WPMU DEV Reviews

4.93 Rating 1,586 Reviews
98 %
of reviewers recommend WPMU DEV
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
On-time Delivery
100%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.93 out of 5
Read WPMU DEV Reviews
Visit Website

Email:

contact@wpmudev.com

Location:

Birmingham, Alabama,,

Write Your review

Tell us how WPMU DEV made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Started with wpmudev back in 2015 and it was great for a while, but the increasing costs and plugins started to become more and more bloated. So I am was not sure it worth updating my credit card to keep my service. My subscription lapsed then I was debating reactivating my subscription to keep my sites updated, but the price has more than doubled again. Going from 200 per year to nearly 600. This is something I can not justify maybe if my sites made more money I could but I think I will have to find alternatives that do not keep increasing the cost.
Posted 11 months ago
Hey there, Thanks for your candid feedback, we appreciate that. Just to clarify, though, our prices haven't changed; in fact, they have been pretty much the same while the value of the membership itself has significantly increased over those years and not comparable. We now offer 10GB of Free Smush CDN Bandwidth, 10GB of Free, Secure cloud storage for backups, several new products, The new Hub, Managed Hosting (you even get $30 Free Hosting credits per month, which is like getting $360 bonus each year) and much more. The yearly plan back in 2015 (and even before that!) was $588, which is the equivalent amount you would pay right now too. The reason why you see that price difference is that you had an exclusive deal, and you needed to maintain your membership active in order to be grandfathered on that plan. You've also received several email notifications (6 in total) that warned you about the failed payments within around a span of 20 days, while you still had access to updates and downloads too. In any case, we do understand that not everyone has the same needs or requirements when it comes to the features that they get from premium membership, and we do hope that we will be able to fill in that gap as much as we can by offering more options down the line. Thank you for taking the time to review our services, and we do hope to see you once more as part of our community!
Posted 11 months ago
I have a love/hate relationship with WPMU DEV. On one hand, they have a good offering but one of the main features I need and love is the automated updates. But that requires Snapshot. Snapshot has given me a problem on every single website I have ever installed it on. I have been using Duplicator Pro for over 3 years now and have never, not once had a problem. Not sure what it is about Snapshot that uses so many resources (they always tell me its a resource issue - but as I have mentioned use Duplicator Pro successfully on all of the websites). The biggest bummer is if you have an offering that is a set it and forget it, you'll need to rethink it if you use Snapshot. I've had websites working fine... no changes to anything and then randomly stopped backing up. Thus no automation. Forminator is really simple and easy to use. I have mixed emotions about Hustle. I've been using Thrive Leads for a long time and Hustle is not nearly as easy as Thrive's product but it is decent and it's included in the price of membership. Hummingbird and Defender work as expected. Usually have good results with Smush. So Forminator, Hummingbird & Defender are good. Smush & Hustle are decent. Snapshot is too unpredictable thus making the automation unreliable. Thus my love/hate relationship. I think I just need to bite the bullet and get another product that has more reliable backup/automation. Also, their support, while friendly and knowledgeable, always asks me the same questions and I waste time having to answer the same things from all of the same support issues (Snapshot & The Hub Automation). Since it's all done via email, it can sometimes weeks to resolve an issue which is unacceptable for my clients. I used to do websites full time, but now it's my side hustle. I think their product is good if you do it full time and can go back and forth with their support via email in a timely manner, but when you only have a day or two to work on something, it will take you weeks to resolve any issue with support.
Posted 2 years ago
Hey there! Thanks for taking the time to leave your constructive feedback. We're sorry for the inconvenience caused by Snapshot in conjunction with our Automate service. We understand your point here and mixed feelings caused by this 😔. We will further discuss this internally with the rest of our team and developers. The mechanisms behind Snapshot plugin may exhaust server resources in some cases, such as with shared hosting environments or when dealing with 'large' websites. We do consider in refactoring Snapshot from the ground up in the future, to make it more reliable in those scenarios. In regards to our support, our Forums is where more complex issues are usually handled when things cannot be identified or debugged through our Live Chat. This can end up taking more time than expected as our SLS team or Developers may have to be involved in the process. That, of course, is not an excuse but more of an explanation why tickets may take more time than expected to be resolved due to the several processes involved. We will review this internally as well to find more efficient ways in handling such complex cases, as we all know how pressuring things can be with deadlines and issues that require immediate attention. As a side note, our Automate service works differently for websites on our hosting. It uses the built-in incremental backup system which is set up on a server level, thus not having a noticeable impact on resources or storage used. As a member, you already get 3 Free sites hosted with us, and we'd love you to give it a try and share your feedback, on things that you liked, disliked or would like to improve. Thank you once more for your candid feedback!
Posted 2 years ago
I have been a member of WPMU since 2014. This party offers a beautiful set of plug-ins, which we regularly use. Although the plug-in is fantastic, we have mixed feelings about the support. The chat is good. You are helped quickly and they really do their best. However, when the second-line support is involved, a long wait usually occurs. Very annoying for us and our customers. In recent months we have regularly had problems with Appointment +. Given the stability of the plug-in, I would not recommend this. Hummingbird and Smush Pro are fantastic. Hopefully WPMU can deploy additional developers for second-line support.
Posted 2 years ago
First off, thanks so much for being a loyal member. We're sorry to hear about those delays though. We' have alerted our experts and will soon follow up to your ticket. We've received an influx of tickets recently, so we're hiring more staff to cope with the increased workload and our response times on forums will soon stabilize once more. We do hope to turn your recent experience into a 5-star, and thanks once more for your candid feedback.
Posted 2 years ago
I see the improovment on the speed, but would have liked a backup of my original size pictures. In addition when looking at the website the images would not show. I had to open each post and save it, after that the image worked again. Not an overall great first experience.
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Marcel, Thanks for the feedback, sorry for the confusion here! Smush Pro allows you to maintain a backup of your original uploaded files. You just need to enable this option through plugin's settings as shown here: https://bit.ly/2GwsCPi Also, what you're reporting about images not showing up, that would be just cache on your website. So you could simply clear the cache without the need to go through each post. Should you need any further assistance, our support team will be right by your side! Thank you once more for the feedback.
Posted 2 years ago
Cool
Posted 2 years ago
WPMU DEV is rated 4.93 based on 1,586 reviews