 2 months ago
Same scenario like others . Flight cancelled due to the virus and they would not do a refund. Useless useless useless
Posted 2 months ago
I was supposed to fly to England for the London Book Fair for work, but the fair was canceled yesterday due to the Corona Virus. I am no longer traveling to Europe. I inquired about a refund and was told that they will not give me my money back, they will only let me reschedule. But I do not need to reschedule, I need a refund! I live in New York and am no longer coming to England at any point, so rescheduling will do me no good. I spent $112 on train tickets that will not be using because of the Corona Virus and yet Trainline is going to keep my money? This is terribly poor business on your part. Every day new cases of this virus are popping up in new countries and more states here in America. This illness is spreading like wildfire. There are currently 22 cases of Cornona virus in NY where I live. Conferences are being canceled left and right because of the Cornona Virus and TrainLine is going to take advantage of other people misfortunes by not refunding their money and profit off of a pandemic?! Seriously?! That's despicable! I am not canceling due to a flimsy, personal reason. This is a GLOBAL PANDEMIC that needs to be taken seriously. Trainline company is taking advantage of an already bad situation and making it worse. Shame on you!
DO NOT BOOK WITH TRAINLINE!
TAKE THE BUS INSTEAD!!!
Posted 2 months ago
No refund even for trips canceled to areas with corona
Posted 3 months ago
On my train from Kings Cross to Hull, the train suddenly decided it wasn´t going to be stopping at Howden, my destination, or Selby, the nearest stop to my destination, and there apparently wasn´t any rail replacement from Doncaster onwards, nor a taxi provided? I couldn´t get any help from the train operators or the station staff, and had to take a very expensive taxi to my destination. I requested a refund of my ticket because (obviously) my destination was cancelled without notice and they said no without giving me a reason.
Posted 3 months ago
The service sells tickets for the journeys that don't exist In the last two week it happened to me twice!!!And they didn't answer for my letter of complains so far
Posted 3 months ago
Horrible phone experience. Their system messed up my tickets and now they wouldnt refund me evn though they werent used. Will never ever use this app again. They said customer relations will be kn touch within 72 hrs. Couldnt even get a confirmation about the issue being rased. Fuming!
Posted 3 months ago
Trainline is rated 1.41 based on 131 reviews