Wickes Reviews

1.5 Rating 1,682 Reviews
11 %
of reviewers recommend Wickes
Read Wickes Reviews

About Wickes:

Wickes continues to be one of the major brands in the DIY and Home Improvement sector. We have a range of over 10,000 products (98% own brand), and are able to offer our customers everyday low prices by sourcing the best quality products at the lowest possible cost. Most of our products are available for next-day delivery, including big & bulky stuff. At Wickes you can discover a whole host of inspirational ideas for your Home and Garden, with some of our key products being doors, flooring, tiles, kitchens and gardens. Launched in 2006, the Wickes transactional website features product details covering the complete Wickes range. Our website is constantly being enhanced to help improve customer satisfaction, so why not be a part of that journey by helping customers find us.

Visit Website

Phone:

0330 123 4123

Email:

enquiries@wickes.co.uk

Location:

Wickes Building Supplies, Rhosilli Road
Northampton
NN4 7JE

Write Your review

Tell us how Wickes made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Thieves sent a dodgy tradesman who spent most of the day watching the war in Ukraine Russian tradesman slagging off Ukraine all day
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Awful customer and installer experience, faced with a massive amount of stupidity and ignorance from the Regional Installation Manager, Kelly Raine, who attempted to unjustifiably extract money from installers for apparent 'problems'. Incredibly delayed communication, unreasonable commissions (more than 50% taken by designers and managers, after claiming to take 0% comission), incredibly low and poor product quality, and shipment delays. Majority of the customers who I had come across, would definitely NOT recommend working, collobaoration or buying from Wickes. Please take serious consideration before getting works done! Thanks.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Had a bathroom fitted and during installation I had cause to contact customer service. First of all ,Each time I tried I just got put on hold ,then got cut off. So I tried E.Mail which they ignored. Then I got a call from someone called Lauren who told me she was my 'go to person if I needed anything ' I tried calling her several times and got cut off. Eventually the bathroom got completed,However after nearly 4 weeks ,All the scrap 'over a ton of it ' From my old bathroom still hasn't been collected from my garden. After threatening to load my car bit by bit and dump it at their showroom in Blackpool, They still haven't arranged collection. It's like ,They have had my money ,So now they don't give a toss. Please avoid dealing with Wickes because their customer service is non existence, They are so rude and unprofessional. I have no alternative now but to carry out my threat of taking the rubbish and dumping it at their showroom. My patience has run out
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
The kitchen was fitted in January of this year. On the whole the fitters were efficient, polite & helpful & we were pleased with the final results. However we were charged for some work which hadn’t been completed and we are having problems with the washing machine. Wickes customer relations said they would chase up the overcharging (this hasn’t been done) We have tried contacting customer services several times, by email & phone. The phone rings for 30 minutes with no reply & the same generic email is sent each time. We are very disappointed with the after care & feel we couldn’t now recommend Wickes
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
So I ordered materials to build a wooden structure inside my stables. Wickes cancelled the delivery and then rebooked it for a day and time which I said would not work for me. Customers cannot contact them to cancel the delivery slot, spent £1.5K expect better. Will not use again.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
This compnay is terrible - please avoid. Phil should be ashamed to be associated with them.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I purchased a hedge trimmer from Wicks Pinners Brow in Warrington today ,the service was by a very helpful lovely lady named Lisa, her assistance and manner was exceptional it is great to be served by someone who's like that.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Today a lovely lady in Wickes in South Ealing went above and beyond to find me the size Tarpaulin that I needed. Thank you 'Mrs Wickes'!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Terrible bathroom installation process. The designer ordered the wrong sizes that arrived and didnt fit (e.g. sink too big for unit etc), the fitters they sorted couldn't speak english and were not able to do the job (e.g. grouting lots missing, broke tiles etc), still ongoing complaints and trying to get them to finish the jobs 2 months on!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Appalling service after not receiving “next day “ order paid for and not delivered by DPD. Endless phone calls to customer services at WICKES, emails and hours spent waiting for promised delivery . After DPD saying erroneously yesterday that my order had been delivered with a photo of an unknown door to unknown person, WICKES tell me this being treated as a new complaint and will report after 72 hours. Nearly two weeks after “next day “ delivery still hasn’t been delivered. BEWARE when ordering online from WICKES! My order number is 664082284.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I will not use WICKES again owing to them using the appalling delivery service DPD.I have had a week of ringing their customer service about this, only to be fobbed off each with they will contact DPD ,many times and promises of a deliveries all of which have failed, I have asked that senior management now sort out this problem only to be told they can only contact DPD., with same result. Yesterday after so many failures and time wasting , I received a note from DPD saying my delivery HAD BEEN MADE, with a photo of an unknown front door and name of an unknown person who received it, Please WICKES SORT THIS OUT! Be warned if you order online from WICKES you may not receive your “ next day “ delivery we’ll over a week later. Meaning you will waste hours of time waiting for a delivery that never turns up, hours on the phone to customer service being fobbed off with the same answer they will investigate with DPD again and again and again , with no resolution.Unable to start the project you had allocated time for over a week ago. I ASK AGAIN THAT MY COMPLAINT IS ESCALATED TO SENIOR MANAGEMENT. My order number is 664082284.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Unless you want a reply like the below from customer services I would not bother with this company. One of the doors was rubbing on the bottom I sent a message and was directed to a youtube video and told to do this myself. I watched the video and after trying could not get the door to line up, I took the cover off the hinge and tightened up the screws to find the wood cracked and strained. I sent a picture to customer services and the reply is below. Therefore this is not alignment, but aftercare & maintenance. Aftercare and Maintenance are not covered by the warranty. Please be advised that this is our full and final decision. If you are unhappy with our decision, then I can only advise you to seek third party advise Date of experience: 22 April 2024
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I wouldn’t buy anything from Wickes ever again! Message number 15 from me below. The radiator was fitted and reported faulty (leaking) in Dec, It was then collected on the 22nd January, so I don’t understand why you are saying it was received on the 6th March? I have been without heating in my kitchen for 4 months of winter, I have health issues and I cannot replace this item until you have refunded. It is now almost 7 wks from the 6th of March that you are saying the agent received the goods back (and I should receive the refund within 6 weeks of that date), so it took you almost 2 months to send to them once you received it from me. This process has taken almost 5 months and I still haven’t received my refund for faulty goods bought from you, not your supplier. Shocking customer service and quality of goods.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Big thank you to Russ at Wicks Bournemouth branch. Russ helped me choose a flymo strimmer for my husband's birthday. He also took the time to find out what spare reel of cord I would need. Many thanks Russ, excellent friendly service. Regards Mary
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
My review has to do more with Wickes in general. The staff in store are lovely and really know their stuff. However, our experience with Wickes as a whole has been completely shocking. Almost 3 years ago we had our bathroom redone and decided to use Wickes for supply and install as thought this would be the least hassle route. However, this was a HUGE mistake. Firstly, the installer completely messed up the initial install. We left him for a day and came back to find out that he had full tiled rather than half tiled, he installed the showerhead on the wrong side, leaky tap and a whole host of other issues. Took us over a year to get those issues sorted (and we ended up just accepting the tiling as it was). We thought things we sorted, then noticed that some wallpaper in the room adjoining the bathroom was starting to peel. On inspection, we discovered significant damp and mould developing due to the shower leaking. We chased for months for them to come out and resolve. They did come out and stated that they had resolved the issues and it did seem better for a while. However, last autumn we were getting flooring replaced in the rooms adjoining the bathroom and, on taking the current floor up, discovered the entire skirting board was rotten and half the plasterboard. Turns out the leaks weren't all fixed and there has been a slow leak for months behind the wall. We got send out replacement items (as they determined they needed to replace the shower (it turned out the original installer hadn't put proper supports under the shower and the flex in the tray was causing small, unnoticeable gaps in the seals), but these arrived well before Christmas and we are still waiting for an installer (towards the end of April). We have been given provisional dates but these never pan out. This was our only shower in the house. Last autumn, because of the issues, we paid over £3k to get our small toilet redone to fit a little shower. This expenditure was solely down to the issues in the main bathroom. I'm now desperate to have the issues resolved but am at my wits ends as to what to do. :-( We've been living without a main shower and with a gaping hole in the wall in the adjoining room. As another negative to Wickes. We needed our kitchen redoing last summer and, while we would never use Wickes again for install, we liked some of their kitchen units and decided to purchase and get our own installer to put them in. The units are lovely, but the process of getting the right items delivered was horrific. Half the items missing on first delivery, then several incorrect items delivered. Took so much back and forth to eventually get the correct items. How hard can it be to deliver what is on a clear inventory of items?!?!? To add to this, Wickes refused to collect many of the incorrect items - mainly really long kickboards. So now we are left with the cost of disposing of these?!? This is simply not right. I don't understand how such a company can be so completely shocking at customer service, delivery, etc., in what they do as a business!!!!!
Wickes 1 star review on 19th April 2024
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Do not purchase your bathroom from Wickes! You do not get a 2 year guarantee, I have asked where mine is and my bathroom was installed in September 2023! It is a disaster, many faults despite two installs, they were to reuse my shower but broke it and left it to me to sort, I had laminate boards at £560 a board put on all walls to be joined by expensive colour match joints yet they joined them with cheap silver strips. Plus most boards are cracked, they fitted the wrong light bezels and painted them in! The fitters excuse for many many disasters. I am not a bathroom fitter I am a kitchen fitter and wanted to work for Wren kitchens but they would not have me. I mean for goodness sake Wickes. I have made over 31 phone calls where no one phoned me back, many many emails, I literally forced the store manager to take action and come round hence I have in writing that it is so bad you have to see it with you own eyes to believe it. And yet I still Wickes apparently do not do refunds! You just get ripped off
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Worst ever customer services -reluctant to even call it that- you will wait 45 mins - speak to muliply people who will express sympathy - make promise to take action. give times dates to call back ...you will hear NOTHING
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Arrogant manager who refused to accept my mower as Returned because it had been used. Of course I used it or I wouldn't have been able to tell it was not suitable for my garden. Ordered online so I should be covered by the CONSUMER CONTRACTS REGULATION 2013 but not with wickes. My 14 days expired today so I can't arige the case any more. Disgusted that such a large company blatantly ignores regulations. Only buy items if you can guarantee you won't be returning them
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
the laminated floor I purchased from the York store would not stay together. I called in a expert joiner who showed me that some of the clip edges were not correctly machined . The under manager said they have had a lot returned, but before I was given a refund the manager stopped it and said that I could have shaved the edges to get a refund . I called head office who said go back to the store for a refund and call then if the manager stops it. I have been a customer of wicks for over 30 years over which time I always had good service . Now I will even pay extra to avoid going there.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Ordered a Forget me not Arbour. Arrived damaged and a piece missing. Wickes asked us to take up complaint with their supplier who won’t respond to emails. Wickes then gave us a phone number that was disconnected. Emailed Wickes again asking them to resolve problem but zero response….
Wickes 1 star review on 23rd March 2024 Wickes 1 star review on 23rd March 2024 Wickes 1 star review on 23rd March 2024
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Wickes is rated 1.5 based on 1,682 reviews