Howdens Reviews

2.21 Rating 91 Reviews
29 %
of reviewers recommend Howdens
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Own Driver
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email

Write Your review

Tell us how Howdens made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Do not buy your kitchen from this company ,they are rubbish,my kitchen was fitted twelve months ago and I have spent most of my time going back and forth to Howdens getting parts replaced ,the staff have always been very good and replaced faulty goods straight away but the point is they are selling absolutely rubbish goods ,in my lifetime I am eighty I have had about six kitchens fitted and I must say it's the worst kitchen that I have had fitted ,so be very careful out there.!
Posted 5 days ago
Would give zero stars if I could...

Hello Howdens, Thank you for lack of willingness to help, I guess social media is the only way to draw attention to the issue we’re having with YOUR product, that you’re refusing to help with… just to let your audience know… we have spent thousands on a kitchen and some of the products you have supplied are subpar. The all singing all dancing compact laminate is great in theory, if the install kit that you sell didn’t damage the product. Yes that’s right folks, the resin supplied in the kit that you have to purchase on top of the worktop (and everything else) stains the work top yellow… not a good look at all. Now considering that the compact laminate worktop is a relatively new product (please check out the ‘new’ status here https://www.howdens.com/kitc.../kitchen-surfaces/worktops...) you’d expect there to be some manifesting faults that haven’t been picked up yet, but Howden’s customer service in spectacular style have placed the blame firmly on the installer because the worktop has been sanded????!!! Is it not standard practice to cut and sand the work top before installing? Otherwise, how on earth do we get it to custom fit the space as we all know, no one kitchen is like another. BTW before we go further, here are the install instructions you supply, epoxy and sanding paper included https://www.howdens.com/.../clh_asset.../ass_25357950.pdf.
Now, clear epoxy is known for yellowing – check here https://www.quora.com/Is-it-possible-to-get-epoxy-resin..., here https://www.resinobsession.com/.../clear-resin-turning.../, and here https://www.artresin.com/.../41958017-why-do-some-brands..., oh and here https://support.promarinesupplies.com/.../360016081072...
Now given this is a common issue with clear epoxy, you’d think that big companies such as yourselves would ‘think’ around this issue and supply coloured epoxy to blend in with the work top instead of creating a dirty seem? But then I suppose supplying generic clear resin for all colours of compact laminate is more cost effective for you?
Anyways, what I find most abhorrent is the refusal to speak to us (the customers) because we aren’t the trade account holder – even though you were happy to take our card details for payment. Now I understand that your mantra is ‘Quality products need to be installed to a high standard, which is why we only sell to the trade to ensure everything is fitted professionally and exactly as you expect’, but I’m sure you can see the irony in this situation.
Now before I wrap up my evaluation of your post sales customer service, I’d like to ask one final question… How on earth have you concluded that the worktop has been sanded (voiding warranty apparently) when 1. You ‘couldn’t see the staining in the original photo’s which prompted further photos being sent that included a blank sheet of white paper and 2. You didn’t send some one from customer services to inspect the staining personally when you admittedly couldn’t make it out in the images?
No photo description available.
· Reply · 23m
Claire Kelly-Arthurs
Hello Howdens, Thank you for lack of willingness to help, I guess social media is the only way to draw attention to the issue we’re having with YOUR product, that you’re refusing to help with… just to let your audience know… we have spent thousands on a kitchen and some of the products you have supplied are subpar. The all singing all dancing compact laminate is great in theory, if the install kit that you sell didn’t damage the product. Yes that’s right folks, the resin supplied in the kit that you have to purchase on top of the worktop (and everything else) stains the work top yellow… not a good look at all. Now considering that the compact laminate worktop is a relatively new product (please check out the ‘new’ status here https://www.howdens.com/kitc.../kitchen-surfaces/worktops...) you’d expect there to be some manifesting faults that haven’t been picked up yet, but Howden’s customer service in spectacular style have placed the blame firmly on the installer because the worktop has been sanded????!!! Is it not standard practice to cut and sand the work top before installing? Otherwise, how on earth do we get it to custom fit the space as we all know, no one kitchen is like another. BTW before we go further, here are the install instructions you supply, epoxy and sanding paper included https://www.howdens.com/.../clh_asset.../ass_25357950.pdf.
Now, clear epoxy is known for yellowing – check here https://www.quora.com/Is-it-possible-to-get-epoxy-resin..., here https://www.resinobsession.com/.../clear-resin-turning.../, and here https://www.artresin.com/.../41958017-why-do-some-brands..., oh and here https://support.promarinesupplies.com/.../360016081072...
Now given this is a common issue with clear epoxy, you’d think that big companies such as yourselves would ‘think’ around this issue and supply coloured epoxy to blend in with the work top instead of creating a dirty seem? But then I suppose supplying generic clear resin for all colours of compact laminate is more cost effective for you?
Anyways, what I find most abhorrent is the refusal to speak to us (the customers) because we aren’t the trade account holder – even though you were happy to take our card details for payment. Now I understand that your mantra is ‘Quality products need to be installed to a high standard, which is why we only sell to the trade to ensure everything is fitted professionally and exactly as you expect’, but I’m sure you can see the irony in this situation.
Now before I wrap up my evaluation of your post sales customer service, I’d like to ask one final question… How on earth have you concluded that the worktop has been sanded (voiding warranty apparently) when 1. You ‘couldn’t see the staining in the original photo’s which prompted further photos being sent that included a blank sheet of white paper and 2. You didn’t send some one from customer services to inspect the staining personally when you admittedly couldn’t make it out in the images?
Posted 6 days ago
Order £1000 worth of doors under a promotion, when delivery came in they told me I had to get them before close of play ( approx 2 hours notice) on a Friday or I would have to pay the pre promotion price

As I was on a roof I was never going to be able to do that as a sole trader,

Turned up Monday morning first thing to collect them and they refused to let me have them

I told them they cannot call me and give me 2-3 hours notice as a sole trader I cannot leave a job open

They said they had called me earlier in the week ( which is not the case as mobiles and emails record all contact even missed calls )

So cancelled the order and bought from Wickes instead, who are all together happier to deal with customers and value the business, I cancelled my Howdens account immediately

Working for myself I don’t need to deal with companies like this Rugby Howdens
Posted 6 days ago
Having experienced first hand Howden’s build quality, design service and delivery and stock control I would never recommend them to anyone. Backs fall out of cabinet’s larder unit’s don't fit together and go anywhere near the laminate covering and it fall’s off. Don't believe the sales pitch or bold advertising these are pretty rubbish unit’s. Sold through the trade so it’s difficult to get any proper feedback from customer’s. Keep the fitter’s pocket happy and they can deal with the rubbish they are expected to fit so Howden’s don't get bad press . Faulty return’s just get put back in stock till someone end’s up with the rubbish in their kitchen, brilliant idea for them but not fair on unsuspecting customer’s. Just try to find an email for customer complaint’s. Never again would I buy anything from Howden’s. I was advised by an experienced kitchen fitter to use a local well established company but I didn't listen to him.-Big mistake-. Might have been cheaper initially, but the hassle and month’s of stress just wasn't worth it.
Posted 1 week ago
All appliances broken within 18 months of fitting. Kitchen doesn't even fit together properly.

Shocking customer service too, rude, incompetent staff that offer no help whatsoever.

Don't waste your time or money!
Posted 1 week ago
It's a difficult one. Nice enough staff when ordered a kitchen. We had their 'best ' fitter install the kitchen . As always with my luck, this was the first time he had fitted our model as it was a new design. So after cutting into our newly plastered wall to make the units fit we carried on.
We then ordered howdens luxury vinyl rigid oak effect flooring with underlay... the experienced fitter layer it straight onto a concrete floor. It bounces and taps against the concrete. Cant decide if howdens mislead the fitter or the fitter has installed incorrectly without perfectly levelling the floor before hand.
This is basically the trouble with howdens. You buy a kitchen and materials but they can get out of any ownership due to them not fitting anything.
My advice would be to go to a dedicated kitchen company with fitters.
Posted 3 weeks ago
No way would I buy another kitchen from Howdens, been back a few times pieces missing had to wait weeks for the shelf. Now a couple months later dish washer broke, phoned them today they said it would not be fitted for me so that’s more money for me to pay out . My sister ordered the same kitchen cancelled it when she saw the state of mine . Had to put bleach on it straight away when getting a bit of dirty water on it . HONESTLY KEEP AWAY FROM THEASE KITCHEN COMPANY
Posted 3 weeks ago
Disgusting price hikes. One unit has gone from £193 to £343. Absolute rip off. Same kitchen as what i has less than 18 months ago.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Credit for sorting things out.
I recently posted a not so nice review about Howdens Minworth however after talks with David the manager we were able to identify where & why communication failed between us.
David has made every attempt to rectify issues raised by myself & as a direct result I will have a fully functioning shiny new kitchen in time for Christmas.
I suppose the lesson of the day is to talk, listen to each other & move forward for this I can only applaud Howdens.
My kitchen is of good quality, eye catching & everything I ever wanted.
I’m one happy customer who won’t hesitate to purchase my doors, skirting & flooring with.
Thank you David your a credit.
Posted 2 months ago
Apparently Howdens are the best that's why I went with them not realising I was about to put my trust & money into the pockets a bunch of unprofessional uncaring staff.
I asked for while work tops a few days later I was told they were out of stock so the designer said mirror chip would be the most appropriate option for the look I wanted, wrongly of me I trusted him & agreed without viewing also as a senior nurse working frontline every shift I wanted to protect staff at howdens & keep my social distance so I trusted in advice give.
The day of fitting I was at work however upon returning I was horrified the tops were most certainly not white (see pictures).
After my emails being ignored along with phone calls not returned & some rudeness Howdens manager changed the tops to white oddly enough the original tops I'd requested.
Sadly it doesn't end here... since fitted (not the kitchen fitters fault they followed the designers plans) I've not been able to open my back door. Howdens solution to this is to pay a fitter 300 & move the whole kitchen down a few inches. If this plan is followed I will have to pay an electrician to move plug sockets, extractor, oven & hob moreover the under counter fridge would need moving leaving the last cupboard not fitting.
I don't have a lot of money I've literally spent my life savings on this dream kitchen I have items left over yet the appliance washing machine door is missing, when I emailed the manager he said the 600 base unit is the same ??? well if this is the case why doesn't it fit ?
My kitchen fitter is a true craftsman if he says it won't fit then that is the case.
I never expected to be fighting for my rights from Howdens as well as covid. I brought the kitchen in September it's 20th December & I still don't have a functioning kitchen, I can't put a floor down till it's rectified I can’t express the amount of upset this has & continues to give me.
I'm so desperately upset & stressed. Thank you Howdens I'll raise my glass to you on Christmas Day as I tuck into my pot noodle because that's all this shambles of a kitchen is good for.
Posted 2 months ago
I am an account holder.

1. There kitchen's are as good as any other in the price range.

2. Some Flooring is very poor.

3. Each branch works
independently from each other (not helpful)

4. Changing your account to another branch is like trying to leave a religious cult.

5. The price of kitchen's can be come down dramatically, but you have to keep going back and saying wickes or magnets are cheaper.

6. Never buy there appliances. They are overpriced and of a poor quality.

7. If you buy a kitchen, it's likely it will be delivered with unit's missing. Even though when you placed the order it is all in the warehouse.
When you go in to complain, they rob from someone else's order.

8. Don't try to complain above branch level as you will have no chance of a resolution.

9. In short. For a British owned company, I am disappointed. They could come across so much more professional. Instead they are more like a secondhand car dealer. Its all about the sale!

All business need to make a profit, but Howdens needs to get a lot more professional in there core customer service, instead of making as much money as they possibly can out of every kitchen and putting on all their rubbish appliances on every quote even when they are not wanted.
Stop the pestering phone calls after every quotation.
Stop putting pressure on your staff to make there margins or else!

I don't understand how these reviews are so different from some other review sites!!! I wonder£
Posted 2 months ago
Absolutely shocking customer service , very unprofessional, really don’t care or value customers vision . Pushy sales men and just want to close the sale , wrong sized cabinets delivered, no care or concern was asked to ‘just come back and swap then’. I think all the school drop outs are Employed here . Even a monkey can be taught how to use the CAD software . Please avoid ! save yourself the headache and the stress .
Posted 2 months ago
Bought a kitchen that was designed by unprofessional people that work for howdens. No customer service skills in the branch that I bought from. From area manager, depot manager to reps all have a rude and unacceptable attitude. I am very unhappy with their service and would not recommend them to anyone I wish I'd bought my kitchen from Wren.
Posted 2 months ago
Terrible customer service and kitchen appliances stopped working within 3 years.

We had our kitchen remodeled by Howden in 2016 and began having issues with our dishwasher, fridge freezer, and gas cooker, a little after two years. Every time we called Howdens someone would come out but would claim the problems were our fault, that they are not covered by the warranty. A couple of years after our microwave began to spark. Although, we had initially been informed the kitchen had a 10 year warranty, after being pushed around from one department to another, we were told the appliances only have a 2 year warranty.

For such a large company, I would expect better customer care than has been shown to my home, considering the amount of money spent with them.
Posted 2 months ago
Hi I have just had my kitchen fitted by DHL JOINERY AND BUILDING WHAT A fantastic job they have done I have got to give a big shout out to Mike and a big thank you to James Haigh
Posted 3 months ago
I have asked Shrewsbury Branch a number of time, since last year, to close my account ,do not send message or phone me and do not send by post a brochure. To date I still get all these marketing action. If no action is taken by next month I have to go for another line of action to stop all this nonsense.
SABAH NASSRI
SY3 8BU
Posted 4 months ago
We are a small Ltd company, just a couple of us with an outstanding credit record and excellent bill-paying history. We have fantastic relationships with all out suppliers and that's why we were shocked to receive, in the middle of a pandemic, a CCJ debt recovery letter from Howdens for £500 approx. We immediately paid all but £12 as I had recently returned some handles but they still persevered and now we have a £12 order plus £107 court costs. One of us received texts from the legal team but no phone calls or letters. Our account will be closed on Monday morning. Another reason to wash your hands.
Posted 4 months ago
Howden's designer provided excellent planning and advice. The kitchen is in a flat in an old house and is correspondingly idiosyncratic. The planner started from where I was and immediately understood the need for maximisation of space and more storage. I am impressed by the quality of Howdens cupboards.

I had an excellent fitter who knows his stuff and had fitted the splendid kitchen (from a different company) in my previous house. I correctly assumed that the fitting of kitchens has more commonalities than differences.

However, I have given Howdens only four stars because of their poor communication with my fitter which resulted in him having to refit the under cupboard lighting. I gather that Howdens do not routinely provide a booklet for fitters (which would have obviated the extra work and which begs the question as to why, unlike other companies, they overlook this vital aspect). Usually, under cupboard lighting is fitted once cupboards are on the walls. We were not told that Howdens recommend that the wiring be fitted to the cupboards BEFORE they are in situ.
Posted 4 months ago
I wait 3 months to get estimate and I'm trader using howdens for past 10 years. They got something completely wrong lately. They fired only designer I trusted. After misleading few estimations I went for different company and very regretful I'm after many years of corporation but I have done with this type of misleading people.
Posted 4 months ago
Howdens - Doncaster, York Road
Absolute joke of a franchise, this is not my usual branch.
A customer asked me about kitchens and I recommended Howdens, said to her I've got an account I can come in with you and organise planning.
And get you the best price.
Without warning the customer went to Howdens Doncaster to see kitchens.
Howdens phoned me to see if it was ok to discuss pricing. I said yes and a planning appointment was arrange. Then Howdens were saying they have a sale on soon.
We were asked by the customer how long before we could fit the kitchen. Were always booked up to 6 months to a year in advance.

So long story short Howdens dangled a carrot to the customer to buy the kitchen which she did.
Now this is where it gets interesting, the customer has been allowed to buy a kitchen and put it on my account using my credit facility, which was never authorised by me or any paperwork signed by me and then to top it off another company fitting the job who obviously had a availability and sing my account, me getting emails saying £4500 has been spent then £300. So I had a word with Kyle and Adam to say nothing is to be added to my account.
Low and behold there are refunds going back in and other transactions again. And this is Howdens who are trade only.
I've had words with the customer as well as she knew it was trade only. it's subsequently caused issues for me we were supposed to have other work to do for this customer but as she has been under hand, we won't be doing anything more. I run a ltd company and the way these clowns have behaved is appalling.
Adam and Kyle I've dealt with on the phone. Kyle didn't have the guts to call back himself so got Adam to call.
Well I'm sorry I see this as fraud, you have rinsed a sale out of my account without my say so, using a secured credit facility. awaiting reply from Howdens head office, police and solicitor will be involved, also I've contacted the financial ombudsman for advice!
It's no better than taking my credit card lads and spending what you want on it.

Heads up for any tradesmen using this branch to watch what they are doing behind your backs, completely untrustworthy ! Change your branch 🤦

When I spoke to the customer in question she said Kyle was practically begging for the sale, desperate or what, bless you mate. Anyway let's see how funny you think you are after this 👍
Posted 4 months ago
Howdens is rated 2.21 based on 91 reviews