Direct Line Reviews

2.09 Rating 103 Reviews
27 %
of reviewers recommend Direct Line
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email

Write Your review

Tell us how Direct Line made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Absolute piece of rubbish company. Seriously quit the hyped up ads. I had cancelled car insurance on my 2nd car with a different insurance company and so these idiots decided I cannot continue to be insured with them on my 1st car (existing insurance) because they saw I had cancelled insurance elsewhere which has nothing to do with them or the vehicle that was insured with them. Stay away from these people.. don’t let the ads suck you in !
Posted 1 week ago
Always helpful and very easy to deal with. This applies when making a claim not just when they taking your money! Not the cheapest but worth the premium in my view.
Posted 2 weeks ago
Absolute rip off merchant!! Every insurance I’ve had with them, car, pet and home they’ve scammed be out of an extra months money!! They always have a reason or excuse!! Will never use them again!!
Posted 1 month ago
Do not be fooled to purchase a van… Do not be fooled to purchase a van insurance from them, they are thieves if it haven’t happens to get involved in an accident that is not your fault and you getting bankruptcy do to the damages that was not you fault, they want help you at all. My policy 700756811 and the accident was on 17th of June 2021 a stolen car getting followed by the police, hit a car in front and then hits my car. When I called direct line they don’t care, they simply take the money nice adverts promise the world and in the end you get thrown in the bin, if you ever needed a help from them
Posted 1 month ago
CHANGED MY CAR ON 9 JUNE 2021. TRIED TO DO A CHANGE OF CAR ON DIRECT LINE WEB SITE. AS THE NEW CAR WAS ONLY REGISTERED ON THE MORING OF 9 JUNE WAS UNABLE TO SO RANG THE NUMBER ON THE WEB SITE AND SPOKE TO ELLIOT HOW HAD THE SAME PROBLEM AS IT WAS NOT SHOWING ON THE DVLA WEB SITE AND SAID HE WOULD HAVE TO RING THE UNDERWRITERS. ASKED IF HE COULD CALL ME BACK WHEN HE NEW WHAT THE COST WOULD BE. ELLIOT RANG BACK WITHIN 5 MINS WITH A FIGURE TO CHANGE MY POLICY FROM CURRENT CAR TO THE NEW CAR WHICH WAS FAR LOWER THAN I EXPECTED. VERY GOOD CUSTOMER SERVICE FROM START TO FINISH.
Posted 1 month ago
I am surprised by all these negative reviews. Direct Line were amazing last year when I had make two claims on our pet insurance and one on our home insurance (it was a bad year!). They paid out with no hassle at all and I would not hesitate to use them again or to recommend them.
Posted 1 month ago
FRAUD. I have incontrovertible evidence that Direct line have committed fraud by devaluing a claim. In a response to a complaint dated the 30th of April I was offered a sum of money in full and final settlement of a claim, Direct line were at all times aware that further damage had been reported by me and their own contractors polygon, Direct Line have refused to acknowledge this damage, and refused information under subject access. The fact they have deliberately, knowingly and wilfully devalued the claim is contrary to the fraud act 2006 (section 2) 1) A person is in breach of this section if he— (a) dishonestly makes a false representation, and (b) intends, by making the representation— (i) to make a gain for himself or another, or (ii) to cause loss to another or to expose another to a risk of loss.
Posted 1 month ago
I was super satisfied with the company's services at least when I had an accident and it was not my fault but that of the motorcyclist but in the end I came out guilty of the accident but I was very satisfied with their services I give them 5 stars for quality !
Posted 1 month ago
Direct Line Home Insurance Plus Plus !! My drainage system ceased to function due to exteneive visible tree root ingress. The first survey from THEIR appointed expert surveyor said valid d claim. Two weeks later they sent another surveyor who said no valid claim... Guess what....refused to honour claim. Took six weeks to get a copy of the first claim. Their loss adjuster was one of the most devious and dishonest . Her initial pasting of the first report left out the conclusion "valid claim"....unbelievable. DL' s CEO found she had done nothing wrong...some corporate culture .... AVOID AVOID.
Posted 1 month ago
I’ve been with Direct Line car insurance for 10 years but with an increase of nearly £50 I decided to look around I went on confused. Com and got Saga for half the price I’ve never had any trouble with D.L but certainly like the saving
Posted 2 months ago
stay well clear of this company they are SHOCKING
Posted 2 months ago
You can never get to talk to anyone at direct line, I would not use this company to insure anything. Once they have your money that all they are interested in. Try AA or Admiral.
Posted 2 months ago
Your location Direct Line 14-18 Cadogan St, Glasgow G2 6QN Insurance agency Big Al 45 points 4 minutes ago My car was scratched when I was having a meal. I asked "DIRECT LINE" for advice and they said I would be cheaper repairing it myself. I just renewed my insurance and my price has increased by £220 as "DIRECT LINE" said I made a claim! No I didn't I repaired it myself out my own bank. "BOYCOTT DIRECT LINE" I am going to continually post this on all review sites I can find. "DIRECT LINE" crooks don't go near: Professionalism, Quality, Responsiveness, Value My car was scratched when I was having a meal. I asked "DIRECT LINE" for advice and they said I would be cheaper repairing it myself. I just renewed my insurance and my price has increased by £220 as "DIRECT LINE" said I made a claim! No I didn't I repaired it myself out my own bank. "BOYCOTT DIRECT LINE" I am going to continually post this on all review sites I can find. "DIRECT LINE" crooks don't go near 1 : Professionalism, Quality, Responsiveness, Value My car was scratched when I was having a meal. I asked "DIRECT LINE" for advice and they said I would be cheaper repairing it myself. I just renewed my insurance and my price has increased by £220 as "DIRECT LINE" said I made a claim! No I didn't I repaired it myself out my own bank. "BOYCOTT DIRECT LINE" I am going to continually post this on all review sites I can find. "DIRECT LINE" crooks don't go near 1
Posted 3 months ago
Great service from them as usual, competitive quote and good customer service
Posted 3 months ago
Direct Line insured my builder who negligently destroyed my house. DL refused to speak to us for 6 months while they tried to find a way not to pay this large claim. They sent us an email telling us not to make fraudulent claims. Then after 6 months they sent us another email saying they had cancelled the builder’s insurance, which he had being paying for, and refused to tell us why. Apparently he had a couple of ccjs for parking tickets which he did not know about. I am now £250,000 out of pocket! Absolute heartless crooks in my view. Would never go near them again!!!!
Posted 4 months ago
Avoid at all costs. Dishonest and unreliable. I have now been stuck in a loop for 3 months trying to claim for valid medical expenses whilst abroad. They never call back, even when promised. I spent £800+ on insurance with them, hoping for a provider that I could trust. This is NOT the case. They will look for ANY reason to turn it down, even if their staff admit it's unfair. DO NOT BUY. Go elsewhere - you'll only know when you try and claim how dishonest Direct Line are.
Posted 4 months ago
I called to cancel renewal, this was obviously not acted on. I then received letters telling me that I owed money. I then went on site to talk to “virtual “ agent who is clearly programmed. It just advised I call CS which 🤔 I had done!! Hopeless
Posted 5 months ago
One of direct line tricks Cell you policy And then send you letter one week later saying sorry we count cover this that and 1 or 2 other things .onec you paid for your policy they got your money I would never trust them again
Posted 5 months ago
If you want life insuance with this compnay make sure you dont have a disability. I tried to get £100000 cover to ensure that my baby daughter's future was secure if god forbid I was to die before she was 18 and becasue I have epilepsy they refused to give me cover. So much for equal oppertunities and non discriminate.
Posted 5 months ago
Moved to Direct Line from a previous provider of some 15 years, as looked like a good deal -UNTIL called upon to step up! I suffered a boiler breakdown 2 days ago, just as temperatures began to dip into -0c overnight again. Read my home insurance policy to confirm that I was covered for: - • any controls forming part of the boiler • the programmer, central heating pump, hot water cylinder, room thermostat and radiators. Great I thought, so I called the claim line - to be advised that Direct Line only provide cover for certain boiler types, ie, Gas Boilers - and that cover does not extend to Oil Fired Boilers - OK (found this in the cover booklet). BUT, what has really annoyed me is that the part that failed on my Oil Fired Boiler (the Programmer), is exactly the same part that is fitted to the Gas version of this model of boiler!! Absolutely no room for discussion - just a straightforward, sorry, but tough! Up for renewal next month, and will certainly not be hanging around!
Posted 6 months ago
Direct Line is rated 2.09 based on 103 reviews