Wickes Reviews

1.54 Rating 1,389 Reviews
12 %
of reviewers recommend Wickes
Read Wickes Reviews

About Wickes:

Wickes continues to be one of the major brands in the DIY and Home Improvement sector. We have a range of over 10,000 products (98% own brand), and are able to offer our customers everyday low prices by sourcing the best quality products at the lowest possible cost. Most of our products are available for next-day delivery, including big & bulky stuff. At Wickes you can discover a whole host of inspirational ideas for your Home and Garden, with some of our key products being doors, flooring, tiles, kitchens and gardens. Launched in 2006, the Wickes transactional website features product details covering the complete Wickes range. Our website is constantly being enhanced to help improve customer satisfaction, so why not be a part of that journey by helping customers find us.

Visit Website

Phone:

0344 892 2721 (Ext. 6322)

Location:

National Customer Service Centre | Rhosili Road | Brackmills

Write Your review

Tell us how Wickes made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
The most awful experience of my life. I’ve lived in a nightmare for the last seven months. The attitude of the store staff, regional contracts managers, customer services and claims department to date is worse than disgusting. Dismissive, not interested, they claim outstanding payment despite unfinished, substandard fitting without any authorisation and completely ignore an independent survey and a miriad of photographic evidence that shows a design fault, worktops that don’t fit , uneven overhangs, not sealed properly and an uneven joint one can drive a bus through. Sink and gas hob damaged by tiler, wires hanging from under cupboard lights, Screw holes that look like woodworm under wall cupboards, units bowed and of wrong size to fit, holes in back of base units and all units need adjusting to fit. Plumbing under sink is loose. Tiling is of gross substandard quality, brass edging strips ruined (£300 worth), and tiles £220 plus adhesive and grout, electric sockets and switches above worktops all of differing heights, a certificate of minor electrical works signed as tested and verified by an individual I have never hear of from a company I have never had dealings with and who has never set foot in my house and Wickes have constantly fobbed me off and basically called me a liar! If I’m not happy, go to the furniture ombudsman is their stock phrase! NEVER, ever buy your kitchen from Wickes in Southport and definitely don’t let one of their approved contract fitters install it!!! I am now pursuing my claim for refund and damages through the court so I can get my own fitter to reinstall the kitchen. I pity anyone who doesn’t have legal insurance cover as Wickes would have them over a barrel. I attach just a few of the photos as examples. One star rating is too good for them. The stress and anxiety has been awful and difficult to cope with as I have recently been widowed and also lost my mother soon after. The case is still ongoing and now in the hands of my solicitor.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Everything went wrong.Wickes must have the worst fitters out there.less than a week after fitted my kitchen started falling apart literally.now I fear for my life as basic screws are coming out.nearly all doors are damaged because the fitter does not know to screw the handles without damaging the doors.the doors are not closing .the hinges are coming of.well ,the pictures say it all.those parts that are holding are fitted to a bad 19th century standard. I wished I never heard of Wickes
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Shocked how Bad this has gone. Spent my late fathers inheritance on a Bathroom designed by Wickes, which they did design very well,(Alot of money spent £6,000) But my problems a year after the installation in 2019 have now started to rear their ugly head in over a handful of issues..... Due to Amateur/ cowboy finishing that I am now having to chase up for them to come back out and amend hopefully before 2020 is out. The contractor was based In Burton Upon Trent initially came across well his tiling was on the money but the finishing on the wooden unit looks as if it has been finished by someone that has never done woodwork or even seen wood before!!!. The bath panel has now been distorted out of shape as was installed wrong. A piece of the top has been added wonky and unsealed so is now going moldy( see picture), Bottom base of unit has been cut uneven so now it doesn't sit flush to strip! A catalogue of errors Wickes should be ashamed by the end result of one of the contractors they have sent out! PS. I wait with baited breath to see how they will rectify this situation. Just not good enough for the money!!!!!! Please see pictures!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Never order from WICKES!! Ordered my bathroom 4 months ago. Arranged at the time for it to be delivered tomorrow. Called today just for peace of mind to check all ok for tomorrow. To be told 'sorry we no longer stock your bath etc you ordered so some of your items won't be delivered tomorrow or ever for that fact, as we no longer produce them' WTAF!!! Happy to take my £5000 though, and keep it for how many months! Also happy to only tell me of this when I CALLED them!! Not to mention the stress it took to organise a plumber/tiler/kids out of the house/time off work to enable this all. Seriously FUMING 😤 Never going near wickes again! BASTARDS!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Giving wickes 1 star because I can’t give zero . Ordered & paid for Keter garden storage box 24th of April with a delivery date of 19th may. That morning at around 10.15 got a text saying delivered coa.phoned customer services to say it hadn’t been delivered.after some time I was told it was coming directly from the Brentwood store so I took it upon myself to call them, I was told they didn’t deliver it because the order had been canceled,( not true ) said it would be delivered the next day Wednesday, Wednesday came & went still no delivery.phoned the store again lot of excuses,the driver must have left it at the wrong house ,you didn’t here him knocking, they will know he delivered Because the van has a tracker.,in the end they said they would send another one for delivery Saturday insinuating we were not telling the truth. Saturday came and went and no delivery, phoned the Brentwood branch Sunday morning spoke to Donna the manager who was very rude and irate was then told the truth. item wasn’t sent because it was damaged and they didn’t have any in stock have your money back.how wicks have been in business for so many years with this sort of service and management at their stores is beyond me.do not order goods from this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I received my delivery for a set of patio doors missing a door. When I spoke with the delivery driver he said the other door was turning up later that day because he couldn’t fit it all in he’s van. From this information I gave the fitter the go ahead to fit the new doors as he was booked in and waiting to start. The door never turned up so I had to pay extra for my builder to board up the gap and to try and make it weather proof. I have contacted wickes by email and phone and through the chat talk without any luck, either I get no reply or cut off after waiting for hours on hold. I also went down to the local wickes store and was told they couldn’t help me. I’m still left without my full patio door set it has already taken double the estimated delivery time and now I’m guessing on when I can get the job finished. I have had no info off wickes even tho they would of been aware they had sent out only part of the order. This has also had a knock on affect with the other work and tradesman booked in, the carpets are supposed to be fitted next in time for the new sofa all of that cannot be done until the doors are fitted. I also have to pay my fitter to come out again to finish the job so I’m seriously out of pocket and patience. Wickes do not seem to care about their customers I am a trade pro customer who usually use them regularly but that is not going to be the case in the future. I and no other builder I know has ever heard of half a patio door set turning up on a delivery it’s embarrassing for wickes and If I wasn’t so annoyed it would be laughable.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Folkestone store the staff are very rude and reply's are if you don't like it shop else where. plus also in the store they refuse to accept cash now. The company has gone right down hill I will not be using them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Shame I cant do minus stars as they dont deserve 1 star for the customer service offered. Had an £18000.00 kitchen from Wickes. Firstly tiling was awful then once that was rectified found they had forgotten end panels so doors siliconed to wall. Now got to have whole kitchen taken out and reput in and tiling done for 3rd time. Sent email to CEO not heard a word. Store just say no need to worry stress or be upset it will be put right well this is not acceptable.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
23 months ago we made the biggest mistake possible and ordered a Wickes Kitchen! The fitters, Andrew Cooper and Andrew Smith of Cooper Joinery in Weymouth were supplied by Wickes. They turned up when they felt like it, left our house and especially the kitchen in an unusable state for over 3 weeks. The workmanship was amateurish. They damaged our property! Tiled up to a door so it wouldn't open, I had to remove the door myself to get into the kitchen! We had 4 pages (A4) of issues! They lied and were threatening and abusive when I refused to sign their "completion" paperwork They were also Fraudulent! I have evidence!! Wickes's Customer Service were absolutely useless!! They lie, break promises and deliberately make matters worse!! The Wickes Installation Manager, Mark Bond, turned up smelling of Alcohol and could see no problems (despite the 4 pages of A4 listing the faults), probably due to blurred vision! He accused me of assaulting the Wickes electrician. Then told someone that he lied!! He is renowned for bullying and threatening customers who complain! Again I have evidence!! The Wickes Regional Manager agreed there were significant issues! Yet it took months to get some of them addressed. I had to constantly chase as contact was pretty much 1 way!! We are still left with major issues which Wickes fail to deal with!! The designer, Mark James, came and was apologetic for the poor workmanship, yet did NOTHING!! He said Customer Services would sort it out!! Mind you he wasn't capable of checking whether the kitchen was square!!! I had to show him how to do it, basic maths, but then he is a kitchen designer so probably measuring and maths are not his speciality!!! We had taken out "Interest free credit", yet despite us NOT signing any completion paperwork because it was incorrect, incomplete and Fraudulently completed by the fitters, Wickes notified Hitachi Finance we had and were satisfied with the kitchen!!! We have STILL NOT signed any paperwork, yet have had to pay for a totally abysmal Kitchen installation. I wrote on 2 occasions to the Head of Customer Services and received no reply from him. I wrote to Wickes CEO who forwarded the letter to one of the people I was complaining about!!! DO NOT USE Wickes!! I, and hundreds of other people have had poor Kitchen Installations, and cannot get satisfaction! Wickes Customer Service is atrocious and also Fraudulent!! Don't buy a kitchen from Wickes!!! Wickes give you "Housebarrassment" not get rid of it!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Even one star is one too many!! Cannot stress enough DO NOT use Wickes under any circumstances. The promises made in the showroom fade to a distant memory once money exchanges hands! Do yourself a favour - go elsewhere!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Would give zero stars if I could. I'd be here all day if I wrote everything this dreadful company did, but I'll summarise by saying if you like having endless problems, if you like waiting months for them to replace faulty parts, I'd you like your kitchen installed by people who leave pipes leaking, damaging your property and then being told you have to pay to fix it yourself, I'd you like ringing customer services and being insulted, if you like waiting a year and counting for them to ring you back, choose Wickes. If you prefer a competent company choose anyone else.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
i am so pleased that wickes were closed today when i went to buy a kitchen after reading these reviews, why would you as a company waste all that money on advertising 50% of your kitchens then not be open,i watched car after car turning round at the doors shaking there heads.looks like i had a lucky escape
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Use Wickes if you don't mind receiving terrible customer service from rude and incompetent members of staff, you don't mind being lied to constantly and you are happy to have your time and money wasted.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Kitchen nightmare. Sold a kitchen on the basis, Wickes would do everything needed from design, to delivery and install. The kitchen, including install, cost £15k. The design and delivery were fine, but once the credit agreement was signed, it all went downhill and you are trapped. The installer did not start on the day he was due too. Installer ripped out the old kitchen weeks before the new one was being installed and left nothing, not even a kitchen sink. The old gas cooker was not capped off, leaving my children and I exposed to being gassed. The installer was appointed as per the design plans to take down a wall. The installer took down the wall but did not support the new opening leaving structural issues. To date still not resolved. Installer visited my home on two occasions for 1-hour max and then left for the day when the project could have been progressed. Installer failed to communicate what was being done and when. I therefore was not able to get other tradespeople in to do other work where needed (electrics, flooring, etc.). Made a complaint to Wickes, it was not taken seriously. Make another complaint to the store manager, and no callback so had to chase. Made another complaint to Install Manager and only two options provided which would set the kitchen install back by months. Overall I am surprised this firm can carry the strapline ' let's do it right' when all they want to do is take your money and mess you around. I am left with having to source a new kitchen fitter with no notice. Remedy poor works they had undertaken. Remove rubbish they left in my back garden from the rip out. Negotiate how I get some money back. DONT USE THIS COMPANY THEY DO NOT GIVE A s**t
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
The only reason Wickes are worth one star is because I can't give less. Kitchen ordered and paid for in full (£22,000) in April 2017 with installation set for 18 September. Delivery of components made on time on 14 September and mostly complete: a few items missing from the packing list but these came over the next few days and cabinet installation was carried out carefully and professionally. Worktop measurer came the day after the cabinets were finished and said they’d be back in 10 days to fit it. This was then put back a day, and then two, and at one point I was told the worktop fitters were on their way and would arrive between 10:00 and 12:00 (it was already 09:30); but of course that was a lie and no one turned up. Wickes Customer Services are either completely clueless about what’s going on or, worse, deliberately set out to mislead customers for their own perverted pleasure. The advert says “Wickes – it’s got our name on it”. Well, Wickes, so far as I’m concerned your name is mud and until you finally acknowledge that you have failed to deliver on the contract that exists between us then I’ll not miss any opportunity to let everyone know how you operate.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
My daughter had a kitchen designed and fitted by Wickes. The units were short and the attitude of the Manager who delivered them was appalling. The fitter made such a mess and then whined when he was told he would not get his full pay. My daughter is still waiting for Wickes to explain why a plinth heater will not fit and why their contractor broke the original. Next stop the County Court.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
If I could have put 0 stars, I would have. I have recently had the most horrendous experience with Wickes. I am currently owed approx. £100 worth of refund for an order which I was informed a day before expected delivery that they could not fulfil due to lack of stock, despite me processing my order 3 weeks prior and my order being confirmed as in stock.I also have a second order which has been missing for a week, which I have had no communication about or refund for. I have tried contacting the store directly, and the customer service department which they are either not answering or I am facing 1-2 hour waits each time, and so far have no outcome to my queries. I have just been cut off speaking to an advisor and have had no follow up call, despite having my contact number on file. I would urge anyone to avoid buying anything online from Wickes currently, as it's likely you will not receive your order, or your money back.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
customer service non existent, can not email as inbox full, automatic reply to emails informing the quickest way to contact them is by phone, 2 hours 29 mins and still not through, terrible company.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Avoid like the plague on the phone for over an hour never did get through
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
NEVER USE AGAIN Ordered paint. Never delivered but money taken. Customer service is diabolical. They never reply!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Wickes is rated 1.54 based on 1,389 reviews