Wickes Reviews

1.5 Rating 1,524 Reviews
12 %
of reviewers recommend Wickes
Read Wickes Reviews

About Wickes:

Wickes continues to be one of the major brands in the DIY and Home Improvement sector. We have a range of over 10,000 products (98% own brand), and are able to offer our customers everyday low prices by sourcing the best quality products at the lowest possible cost. Most of our products are available for next-day delivery, including big & bulky stuff. At Wickes you can discover a whole host of inspirational ideas for your Home and Garden, with some of our key products being doors, flooring, tiles, kitchens and gardens. Launched in 2006, the Wickes transactional website features product details covering the complete Wickes range. Our website is constantly being enhanced to help improve customer satisfaction, so why not be a part of that journey by helping customers find us.

Visit Website

Phone:

0344 892 2721 (Ext. 6322)

Location:

National Customer Service Centre | Rhosili Road | Brackmills
Northampton
NN4 7JE

Write Your review

Tell us how Wickes made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Wickes 1 star review on 26th November 2022
Michael
Wickes 1 star review on 11th October 2022
Michael Picone
Wickes 1 star review on 11th October 2022
Michael Picone
Wickes 1 star review on 11th October 2022
Michael Picone
Wickes 1 star review on 11th October 2022
Michael Picone
Wickes 1 star review on 11th October 2022
Michael Picone
Wickes 1 star review on 11th October 2022
Michael Picone
163
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Wickes are fine until you need to return something or have an issue that needs customer services attention and the order was not direct from their store. for this reason I strongly suggest not to use them for any large projects or orders. They use other suppliers to fore fill their orders if they don't have the stock on hand, I had a damaged radiator delivered, almost 2 weeks and multiple attempts to get customer services to take it back had failed. I eventually dragged it back to a local Wickes store who wouldn't refund me or take it back, claiming "its not from us its from one of our suppliers" I actually just left the radiator there after eventually being been told I would receive a refund later, hopefully I actually get it. The business model is not customer friendly for any goods they supply like this, you are basically at the mercy of what ever supplier they used to send you the product. I was considering getting a whole new bathroom with Wickes next year, imagine how difficult resolving an issue with a project like that would be if I can't even get a single radiator returned within 2 weeks. To rectify this bad customer service Wickes should adopt an approach similar to amazon, issue a refund to me straight away and sort the logistics of getting the radiator back to their supplier themselves. Until then all we can do is make people aware of the potential problems you may have using this company. PS the manager in the Wickes store I visited was friendly and tried his best to help me within his ability, but I'm still sat here waiting for this to be resolved.
Wickes 1 star review on 26th November 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
Orded a kitchen and bathroom from Wickes. From the start, it was beset with problems. We ended up with a shower that leaks, an oven/grill and fridge/freezer unit that was NOT fitted with a safety critical isolation switch, and a boiler housing that prevents any safety maintenance on the boiler. Customer service is a joke, they offered a paltry amount of compensation for their mistakes and overall, ate a terrible company. I would NOT recommend them. In fact, bloody useless. Happy to take your money, unlikely to put things right. Wickes- we'll do it wrong.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
Do not under any circumstances use this bunch of ugly, thieving, unhelpful, useless rude bunch of wideboys for anything. We purchased a Wickes Simato Mono Mixer Tap for £110.00. After three months it broke, water gushing from it making a screaching noise. I phoned the store and spoke to a female member of staff who said as it was their product I could bring it back the next day with just the receipt and a video of the fault and it would be replaced. She spoke to the manager to confirm this, and the conversation was witnessed by my wife. The fault can clearly be seen on the Wickes website as there is a video of it. The next day I travelled down to Glossop to get a new tap as agreed. The extremely unhelpful staff told me that i had to unplumb the tap and bring it back before it can be replaced. This means switching the water off, paying another plummer £80 to unplump it, driving another hour and a half to Glossop, replacing it and then paying another £80 to plumb in the new one. I was given a number for customer support who i phoned and was told they could do nothing as i had not ordered online. Of course as i lost my temper with the staff after they contradicted what they had told me the previous day so i drove for an hour and a half for nothing and and now their extremely unhelpful, rude, manager Mr Paul Beswick thinks it is my fault. We are now left with a screaching useless kitchin tap for £190. DO NOT USE THIS UGLY THIEVING BUNCH OF DISHONEST WIDEBOYS FOR ANYTHING!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
I was refused return of 1 plank as it was bought as a pack of 4 (for the same price as 4 planks bought separately). Customer service said that had I bought 4 planks not tied together with a cable tie it would not have been an issue. Customers beware!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
DO NOT ORDER A BATHROOM INSTALLATION WITH WICKES. I ordered goods and installation for x2 new bathrooms on 2nd June with agreement that the installation would be completed by Xmas 2022, which the salesperson agreed "would be no problem". We got offered a fitting in Feb 2023 which we refused, then another for mid-Nov 22, only for the fitter to then pull out a week beforehand. Radio silence from Wickes since, despite my numerous emails.... Date of experience: 01 November 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Spent over £12,000 on a kitchen with Wickes. Went with a Wickes recommended fitter. I was told that using their fitters would greatly benefit me as they would ensure any aftersales/snagging queries were resolved properly. I'm now approaching three months - post install - and they are completely ignoring me (both my original consultant and customer services). My friend is currently having a kitchen installed by Wickes and a different fitter has told him that Wickes will do anything to void your warrantee, or get out of sorting snagging - luckily my friend's fitter told him to contact him directly to avoid the stress and upset. What a nice guy. BUT Wickes, your aftersales is appalling. You took my money, now you don't care. More and more companies heading this way. So disappointed and saddened by your customer service. You should be ashamed. And I've been trying endlessly to get help from Wickes. This is now a public plea for help.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
This 2 Bob so called company is a disgrace. 1st delivery never arrived after receiving an email informing me that it's been delivered God knows where they delivered it. 2 nd order I received countless messages informing me of a day date etc. On the DAY tracking information gave me hour slot delivery. Guess what, HALF HOUR AFTER DELIVERY SLOT a bloody txt telling me that it is not going to be delivered . I WILL NEVER USE THIS SHOWER OF SH☆T again
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Went in to buy some timber wanted it cutting . But they said they do not have a wood cutting service I find it absolutely ridiculous in a DIY store ?
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
I spent £15K on my kitchen and because I didn't complain during the time limit ( I had just lost my husband ) Wickes aren't prepared to do anything. Installed a tap which left me with no pressure to the hot water tap, installed a cooker hood which is just for show as the conservatory wall is where the vent should be and now to top it all I have mice in the food cupboards because the didn't fill the holes where the drainage pipes were changed. It is now 2 weeks since I reported the mice and still no one has come to fill the holes in the walls.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
spent over 6 grand on a kitchen from Wickes and the entire experience has been nothing short of a NIGHTMARE. On four occasions they have delivered items that are completely damaged, wrong items or missing items. I have had to complain 4 times to get replacement items or items delivered that were missing from the order. No one has replied to my emails and when I call up no one is able to help. Ordering a kitchen from Wickes has meant it’s been 4 months and my kitchen still hasn’t been fitted because not all of my items have been delivered, they have also cost me money on labour being delayed and rearranged short notice and having to get a skip to get rid of all the damaged items that have arrived and they refuse to collect. I wish more than anything that we hadn’t ordered a kitchen with Wickes.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Goods arrived damaged past from one office to another on the phone and no one bothered to ring me back and they can't even find my order details despite giving them the order number will not be using wick's again..
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
The designer never spoke to the installer about “the dream” The installer didn’t put the waste pipe in correctly. The installer didn’t put the shower tray in level. In the end another company installed it all. DONT USE THEM.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Avoid avoid avoid! They are pretty much amateurs and the management are just bunch of lazy people! Paid 6k on a bathroom and it was non stop issues from the beginning. Not even a sorry! 6 months later and still waiting for a response to my complaint
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
The work was to commence on Monday 5 September and we were given a 2-week timeframe. Of course, we allowed 3 weeks as these things quite often run over a little. The issues started the first week when the fitter had to leave our job for 2 days to resolve another job with which there were problems, so we very soon realised we had been right to allow a little longer. There were further days over the following weeks where fitters and those sub contracted to do certain pieces of work (electrician, gas / heating engineer, tiler, joiner etc.) were not available or only came for part days. Just some of the issues we encountered: Tiles – the salesman said we would need 2 boxes of the wall tiles we had chosen. When the fitter arrived, he said it would be three, when the tiler arrived, he said, you’ll need 4 boxes, so he started the job and ordered the 4th box. When that arrived, it was the wrong tile, so had to be changed. That box arrived 2 weeks ago and we’re still waiting for a tiler to come back and complete the job. We’ve had several days where we have been asked if we can be in for tradesmen to come and do parts of the job. We’ve confirmed we’re available, but then no-one shows up and no message to say why, so we have to message the fitter again and try to arrange a further date. We gave two dates for the rubbish (old kitchen) to be collected, both times they never turned up wasting 2 days whilst we stayed in and waited for them. It was collected on the third occasion I’ve had to produce my own snagging list as each of those have come to do a job have just done what they’ve come to do, no-one wants to join it all together. So, for example, someone removed the tiles from the wall, the plasterer then came to produce a paint ready finish for those walls not being tiled, but no-one caulked the gap in the wall between the door frame and the wall. When removing the old tiles plaster dust fell into the top of the PVC door locking mechanism – the door would not then lock. I had to call out a local locksmith to dismantle, clean and reassemble the mechanism at a cost of £80 to myself. I complained to Wickes – but to date have not even had the courtesy of a reply. I put in three calls to the local ‘salesman’ who we originally dealt with to discuss some of the issues – not once did I receive a return call. The above are not all the issues but there’s enough there to illustrate what a nightmare this has been. The job was eventually finished on the Thursday of the seventh week. I can’t speak for all Wickes stores, but if you’re looking for a kitchen in the Southport area – avoid Wickes at all cost.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Bought a bathroom designed and fitted by WIckes, fist the extractor fan broke. Called up, created a ticket chased for 3 months, and I was still waiting when the bath seals broke and it leaked through the celling. Went in store, sent letters to the CEO, phone customer service and chased for 6 months and still never saw a contractor to come fix the issues. The wicked ombudsman team did eventually get back to me to help put it right but after 6 months of chasing, didn't fancy another few months of promises someone would be round shortly to inspect and fix the issues. Paid for it myself and moved on, trading standard didn't want to know The installation workmanship guarantee is worthless unless you have the cash to take them to court.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
One star is being generous. We paid £7,000 to have a bathroom fitted in 2019 which had to be ripped out and replaced with a new bathroom due to massive design flaws. The second bathroom (finally finished in 2021) has since failed, nothing was sealed correctly leading to water pouring into the kitchen though the electrics in the boiler cupboard. We haven't been able to use the shower for a month now and are in the process of having our third bathroom in three years installed which we are having to pay £2,000 for. Wickes have claimed we installed the second bathroom ourselves? claimed the second, new bathroom was part of remedial works and therefore not covered under a workmanship guarantee? said the only way we can resolve the issue is to claim from the manufacturers? I've lost count of the number of times I've rang Wickes for a resolution which they classed as priority one, but they try everything they can to avoid the issue, all you get is empty apologies which you can hear being echoed in every other call being made in the background. We haven't ended up with anything even resembling the design and installation we paid for so are now starting a legal claim for reimbursement in full as I've ran out of patience trying to get any sense from anyone in their Customer Service team.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Worst company ever! AVOID at all cost!! Placed an order total of nearly £700 in that order was 4 radiators that all arrived damaged, fair enough these things happen. Contact customer service which were absolutely hopeless and not interested at all. I keeped getting palmed of to someone else and it’s now been 2 weeks and guess what still no replacements or even a call back. I am now returning my complete order and will NEVER be using this useless company again! AVOID AVOID AVOID!!!
Wickes 1 star review on 11th October 2022 Wickes 1 star review on 11th October 2022 Wickes 1 star review on 11th October 2022 Wickes 1 star review on 11th October 2022 Wickes 1 star review on 11th October 2022 Wickes 1 star review on 11th October 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Wickes aye " your dream , our experts" my experience is " your nightmare , gives us pleasure". The worst mistake of my life ordering a bathroom and fitting through wickes. Complete shambles, first installer was at best an amateur DIY guy and replacement installer could not care less . Multiple incorrect items supplied despite several onsite surveys carried out has resulted in us having a completely different bathroom fitted through no fault of our own , to the one that now lurks in my property. Wickes have zero attention to customer service or care. They are constantly avoiding and covering their own mistakes. They will not or ever admit liability for anything. With Wickes it is truly a case of take it or leave it , that is what you are going to get. I am registered disabled and suffer from severe crohns disease which has resulted in several operations to remove most of my lower bowl , therefore I now have a permanent colostomy. Wickes were aware of this but despite over a hundred attempts to communicate this they left me with no adequate bathroom facilities for three months!! I believe as soon as they are criticised as an organisation they act like cruel , petulant children with no regard for their customers wellbeing.
Wickes 1 star review on 2nd October 2022 Wickes 1 star review on 2nd October 2022 Wickes 1 star review on 2nd October 2022 Wickes 1 star review on 2nd October 2022 Wickes 1 star review on 2nd October 2022 Wickes 1 star review on 2nd October 2022 Wickes 1 star review on 2nd October 2022 Wickes 1 star review on 2nd October 2022 Wickes 1 star review on 2nd October 2022 Wickes 1 star review on 2nd October 2022 Wickes 1 star review on 2nd October 2022 Wickes 1 star review on 2nd October 2022 Wickes 1 star review on 2nd October 2022 Wickes 1 star review on 2nd October 2022 Wickes 1 star review on 2nd October 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Ordered a door which needed to be delivered as it was a bit bigger than average, paid for it in store and £41.00 & £7.00 delivery as they could not deliver to the store so I could pick it up, told I would get a text with a delivery time and that it would be delivered on Tuesday by Tuffnells, no text at all, at 11am decided to go through my emails to find one that said between 9 -1, at 4.45 a knock at the door and opened to no one there and a door standing against the wall and the driver sprinting to get in his van, on inspection found the side that had been facing the wall was badly damaged, hubby ran after him and told him in no uncertain terms that he could take it back to the answer of why! (think he must of noticed or Tuffnells have a blind driver). I called customer service on the Wednesday morning as soon as they opened to be told really sorry Blah Blah and a new one would be delivered on the Friday fine I said as long as it is in the morning as I have a dentist in the afternoon and guess what no door, called customer service to be told it is down for Delivery Monday I explained that is not expectable as I am out all day as it is my birthday so would never have agreed to Monday. I have now lost 2 days from work and still no bloody door. apparently Wickes do not have anyone to liaise with the delivery company on my behalf or just don't want to? so who took them on as contractors. they don't deliver on Saturdays or Sundays, asked for a call back from a manager to be told it could take 48 hours (but then how they going to speak to Tuffnells if they don't work weekends), ended the conversation with you will get a text on Sunday night with delivery time slot for Monday, never got a text last time so what's different this time and what part of I will not be there on MONDAY do they not understand. asked if I wanted to cancel the order YES I would love to but can not find this size door anywhere else. What a crock of S*** unless you can click and collect don't bother.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
First went to Wickes bathroom design department in December 2021. Ordered bathroom and told that the wait time was into May 2022. Accepted this and waited and waited. Contacted Luke our design consultant at the Folkestone branch and was told that I would hear and to wait. Three months on and had heard nothing. Seems we had been forgotten about and wait time was now at the end of August. Finally, after speaking with an operations manager and making a hefty complaint we were allocated a fitter, who came to inspect and told me that he would now not be able to fit my bathroom until November 2022. Met again with Luke and store manager who did not really want to know. Finally, I was matched up with a new fitter, first visit for inspection purposes, clearly, he had little idea of what he was supposed to do. Several visits on and date booked for 3 weeks in August 2022. Bathroom took over 5 weeks to install. (it's only small.) Fitter left end of Bath open, as it was close to window, they felt we would not notice it. Hole left open all along bottom of window, Tiles damaged, bottom of door sawn off, with sharp jagged edge when there was not a need to cut door at all, bathroom cabinet drawer would barely open, ripped finger nails off trying to open it, fitter told me he knew it was faulty but had to fit what Wickes supplied him with! Sink leaked into cabinet and would not drain properly, due to fitter tightening the seals too much and creating a vacuum, fitter's manager took over week to authorise cabinet replacement and to then authorise for fitter to remove faulty and put in new one. Now 2.5 weeks later the toilet is leaking, it turns out it was leaking when the fitter installed it, but was told by his manager to add lots of old washers between the cistern and the bowl and I have now been told that I should be grateful that it worked with this bodged repair to a new toilet for over two weeks! Evidently, everything purchased through Wickes and fitted by them has to fail twice before they will replace it, even if it is faulty. Leaking started last Friday, I have been told that they ordered new one on Tuesday and they cannot deliver the replacement for two weeks. The fitter will not come out, as he does not get paid to do so as his manager will not authorise it, I have a leaking toilet for two weeks and the nameless fitter's manager does not care! So I hope the leak does not get worse and destroy my bathroom, my downstairs ceiling, etc. It's ridiculous. They take your money and they just don't care. My advice, as so many have written before is to stay clear of Wickes. Their utter incompetence and lack of both customers and their properties astound me. They truly deserve a 0 rating.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Wickes is rated 1.5 based on 1,524 reviews