Wickes Reviews

1.5 Rating 1,666 Reviews
11 %
of reviewers recommend Wickes
Read Wickes Reviews

About Wickes:

Wickes continues to be one of the major brands in the DIY and Home Improvement sector. We have a range of over 10,000 products (98% own brand), and are able to offer our customers everyday low prices by sourcing the best quality products at the lowest possible cost. Most of our products are available for next-day delivery, including big & bulky stuff. At Wickes you can discover a whole host of inspirational ideas for your Home and Garden, with some of our key products being doors, flooring, tiles, kitchens and gardens. Launched in 2006, the Wickes transactional website features product details covering the complete Wickes range. Our website is constantly being enhanced to help improve customer satisfaction, so why not be a part of that journey by helping customers find us.

Visit Website

Phone:

0330 123 4123

Email:

enquiries@wickes.co.uk

Location:

Wickes Building Supplies, Rhosilli Road
Northampton
NN4 7JE

Write Your review

Tell us how Wickes made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Wickes 1 star review on 23rd March 2024
Anonymous
Wickes 1 star review on 23rd March 2024
Anonymous
Wickes 1 star review on 23rd March 2024
Anonymous
Wickes 1 star review on 12th October 2023
Grace
Wickes 1 star review on 12th October 2023
Grace
Wickes 1 star review on 5th July 2023
Celia Stanley
Wickes 1 star review on 5th July 2023
Celia Stanley
193
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
If you think that you will get a good job done by Wicks FORGET IT. We had a bathroom fitted that was awful. Took two weeks part time and rushed the last two days. We had water coming through the ceiling, plaster splattered up the front door, and the fence. Ruined the paving slabs at the front door because the fitter could not be bothered to clean down. Ruined two slabs at the back door where he was cutting the tiles. Ruined the plastered ceiling he put up and cut the spotlights holes two large so they fell through. Ruined the stairs oak banister which needed complete re-waxing and polishing. That’s just some of the things. Another fitter came out and repaired half the problems as he couldn’t do the rest. These people are not specialists in there field, they are general DIY fitters with minimum experience carried out by one fitter only. We did have compensation but the whole experience was one of a complete nightmare. We are still waiting for our electrical certificate seven months later. The salesman couldn’t care less and only interested in there commission. We are in our mid 60s and have had to put up with this. Negative -10 stars feedback if I could. I wouldn’t recommend this company to anybody.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
We have issue after issue with our bathroom installation. Within 4 weeks, the toilet started leaking and they did come to fix it. Within a year, the bath started leaking and it was still under warranty. The supplier finally sent a replacement bath after 2 months of providing evidence. Now Wicks are saying they won’t install it because no one has came to do an assessment yet, even though we phoned them 2 months ago. They keep sending it to the store to come do an assessment and the store keeps declining it. Going around in circles and now have to down the complaint and eventually ombudsman and probably pay for it ourselves. I will never use Wicks again and recommend to everyone to avoid using them.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Product is fine but i booked return the rest of floor i don't want it,took nearly three weeks nobody can help for the return,they arranged DX company which is so rubbish everyday lost contact said will coming before 6o'clock but never appear,i called every hours but nobody at all can help,wickes very disappointed. I will upload screenshot how many calls i made to wickes and DX company.
Wickes 1 star review on 12th October 2023 Wickes 1 star review on 12th October 2023
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Awful company ordered next day delivery 28 September wickes not only failed to deliver but attempted a scam taking photo miles away of random house and wanted electronic signature, lied to by Gordon burns and still no refund and no goods disgraceful stay away this is happening a lot
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
If you are buying a kitchen from wicks look at the small print this they suppose to give a guarantee on them but you only get guarantee one year on mechanism so ask the question why the kitchen is the kitchen, I have been happy with wicks for the guarantee on the units but not anything else the staff at derby are very good but wicks let them down
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
SHOCKING, WICKES CATFORD IS MORE THAN SHOCKING. THEY CHARGE YOU TWICE FOR UNQUALIFIED INSTALLERS and the work is shoddy and the shower does not provide cold water just HOT & the toilet has water running down the back and they never completed the job, STILL HAVE NOT 3 MON THS LATER, I still dont hsve a fitted basin
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Bought a new kitchen from Wickes, after a few weeks marks started to appear on our Zanussi hob and hood. Wickes told me it was our fault for cleaning the hob! We had used hot soapy water, but they insisted we had used a cleaner that was not for stainless steel, and the manufacturer would not do anything to resolve this. I dont know what kind of SS they make these units from but it looks like a material defect as the marks all run in the exact same direction. So if you dont use a very specific SS cleaner then it is your fault for any defects! All that money spent and our new kitchen experience ruined due to dreadful customer service. Never using Wickes again!!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Everything. As soon as you get wickes to install something get a file ready on your computer to save everything. You’ll need it for when they destroy everything through shoddy work contractors who use contractors and you try to prove you’re right . Nightmare.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Wickes thurmaston a joke with cheeky staff. Do yourself a favour don't go there
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Don’t ever use Wickes I had a Wet Room installed about 2 years ago during Covid, I was going through a difficult time with in my family and got married however I did contact wickes within the guarantee period I complained to Wickes due to poor tiling in my bathroom and I have even gone to the Furniture Ombudsman and Won I am a year on and they still haven’t resolved my complaint, they offered me £2000 to retile 2 walls as they couldn’t find a fitter to rectify the work , but it is a wet room so the likelihood the whole bathroom would need to be retiled and I would be out of picket when I paid £10k for my Wet Room, they don’t listen. How can you pluck a figure of 2k out of the air the tiles I ordered were discontinued and they are saying it is cosmetic well yes it maybe cosmetic but looking at a Wet Room when none of the edges like up, the pigeon holes in the walls are not straight and hold water, the tiles are chipped because they wasn’t cut probley surely this is a simple job for qualified bathroom fitters? Wickes also said that I had lived with it for nearly 2 years well sorry Wickes for going through a difficult and happy period in my life and I explained why I didn’t contact them sooner, although I was within the guarantee period, I have tried to contact CEO but no reply so my next step is to take legal action , the best thing is they admitted the work wasn’t up to standard and was poor, the black paint have come off the shower and plug hole , don’t ever use them honestly go else where the finish on my bathroom is terrible and I have had 3 people come out from Wickes and I even had the tiler who carried out the work come out and they all said it was poor work and wasn’t acceptable. Also Wickes were on the one show because of the above issues poor workmanship and poor service
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
My elderly vunerable parents purchased a kitchen from Wickes in Midsumer Norton, Somerset. The delivery date was over six weeks ago and they have had at least three failed deliveries. It takes over an hour to get through to customer services. My parents have been into the store and have been fobed off with its a logistics issue with the delivery company so not a Wickes issue. Appalling level if service, do not shop with Wickes. Customer order Reference 498478.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
The Exeter Wickes bathroom design team took months to deliver my bathroom materials. The cabinet mirror was broken upon delivery. I was told to go online and take photos etc rather than Wickes offering to exchange or refund the item. Wickes recommended Contractor took six months to install half a bathroom as they were too busy doing other work. The Wickes recommended contractor installed the boiler incorrectly with pipes joined to the wrong parts of the boiler. The stud and plasterboard work had to be ripped out and started again as they used ordinary plasterboard instead of waterproof green plasterboard. The small shower room shower was not installed properly and cuts out after a few minutes. The wall tiling meant the bathroom door would not open, so the door had to rehung on the other side. After a month of the contractor not turning up at all I had no option but to cut my losses and start again. In all, Wickes cost me a £15,000 loss.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Worst company ever!!! Waiting 6 weeks for missing pack of laminate flooring. Emailed customer service,but it is a JOKE not custome service. Will never use again!!
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Worst customer service I have ever experienced. Ordered £560 worth of kitchen cabinets only for the wrong item to be delivered. Wickes are refusing to pay a refund, six weeks later despite constant chasing. Wickes seem unbothered around consumer trading laws which require refund within 30 days of non-delivery, and specify that refund is not contingent on the return of the goods. Of course, that wouldn't matter as they were collected weeks ago (despite messing us around with two incorrect collection dates).
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
So - the stress of buying a kitchen from Wickes is still ongoing - and don't think leaving a review of your experiences will help - l left a review of the ongoing problems and Customer services asked for more details - presumably so they could sort it out but NOTHING - we have heard absolutely noting - we have faulty worktops and they just ignore you. They clearly make a show of answering you on this site to make people think they are going to help and then you don't hear another thing
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Paid Wickes Bury 10% deposit for a new kitchen. Designer did not attend our home to measure our kitchen. Instead she asked us to measure and go back in for the design of our dream kitchen. Weeks later their installer Andrew Connor called with a clipboard under his arm and measured the kitchen again. We felt relief that Wickes installer seemed very confident the job would take 2 weeks maximum. He gave us a start date of 6th June 2023 and end date of 16th June 2023. Despite texts and phonecalls to him he turned up on 8th June 2023. No sorry no explanation. With his nephew Shaun Fisher he proceeded to remove the old kitchen. On the same day he demanded £2000 otherwise he would not continue with the job. He said the electrics would need doing. His electrician Callum did work and wanted £800 cash and his plumber Wayne would sort the gas and water pipes for £150 cash. Despite our requests no invoices or certificates were received. Andrew Connor and Shaun Fisher would turn up usually at lunch time for an hour or two a couple of days per week. He would not respond to our texts or phonecalls. He continued to ask for money and about 2 weeks into the job went on holiday to Furteventura leaving Shaun to continue but never turned up. On Andrew Connors return to our home he and Dhaun were sacked. I contacted Wickes but it took 3 days to eventually get any response from Bury branch. We had been without a kitchen (just badly plastered walls and a cracked floor). For 7 weeks we had to wash the dishes in our bathroom upstairs. We had no cooking facilities apart from a toaster and kettle. Other people started to complain to Wickes Bury about also having their kitchens ripped out at the same time as ourselves and monies being demanded. One poor couple (both in wheelchairs) we left fir 6 weeks with no kitchen. Despite all the upset and fraudulent way Wickes installer Andrew Connor has behaved Wickes have decided to sack him but will not pursue him on behalf of their customers. Poor decision by Wickes. It's 3 months now and we still haven't got the kitchen finished. Door and other things missing. Up to now we have had 20 deliveries from Wickes Bury. I have made 43 phonecalls to them and received a handful of calls back. What should have been our dream kitchen has been nothing but a constant nightmare. He the
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Colchester store there is a bearded gentleman that doesn’t usually wear his name tag. Approaches with constant sarcasm and negativity does not answer any product questions as ‘it is not his job to know’ Ensure you do your research before approaching this gentleman as you will not get any help. This is the third time that I have had problems with this particular individual and today he looked at me for a very uncomfortable amount of time before asking me for ID for an aerosol (which I have bought from him before) as he clearly has an issue with me. This has caused a delay on my job. I do however get on with the rest of the staff extremely well. (I am 28 FYI)
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Very poor after sales experience from your King's Lynn store. Once they've had your kitchen order and installed it, they don't want to know - I'm having to install a faulty kidney shelf bracket and two replacement doors on my own. Will be going elsewhere for my new bathroon installation. You've lost my business.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Avoid Wickes Newport and Lee Brooks (from the bathroom design team) at all costs. Sept 2022 - went in to speak about a new bathroom. Lee was supposed to visit our house in advance of this appointment to take measurements which didn’t happen. Lee is a stereotypical cocky salesman but we went along with the design and wickes due to: 1. Everything being done and ordered from one place. 2. The guarantee. 3. The payment plan. During the design, Lee proposed we have a mixer in the wall where we could turn on the shower, hand held shower and bathroom from one place, this sounded like a good idea and we went for it (over bath taps). Fast forward to April 2023, the bathroom installation started on time and our fitter was great. All was going smoothly and most of the big jobs were done. Then our fitter realised that wickes had sent a two way valve rather than a three way valve. He rang store and got them to order another and when it turned up, it was a two way valve again. It turns out, Wickes don’t sell a three way valve. That was at the end of April. It is now August 2023 and we still can’t have baths because we don’t have the correct valve. This has been raised to numerous people in store, all of which have been useless and don’t get back to you. The only decent one there is John who did call me back on a few occasions but, it seems even he has given up. This was escalated to customer services, again useless. Customer relations are. I’m involved and veteran the lot of them, nobody has been able to give me answers or source a three way valve (it is only the internal piece we need). I have just been informed by customer relations that they have been unable to source a valve and that I will need to buy one myself and I will be reimbursed the cost. Wickes is within the DIY and trades industry, they will have a buying team who deal with 100-1000s of suppliers and negotiate what will be sold in their stores and at what cost, margins etc. how on earth can they not source the part within all the industry contacts they have? It has taken them 3.5 months to come to this conclusion and I am beyond frustrated and disgusted. Lee sold us something Wickes don’t sell. The company is too lazy and stupid to order a part and I’m left with a bathroom in which the bath can’t be turned on. I’m expected to sort this problem out myself. Have you ever heard of a large company ask someone who is not an expert in that trade to source a part??? I am disgusted at how unreliable, unprofessional, unsupportive and overall dreadful this company and branch is. I urge you to stay away and spend your hard earned money elsewhere.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Excellent customer service
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Wickes is rated 1.5 based on 1,666 reviews