Wickes Reviews

1.5 Rating 1,541 Reviews
12 %
of reviewers recommend Wickes
Read Wickes Reviews

About Wickes:

Wickes continues to be one of the major brands in the DIY and Home Improvement sector. We have a range of over 10,000 products (98% own brand), and are able to offer our customers everyday low prices by sourcing the best quality products at the lowest possible cost. Most of our products are available for next-day delivery, including big & bulky stuff. At Wickes you can discover a whole host of inspirational ideas for your Home and Garden, with some of our key products being doors, flooring, tiles, kitchens and gardens. Launched in 2006, the Wickes transactional website features product details covering the complete Wickes range. Our website is constantly being enhanced to help improve customer satisfaction, so why not be a part of that journey by helping customers find us.

Visit Website

Phone:

0330 123 4123

Email:

enquiries@wickes.co.uk

Location:

Wickes Building Supplies, Rhosilli Road
Northampton
NN4 7JE

Write Your review

Tell us how Wickes made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Wickes 1 star review on 4th January 2023
Anonymous
Wickes 1 star review on 4th January 2023
Anonymous
Wickes 1 star review on 4th January 2023
Anonymous
Wickes 1 star review on 4th January 2023
Anonymous
Wickes 1 star review on 4th January 2023
Anonymous
Wickes 1 star review on 4th January 2023
Anonymous
Wickes 1 star review on 4th December 2022
Sarah.898989
179
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Our wet room, designed, purchased and installed by Wickes in September 2019 has leaked into the room below, (kitchen , just one year old). Our Plumber has inspected and advised the the wet room was insufficiently tanked. Customer Service advised, no reply, further contact, store manager,(Milton Keynes) is aware of problem but hasn’t got in touch,(blaming Installation Team). Our only recourse may be to claim under Section 75, Consumer Credit Act 1974, from the credit company that they insisted we sign up too, even though we were paying in full via bank transfer. DO NOT USE WICKES
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Our wet room, designed, purchased and installed by Wickes in September 2019 has leaked into the room below, (kitchen , just one year old). Our Plumber has inspected and advised the the wet room was insufficiently tanked. Customer Service advised, no reply, further contact, store manager,(Milton Keynes) is aware of problem but hasn’t got in touch,(blaming Installation Team). Our only recourse may be to claim under Section 75, Consumer Credit Act 1974, from the credit company that they insisted we sign up too, even though we were paying in full via bank transfer. DO NOT USE WICKES
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Where do you start with Wickes, from start to not yet finished they have been a shambles, if I could give less than 1 star that still would be too much for them. We ordered a bathroom at a high spec last Sept from Guildford, with the plan to get it fitted this Easter, they turn up, rip out the bathroom and leave, what should have been a 2-week job, turned into a 5 week later project, the builders they use and that's if you want to call them that, are a joke, complete jack the lads their approach to everything is nothing is there fault if a tile cracks or something doesn't fit. We find we have to chase Wickes Guildford all the time, their customer service is poor, to say the least. We believe that we have been assigned someone to handle the issues only in the last few days, but we have been told there has to be an investigation on what has happened, well if someone actually visited us we could show them that our bathroom is not finished and that we have a good dozen outstanding items that need sorting. Once we are finished and paid up, we will certainly never use or encourage anyone to use Wickes as a company. This is the short version of our complaints to Wickes, got tired of writing emails and reviews which clearly don't make a difference to this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Cannot even rate this 1, basically paid in full 8000 + for a kitchen designed / fitted. Came back off holiday to find the kitchen an absoloute disgrace, items missing and very very poor shocking workmanship . 5 weeks on and no further forward, poor customer service when they have your money they don't want to know, Do not order a kitchen from Wickes 100%
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Update your system showed items in stock in your Loughton store drove up there from Waltham cross said they had them got their no in stock was told haven’t had any for weeks same at WX need items to finish job was even told go to toolstation next door they might have them
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Had my bathroom fitted in February this year. Tiles were badly fitted. It took the 3 weeks before the fitter could workout why the drainage in the shower was not draining properly - infact, the water was building up to overflow. It was with my son who made him realise what the problem was. I was promised professional and good work by the designer, when I asked him about the the engineer. No one visited to see how the job was developing and when I went to the shop to complain, they sent the designer, who's remark was_ I don't know anything about plumbing, I'm just the designer. How many months later, after three sets of toilet seat, I am still using a toilet without a toilet seat,because each one that has been fitted, have broken down. I've paid good money for a new bathroom and have been very disappointed with the quality of work. I am ashamed to have anyone to my place because there's no toilet seat on my toilet - a brand new toilet! This has been and still is very stressful experience for me. Please don't let these people do any work for you. They're only interested in taking your money from you- which they insist that you pay before they do any work - even when I brought it to their intention, that rightly, I shouldn't be paying them any money, until the job is completed.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Have to commend wickes service.my orders were quite heavy and both were carried into house for me by extremely polite well mannered gentlemen this morning.well pleased.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Disgraceful!!!!! Do not use Wickes to fit your kitchen, I would have left minus stars if there was an option to do so. I have paid £12,000 to Wickes and have been left with an unfinished kitchen which is not functional, the kitchen fitting that has been completed to date is of an extremely poor standard. In addition to this the kitchen fitter carried out gas and electrical work that he was not qualified to do, which is a clear safety issue, Wickes know of this issue and they did not send a qualified person to my house for over a week. Customer Services say that they are working on a new fitter to complete the kitchen, however this has not materialised and there is no date for work to commence. Wickes guarantees state: "Our experienced installers will fit your kitchen to the highest standard, whilst adhering to additional safety measures we've put in place. So you can relax knowing that your kitchen is in safe hands." And "We want you to be completely happy with your installation, knowing that everything has been fitted safely and correctly. Once it's been installed, we'll provide you with a 2-year workmanship guarantee on top of any product guarantees." In my experience neither have been the case, the fitter presented as inexperienced and did not do the job safely or correctly. Wickes has wasted my hard-earned money, time and effort. Wickes has left me with a kitchen which I am unable to use and with no guarantee as to when this nightmare will end. I recommend that customers go elsewhere and disregard the guarantees and promised made by Wickes, it's not worth it.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Disappointed really
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Absolutely shocking company we paid about 12 000 to have a bathroom put in which was delayed by 3 weeks he took about 5 weeks to put in in then when he said it's all finished and done the water was coming out from the shower the toilet is leaking and the grouting is terrible so after 6 months of not having a bathroom not being able to have a shower they finally get the installation manager to see for his self although we have sent video after video and having different installers come see it he shows up and says well we will fix it for you but you can't claim compensation what a absolutely horrendous company I suggest to everyone stay away
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Update: Basically Cowboys I genuinely feel like I've been dealing with cowboys I've had such a poor experience with Wickes's bathroom installation. Initially, I chose Wickes as I wanted to go with a reputable company. I was aware this would mean a higher cost and perhaps a longer waiting time before the installation would start. Initially the experience was good, the design consultant at the Cricklewood store was very nice and drew up an amazing bathroom design I was really happy and genuinely excited for. We were told we'd receive a call within ten days to book in the home visit to measure things up. This took six weeks and I had to chase multiple times. Once this was booked I was pleasantly surprised by how quickly they were able to fit us in. The delivery seemed well organised but this was a ruse. When the contractors were onsite the experience was relatively good, they were helpful and worked to the schedule they said they would. Unfortunately they found that wickes had misdelivered numerous items and missed lots out all together. Wickes had delivered a bathroom without: a shower enclosure, a shower door, a toilet cistern, an extractor fan (a fancy one the design consultant had specifically upsold us to), a towel rack and a cracked mirror. The store rang me to inform me that I needed to send evidence of the incorrect parts, I was at work and confused - the design consultants had ordered the parts, I didn't know what was right/wrong - I said I believed they should be able to revisit the original booking/quote and order the correct parts. I then asked if this would delay completion of the project and the store said no but when I asked if the parts would be delivered today (as it was the scheduled completion day) she put me on hold then hung up. The store then didn't answer when I called and I send my design consultant multiple emails to no reply. The builders had to leave me without a working shower, no extractor fan and a bucket to flush the toilet with - not what you want when you've spent almost £10,000. I then received no correspondence for 5 days, when I spoke to the head office team out of desperation was shocked to learn that the parts hadn't even now been ordered so there was no end in sight to the struggle. A week after the builders had left I was told the parts would be delivered the following week apart from the shower enclosure which once again required me to send a picture of it being incorrect to get the right one. I was emailed at 1:41pm saying if I could reply by 2 they could get it by Tuesday. Sadly I was at work so this wasn't possible so now it seems as if these works will be pushed into a fifth week. I am currently dealing with this with Wickes and am looking forward to what I can only assume will be a substantial discount due to this series of errors but just wanted to warn anybody, please don't use this company if you want a bathroom with a shower and toilet. I understand mistakes happen but I'm exceedingly shocked at the lack of urgency demonstrated by Wickes once these mistakes were identified. This is the Cricklewood store - one to avoid!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Why is it each time I visit Wickes to ask for a particular colour of paint to be mixed the answer is sorry our mixing machine is " out of order". Shan't be going there again , back to my first choice! Last visit Saturday 10th Sep.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
We tried to get some quotes from other companies and tradesmen for the work we needed doing to our bathroom and kitchen. Four came, and not one of them returned with a quote. In the end we realised they didn't want to do the works because we has so many tiles in our kitchen and the floor needed a large part replacing. It was too many tiles for them, and as there is so much work about they are able to pick and choose which works they take on. In December 2021 we gave up trying to sort the tradesmen out ourselves and decided to give Wickes in Ashford a try. We met Paul in the showroom who quickly came out to measure up. We then returned to the store to pick our kitchen and bathroom units. We was then given a date which was a few months to wait for the right fitter for the job. We didn't mind the wait as we had been messed around so much trying to sort it out ourselves. We had already wasted 18 months. When we got to meet our fitter, we instantly liked him, and we hoped he wouldn't let us down when the time came for our installation. About three weeks before the start date, we changed our mind about lots of things and asked to see Paul in the Ashford store again. He could not have been more helpful, and we didn't make his job easy. We changed the bathroom sink, the bath and the toilet, All the kitchen kitchen units were changed, and even the colour. Paul could not have been more helpful and made the whole process very easy. When it came to delivery, the units were on time and as described. We then waited for our installation date. When Gareth our installer came on time it was a huge sigh of relief. Gareth was an absolute star. He worked through that 40 degree heat we had recently. It was an absolute pleasure to have him in our house from start to finish. We added more things for him to do and he never complained once. The standard of his work was absolutely first class. We really could not be happier with Wickes and the whole team. We are so happy that the previous tradesmen had let us down because then we had so a wonderful experience with the whole team at Wickes. They even arranged zero % finance, so we get a whole year to pay as well. Thank you so much to the whole team.. I have added some pictures and a couple of videos of the works that were carried out. The pictures don't do it justice, but I think you will be able to get an idea of the quality of the works carried out. We would not hesitate to recommend Wickes to anyone.
Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Great service to begin with. Over ordered some flooring, returned some. Refund fiasco. Meeting with the Manager at Newmarket very entertaining. He gets 5 stars for sarcasm.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Ordered £400 of timber a week ago. Was supposed to receive a text the night before delivery. Didn't happen. Rang the rotherham store at 7am when they opened to be told Citysprint would be delivering and i would get a text when they were loaded. Didn't happen. Had a day off work for absolutely nothing.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Bathroom Installation and Design Excellent from start to finish I am thrilled with the result and would totally recommend this service. thanks to Jake Pete and the team for an excellent result
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Jon a designer came to look at my kitchen with a view to doing a design for me. He was extremely rude, sighed a lot and complained about my kitchen being small. Laughed at me. Then insulted me by asking did I have money to pay for it. He actually asked if I had the money, three times. Very intimidating and uncomfortable. Immediately reported him. I’m a single women and I felt embarrassed and uncomfortable. The customer service girl, Chloe was lovely when I rang up to complain and say I would never use them. The designer was arrogant and intimidating.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Placed an order online, main part of which came from a branch 17 miles away, despite there being a larger branch within 7 miles of my location. Goods were wrong, despite Order Confirmation, so driver returned them to branch. No action from branch and my calls to them remained unanswered throughout afternoon and evening. Emailed Customer Service, who told me branch would ring me 'as soon as possible within next 24 hours'. No response from branch or follow up from CS, so spent all day trying to get through to branch, with phone ringing out every time. Finally gave up and rang CS to request refund, which was swiftly completed, so good to know at least one person at Wickes knows how to answer a telephone and use a keyboard. Inevitably, things will go wrong from time to time, but what separates good suppliers from bad is the way in which they respond. From director level to shop floor, Wickes clearly don't care about their customers. Never again!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
They get half a star as some of their products seem good. The process, the people, the communication and the standard of work is shoddy at best. Avoid at all costs.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Ordered £600 plus of wood to build decking and pergola 2 weeks ago, have been delivered twice four bent main posts, customer service are total joke, they tell you untruths to get you off the phone (fulfil their quota of calls ?) no one rings you back, branches blame each other and head office, they send texts saying goods will be delivered today and then don't arrive (2 x) wasted days off work to revive goods, paying workmen to do nothing as cannot proceed with work without main posts . A separate van has been twice to pick up the banana shaped posts, but doesn't bring replacements ( as cannot be done like that apparently !) Obviously no quality control when goods are sent out. No compensation, offered £10 gift voucher from "Customer service". Will never use Wickes online again, total shambles and joke of a company.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Wickes is rated 1.5 based on 1,541 reviews