Etsy Reviews

2.3 Rating 564 Reviews
31 %
of reviewers recommend Etsy
2.3
Based on 564 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service, Courier
Average Delivery Time
Over 7 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 44%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 87%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Live Chat, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.3 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Etsy made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Etsy blatantly allow buyer fraud where a competitor sets themselves up as a buyer then buys a digital product says its the wrong file format and immediately leaves a one star review to knock you down a peg or two. It is dirty trading and Etsy needs to stop it. They have no remedy process other than canned response a child could write and even if you refund and cancel after the review Etsy still allow a negative review to stay which is a breach of contract as the contract between you and the buyer has been voided. Sellers need to start causing Etsy serious court court compensation payouts hurt their pockets like they do to us! Make a $20 product dispute turn into $100K costs for Etsy someone at the top will soon stop this blatant disciminatory nonsense then.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
I received an incorrect chocolate bouquet from a seller in Maryland who is all about making chocolate/candy bouquets. I ordered a Reese's chocolate bouquet "explosion" and was incorrectly sent a candy "explosion". I left a 1-star review explaining the situation. Leaving a review is standard in most other industries to get things corrected. Instead, the seller got ahold of my personal email and said "I wish you had reached out before leaving us a 1-star review. We will ship a new bouquet on Monday to arrive Wednesday. If you could update your review once you receive this new bouquet, we would very much appreciate it". By the time this replacement bouquet reached my location, the occasion would have passed. Therefore, I declined. The seller was also trying to perform review manipulation, which is against Etsy policy. The seller should have refunded my money immediately but did not. I wanted to report this misbehavior. Not only was Etsy's customer service number deactivated, but I could also not start a case independent of the seller. I should be able to reach out to Etsy privately and separately instead of having to go through the seller again. Seller was petty, rude, and unprofessional. The last thing I wanted to do was reach back out to see if they refunded my order. Buyers have as much, if not more agency than sellers. Etsy fails to see that. Etsy has thousands of shop owners (which are not regulated) and you need to have a proper method of escalating issues. Making incorrect or low-quality orders right should not be in the hand of sellers who value dollars over their customers.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Bought plants from India and have yet to receive them. Have sent messages to the seller, but no response. I've been scammed.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
FormedandForged is my etsy shop name. I'm a star seller. I've had some low reviews where the customers 100% lied, extorted, in attempts to get free things. I always offer return for refund for any reason as I believe in treating people compassionately. Scammers have been horrible. International scammers even worse. I always ship with insurance and tracking, and help buyers if something goes wrong. Etsy has not protected me as a seller from these scammers or the false reviews even when I show proof of lying and extortion is happening. Etsy forgets that the seller is also a customer. The policy they say they have to protect sellers they don't enforce so you cant trust them. Unfair rating system. Additional note, the key words on your paid etsy ads are always "optimizing" they call it, adding keywords to help spend your ad budget which turns out to be in not relevant keywords. For example I'm selling a necklace- they eat up my ad budget saying they are optimizing my listing by charging me for keywords ads using words like "realestate, cactus, journal" and so on. None of the keywords relate to my item even remotely. Any company doing this would be fired in the real world. I turn those keywords off, and at any time they add a bunch of other "optimized" non relevant keywords onto your product. You are never notified when they do this and your ad spend gets eaten up on totally irrelevant key words which also drops your click through rate. So you have to check several times a day. The changes you make to remove these "optimized adwords" (not optimized keywords) takes up to 48 hours to update the removal so enjoy paying for ads you don't need and wont. create a sale. You can not turn this "service' off. The spike of irrelevant words raises considerable before "quarterly earning report" goes out so they could be inflating etsy income on the backs of screwing sellers. I could go on and on but you get the idea. Thumbs down, I'm working on my exit.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
How could you allow a commercial on tv in which the word jewelry is pronounced jewlary. Not a good look!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Still not received our item L.Y.I.N.G. F.U.C.K.I.N.G. M.O.N.G.O.L.S. I HAVE LEFT 5 REVIEWS AND STILL NO GOODS S.L.U.T.S. ON THE END OF THE PHONE SHOULD BE TOLD TO PUT THEPHONE TO THERE LIPS NOT BETWEEN THE LEGS AND BECALLED ONE MORE COMING ON SCUM THATS WHY THEY WORK THE STREET'S ONLY GOOD FOR IT
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Awful experience. When you contact Etsy support they are just he generated messages and extremely unhelpful
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
I was given a run around about how to resolve an issue. I kept following instructions only to be given more. Then I was told she wasn't going to honor my request. I became angry and said they have been giving me the runaround telling me all these steps to take, and now won't honor my request. I shouldn't have said "screw you", but I just lost it after being told that she'll be able to do it then her saying she won't. This person named Meredith just sent me an email saying that I am and have been a mean person from the beginning, which isn't true, and to consider that next time when I want someone to help me, and to stop sending her emails. I was very civil stating my issue and what I needed. She wouldn't like going through what I had gone through.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
I would give no stars if that was possible. I have recently started getting into making some little trinkets as gifts and someone suggested i sell on Etsy - so i decided to set up a shop. Before i had even received an email to verify my details they suspended it for 'appearing fraudulent'. - i'm trying to sell handmade cake stands and already have an account with them, so they have all my details. Anyway, after a brief conversation with "customer service" who kept telling me that I had already opened the email they had not sent me, I finally actually got the email and followed the instructions to verify my email account and bank details. They then said they needed to verify my bank further by taking a small amount and immediately re-crediting it - and said this money would not actually leave my account. Usually this is an amount of £1 - they took £23.50. It did leave my account. They then said they would send me a request to return the money - and took a further £23.50. They then said "their mistake because they didn't realise what country my bank was in" and to accept another push notification to return both sets of funds. The next request asked for another £23.50 - obviously i refused to accept this as they are now just emptying my account. The technical support advisor accused me of being unco-operative and "drunk" for refusing this and that they are "the most senior because they are the best at their job" and the only person higher than them to talk to would be the CEO. If this is the best technical person they have then there's a serious problem. The way I have been spoken to is disgusting, and they are refusing to send my money back - I also still don't have a selling account. This is 100% an AWFUL experience and their support is SO BAD that getting it rectified looks to be impossible. So essentially, Etsy robbed me today. WHAT A SCAM.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I’ve been an Etsy seller for over a year now. Yesterday, I found out that my account was suspended without an explanation. I’ve put so much time and effort into my store and building my business from the ground up and suddenly I wake up and it’s all gone, without an explanation. This is absolutely heartbreaking and I deserve an apology and an explanation. Etsy have removed all contact information from their sites and shut down their customer service lines. There is no longer any support for buyers or sellers using Etsy. This is an unethical way of conducting business and I will be pursuing legal action.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
In my recent experience, Etsy allowed a seller to ELECT to not fulfill an Order and then has refused a refund and told me I had to work with the seller. I sent over screenshots of the seller swearing, threatening their life and saying they would be homeless and Etsy keeps telling me to work with them. How is that effective customer service? Let your consumer be harassed until they give up? To this date Etsy has not stopped them from sending hateful communication, refunded me, or shut down the shop.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Closed account with no reason, emailed me saying had a reason. Never gave me one, did nothing to violate their bs. They have no phone, reps email when they get around to it. They waste alot of time on setup shop. Ignorant support staff. Better off selling on the street.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Esty vendors are very unprofessional. Esty management doesn't have any control of them. My order #5552939674 has been delivering for 40+ days. Vendor just says, address issue, DHL is about to pick up etc. Very bad service.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Very disappointed in Etsy Canada for selling real fur decor, i.e. real rabbit fur throws, blankets and pillow covers. Many faux fur options now without promoting animal cruelty.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Etsy are quick to take your money. Delivery and dispatch dates on Etsy are NOT accurate. Once you pay, you get no acknowledgement from suppliers. Etsy will not allow you to leave a review unless the item is delivered despite the dispatch dates not being acurate and despite their sellers not acknowledging the order. The seller does NOT respond to messages and their is no way to contact Etsy. Their system does NOT protect the buyer at all and it is impossible to reach Etsy. I will never use Etsy again.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Etsy feels almost surreal, as it encapsulates a journey that went from excitement and dedication to sheer disappointment and frustration. Pouring over 200 hours into designing and branding my shop, only to have it banned without any apparent reason, has left me bewildered and disheartened. Etsy was supposed to be the platform that celebrated creativity and entrepreneurship, but the abrupt suspension without a clear explanation has shattered that perception. The absence of transparency from Etsy's end regarding the ban has not only affected my creative endeavors but has also raised concerns about the fairness of their moderation process. This unexplained halt not only represents a loss of time and effort but also questions the trustworthiness of the platform. As I attempt to leave this review, I find myself grappling with the irony of how a platform built on the creativity of its sellers can be so opaque and seemingly arbitrary in its decision-making process. I hope that by sharing my experience, Etsy will reflect on its policies and communication strategies, ensuring that other dedicated sellers don't find themselves in a similar state of uncertainty and dismay. This disheartening experience has left me with a profound sense of disillusionment, and regrettably, it has led me to the conclusion that I can no longer place my trust in Etsy. The lack of communication and seemingly arbitrary decision-making have eroded the foundation of what should be a symbiotic relationship between a platform and its sellers. As a result, I have made the difficult decision to sever ties with Etsy altogether. I cannot, in good faith, continue to invest my time, creativity, and resources into a platform that not only failed to support me when it mattered but also left me in the dark regarding the fate of my shop. While it's disappointing to close this chapter, it is a necessary step to safeguard my creative endeavors and seek out platforms that prioritize transparency and fairness in their interactions with sellers. Adding to the cascade of frustrations, the financial aspect of this ordeal only deepens the sense of injustice. Prior to the suspension, I had paid for two listings, a modest investment totaling 0.64 cents Canadian, to ensure visibility for my products on Etsy over the next four months. However, with the sudden suspension of my shop, these listings were rendered useless. Now, with my shop no longer accessible and the services I paid for essentially voided, I am left wondering if there is any recourse for a refund. It seems particularly unfair to be out of both creative investment and financial resources due to circumstances beyond my control. The hope is that Etsy, in recognizing the unjust nature of the situation, would consider reimbursing the fees associated with the suspended listings, providing a semblance of fairness amidst this unfortunate turn of events.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME. They'll suspend your store/account without any sort of communication or notice. Once your account is suspened, it's practically impossible to get in touch with them. The customer service is virtually no existent .
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
My bank flagged my purchase because I've never shopped here and it was a large order, I fixed it, went back to buy then I was unable to purchase anything because 'mY account was suspended ' so I got my friend to try and purchase for me and it was ridiculous how insanely hard it is to JUST BUY SOMETHING! Never again will I attempt to purchase anything from this ridiculous place!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Big scam. If there is an option for negative, I will select that. They charged me on my credit card and the shop is closed. No possibility to receive or get my order. Everything is a joke. No customer support no reply to the email. You can’t call them cause the number is no longer working.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
My account was hacked and had little to no help from Etsy. I was unable to log in due to a 2FA being set up by hackers, I asked for help from Etsy and received irrelevant auto emails from Etsy. Magically the 2FA was removed and I was not informed but I kept trying to change my password over days and finally got in. I was left with fee's after a seller account was created and I appealed to get this removed and was denied. I now cannot delete my account because of the fees which I shouldn't have to pay. I highly recommend avoiding this company as there is little support for sellers/buyers.
Etsy 1 star review on 28th November 2023
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Etsy is rated 2.3 based on 564 reviews