Howdens Reviews

1.8 Rating 207 Reviews
18 %
of reviewers recommend Howdens
1.8
Based on 207 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Own Driver
Average Delivery Time
Over 7 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 42%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 39%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.5 out of 5

Write Your review

Tell us how Howdens made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Howdens  1 star review on 28th May 2024
James Breeds
Howdens  1 star review on 14th February 2024
Carl Birkenshaw
Howdens  1 star review on 14th February 2024
Carl Birkenshaw
Howdens  1 star review on 14th February 2024
Carl Birkenshaw
Howdens  1 star review on 14th February 2024
Carl Birkenshaw
Howdens  1 star review on 14th February 2024
Carl Birkenshaw
Howdens  1 star review on 12th November 2022
Phillip Gollins
22
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Had great experience, except would have loved a greater price but who wouldn't. Every thing perfect . Small ring stain already on work top along with another small small stubborn stain that can't be removed on a small island (thin wall laminate). Which I suspect was contractors as kitchen hasn't been used for cooking yet MAYBE HOWDENS WILL REPLACE AFTER THIS 5 STAR REVIEW.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I bought a very expensive units from Howden just over a year ago. Reported to them that some of the hinges has fallen off. They said that the fault was the fitters, but I also had a round disk on the sink which completely broken off the sink. I had a cheap sink for many years and the disk on the sink never came off. I did not expect such expensive items to be in such poor quality. I Reported this to Howden and they I formed me that they would send me a replacement but that was months ago and yet nothing from them. Before they got my money they couldn't do enough for me. It is suppose to be under guarantee. I emailed Howden and they completely ignored me. Regretted buying from them. No aftercare despite what they said to me. Would I buy anything from them or recommend them to anyone "NO"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Howdens are a complete waste of time with regards their kitche ns...all good until there is a problem....their designer and also the manager who checked over everything failed to make adjustments in a island overhang....ends up costing us an extra £750! completely their fault and yet no help at all. and infact silence from them when asked what are they gpi g to do. I was told only told contact their customer service and that was a complete waste of time. This was in Binley, Coventry.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I purchased five kitchens from Howdens in the sale they didn’t have the stock to cover the orders so they sent out a few units from each order so to meet there target and made the balance up when they had stock the stock was damaged seven units in one kitchen another kitchen was delivered and the driver was late picking his son up from school so he threw the kitchen off the van it was shamed to bits my customer stood there with there mouths open they never send any plans with the kitchens it’s cost me over and over and soon as they have sold you the kitchen the sales man I used for years didn’t want to know Howdens have got so so bad I won’t be using them going forward quality gone out the window the kitchen designer driving delivery van trying to deal with missing parts damages I ordered stair parts for a delivery a week in advance they never come then when they did come a day late they forgot the newel posts so had two chippys stood why they drove from Northampton to high Wycombe dreadful kitchen company
Howdens  1 star review on 12th November 2022 Howdens  1 star review on 12th November 2022 Howdens  1 star review on 12th November 2022 Howdens  1 star review on 12th November 2022 Howdens  1 star review on 12th November 2022 Howdens  1 star review on 12th November 2022 Howdens  1 star review on 12th November 2022 Howdens  1 star review on 12th November 2022 Howdens  1 star review on 12th November 2022 Howdens  1 star review on 12th November 2022 Howdens  1 star review on 12th November 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I wanted to order a Granite grey sink, however they had no samples. I was told he did not want to order one if I did not want? When the sink came the sales assistance forgot to put in the sink plug and drainage system. As it is a reversible sink there also needs to be a plug on one side, the assistance insisted I had a different sink, so I had to take a photograph to show him the sink he just sold me. He did not want to order another sink and telephoned my kitchen fitter querying the photograph on my mobile and said he would give me a stainless steel one. I was so angry as I had been back three times and he disregarded me, how dare they treat customers like this?
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Kitchen only few years old most backs coming away .Make sure of your fitter wouldn't recommend my fitter to anyone
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Absolutely everything!! Starting with their kitchen designer who was completely useless and ending with their customer service who don't take complaints. The designer drew up a plan but completely mis-represented my very accurate drawing. The result - the units did not fit. They sent a small sink and housing unit when the normal size did fit. Result I had to start the work all over. Every wall was the wrong length on the plan so space on other walls was wasted too. Worst of all is they of course have small print disclaiming any responsibility for their designer getting it wrong. Outcome - I ended up with a kitchen design I did not want. And to make the situation even worse they don't have a complaints dept, just a customer service dept who are completely spineless and just went along with what the branch manager told them. So claims I made for compensation were completely ignored. The message 'well that's just tough' ie the customer is always wrong!! Will never ever buy anything from Howdens ever again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
It was ok
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
They delivered a faulty appliance refused to sent an engineer replace or refund us. Just told us to contact the manufacturer ourselves. We quoted the consumer rights act but the management at Dronfield Depot refused to acknowledge our rights. Shocking attitude and customer service
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I thought shabby sales techniques were a thing of the past but sadly not! We had our kitchen measured and then has an appointment to talk about what we wanted. We found the process very cloak and dagger with no prices readily available and the sales person kept wanting to know what our budget was, which we didn't disclose. He then came up with a figure which we weren't able to see how he arrived at, which he said was discounted but we would have to pay for IN FULL today!! He lost our business at that point! We thanked him and left with no intention of buying a Howden's kitchen. A very unprofessional experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Rang Lamona (Howdens own brand) customer services for a plunger that had been omitted when we bought our fridge/freezer. Rudley told I would have to pay for one because I hadn't let them know in the first seven days. I haven't needed to use it until now, so had no idea I should have had one. Very rude lady on the phone. Such a shame she let you down Howdens.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Absolutely shocking company The communication is terrible from Howdens, they don't phone or email but send letters late. I paid in full and they still sent me a CCJ after spending thousands. Overspeak on phone so you can't explain Absolutely shocking. Terrible employee tabitha Daniels try and stay away from talking to her very rude and unhelpful. Definitely a lost customer will be taking further.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
We have had the worst experience ever - we will be reviewing on external sits and uploading pictures in due course. Either the designer or the installer had aboslutely no idea what they were doing. Beyond horrible.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Howdens at west Swindon is basically a perfidious company I have dealt with , to start with • it took ages to get the design • as the prices are not mentioned on their website , they just quote what they feel like ,where there is difference of £100-£400. Would likely suggest the buyer to look up the prices on other websites before confirming with Howdens as they are real cons!!• when the item was being refunded , TOM the manager said there are bits missing and wouldn’t even let my husband leave the item saying they are not insured and wasted his time, when I sent out an email asking them to check with the fitter for the missing item as he was the one who packed it for the refund. The missing bits was there in 8 mins and ready to refund!! Also they follow trade only so they can play up being hand in gloves with trade person in conning people.Would never recommend this perfidious company!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
My wife & I have been dealing with our local Howdens branch in Leatherhead Surrey, to plan and buy a kitchen. Everybody at the branch; without exception, have been really helpful/polite/professional and easy to deal with. We have been dealing with a designer called Kennedy Davis. Not only has she been brilliant to deal with and nothing too much trouble, but she has given some really good guidance and ideas, whilst making the journey a lot of fun. I have worked in the construction industry for over 35 years and with that experience, can genuinely say that this has been the best service experience I have had for a very long time. I would and will recommend Howdens Leatherhead to everyone. Well done Kennedy and thanks for all your hard work and patience. Best Wishes Peter & Pauline Robertson.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Went to howdens mansfield to look at doors was met by a very nasty receptionist would not let me explain my joiner had N account and told me to look at doors to pick from in fact she was more than rude like a fat hobbit needs to be taught a lesson on meet and greet
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
We’ve had Howdens kitchen, complete with all appliances and are extremely pleased with the result everything was delivered on time convenient to us Howdens doors Now Howdens flooring, any problems were sorted with minimal fuss and can’t express our thanks enough for the excellent customer service we have received
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I had a kitchen designed in Oct 2020 and our local joiner fitted it for us. I chose Howden's over another local company as I really liked the granite worktops. A few days after fitting the worktops there were cracks noticed in one of the tops around the sink and tap area. No-one was living in the property. A second length of worktop was and still is fine. Photographs taken and joiner contacted. He came to look and he has tried his best to be helpful but I still have a broken worktop!! Nobody wanting to take responsibility although the Howden's Stone worktop 'specialist' did come to look at it but blamed the joinery work. Joiners say there is a flaw in the stone. Was always told not to worry but when they went to get the slab that was supposed to be in stock it wasn't there - blame was put on previous manager! Joiner sourced another slab at his own expense on the understanding with Howdens that they would fit it. (Howdens no longer stock) Slab has been sitting in his workshop for months and I have to wait for their 'specialist team' to come and fit it! Thurso manager doesn't bother answering emails - I don't do verbal communication as you can be told one thing and then that gets changed so I like things in writing! I wrote an email in complaint to Jolene in customer service as requested by her and still haven't received notification that she has received it. So I am stuck with a damaged worktop and cannot get my kitchen finished. Given where I live my choice of of supplier for house renovation materials is a bit limited but even if I have to drive the 104 miles to Inverness and 104 back I would do that before using Howdens again! The rudeness and ignorance is appalling.
Howdens  1 star review on 24th June 2022 Howdens  1 star review on 24th June 2022 Howdens  1 star review on 24th June 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Absolutely disgraceful customer service from local branch- Thurso. Had 2 bad experiences previously in regard to 2 kitchens purchased- bits missing, delays etc etc. promised apology from head office by staff- never forth coming. Recently just ordered internal doors as due to location choice is limited. Received call to say doors where in - went to pay and collect and they’d been sold elsewhere . Now another 2 week delivery wait- no apologies nothing. Shambles of a branch - if you have the option to go elsewhere would strongly recommend you do - rude staff , need retraining in customer relations and basic order and supply . Absolutely awful company to deal with !
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Would give a minus star rating if I could. Our experience with them has been a bad one. Our decision to go with Howdens was largely based on the fact that they were local - Lytham St Annes - and that they provided a measuring, design and planning service. That in itself is a joke though not a funny one if you happen to be the unfortunate customers at the centre of it! In a nutshell, mis-measurements and mistakes were made in the design of the kitchen which has resulted in us having a kitchen we are entirely unhappy with. Incorrect measurements made by the kitchen planner means that we have no space for the dining table which is now sitting in our lounge which I hate. The pictures of the kitchen submitted to us all looked perfect - not so in reality. When approached Howdens are not prepared to accept any responsibility for the errors and have taken the stance that the planning service is complementary and that all measurements should be checked before fitting the kitchen. If I was going to plan and measure myself, I could have bought a far superior quality kitchen for less money elsewhere and had more choices in design and colours. Howden’s kitchens have to be bought through someone with a trade card - usually this will be a small firm or self employed kitchen fitter/joiner. They will also supply you with a list of recommended kitchen fitters/joiners (my advice if you MUST buy from Howdens - find your own joiner). We have spent lot of money on our kitchen which is just not what it was meant to be. Our rating for quality 0* Our rating for planning service 0* Our rating for customer service 0* Once they have your money they do not care one jot
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Howdens is rated 1.8 based on 207 reviews