Howdens Reviews

1.9 Rating 143 Reviews
20 %
of reviewers recommend Howdens
1.9
Based on 143 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Own Driver
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email

Write Your review

Tell us how Howdens made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Howdens  1 star review on 14th February 2022
Phoenixbuild
Howdens  1 star review on 14th February 2022
Phoenixbuild
Howdens  1 star review on 14th February 2022
Phoenixbuild
Howdens  1 star review on 22nd February 2021
Anonymous
Howdens  1 star review on 22nd February 2021
Anonymous
Howdens  1 star review on 22nd February 2021
Anonymous
Howdens  1 star review on 22nd February 2021
Anonymous
2
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
poor customer service, two repairs in a year on new washer/dryer and washed their hands of it and told to talk to manufacture , they do not even bother returning calls
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
I experienced bad customer service input after my complaint . Would never deal with them again, despite giving them my custom over past 20 years
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Management have the customer service skills of a fish. Damaged kitchen arrived and had to get replaced. Bunkers at the join of worktop have bubbled and howdens say I am pouring water on the join. Would avoid wren seems better
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
We were ment to buy kitchen from Wren but the cowboy fitter from Dagenham led us to Leyton Howden.Communication was poor because the sales person was unable to understand or talk basic English. She asked me if I can speak punjabi because I am from India but I was not able to. The cowboy measured the kitchen and me and him both gave measurements. Kitchen came with 1m extra on measurements and nothing fits. Fitters were real cowboys without any clue how to rectify. Posted on Facebook but the manager from leyton threatened us by saying the stuff to rectify their mistake won't be delivered unless I remove the post. Bought another lot to rectify the issues and spent another 1k. Post was edited in favour of them because I was desperate. Months of swapping and living in a kitchen which makes me tearful. Never ever deal with howdens again, especially the leyton branch
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Not as grim as other tales here but I needed to buy additional items to match those that a tradesman had fitted. However Howdens refused to sell them to me as I am Joe Public and not a tradesman. They then refused to tell me where the products are sourced. With companies going bust I would have thought they would have been appreciative of the trade. Surely Howdens my cash is as good as that of a trades person ?? I won't be dashing back.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Avoid Howdens London Road High Wycombe. Terrible customer service. Manager’s customer relations non existent! Design not accurate. Lots of kitchen cabinets arrived damaged. So disappointed at how we’ve been treated by them. No apologies, no sympathy at our situation created by their poor design. Expected more from a firm we used successfully a few years before, but will never use again.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
This is not a reflection on the staff in the Windsor branch who are fantastic, however we received a court order to pay a balance after receiving one reminder text to pay. We paid the balance of invoices immediately but they would still like to charge £250 of interest, court fees and solicitors costs! What a terrible way to treat customers.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Want to reduce your wife to tears? Get Phil from the Bamber Bridge branch to sent her a fude and condescending email
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
It is virtually impossible to get faults rectified. Gloss slab doors delaminate after only 2.5 years and the company refuse to deal with the customer direct despite me paying the company directly for the kitchen and not the builder and because the builder told me to pay Howdens direct the builder doesnt want to know.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Wine cooler included on plan agreed with planer (her idea) but not on invoice now refuse to send shocking....avoid
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
AVOID THIS COYBOY COMPANY AT ALL COSTS-having been sold a kitchen at £6300 it now seems they sold me a discontinued set as the doors were not available and i got charged then threatened with court action for items i had not had-i have had lies from the depot the accounts dept and an area manager who is not as good as a chocolate teapot-and we all know what use that is!!!-position now is i have a kitchen with a few doors but howdens now not able to supply the correct number of doors and court threats for non payment for items i do not have!!!!-HOWDENS=CHEATS/CONMEN/LIARS-the story continues.....
Howdens  1 star review on 14th February 2022 Howdens  1 star review on 14th February 2022 Howdens  1 star review on 14th February 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Who knew if you wanted to put plates into your kitchen cupboards you would have to specify that to howdens. Cupboards not deep enough to put in plates, kitchen sink and taps move when you use them as apparently it’s the cheapest sink so you just have to make do, joins on the worktops rough and shoddy, all in all poor quality cheap and nasty products for a very expensive bill....
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Doors are cheap rubbish and main office is a joke
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Stourbridge branch was lacking in any good customer service from the manager, she needs proper lessons in how to treat people properly!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
We got a howdens kitchen oct19 at a cost of 7500 last year cooker hood fan packed in this dec washing machine would not stop filling with water I phoned howdens re getting repaired and was quoted £179 the appliances are very cheap rubbish do not buy a wast of money wullie hodge
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Stretford Branch. Howdens favoured white goods is the Lamona range. Discharge hose is leaking on the Lamona Dishwasher so telephoned the above branch. Once the part was established and in stock with account okayed I told the lady that I would come within the hour. Walked into the branch front sales room with the obligatory loud alert sound when opening the door. Waited...waited. I could hear staff members in an adjoining office. A Male member of staff appeared and seemed surprised to see me. ' How long you been there ' A while. ' What do you want ' I've come to collect a part for a Lamona Dishwasher that was sorted over the telephone with a lady in your office. ' We don't sell parts ' Can you ask you're colleague why I was told the part was available? ' No, and I've already said we don't sell parts. Try B&Q ' What this man didn't know it was my intention to buy One washing machine and Dishwasher to replace the ones we have that are past there best. Replacing the hose was only to keep it going for Christmas. Something has gone desperately wrong if Howdens employ rude non mask wearing ( big signs on the wall )front of sales individuals such as this Male. This experience will never ever allow me to buy from Howdens. CEO get a grip Bad Bad Bad
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Internal "Linear" Door Quality It's not often I leave reviews, only when they're very good or in this case very bad. It's a long read for which I apologise but please read if you intend to purchase "standard doors" with honeycomb construction. I recently purchased 7 internal pre-primed Linear doors at a discounted cost to me of £800. I chose Howdens as a reputable brand name assured me of being supplied with a product of quality and being fit for purpose. However, I am bitterly disappointed with the product both in terms of the quality of materials used in construction and their total inadequacy in their being fit for the purpose intended. I chose the Linear door range specifically due to it's classy design being perfect for our internal decor scheme and the pre-primed option due to needing to paint the doors in a specific colour that Howdens do not offer. Howdens description of "semi-solid construction, it also has a honeycomb core which re-creates the robust feel of solid timber without the premium price tags". This gave me a misguided assurance to place the order in the first place but in hindsight, the description also creates a somewhat misleading concept regarding the actual product supplied being suitable for the purpose of what a door is intended for. Having looked around at various definitions for the actual purpose of internal doors, the most accurate as far as my expectations go is "Internal doors will go a long way to completing the overall look and feel of your home. Their primary role is functional - they divide up spaces and prevent noise travelling around the house". All of the internal doors lead off from a central entrance hallway. These include bedroom doors for each of our teenage girls, our main bathroom and master bedroom. Four of the doors were professionally hung by a qualified joiner before we noticed how bad they were and stopped. What I was subsequently and completely horrified by is the total and sheer amount of noise transference through each and every one of the doors. Quite frankly our teenage girls are too embarrassed to use the bathroom and even though the bedroom doors create a divide that cannot be seen through, they feel that they have no privacy whatsoever due to sound transferrence, which as a teenager is completely unacceptable. The most important rooms in a house for a teenage girl, their bedroom, to them now feel like public shared spaces. So I wrote to Howdens regarding the issues and build quality. I got the standard wash their hands reply "It is our understanding that the noise level requirements were not discussed with the depot prior to purchasing the doors in question. Had this been mentioned then the depot staff would have suggested you go for developer doors to assist with this. Furthermore, our catalogue states to look for an ‘E’ logo when looking for a sound reducing door to help minimise sound travel and to provide a peaceful and quiet environment." In their corporate defence, I get this to some degree but they did not tackle the issue about the "standard" door being fit for purpose and misleading descriptions. God loves a tryer so I replied. I shopped online, a common practice because of COVID, so didn't have the luxury of looking at a catalogue. I'm not a door expert either. Regardless of "E" logo's and "Developer" doors (there is only one type of this in an old style), one would expect a "standard" door to be fit for the very basic purpose intended and even a basic level door should have some level of resistance to sound passage. Believe me when I say you would not have these doors in your house. You may as well just put up a sheet of paper, that's how bad they are. In addition, the website description of the door construction is misleading, "engineered core" would tend to suggest a decent, robust quality door, plus it makes no reference to the product not being suitable for specific areas such as bedrooms or bathrooms where sound privacy is needed, so why would I think that they are not.??? Neither are there any filter options to assist in this respect, so again why would I not think they are not suitable. Howdens reply and position, surprisingly remains unchanged and I still have doors not fit for purpose and the problem of having to re-purchase. I'm only giving it a 1* as I'm getting a refund for the three doors we refused to fit. An expensive mistake........................
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
I cannot state that 1 star is not even worthy for Howdens's kitchens. Utter rubbish, everything including the worktops. Utter rubbish! They were supposed to give us a like for like quote on Wrens. I wish I now went with Wrens
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
When buy the howdens kitchen from buckingham at that time the manager Elise told us that everything perfect but when the kitchen came its not fit to purpose. We also buy the kitchen appliances from the howdens but within a two month the gas hob getting a problem so we book appointment with engineer so engineer came and fix the issue but he can't fix the gas hob with worktop like before when we ask him about fix with worktop so he said that it's howdens responsibility. So i called the howdens buckingham and the manager Elise said that now it's not our responsibility to fix it and the way she talk it's very very very bad we have 3 years warranty but the problem getting start within a two month and when we told howdens to fix it they said it's not their responsibility so how we trust on howdens kitchen i don't know my problem getting solve or not. I tell everyone that please don't buy the kitchen from howdens buckingham because they didn't take any responsibility.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
When Howdens came out to redesign my 19 year old kitchen the first words out of the designers mouth were “you don’t need a new kitchen this is in such condition” But we went ahead ripped out the old and replaced it with howdens kitchen. If only she’d told me don’t try to clean your new howdens kitchen because the paint will come off even you use mild warm soapy water. Less than 12 months in need a new door for my interested bin as the paint had lifted and now 36 months in looks like I’m going to have to call them first two more replacement doors. Never happened to my 19 year old kitchen lesson learnt should used the local guy in the high street that I used 19 years ago!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Howdens is rated 1.91 based on 143 reviews