Wickes Reviews

1.5 Rating 1,449 Reviews
12 %
of reviewers recommend Wickes
Read Wickes Reviews

About Wickes:

Wickes continues to be one of the major brands in the DIY and Home Improvement sector. We have a range of over 10,000 products (98% own brand), and are able to offer our customers everyday low prices by sourcing the best quality products at the lowest possible cost. Most of our products are available for next-day delivery, including big & bulky stuff. At Wickes you can discover a whole host of inspirational ideas for your Home and Garden, with some of our key products being doors, flooring, tiles, kitchens and gardens. Launched in 2006, the Wickes transactional website features product details covering the complete Wickes range. Our website is constantly being enhanced to help improve customer satisfaction, so why not be a part of that journey by helping customers find us.

Visit Website

Phone:

0344 892 2721 (Ext. 6322)

Location:

National Customer Service Centre | Rhosili Road | Brackmills

Write Your review

Tell us how Wickes made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Wickes 1 star review on 5th April 2022
Anonymous
Wickes 1 star review on 5th April 2022
Anonymous
Wickes 1 star review on 5th April 2022
Anonymous
Wickes 1 star review on 5th April 2022
Anonymous
Wickes 1 star review on 30th March 2022
Linda Herrington
Wickes 1 star review on 30th March 2022
Linda Herrington
Wickes 5 star review on 6th February 2022
Anonymous
102
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Rude unhelpful manager. Seems to actually enjoy embarrassing customers in front of others
Helpful Report
Posted 10 hours ago
I am currently starting a process to take Wickes to court over my horrendous bathroom installation and have my solicitors involved as any attempt to contact Wickes customer service is hopeless. Myself and my partner have contacted Wickes via Facebook, customer services via phone and email, and in shop multiple times over the course of three months after the installation was nearly completed (we had to stop the cowboy fitter as it was that bad). Nobody from Wickes customer services seems to be interested, we have however been promised a visit from an installations manager to review the standard of work and what items need replacing, but this was over two months ago. To put things into perspective, we now have to shower at our local gym or at our parents house as we have a gaping hole in our ceiling downstairs due to water leaking through. Our £800 bath has been damaged due to the cowboy fitter storing sharp tools inside throughout the installation, our damaged sink is not level and is also leaking and the general finish on the tiling, flooring, plastering and placement of spotlights are so so poor I don't know how the fitter, plasterer and electrician we had are in a job. We've had no electrical certificate for minor works, we've been left with live wires exposed in our loft which is a fire hazard. Every time we leave the house we have to turn the stop tap off in fear of having a burst water pipe and our home flooding because of the leak coming through our ceiling into our dining room. When speaking to Wickes about the leak, we told them that we didn't want the original installer back as we are in no way confident he can do his job, their solution was to offer us another installer which may become available in six months time. If we had a plumber come in to fix the leak, we would have to pay ourselves with no promise for reimbursement from Wickes and we would also be losing our bathroom warranty so we are left in limbo land. Since the install attempt, myself and my partner have also had advice from an independent bathroom installer who reviewed the standard of work and in a nutshell has said the bathroom needs to be ripped out and started again. Myself and my partner are fortunate enough we have only parted with £2,000 so far, that's the deposit and upfront installations costs or as Wickes call them "specialist works", the total price of the bathroom was a little over £8,000, we outright refuse to pay the rest and will be seeing Wickes in court to claim back not only our initial £2,000 payment but for the damage caused to other areas in our home and for the inconvenience and stress. Please AVOID Wickes at all costs, they're useless, uninterested and clearly have a flawed vetting service for their 3rd party contractors.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
Order a bespoke window on the basis of 35 days delivery, as stated on the advert. NOT ‘working days’ but 'days'; had it said ‘working days’ I would not have ordered. 4 days after paying I get a call off Wickes’ supplier… not Wickes but their contractor saying deliver is 'maybe' 6 weeks, maybe much more, they could not say for sure! I called Wickes and their people said 35 days meant 35 working days. In fact, in law it certainly does not and I told them this. I checked the advert and on the day I complained it still said 35 days, in spite of their supplier saying it is not possible. Naturally I pointed out to Wickes that they were deliberately misleading consumers and that this is an offence, a fraudulent misrepresentation. I have a copy of the ‘chat’ if anyone wants to see it. Three days later Wickes have changed their website to now say 42 days delivery.... which as you might guess is 6 weeks.. So 'days' we see does mean days after all, in spite of their lies.. I told them they can't alter terms post contract and asked if they thought they actually ruled the world. They accused me of being rude?????? I have asked to cancel but they so far refuse to YOU CAN’T CANCEL BESPOKE ITEMS… but apparently they can change the terms…Really…??? What ever happened to the Wickes I used to know? Now they lie, they trick and they cheat by altering terms to entrap innocent and loyal long term customers. Of course Wickes will cancel and refund because if they do not I shall pursue them for the costs and damages ( which used to be provided by sec 51(1) and 51(3) of SOGA 1979 but now are part of the Consumer Rights Act 2015. I tried to put this 100% accurate review on their review site but it seems only good reviews go there. So it is here and everywhere else. They will now try to have it removed but because it is the truth they will fail but show themselves for wat they are.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Order Keter midi Storage Wickes have taken the money now saying no transaction has been made,website says item delivered. Have sent 5 emails and had 3 online chats, no response to emails,on line chats sound good but have been in effective dealing with concern. I now want a refund but have trouble navigating a poor complaints procedure. If I had read the reviews I would have not bought the item from wickes. Shoddy to say the least.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
Paid for wood which was NOT delivered. Wickets Kirkcaldy store. Unable to contact the store. They have our money but we don't have the product. AVOID at all costs.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Like so many others here sorry to say. I bought two items from Wickes…a radiator and a TRV. The radiator arrived after several delays and the TRV never arrived. Wickes tracking say both have been delivered. I emailed Wickes Customer Service who said they would check with the courier and get back….that was it. Now 11 days later they are not responding other than to say it’s being looked into. So I cannot fit the radiator without the TRV. How long does it take to get the courier to provide proof of delivery. Wicks customer service should be renamed Wickes Customer Disservice. You can’t get through on phone because after going through various options you are eventually cut off.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCE PURCHASE A KITCHEN FROM WICKS We purchased a kitchen in 2021 with an agreed fitting date of the 10 February 2021, We were talked in to taking out the finance option by the salesperson as they said “it is the best option as you don’t pay anything for 12 months and you won’t pay a penny until the kitchen has been installed and you have signed off the work completed to your satisfaction. “THIS IS NOT TRUE” This is a con to get you to take out the finance. The Kitchen was delivered incomplete there were items missing in fact we received items which should have been delivered to another customer so no doubt they would have had issues also, the electrical appliances we agreed to buy were out of stock and would be delivered at a later date and to add icing to the cake the work tops were the wrong colour, none of which the above have been rectified. We took our old kitchen out on the 5th of February 2022 to give the instillation team a blank canvas in which to work, the instillation went ahead as scheduled on the 10th of February 2022 with an estimated instillation time scale of two weeks it is now the 6th of May 12 weeks later and we still do not have a working kitchen. Despite having several meetings and correspondence Wicks, they have now decided to stop all contact with us, the finance company Barclays is now negotiating on our behalf via the section 75 route. But here is the piece de resistance, we took out the finance for the satisfaction guarantee and that we would be covered in the event of any damages or we were not happy with the instillation as advised by the salesperson. WHAT WE DID NOT KNOW AND WERE NEVER TOLD WAS THE FINANCE WOULD BE PAID TO WICKES REGARDLESS ON HOW THE INSTILATION WAS PROGRESSING, SO NOW WE HAVE HALF A KITCHEN, NO OVEN OR MICROWAVE TO WHICH WICKS HAVE BEEN PAID FOR IN FULL. SO ONCE AGAIN UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCE PURCHASE A KITCHEN FROM WICKS Barry Sanderson
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Avoid at all costs. We spent £35,000 on a kitchen and £10,000 a piece on 2 bathrooms. We had items turn up intermittently, some of the items fitted, a lot didn’t and had to be reordered, the person managing the project didn’t care two hoots when we were left in limbo without a kitchen sink or taps for over a month, we had to source water from our outside tap, he was trying to manage several projects at a time with a handful of workmen and so they would work a couple of days on our kitchen and then work somewhere else for the rest of the week. So many things were wrong it would take me days to list it all. Never, ever again would I use Wickes, the stress almost cost me my marriage. Customer service or lack of is dire. We went through hell and I would not want anyone else to go through the same. Please avoid if you want to keep your sanity and your relationship. We didn’t receive any compensation either despite many promises. AVOID.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Wickes tough Matt admiral blue paint worse paint I have ever used turns to power when touched. Might as well painted my walls with dog excrement!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
do not use this company........ Started my bathroom over two months ago. Still not finished, currently have water dripping through my ceiling and onto my cooker. No one is interested. Customer service is beyond a joke
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
We ordered a radiator online. It was delivered on time. The box wasn’t damaged in any way. However the radiator has many different dents in it- all over the radiator. It must have been repackaged after damage.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Terrible service on delivery of our kitchen. The wrong kitchen was delivered and trying to get Wickes to take it back and deliver the right kitchen was very stressful and upsetting. Empty lorries arriving with the promise of the right kitchen, delivery lorries arriving at 6.30 in the morning and refusing to take the wrong kitchen away. then when we did finally receive the right kitchen some of the measurements were wrong despite Wickes coming out to do a survey. Damaged appliances delivered not once but twice. The granite worktop fitting cancelled twice and then the wrong size meaning our hob is not central, to be honest we'd given up by this point. And then to top it off an insulting compensation sum which we rejected. Will not use Wickes ever again and would not recommend.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Paid for next day delivery. Of course it never arrived even after sitting in all day & proof of non delivery! 17 days later chasing every day still chasing the missing item that is stopping a kitchen being fitted ! Call centre online don’t bother it’s overseas & they have no clue / when u find a uk number they are going to sort it out & it’s lies! No one ever returns calls & when u ask for names of customer service we can’t give that for security purposes / no it’s because they just don’t bother sorting out the problem! Be responsible if you say u r going to solve the problem put your name to it !
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
We placed our bathroom order July 21. Work commenced Jan 22 almost as arranged. Bathroom still incomplete and it’s nearly the end of April 22. There is an endless list stuff not delivered on time; rubbish not removed; workmen not turning up or turning up when we’ve told them we not at home; key going missing; things not fitted according to the plans, hardware not as discussed in the initial consultation Really really tired of it now and we are still cleaning our teeth in the bath and the boys are shaving over the bath as we have no washbasin yet. They refused to engage with my husband under conveniently mis interpreted data protection excuses. I could elaborate on all that stuff but life is too short. Just please avoid Wickes. We will never spend another penny there again! We have emailed the CEO but it seems Wickes don’t give a flying one all the way to the top So disappointed
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Please please please Avoid Avoid Avoid Please please please Avoid Avoid Avoid I am 40 years old and have never felt the need to write a review, be that good or bad. However, my recent experience of buying a kitchen through Wickes deserves a mention in the hope that I can steer any potential customers away from the inevitable. The inevitable being that of disappointment, dispare and total frustration. I spent £16k on our dream family kitchen in November with the goods then arranged to arrive on the 12th March. Plenty of time to get things organised you'd think. The delivery arrived with several key components missing which I was not advised about. I called immediately to request an update and was met with total incompetence and a lack of willingness to help. Many calls from myself then followed until a new delivery date was finally provided (22nd March -10 days on from the original delivery date). But no, after waiting well past the rearranged delivery time slot provided I again had to call for an update. To my horror I was told the parts were still out of stock and would not be with me until the 31st March. Again, the lack of sympathy and understanding was appalling. I requested to speak to a manager and received email confirmation that they would call me without fail the following day. No call happened so I chased day after day until 5 days later I finally got to speak with a manager. It was a relief to start with but then I was met with the news that only part of my missing order would be available on the 31st March and that the remainder would not be available until mid April. I took that opportunity to cancel the appliances now due in April and was able to source and have delivered the exact models in a matter of days (and considerably cheaper). A 9 day installation project is now on day 23 as I wait for the fitter to complete the job. What should have been an experience to remember in a positive way will be remembered for all the wrong reason. I feel so let down and dispondent by you Wickes. You took my money in a heart beat and then treated me with total disregard. I have had to call you 23 times for updates yet only received 1 phone call from yourselves. How can that possible be right when all the failings are with you? If you are reading this I ask that you seriously consider an alternative kitchen supplier. I'm usually a go with the flow kind of guy but I just couldn't sit back and say nothing. Read other reviews, sadly there appears to be a trend of experiences not too dissimilar to mine
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
If I could give less than one star I would. From the moment our order of two bathrooms was placed we had issue after issue. Items delivered were incorrect or faulty. We had items delivered even when we advised we wouldn't be in - they were left outside unattended for a full weekend. We even had items that we returned, sent back to us! Calls and emails went unanswered and the whole experience has been painful. If this review just spares one person from ordering from Wickes it's been worth writing!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
AVOID! The bathroom plan designed by a Hove Wickes included a toilet and cabinet too large for floor plan. As they failed to email the plan for checking, the error was discovered after delivery. The consultant also included an unrequested extractor fan. He then transferred to another branch and did not respond to phone calls or emails. The Hove store manager finally acknowledged the error and grudgingly allowed us to return the items, “graciously” waiving the restocking fee. The £300 sink vanity included in the order is not compatible with ANY of the sink drains and U bends Wickes supply unless a chunk of the lower drawer is cut out. Neither the Hove store, nor Customer Services answer phone calls. We visited the Hove store today trying to resolve the vanity issues and were told that the consultants just click on items from a drop down menu, and clearly have no professional knowledge of technical specifications or fitting. We have spent hours trying to call the store and customer services and the design error has delayed the bathroom fitting by weeks. Utter shambles.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Absolutely useless, non existent customer services. Delivered to the wrong house. Avoid the online service at all costs
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Kitchen designed and installed, when worktop company came out they said island was not suitable for the worktop we bought. So design fault by Wickes Customer service awful still waiting for phone call I have tried 3 times and gone into shop no help yet! this design fault will put about a month on our build depending on how they solve it and when next appointment is for worktop measurements that’s another month without any kitchen facilities! Awful!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Really useless their won’t give you prices of unit upstairs First time the person didn’t know the prices Second time the person only respond expensive I guess she assumed that I was cheap. I had to nicely insist and fish for informations she gave me a catalogue and search at home for the prices and gave me her e-mail. The other employee came to me just to tell me to keep my kids together but never asked if I needed help. Really big waste of time I was ready to spend over a thousand may be more will spend else where. Look like they are making enough money to afford such a poor costumer services.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Wickes is rated 1.53 based on 1,449 reviews