Direct Line Reviews

2.07 Rating 101 Reviews
27 %
of reviewers recommend Direct Line
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email

Write Your review

Tell us how Direct Line made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Absolute rip off merchant!! Every insurance I’ve had with them, car, pet and home they’ve scammed be out of an extra months money!! They always have a reason or excuse!! Will never use them again!!
Posted 20 hours ago
Do not be fooled to purchase a van… Do not be fooled to purchase a van insurance from them, they are thieves if it haven’t happens to get involved in an accident that is not your fault and you getting bankruptcy do to the damages that was not you fault, they want help you at all. My policy 700756811 and the accident was on 17th of June 2021 a stolen car getting followed by the police, hit a car in front and then hits my car. When I called direct line they don’t care, they simply take the money nice adverts promise the world and in the end you get thrown in the bin, if you ever needed a help from them
Posted 23 hours ago
CHANGED MY CAR ON 9 JUNE 2021. TRIED TO DO A CHANGE OF CAR ON DIRECT LINE WEB SITE. AS THE NEW CAR WAS ONLY REGISTERED ON THE MORING OF 9 JUNE WAS UNABLE TO SO RANG THE NUMBER ON THE WEB SITE AND SPOKE TO ELLIOT HOW HAD THE SAME PROBLEM AS IT WAS NOT SHOWING ON THE DVLA WEB SITE AND SAID HE WOULD HAVE TO RING THE UNDERWRITERS. ASKED IF HE COULD CALL ME BACK WHEN HE NEW WHAT THE COST WOULD BE. ELLIOT RANG BACK WITHIN 5 MINS WITH A FIGURE TO CHANGE MY POLICY FROM CURRENT CAR TO THE NEW CAR WHICH WAS FAR LOWER THAN I EXPECTED. VERY GOOD CUSTOMER SERVICE FROM START TO FINISH.
Posted 1 week ago
I am surprised by all these negative reviews. Direct Line were amazing last year when I had make two claims on our pet insurance and one on our home insurance (it was a bad year!). They paid out with no hassle at all and I would not hesitate to use them again or to recommend them.
Posted 1 week ago
FRAUD. I have incontrovertible evidence that Direct line have committed fraud by devaluing a claim. In a response to a complaint dated the 30th of April I was offered a sum of money in full and final settlement of a claim, Direct line were at all times aware that further damage had been reported by me and their own contractors polygon, Direct Line have refused to acknowledge this damage, and refused information under subject access. The fact they have deliberately, knowingly and wilfully devalued the claim is contrary to the fraud act 2006 (section 2) 1) A person is in breach of this section if he— (a) dishonestly makes a false representation, and (b) intends, by making the representation— (i) to make a gain for himself or another, or (ii) to cause loss to another or to expose another to a risk of loss.
Posted 2 weeks ago
I was super satisfied with the company's services at least when I had an accident and it was not my fault but that of the motorcyclist but in the end I came out guilty of the accident but I was very satisfied with their services I give them 5 stars for quality !
Posted 3 weeks ago
Direct Line Home Insurance Plus Plus !! My drainage system ceased to function due to exteneive visible tree root ingress. The first survey from THEIR appointed expert surveyor said valid d claim. Two weeks later they sent another surveyor who said no valid claim... Guess what....refused to honour claim. Took six weeks to get a copy of the first claim. Their loss adjuster was one of the most devious and dishonest . Her initial pasting of the first report left out the conclusion "valid claim"....unbelievable. DL' s CEO found she had done nothing wrong...some corporate culture .... AVOID AVOID.
Posted 4 weeks ago
I’ve been with Direct Line car insurance for 10 years but with an increase of nearly £50 I decided to look around I went on confused. Com and got Saga for half the price I’ve never had any trouble with D.L but certainly like the saving
Posted 1 month ago
stay well clear of this company they are SHOCKING
Posted 1 month ago
You can never get to talk to anyone at direct line, I would not use this company to insure anything. Once they have your money that all they are interested in. Try AA or Admiral.
Posted 1 month ago
Your location Direct Line 14-18 Cadogan St, Glasgow G2 6QN Insurance agency Big Al 45 points 4 minutes ago My car was scratched when I was having a meal. I asked "DIRECT LINE" for advice and they said I would be cheaper repairing it myself. I just renewed my insurance and my price has increased by £220 as "DIRECT LINE" said I made a claim! No I didn't I repaired it myself out my own bank. "BOYCOTT DIRECT LINE" I am going to continually post this on all review sites I can find. "DIRECT LINE" crooks don't go near: Professionalism, Quality, Responsiveness, Value My car was scratched when I was having a meal. I asked "DIRECT LINE" for advice and they said I would be cheaper repairing it myself. I just renewed my insurance and my price has increased by £220 as "DIRECT LINE" said I made a claim! No I didn't I repaired it myself out my own bank. "BOYCOTT DIRECT LINE" I am going to continually post this on all review sites I can find. "DIRECT LINE" crooks don't go near 1 : Professionalism, Quality, Responsiveness, Value My car was scratched when I was having a meal. I asked "DIRECT LINE" for advice and they said I would be cheaper repairing it myself. I just renewed my insurance and my price has increased by £220 as "DIRECT LINE" said I made a claim! No I didn't I repaired it myself out my own bank. "BOYCOTT DIRECT LINE" I am going to continually post this on all review sites I can find. "DIRECT LINE" crooks don't go near 1
Posted 2 months ago
Great service from them as usual, competitive quote and good customer service
Posted 2 months ago
Direct Line insured my builder who negligently destroyed my house. DL refused to speak to us for 6 months while they tried to find a way not to pay this large claim. They sent us an email telling us not to make fraudulent claims. Then after 6 months they sent us another email saying they had cancelled the builder’s insurance, which he had being paying for, and refused to tell us why. Apparently he had a couple of ccjs for parking tickets which he did not know about. I am now £250,000 out of pocket! Absolute heartless crooks in my view. Would never go near them again!!!!
Posted 3 months ago
Avoid at all costs. Dishonest and unreliable. I have now been stuck in a loop for 3 months trying to claim for valid medical expenses whilst abroad. They never call back, even when promised. I spent £800+ on insurance with them, hoping for a provider that I could trust. This is NOT the case. They will look for ANY reason to turn it down, even if their staff admit it's unfair. DO NOT BUY. Go elsewhere - you'll only know when you try and claim how dishonest Direct Line are.
Posted 3 months ago
I called to cancel renewal, this was obviously not acted on. I then received letters telling me that I owed money. I then went on site to talk to “virtual “ agent who is clearly programmed. It just advised I call CS which 🤔 I had done!! Hopeless
Posted 4 months ago
One of direct line tricks Cell you policy And then send you letter one week later saying sorry we count cover this that and 1 or 2 other things .onec you paid for your policy they got your money I would never trust them again
Posted 4 months ago
If you want life insuance with this compnay make sure you dont have a disability. I tried to get £100000 cover to ensure that my baby daughter's future was secure if god forbid I was to die before she was 18 and becasue I have epilepsy they refused to give me cover. So much for equal oppertunities and non discriminate.
Posted 4 months ago
Moved to Direct Line from a previous provider of some 15 years, as looked like a good deal -UNTIL called upon to step up! I suffered a boiler breakdown 2 days ago, just as temperatures began to dip into -0c overnight again. Read my home insurance policy to confirm that I was covered for: - • any controls forming part of the boiler • the programmer, central heating pump, hot water cylinder, room thermostat and radiators. Great I thought, so I called the claim line - to be advised that Direct Line only provide cover for certain boiler types, ie, Gas Boilers - and that cover does not extend to Oil Fired Boilers - OK (found this in the cover booklet). BUT, what has really annoyed me is that the part that failed on my Oil Fired Boiler (the Programmer), is exactly the same part that is fitted to the Gas version of this model of boiler!! Absolutely no room for discussion - just a straightforward, sorry, but tough! Up for renewal next month, and will certainly not be hanging around!
Posted 5 months ago
would not bother with this company ,told them of ridge tiles and slates broken and missing ,after a storm last year was told its ,wear and tear ,the usual excuses , not one bit interested ,seems your covered for virtual very little , before i explained what had happened he said sorry not covered , you've been warned
Posted 5 months ago
Where do I start! Stay clear. After 18 years of no claims or accidents, I thought paying extra for a what I thought was reputable insurer would see me well covered in emergency. I have been mislead the whole way. 1. I paid for hire cover plus to make sure that we had equivalent vehicle to carry on working as business cover. Notified them must have towbar for enterprise to say they don't offer that and direct line would have to put a note on account for them to out source it so had to put up with a van instead of a pickup. 2. Constant trouble trying to get through to the engineer valuating it to which end finally found out he put through the valuation without our consent so have had no say in it. The money was put into our account therefore resulting in enterprise removing the hire car service. 3. I wanted to use the replacement vehicle service they advertised which was one of the reasons I went with them to find out that they just pass your details to a sales company but the vehicle must be under 7 years old and 70,000 miles so had no chance of using this service as replacement. Of course its all hidden in the small print. 3. Was told the valuation dispute would be looked at by an indepent association and would receive a call at beginning of last week to get a call today from again a direct line inspector after chasing again over 1 week late. They have valuated the market value at rock bottom. Due to what they class as extensive damage at rear, we are talking about a few debts mainly on tailgate so most would be resolved by a new tailgate which wouldn't take of thousands. I am being told that will now have to take to financial ombudsman. We have seen the looking glass valuation at around £5,500 so to knock of £2000 for a few small dents is rediculous and know have to waste loads more of my time. Older module with higher mileage are going for £5000 in this area. We have seen no evidence for the valuation and had no say at all. I have 9 years no claims paid over £700 for insurance and £500 excess to get £3000 ontop of having to put extra money into buying a new vehicle. No consideration taken either that we are in a lock down and you are not allowed private car sales at the moment or to travel distance so forced to used a sales company instantly putting the price up. What is the point of paying over £200 extra for the top brand insurer if they have say so to pay out what they want. Will just be going with cheaper company from now on and Direct line you will be loosing 4 of our policies with you permently. Disgraceful service. I noticed that a lot of the higher reviews havnt had to actually use the service so I'm sure there review would change if they did claim. They say you know what a company is like when you have issues. Well I know that Direct Line are unbelievable. Fuming is an understatement. Be warned.
Posted 5 months ago
Direct Line is rated 2.07 based on 101 reviews