Howdens Reviews

1.9 Rating 158 Reviews
20 %
of reviewers recommend Howdens
1.9
Based on 158 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Own Driver
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email

Write Your review

Tell us how Howdens made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Howdens  1 star review on 24th June 2022
Catherine
Howdens  1 star review on 24th June 2022
Catherine
Howdens  1 star review on 24th June 2022
Catherine
Howdens  1 star review on 14th February 2022
Phoenixbuild
Howdens  1 star review on 14th February 2022
Phoenixbuild
Howdens  1 star review on 14th February 2022
Phoenixbuild
Howdens  1 star review on 22nd February 2021
Anonymous
5
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I thought shabby sales techniques were a thing of the past but sadly not! We had our kitchen measured and then has an appointment to talk about what we wanted. We found the process very cloak and dagger with no prices readily available and the sales person kept wanting to know what our budget was, which we didn't disclose. He then came up with a figure which we weren't able to see how he arrived at, which he said was discounted but we would have to pay for IN FULL today!! He lost our business at that point! We thanked him and left with no intention of buying a Howden's kitchen. A very unprofessional experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 20 hours ago
Rang Lamona (Howdens own brand) customer services for a plunger that had been omitted when we bought our fridge/freezer. Rudley told I would have to pay for one because I hadn't let them know in the first seven days. I haven't needed to use it until now, so had no idea I should have had one. Very rude lady on the phone. Such a shame she let you down Howdens.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
Absolutely shocking company The communication is terrible from Howdens, they don't phone or email but send letters late. I paid in full and they still sent me a CCJ after spending thousands. Overspeak on phone so you can't explain Absolutely shocking. Terrible employee tabitha Daniels try and stay away from talking to her very rude and unhelpful. Definitely a lost customer will be taking further.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
We have had the worst experience ever - we will be reviewing on external sits and uploading pictures in due course. Either the designer or the installer had aboslutely no idea what they were doing. Beyond horrible.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Howdens at west Swindon is basically a perfidious company I have dealt with , to start with • it took ages to get the design • as the prices are not mentioned on their website , they just quote what they feel like ,where there is difference of £100-£400. Would likely suggest the buyer to look up the prices on other websites before confirming with Howdens as they are real cons!!• when the item was being refunded , TOM the manager said there are bits missing and wouldn’t even let my husband leave the item saying they are not insured and wasted his time, when I sent out an email asking them to check with the fitter for the missing item as he was the one who packed it for the refund. The missing bits was there in 8 mins and ready to refund!! Also they follow trade only so they can play up being hand in gloves with trade person in conning people.Would never recommend this perfidious company!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
My wife & I have been dealing with our local Howdens branch in Leatherhead Surrey, to plan and buy a kitchen. Everybody at the branch; without exception, have been really helpful/polite/professional and easy to deal with. We have been dealing with a designer called Kennedy Davis. Not only has she been brilliant to deal with and nothing too much trouble, but she has given some really good guidance and ideas, whilst making the journey a lot of fun. I have worked in the construction industry for over 35 years and with that experience, can genuinely say that this has been the best service experience I have had for a very long time. I would and will recommend Howdens Leatherhead to everyone. Well done Kennedy and thanks for all your hard work and patience. Best Wishes Peter & Pauline Robertson.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Went to howdens mansfield to look at doors was met by a very nasty receptionist would not let me explain my joiner had N account and told me to look at doors to pick from in fact she was more than rude like a fat hobbit needs to be taught a lesson on meet and greet
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
We’ve had Howdens kitchen, complete with all appliances and are extremely pleased with the result everything was delivered on time convenient to us Howdens doors Now Howdens flooring, any problems were sorted with minimal fuss and can’t express our thanks enough for the excellent customer service we have received
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I had a kitchen designed in Oct 2020 and our local joiner fitted it for us. I chose Howden's over another local company as I really liked the granite worktops. A few days after fitting the worktops there were cracks noticed in one of the tops around the sink and tap area. No-one was living in the property. A second length of worktop was and still is fine. Photographs taken and joiner contacted. He came to look and he has tried his best to be helpful but I still have a broken worktop!! Nobody wanting to take responsibility although the Howden's Stone worktop 'specialist' did come to look at it but blamed the joinery work. Joiners say there is a flaw in the stone. Was always told not to worry but when they went to get the slab that was supposed to be in stock it wasn't there - blame was put on previous manager! Joiner sourced another slab at his own expense on the understanding with Howdens that they would fit it. (Howdens no longer stock) Slab has been sitting in his workshop for months and I have to wait for their 'specialist team' to come and fit it! Thurso manager doesn't bother answering emails - I don't do verbal communication as you can be told one thing and then that gets changed so I like things in writing! I wrote an email in complaint to Jolene in customer service as requested by her and still haven't received notification that she has received it. So I am stuck with a damaged worktop and cannot get my kitchen finished. Given where I live my choice of of supplier for house renovation materials is a bit limited but even if I have to drive the 104 miles to Inverness and 104 back I would do that before using Howdens again! The rudeness and ignorance is appalling.
Howdens  1 star review on 24th June 2022 Howdens  1 star review on 24th June 2022 Howdens  1 star review on 24th June 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Absolutely disgraceful customer service from local branch- Thurso. Had 2 bad experiences previously in regard to 2 kitchens purchased- bits missing, delays etc etc. promised apology from head office by staff- never forth coming. Recently just ordered internal doors as due to location choice is limited. Received call to say doors where in - went to pay and collect and they’d been sold elsewhere . Now another 2 week delivery wait- no apologies nothing. Shambles of a branch - if you have the option to go elsewhere would strongly recommend you do - rude staff , need retraining in customer relations and basic order and supply . Absolutely awful company to deal with !
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Would give a minus star rating if I could. Our experience with them has been a bad one. Our decision to go with Howdens was largely based on the fact that they were local - Lytham St Annes - and that they provided a measuring, design and planning service. That in itself is a joke though not a funny one if you happen to be the unfortunate customers at the centre of it! In a nutshell, mis-measurements and mistakes were made in the design of the kitchen which has resulted in us having a kitchen we are entirely unhappy with. Incorrect measurements made by the kitchen planner means that we have no space for the dining table which is now sitting in our lounge which I hate. The pictures of the kitchen submitted to us all looked perfect - not so in reality. When approached Howdens are not prepared to accept any responsibility for the errors and have taken the stance that the planning service is complementary and that all measurements should be checked before fitting the kitchen. If I was going to plan and measure myself, I could have bought a far superior quality kitchen for less money elsewhere and had more choices in design and colours. Howden’s kitchens have to be bought through someone with a trade card - usually this will be a small firm or self employed kitchen fitter/joiner. They will also supply you with a list of recommended kitchen fitters/joiners (my advice if you MUST buy from Howdens - find your own joiner). We have spent lot of money on our kitchen which is just not what it was meant to be. Our rating for quality 0* Our rating for planning service 0* Our rating for customer service 0* Once they have your money they do not care one jot
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Two breakdowns on a washer/dryer they supplied in one year. First time was told to deal with manufacturer they did not want to know and second time they did not reply to my emails or phone calls. Terrible customer service at leighton buzzard
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Having spoke to howdens accounts regarding a small claims that they slapped on me , even after they said were looking into the discrepancy regarding doors not issued and doors returned not credited , they said ignore the claim we have put a hold on it, till we look at it , they the send it to solicitors, what liars they are.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Having spoke to howdens accounts regarding a small claims that they slapped on me , even after they said were looking into the discrepancy regarding doors not issued and doors returned not credited , they said ignore the claim we have put a hold on it, till we look at it , they the send it to solicitors, what liars they are.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Had a very bad service over a complaint about poor quality laminate flooring sent out a so called impartial expert who blamed everything bar the product. Been a customer of nearly 30 years would never use them again. The depot was Barry south Wales
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
poor customer service, two repairs in a year on new washer/dryer and washed their hands of it and told to talk to manufacture , they do not even bother returning calls
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Just another update on my howdens reviews. Had to rearrange delivery as some items could not get into my flat. Spoke to Amanda who was brilliant- she picked up the phone after closing time as she noticed that I rang twice and sorted out my problem. The delivery guy Peter, was equally brilliant as he carried all my very heavy items into all the correct rooms when I told him I had mobility issues. The Charlton branch is one of the best examples I have seen in regards to customer service.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
I went to Howdens in Charlton as I needed to order parts for a new kitchen. Absolutely excellent! Great service especially from Larry who was so helpful. Special thanks to Terri as well. Efficient service and great advice. Well done to Charlton Howdens
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Buy your door furniture for screwfix or alike as Howdens price are massively over priced always has been. ( we won't be beaten on price ) that's not true ? You ask for a price then you are hassled by them on phone asking if you require items. A pain I'm trying to work. Sales are great but I need to know the price for an item after sale price ,they don't know, so you have to wait for sale to end to get normal price helpful not . Also trade only , I've had customers walk in start an account with no hassle, they haven't been in the trade.. I've been a customer well over 20 years.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
I experienced bad customer service input after my complaint . Would never deal with them again, despite giving them my custom over past 20 years
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Howdens is rated 1.9 based on 158 reviews