Wickes Reviews

1.5 Rating 1,541 Reviews
12 %
of reviewers recommend Wickes
Read Wickes Reviews

About Wickes:

Wickes continues to be one of the major brands in the DIY and Home Improvement sector. We have a range of over 10,000 products (98% own brand), and are able to offer our customers everyday low prices by sourcing the best quality products at the lowest possible cost. Most of our products are available for next-day delivery, including big & bulky stuff. At Wickes you can discover a whole host of inspirational ideas for your Home and Garden, with some of our key products being doors, flooring, tiles, kitchens and gardens. Launched in 2006, the Wickes transactional website features product details covering the complete Wickes range. Our website is constantly being enhanced to help improve customer satisfaction, so why not be a part of that journey by helping customers find us.

Visit Website

Phone:

0330 123 4123

Email:

enquiries@wickes.co.uk

Location:

Wickes Building Supplies, Rhosilli Road
Northampton
NN4 7JE

Write Your review

Tell us how Wickes made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Wickes 1 star review on 4th January 2023
Anonymous
Wickes 1 star review on 4th January 2023
Anonymous
Wickes 1 star review on 4th January 2023
Anonymous
Wickes 1 star review on 4th January 2023
Anonymous
Wickes 1 star review on 4th January 2023
Anonymous
Wickes 1 star review on 4th January 2023
Anonymous
Wickes 1 star review on 4th December 2022
Sarah.898989
179
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Since they changed the store so that the majority of items have to be ordered from the catalogue it has made shopping at Wickes difficult. You have to go through the catalogue and find the item(s) then mark them on the order sheet & take to the counter. Someone will then fetch them. If you want to compare several items it is extremely frustrating for you and the staff. I find it easier to go to B&Q.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
I rarely had such a bad customer experience and at every possible touch points : 1. Locating and accessing Wickes. Address and opening hours on Google maps really should specify that the Battersea store only does Kitchen & Bathroom. I had to take another cab to go to Wimbledon. Another client was in the same situation. 2. Shopping at Wickes Wimbledon store on a Sunday afternoon. Unless you are desperate to achieve your plans, and have time and a lot of patience, avoid this experience by all means. Until Chaze came to help, I received extremely poor service. The whole point of going to a store versus ordering online is to have advice and comments on products. This was simply not available. Someone from the reception desk went out for the shop floor to fetch someone who could help me. After 5 minutes waiting, he came back with an adviser who had first indicated to me he wasn't able to help. Later on, I asked again for help as the store was closing and I was getting really edgy to still be at the store with so little help and still needed to find one drill. One person refused to help because the "store was closed" (I had a whole bunch of materials on the trolley next to me). Thankfully, a couple of staff members were a bit savvier in terms of customer service, and thanks to them I was able to find what I needed. 3. Website. After coming home, I realised I didn't buy enough timber and the drill didn't come with drill bits. The website is as useless as most staff I met in the store. No info on drill bits sizes. 4. Telephone. I just called to know what size were the drill bits in the set advertised on the website. The customer service line didn't know and asked me (after I had waited for 5 minutes to have someone) to contact the store directly. I then contacted the store where a shop adviser put me on hold to go check the set directly. She was gone for quite some time so another sales assistant picked up the phone, unaware of my previous conversation, asking how they could help. After I indicated I was already taken care of, the line just cut. I called back (wondering why, really, at this stage!), and the lady I spoke to earlier said she couldn't find the set and would call me back once she got a chance to check the warehouse. I think this is the first time ever I write a review on a store. I'm actually quite flabbergasted but the poverty of this customer service. Hope the management will read that and sort it out. Current set up is designed to draw customers to competitors.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
How do they get away with the prices??! Ground hooks from Apollo: £4.99 for 6 in Wickes. Ground hooks from Apollo £4.99 for 20 in Screwfix. Weed membrane. £20 for 10m in Wicked. £24.99 for 50m in Srewfix. Joke!!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
A friend asked me to look at this unit as he couldn't fathom it out. He had put it together as stated, but this unit is of such poor quality and to have a larder / oven housing made of such thin material (15mm) is very poor for the price (£95.) He couldn't return it as I suggested as he had scratched it badly. In the end I dismantled it and and purchased a thicker (18mm) board. I used the old unit sides as a template and surprise, surprise it was perfect. My advise is that if your going to have a kitchen of any type make sure you else where or at least go for 18mm minimum thickness for a more solid stable frame work
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
I really cannot believe that a 'national' DIY store can sell wood of such an appalling quality. Task 1 - find a piece of wood that is not warped? Task 2 - find a piece that is not so full of knots that is usable? Task 3 - not lose the will to live before you give up in despair, sorting through a load of fire wood before you kick yourself for not ordering the product from a proper wood yard (at less cost) - but then it was a Sunday and you wanted to get the job done for Monday!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Thanks for wasting my time---twice ( I run my own business and time is definitely money) .. Went to buy toilet and cistern - after showing customer your catalogue and taking them to local branch - they chose one off display and I took em home - when job was due to start I went down to fetch the gear required only to be told " we don't stock that one anymore" I pointed out it was on display in store and also in book but was informed it was no longer available and the display model ( complete with price ect) was also not for sale ??? Back to square one with customer and half day wasted ! A month later took another customer to pick some new Taps for suite I'd purchased ( very nice display by the way ) all looked so good it took ages for them to choose - and yes you've guessed it ...."end of line ! We don't sell them anymore " !! And just to really take the Micky the toilet was still on display Just a suggestion but if you want to sell items from your very professionally displayed stores, it could well be a good marketing policy to actually keep the displays up to date with what you sell ! Thanks again for the wasted time - my customer eventually got her second choice on both items from b&q
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
very poor finishing, tiling also very poor
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Now don't get me wrong, I like Wickes, but when it comes to delivery it lacks a hell of a lot, I ordered a larder unit 2 décor end panels of course the doors and a length of plinth,,,Now this is for a global company that I work for with loading bays ,and warehouse facilities etc., The driver(probably agency) decided to lean all the said items against a lamppost at the front of the building then walk maybe 8 mts to the intercom and tell our girl in the office, "Kerbside delivery" and then walk off,,,,And to top it all the plinth I ordered should've been 2.6mt long he didn't seem to think it looked good at that size and as it had been snapped into 1mt(ish) bite size pieces, Not all the drivers are like that , but this one ,,,,,Well!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
I ordered 3 kitchen items for delivery to store in Hinckley to add to an existing installation... 2 doors and an oven housing. They initially arrived after 2 and a half weeks. But it took a further 4 weeks before all issues were resolved. One of the doors was replaced 4 times. Oven housing replaced once. Oven filler panel replaced twice.. Every time due to damage from manufacturer or courier. Customer service was OK... But the quality of product is very very poor. Was promised a call from store manager today but not received...
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
Wickes is rated 1.5 based on 1,541 reviews