Direct Line Reviews

1.97 Rating 120 Reviews
24 %
of reviewers recommend Direct Line
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email

Write Your review

Tell us how Direct Line made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Direct line telematics car insurance is awful, I have been driving with this car insurance for a year and I realised, doesn't matter where I drive all the roads are dangerous therefore affecting my score, furthermore any time I would be driving was considered to be dangerous and guess what, it was also affecting my score. At the end of the year they increased the price by x3 and I had to give up on this absolute abomination of a company. Now lets forget about the telematics for a second, the customer service was awful, I had a claim and I was bullied by the company, they didn't even bother investigate the matter and just shouted at me for trying to explain the situation and why I was making the claim, really ignorant and sad people. I hope none of you will ever deal with this company, it is not worth your nerves and time, just look for something else, perhaps more expensive but at least you know that you will be treated as a human being.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 hours ago
Unfortunately Idont like to give this feedback but I have breakdown from 2pm until 5.30 and I called many time and nobody come to collect my car altough i pay 167 monthly incluse breakdown cover i with my wife and children are in the car more than t hours, i hope to sorte my car and I change my insurance company definitly.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
I really cant understand how directline advertise on tv as doing the best deals???? Im 53 years of age, got full no claims, no points or penalties,full uk licence. never made a claim drive a 13 year old people carrier and the want £600 of me, where companies i have never even heard of can more or less half that. Surely this is false advertising???
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Just had a WhatsApp conversation with a Direct Line operator. The service was limited and unhelpful. Even simple questions about a potential claim questions were answered with largely unhelpful generic responses. The phrase "As I have already explained..." was used in one reply, indicating weariness or perhaps even boredom on the part of the operator. I know just as much as I did when the conversation started at 14.14. It is now 14.35. A poor outcome.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
I had a terrible experience with directline. My car lost control on motorway slip road car was damaged. I got in contact with directline Told them about the accident. recovery came out took my car. Basically that was the last I heard from directline. Had to spend the night 300 miles away in a bus shelter. What the lady didn't tell me when i reported the accident at 4pm wasbDirectline office close at 5pm what she did tell me was no hire car till Monday. No hotel provided Basically left me in the middle of Glasgow. On Wednesday I had some cocky kid who said he was a engineer from directline. Telling me my cars worth penny on the pound. Basically made out like I had no other choice but to except it. Then I check onlinebonly to find out ive been ripped off. Worst still now they refusing to return my car and property. I had to leave. Got a reply back from directline they didn't care and still refusing to give my car back. Il add the full letter up at some point show everyone what they really think of there customer. Update they paid me 2650 for a car valued at 3200. Then charged me a extra 150 ontop of the 232 I already paid. For my car. The engineer I spoke to was rude. Taking advantage of customer. Like a dodgy car trader. Directline should be ashamed of its self. Imagen all the old people they take advantage 
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Have had car insurance with them for 7 years no claims no accidents no convictions no Penalty points lived in the same area of the U.K. only differences is I am one year older. Car insurance has come down a lot due to COVID and working from home reduced mileage approximately 16% premiums have reduced, but not mine 10 years no claims bonus and they want to increase my premiums by 22% add that to the 16% in reality it is a 38% increase that’s what you get for loyalty, well done DL I won’t be continuing with your company.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I was with Direct Line for Buildings Insurance they are really expensive and don't take into account whether you have not made a claim with them. For example I had not made a claim with them for over six years yet they kept putting the policy up. Be careful if you are thinking about Insurance from them. Also watch out for their excess clauses. They advertise at the expense of customers steer clear.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Waiting for the asesor to look at my work van so I can get back to work. Carnt call him the company Carnt call him I'm stuck here at the garage 4 hrs now. would be better if the can give you a time. Or at least am or pm. don't use this company ... I've grown a beard waiting for this guy.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
After being with Direct Line for 9 years they sent me a renewal price of £584. I obtained the same cover from another company for £224. They are ripping off their customers. Beware!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Suicide causers, People are in jail for less. A license to thieve
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Absolutely appalling. Web portal doesn't register claims despite sending confirmation text. Impossible to speak to people on the phone, just being kept on hold for literally hours. Stay well away. Just about to cancel my policy. They are THAT BAD!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
My wife and I had been with Direct line for our car insurance for 9 years. We revived our renewal quotes some 3 weeks before expiry. The quotes invited me to telephone to renew.( I am not IT competent) I tried 3 times but gave up when the clock reached 40 minutes. I tried again the following day but experienced the same issue. I went to another provider and saved £230 in the process. I wrote a letter of complaint to their HO and received a response off the crib sheet that I would get a full response in 3 days. The full response was 2 lines long advising me to telephone them to discuss. I phoned and got through to someone after 26 minutes. The gentlemen to whom I spoke confirmed that he wanted to renew the policies. You couldn’t make it up. Absolutely appalling.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Big policy increase. So Cancelled Automatic renew. Still received letter saying will renew. Had to cancel debit card to stop payment… Not good enough!!!!! Right arm doesn’t know what left arm is doing.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Poor service!! A shopping trolley/cage hit my car back in March and its taken until now to get any where. No contact at all from direct line, constant phone calls to them, on hold for hours and poor customer service left me doing all the leg work.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Bought landlord insurance via Confused.com. Excellent product for a fair price
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
PURE GREED !!!! I’ve been with direct line for years and never had a claim on my home insurance, I changed address from a 2 bed flat to a 3 bed house (same postcode) only to see my monthly premium was £56. I went online and got a year’s building and contents insurance with Rias for under £80. I contacted direct line to cancel my policy to be informed it would cost me £72 to cancel the policy , nearly the whole of my years insurance with rias , disgusting greed that is uncalled for.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Zero Ratings for Direct Line..Avoid This Insurance Company At All Cost. Experience another Escape Of Water during October (winter) Adverse Weather Conditions Which Affected the Old radiator pipes inside my home water flooded down from upstairs into the electrical wires switching off the electricity in the kitchen This Also affected the Boiler. No Heating. No Electricity making the kitchen Unsafe to use during the Pandemic. Direct line refuse to send Polygon refused to validate my claim instead...I was contacted by DL ( See You In Five) Syi5. Direct Line Personal Loss Adviser I was left with no kitchen, various calls from D L worker This Company appears to have a very clear strategy to delay and fustrate any claims. I have been waiting for nearly a year. Worse Insurance Company . Avoid Direct Line
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Absolute piece of rubbish company. Seriously quit the hyped up ads. I had cancelled car insurance on my 2nd car with a different insurance company and so these idiots decided I cannot continue to be insured with them on my 1st car (existing insurance) because they saw I had cancelled insurance elsewhere which has nothing to do with them or the vehicle that was insured with them. Stay away from these people.. don’t let the ads suck you in !
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Always helpful and very easy to deal with. This applies when making a claim not just when they taking your money! Not the cheapest but worth the premium in my view.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Absolute rip off merchant!! Every insurance I’ve had with them, car, pet and home they’ve scammed be out of an extra months money!! They always have a reason or excuse!! Will never use them again!!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Direct Line is rated 1.97 based on 120 reviews