Wickes Reviews

1.54 Rating 1,377 Reviews
12 %
of reviewers recommend Wickes
Read Wickes Reviews

About Wickes:

Wickes continues to be one of the major brands in the DIY and Home Improvement sector. We have a range of over 10,000 products (98% own brand), and are able to offer our customers everyday low prices by sourcing the best quality products at the lowest possible cost. Most of our products are available for next-day delivery, including big & bulky stuff. At Wickes you can discover a whole host of inspirational ideas for your Home and Garden, with some of our key products being doors, flooring, tiles, kitchens and gardens. Launched in 2006, the Wickes transactional website features product details covering the complete Wickes range. Our website is constantly being enhanced to help improve customer satisfaction, so why not be a part of that journey by helping customers find us.

Visit Website

Phone:

0344 892 2721 (Ext. 6322)

Location:

National Customer Service Centre | Rhosili Road | Brackmills

Write Your review

Tell us how Wickes made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Do not ever allow Wickes to fit a bathroom or kitchen. My mum's bathroom was ripped out 13th Oct and haven't anything done since. My mum is 60, a nurse saving lives mostly on the COVID ward and has no essential facilities to shower when she gets home. No communication from Wilkes whatsoever, even the regional manager cannot help get resolved!!!!! How dare Wickes treat someone like this! It's effected so much during this time of her life! Solicitors are now involved due to the poor effort to resolve! Absolutely disgusting!!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
I Needed some radiator brackets and wickes had some small adapted angle brackets (DIY version) for £12. Thought this a bit expensive but bought them. Anyway - £2.30 in screwfix! Same product! Massive mark ups on many items so shop around.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
Ordered a bathroom from Taunton store, everything was going well in the process until we signed the dotted line. Once signed the designer couldn't give a monkeys. they tried to deliver goods 2 days before xmas and 4 weeks early, because the designer had not updated their system with the correct delivery date. we turned delivery away and told them to deliver at the date specified on our order. so they they sold our worktop on and couldn't guarantee another unit would arrive before fitting was due. Which was now delayed by a week due to Wickes incompetance. As for the fitter, a word of warning, Wickes do not use their own employees, they subcontract, so you have no recourse should something go wrong, and in my case to say that Wickes sent us a cowboy would be an insult to cowboys. What Wickes, and the fitters (Jigsaw) told us would be a 5-7 day fitting, took 14 days. The fitter left dangerous and heavy tools on our wooden living room floor including concrete cutters faced down. damaged our patio blinds by propping up heavy equipement on them for days on end. And fitting ability? We ended up with pipes banging when turned on and off because all new fittings had not been secured. When the fitter was fitting the toilet system eh blocked the external pipe so that when the toilet was eventually fitted all our waste left our house and came through the next door neighbours toilet. The fitter had to be called out the next morning at 6 am to fix and stated he would change the pipework to eliminate the risk of this happening again. Toilet seat secured to the floor with sealant which moved within a day of fitting, a bath that is not fit for purpose as the water doesn't run off, all sealant around the bath look like it was put on with a fork. in the end we had the fitter back, he told us that if we weren't happy with the work then we should consult Wickes Area installation manager. We refused to sign of on the work so the fitter signed the form himself. We then contacted the area installation manager by email and phone who did nothing for over a year except get another fitter to come in and review the work that had been done. He incidentally agreed with all the points we made in regards to the standard of the work done. 15 months after getting absolutely nowhere we complained to the CEO, who in turn palmed us off to CEO's Customer Services. They in turn have done nothing more than pay us lip service for the last 3 months. Claiming initially that they cant find a fitter to do the work, then they needed the fitter to come and review what had already been reviewed 3 times, then they needed the same reviewer to come back to take photo's of the work. even though they already have photo's taken a year ago. The excuse for the delay is that since complaining to the COE's office the Area installation manager is no longer with Wickes, What they cannot do, or appear to be completely unwilling to do is delay a new install by a couple of days whilst they resolve ongoing customer issues. Which really means when they started their so called investigation, despite being told that they were in possession of documentation, they failed to obtain this information from their own installation manager, if they even bothered to ask. So as a result after spending £6.500 on a bathroom than only required cosmetic modernization we have a bathroom where the bath is not fit for purpose and consequently leaks, a toilet that has leaked for 2 years, damaging the new flooring, the under-flooring and the ceiling below components missing form fittings, fittings not fitted adequately, shabbily fitted trimmings. on top of which I ended up being and additional £1250 pounds out of pocket due to having to take additional time off to ensure that the Wickes fitter actually did the work he was meant to do. Avoid this company at all cost, they are lovely until you sign the dotted line and they have your money and then you are treated as though you are less than human. Wickes priorities are get your money, bodge your fitting and then priorities the next new deal, get your money, bodge your fitting and then priorities the next new deal and use this as a revolving door philosophy. On a par with rouge traders and cowboy builders
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
Is this really going to make a difference? Will anyone from Wickes take notice?!! Planning my kitchen was good and I like the units I have bought. But the fitting of the kitchen was extremely poor. I used the fitters as supplied by Wickes. They were always very rushed, did things not on the plan and with no consultation to me first. I was overcharged by £700 for services not agreed to. Shoddy workmanship -- cupboards misaligned; cupboard handles fitted vertically not horizontally; split, old, perished gas hose fitted to new cooker (are these fitters really Gas Safety registered?!) but I was accused of supplying this hose!!!! Laminate floor fitted, but incorrect door threshold bar fitted which has now damaged the flooring; join in the Alusplash which shouldn't be there but has sharp edge which I have badly cut my finger on. Sub-contracted fitters not regularly supervised so no-one inspects their work. I made a complaint, but only Customer Services dealt with it. The Regional Installations Manager remained "incognito" to me. I asked that the fitters were supervised and the serious problem of the leaking gas hose was investigated. I have had no communication yet, and this was in August 2021.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
Got to the checkout and the assistant could not spell PLYWOOD I had to tell him, I think he was Polish, God help us all
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Appalling experience. Ordered and paid for a new bathroom at the beginning of July. Work started on 11 October when we were told that the toilet would be delivered on 16 October. It never arrived. Every week they gave us a new date. On 17 November they finally said they couldn’t get the toilet and we chose an alternative. Chased today (29 November) to find they’ve not even ordered the new toilet. We have been without a shower a sink and the toilet for 7 weeks. We have an unstable temporary toilet and the prospect of several more weeks/months of waiting for this to be sorted. I regret ever using this company and will never use them again. Sheffield branch for anyone looking at these revies
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Ordered a kitchen with a quartz worktop. To get the cabinets delivered was a nightmare. Couldn’t use their own installers because of a 3 month delay and have had problems getting someone to come out and measure for a template for the worktop. Cannot reach the complaints and customer service depts on the phone (always busy). The after care service once they have secured the sale is appalling. Would never use them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Bought a kitchen from the Stirling branch to be fair most of the stuff delivered was correct . Wee used our own fitter a family friend . One door was damaged one was wrong size and a panel is missing . After countless phone calls I finally went into the Stirling branch and spoke to a Manager he took all the details an called me twice the next day (last Friday) to say all was sorted and to expect a delivery as of yet nothing . Called again this morning and promised a call back but none as end of play today will see if anything transpires tomorrow (Friday26th November )
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
My wife had a call from a 'kitchen specialist' re an appt so we can choose a new kitchen, the advisor from a local North East store was obnoxious, rude, and very disinterested in what we are looking for, asked why would he spend 4 hours in our house??? Disgraceful, it's a shame, we have money to spend but Wickes won't be getting our business now, very poor..
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Wickes has made my year a nightmare with my new kitchen. Three months ago my so-called installer (he was a second rate handyman at best) said he didn’t have time to finish my installation and had to go to another job. He said he’d be back in ‘three or four weeks’, leaving me with a half-completed kitchen. He dragged my old appliances down to the end of my street and dumped them on the pavement (so much for eco-friendly trash removal), he left my fridge cabinet propped up on a screwdriver, no lighting, no tiles, damaged skirting boards, damaged window frames, missing cabinets, doors and baseboards. It took two months for me to get to customer services and still they have not given me any indication how long it will be before they get it finished. Absolutely the most horrible experience I have ever had and I have made it my quest to warn as many people as possible about the abominable service they offer. Six week's later: Update. The CEO's customer service team took over my case and I now have a designated contractor who will finish my kitchen. No work has started yet but we have a tentative date for next weekend (as long as there's no rain in the forecast!) The electrical work and tiling will follow later. Will I get my kitchen finished by Christmas? Watch this space. Well, I did get my kitchen finished this week. It took six months. My kitchen is 5 x 3. And after all the hell we have been through, today I was offered my 'compensation'. A refund on my £420 out-of-pocket expenses, £15 per week for my twenty-week delay = £300, and a refund of £130 on some lights I changed. Basically, they gave me £300 on a £15,000 kitchen and put me through the most miserable experience of my life with any company. They couldn't even attempt to 'make it right'. Not even the CEO was prepared to do that. Shame on Wickes. Ding, next gullible customer!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Had a lovely bathroom fitted in June, which was done brilliantly but now the pump won’t turn off. We have emailed, phoned and also contacted online customer services and had no one contact us. It seems that once they have your money they aren’t interested in problems that happen after installation even although it is only 5 months since installation. I’m hoping if Wickes read this they may even get in touch.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Promised delivery, never arrived. No tracking information. Delivered late and as I wasn't in they left the item. No refund has I didn't refuse at the door, how could I if I wasnt in! Wouldn't collect therefore no refund. Very poor service!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Still waiting on bathroom parts 7 months after I ordered them. Was told my bathroom would be down with 2 months. Only went with Wickes as I wanted not to have to project manage, but with installers who quit and don't tell anyone, designers who don't email back, it's been one disaster after another. They pushed back my installation further as the bath had to be specially made (as if they didn't have enough warning) and it still wasn't delivered. Found out this morning another item was missing and they just hadn't thought to tell us, I guess that'll just push it back further. We're still waiting on compensation, but I doubt they can compensate for all their mistakes. Save your money and go elsewhere.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Does not even deserve one star ! I ordered 2 basic items from Wickes, to be delivered. The delivery company did not inform me of when the items were to be delivered, I was on the phone when they came, they took the items away and claimed to have delivered them. After half a day of trying, I finally managed to contact Wickes who refused to provide a refund. Subsequently they agreed to cancel the order and provide a refund. The delivery arrived again the following day without notice ! I therefore sent it away, explaining I had cancelled it with Wickes. I e mailed Wickes again to explain what had happened, Three days later I received an e mail from Wickes saying they were 'awaiting a response' and could not progress the matter. Every time they agree something with me, they do the opposite, have wasted hours and hours of my time, left me without the goods and refuse to return my money.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Unlike most of the reviews here, mine is not based on the service of staff but on the quality and value of their products. I purchased two 1000 wall units from the flat pack range. We moved into our house last year and although the kitchen is functional, we will be changing it. There were no wall units fitted so we wanted to add some as a temporary solution pending a complete refit. The quality of these not inexpensive units falls far short of expectations. In short, the carcasses edges do not align properly and when assembling and do not hold their form after fitting. They are not strong enough to hold their shape and sag in the middle once the shelves are loaded. (No. Not overloaded) I would not consider purchasing from Wickes when it comes time to refit the kitchen.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Purchased a kitchen 2005 with a 10 year guarantee (what a joke), during Lockdown I noticed a defect on the fridge door, on closer inspection there were a few doors like it. I waited to contact the store when Lockdown was lifted, the Store and Head Office was contacted only to be told the Atlanta White Range they no longer sell or make, and the guarantee on the doors is only 5 years. I have been passed around, So basically they do not want to know, had I know this I would have contacted Wickes straight away and that would have been 4 years. No one has been to inspect they have said i have used products on them and not wiped it off. I know I have not because with gloss you have to buff it straight away or it looks a mess. The guarantees are a waste of time. It is not my problem that products are not available, they should not commit to guarantees if items can become obsolete/no longer available. Do not trust Wickes.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
We had to move out of our house because the toilet never arrived after many calls to the office. Also still not had the refund. Toilet was ordered 10 weeks before
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
The most awful experience trying to get an office design. Raised concerns with Customer services who didn't want to know. As the first interaction and a potentially new customer I am shocked. Avoid!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
I couldn't believe how Rubbish Wickes has become. I only had a small order two plaster boards some adhesive, a oval clothes rail and two clips. The delivery van arrives with the clothes rail and clips missing. The driver said the abort the delivery and get hold of customer support an hour later I thought it was sorted. A day before the re-delivery I get a phone call from the Wickes store saying the adhesive is out of stock, hmm it was in the van a day before okay no worries I can manage without it. The re-delivery came but we're now missing the two clips that hold the clothes rail to the wall. This time I spoke directly to the store. The chap was quite helpful and he said his manager would drop them off.. Surprise nothing turned up, looks like I'll be ringing them in the morning the hear more stories. I doubt I'll be buying online from Wickes after this performance.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
book a kitchen designer visit to home which the designer didn't turn up. when I phoned him he said he didn't mean to come. it was misunderstanding I thought he would visit on the date and time I have confirmation email from wicks. he called me back and said he can design without seeing our kitchen and asked me which product I want. so I said I wouldn't know which Wicks products suits my kitchen without his advice and then he started shouting at me blaming why I chose Wicks anyway. so I hunted up his call. totally waste of my time.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Wickes is rated 1.54 based on 1,377 reviews