Wickes Reviews

1.5 Rating 1,524 Reviews
12 %
of reviewers recommend Wickes
Read Wickes Reviews

About Wickes:

Wickes continues to be one of the major brands in the DIY and Home Improvement sector. We have a range of over 10,000 products (98% own brand), and are able to offer our customers everyday low prices by sourcing the best quality products at the lowest possible cost. Most of our products are available for next-day delivery, including big & bulky stuff. At Wickes you can discover a whole host of inspirational ideas for your Home and Garden, with some of our key products being doors, flooring, tiles, kitchens and gardens. Launched in 2006, the Wickes transactional website features product details covering the complete Wickes range. Our website is constantly being enhanced to help improve customer satisfaction, so why not be a part of that journey by helping customers find us.

Visit Website

Phone:

0344 892 2721 (Ext. 6322)

Location:

National Customer Service Centre | Rhosili Road | Brackmills
Northampton
NN4 7JE

Write Your review

Tell us how Wickes made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Wickes 1 star review on 26th November 2022
Michael
Wickes 1 star review on 11th October 2022
Michael Picone
Wickes 1 star review on 11th October 2022
Michael Picone
Wickes 1 star review on 11th October 2022
Michael Picone
Wickes 1 star review on 11th October 2022
Michael Picone
Wickes 1 star review on 11th October 2022
Michael Picone
Wickes 1 star review on 11th October 2022
Michael Picone
163
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Disappointed really
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Well started great chose kitchen and agreed price all good, however very disappointed in fitting service as once they had surveyed and agreed price kept adding extra's on eg £75 to drill one hole for extract vent ( unbelievable but what can you do). After completion was happy overall but then one drawer developed a fault, now the pain begins despite calling customer services for a period of 6 months approx 15 calls and being assured it would be rectified and either the lnstaller or customer service would contact me not on one occasion did this happen, every time I asked to speak to a installation manager I was fobbed off with there all in a meeting, and bearing in mind we went to Wickes and paid £12,000 because of the customer service and back up offered, we're totally disappointed and fed up. It's now come to the point where because of the stress caused and hours on the phone we've given up and resigned to the fact we're going to have to live with it. Another disappointing fact you cannot contact customer services or complaints by email, I hope this helps others and advise that you clearly clarify what's included in fitting and what backup you've got should things go wrong. I would certainly not be recommending Wickes again.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
I bought some decking boards some time ago. Firstly they are narrower than traditional decking boards. Secondly they are like match wood. Almost every screw I put in splits the wood if within 25cms of the end. Not a good experience. Now I have to make the best of it.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Our bathroom installer is one of the best and deserves 5 stars. The delivery was all smooth sailing, so no complaints there. However I am not happy with the bathroom planning. I voiced my concerns prior to the work being carried out but was fobbed off. The planning in one word 'impractical'. The shower bath end is too narrow making it impossible for an average-sized adult to use with ease. So showers only for us. What a waste of money and a bath. The placement of the bath makes it difficult to get in and out of. Had the bath been put in the same place as the existing one there would be no issue with exception of its narrowness. We have lost vital space that was needed for storage. I suppose we will get used to the layout but we will have to replace the bath in the near future. All because our concerns were ignored. The workmanship of the installer is excellent, the quality of the products (except suite) is excellent. A huge expense to not be happy with the end result. Gutted, to say the least. Wickes, if you can not listen to your customer's concerns, you do not deserve the custom.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Poor delivery problems. Don't use this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Have used Wickes a few times recently using both, Click & collect & delivery service, both worked really well but can't say the same about the staff in store! The lady that seved me was rude, abrupt & really couldn't be bothered, she used no manners what so ever, even sighed and shook her head at me at one point!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Don’t use Wickes. Waited in all day for pickup that didn’t materialise despite talking to 6 different customer reps who had assured me it would be (9 hour slot).Supplier would not accept liability for damaged radiator despite sending a replacement for undamaged part ( I’d sent photo)
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Just been to look at kitchens. It says 50% off, but no prices for the kitchen set ups. Why not? How do you know you are getting a good deal! Don't want to make an appointment, I can work it out myself.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
As you will see from the original posting - still intact below, things went VERY wrong. However, when the posting online was brought to the attention of senior management, the Wickes fitters were empowered to address any issues so that my install will happen. It is a shame that both I and the Wickes fitter had to go through 20+ pointless phone calls and all of the trauma that we did to get there. Here is the original review... Wickes have had more than £15k of our money for a new kitchen since January. Planned installation was April 20th. Eta was delayed due to covid19. However, at beginning of June, we were advised that they were ready. So shipment arranged for the 26th June and their fitters arranged for the 29th. However, the fitter rang yesterday to ask if I was aware of delays to 2 units. No I was not, so rang Wickes. Waited 35 minutes for the call to be answered, to be told that the order was going to ship as planned on the 26th. I stated that the fitter had been advised that 2 units would be missing - meaning that the kitchen could not be fitted. Wickes agreed to call the fitter, who rang me back after the call and advised that it was correct that 2 key units would not be shipped. Today I received a text advising that just 1 key unit would not ship, but would be shipped approx a week later. This was too late for the Wickes fitters! So I rang Wickes again, this time waiting 25 minutes to speak to somebody. This time the Wickes person went away for 10 minutes to investigate, and then came back and said that there were 6 units not going to be shipped - 1 was going to be shipped next week, but the other 5 had no eta! Bear in mind that this kitchen was paid in full in January and should have been fitted in April! So, we now have no working kitchen as we are ready for a new kitchen and Wickes change their mind as to what will be shipped and what will not. Either way the kitchen fitters, arranged by Wickes, will not be able to fit the kitchen in the timeframe that they planned - and that there is NO ETA for 5 key missing units! This is NOT A JOKE! Wickes are an absolute disgrace! Oh, and by the way, we have no point of contact as the very helpful, knowledgable and experienced sales person (15 years with Wickes) has been made redundant! I have just been waiting on the phone to talk to Wickes Customer Services to be bombarded with information about how wonderful Wickes Kitchens are and how, as a customer, you will have a dedicated project manager to deal with ALL issues till project completion. IT IS NOT TRUE!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
At first glance, we have a solid new kitchen, and in the early stages, staff were accommodating and friendly. However, our experience was marred by numerous frustrations and inconveniences, and we are thoroughly dissatisfied with their aftercare. From start to finish, it's been a hassle! The design had to be changed multiple times; they seemed keen to push us over budget and overlooked practicalities. The kitchen was delivered several days before workmen were due and relegated to the garden (and rain) - apparently they only deliver two days of the week. Our fitter was hardworking and knew his stuff, but he seemed to be in such a hurry he had half the units erected before everything old was removed - the brand new (white!) shelves were filthy and used as a workbench. He did clean up, but why risk damaging them in the first place? When the freezer didn't work, Wickes offered to send an engineer to fix it, and only replaced it when we argued we were paying for a new, working one! We were appalled to see that cupboards were mounted over large holes in the plaster work, and learn that's standard practice for Wickes - we had to beg the workmen to fill the more visible pitting. So whilst the kitchen now looks 'fine', we're the type of people that care about what's underneath and do not feel we received the full package we were paying for. Similarly, there are little issues that may not be a concern for others, including uneven tiling, broken light covers, partially concealed wiring, and chipped woodwork. We readily admitted these were small but their inability to solve minor requests (replacement covers and touch up paint) dragged on for so many months that our list of irritants grew longer and we became incensed. All of our complaints, we were eventually told, were within their "tolerance", but it's simply less than we expected of the so-called no.1 kitchen fitters. Seven months on, we still haven’t received items we were promised. I can only say it's a disappointingly far cry from the exemplary experience we had with Courts 12 years ago. To sum up, if you want fast and functional, or you're doing your house up to sell, they're certainly adequate. If you're looking for a quality finish and good customer care, think again. Had we been advised properly on some of the services they didn’t include, and their style of working, we would have looked elsewhere.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Excellent design service. Delivery however was chaotic. ( A lorry was sent when we had stimulated a small van). Then when finally delivered we had some of another person's order and were missing one box. This was fortunately quickly rectified. Boxes were not clearly labelled.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Andover Wickes. Awful staff. No knowledge of their products. Can’t supply ceramic glandular inserts for mixer taps that are 18 months old. Well that’s what the member of staff said. ‘Have you tried Screwfix’? I walked out bewildered.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Quality and delivery of parts all good however Installation a total nightmare The experts couldnt agree total area of room There was always more money required for installer I was even charged £100 as tiles were not available at time although not being told they had to be there in first place Extra this and extra that outweighed genuine extras Am going for new kitchen soon but no way with Wickes Shame really as installation left bad taste No one interested in feedback Be very careful if using installation re money as always loop holes for extra Had nice pictures of finish but unwilling to share as costs outweighed finish
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
you get what you pay for that,s it no more
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
0000000000000000
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
I went to wickes to buy several things including plywood, door hardware, bolts and studwork. Ive previously ordered from them to have things delivered and it was a mixed experience as alot of the beams i ordered were warped. However i was sure to pick out the good pieces going to the shop. Some of thier C16 studwork is as good as C24 and they go cheaper than most places. Thier non structural plywood, although made with a pressfit techique that leaves some tension within the sheet, has a good veneer surface that is stainable. I laminated it and used it to make my kitchen countertop treated with wood stain and furnature wax. It looks and feels amazing and has been up.fpr 6 months and has lasted through yhe abuse it goes through.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Staff are friendly. My local store is situated in an easy to reach location.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Pros: Item as described, clean and tidy store Cons: Ordered online, it took 15 hours to receive ready to collect sms, instead 1 hour. Tried to call the store about 6 times - no answer. Only 6 months warranty
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Item required was not available but staff helpful
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Excellent customer service from Wickes !! Got my refund even with no receipt
Helpful Report
Posted 9 years ago
Wickes is rated 1.5 based on 1,524 reviews