Howdens Reviews

1.9 Rating 204 Reviews
19 %
of reviewers recommend Howdens
1.9
Based on 204 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Own Driver
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
Greater than 44%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 39%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.5 out of 5

Write Your review

Tell us how Howdens made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Howdens  1 star review on 28th May 2024
James Breeds
Howdens  1 star review on 14th February 2024
Carl Birkenshaw
Howdens  1 star review on 14th February 2024
Carl Birkenshaw
Howdens  1 star review on 14th February 2024
Carl Birkenshaw
Howdens  1 star review on 14th February 2024
Carl Birkenshaw
Howdens  1 star review on 14th February 2024
Carl Birkenshaw
Howdens  1 star review on 12th November 2022
Phillip Gollins
22
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
The culture within this company is appalling. Quality of goods is very poor. Atrocious customer service. The object of their game is to get your money…after that they are unhelpful and obstructive. My joiners found numerous faults, from inaccurate measurements to faulty parts. Several doors were warped…the manager’s response was to say this could be rectified by adjusting the hinges. Avoid at all costs.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Firstly , your rep came out to measure kitchen, I told him that the property is rented out, so I dont need a expensive kitchen , I need 2 small kitchens and 1 big kitchen, anyway the rep,Tom put me down for expensive kitchen , with a cost of over £5000 saving 55% off ,so maybe a £8-£9000 kitchen plus £2000 to install, firstly , why pressure people to buy in 1 week ,secondly, you obviously didn't listen to what the customer wants, just tried ripping me off £5000 , and the 55% off is just a blag , some say a SCAM , and reading about the poor quality kitchens ,glad I didn't buy , my experience with Walkden Howdens where Tom works is negative , Would he RIP his granny off ,who knows
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Be VERY AWARE. Do not ask for recommendations. My mother spent £13,000 on a kitchen that was poorly designed and fitted. Units cannot be used, are not symmetrical which makes the kitchen look extremely poor. The joints have had to be covered as they are so bad. Even after looking at the kitchen, the local manager Paul Hope from Hainault told my mother he would try and get her compensation. If she never went into the Howdens showroom in Hainault she would never of had these problems. We are now having to take Howdens and their recommended fitter Joseph Sharpe to court for their lack of getting the kitchen to do what it was bought for. My mother is at the end of her tether, everyday she has to look at this. You would of thought that for such a large organisation that they could of just got this sorted. HOW WRONG WERE WE ! EXTREMELY BAD EXPERIENCE - AVOID!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Be VERY AWARE. Do not ask for recommendations. My mother spent £13,000 on a kitchen that was poorly designed and fitted. Units cannot be used, are not symmetrical which makes the kitchen look extremely poor. The joints have had to be covered as they are so bad. Even after looking at the kitchen, the local manager Paul Hope from Hainault told my mother he would try and get her compensation. If she never went into the Howdens showroom in Hainault she would never of had these problems. We are now having to take Howdens and their recommended fitter Joseph Sharpe to court for their lack of getting the kitchen to do what it was bought for. My mother is at the end of her tether, everyday she has to look at this. You would of thought that for such a large organisation that they could of just got this sorted. HOW WRONG WERE WE ! EXTREMELY BAD EXPERIENCE - AVOID!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Website is an absolute joke. It doesn't matter what I search for it comes back with 10000 matches. Awful, infuriating.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Biased management supported by customer service
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The worst company I have ever had the displeasure of encountering, definitely working against the customer, definitely not customer focussed, they just want one thing and one thing only and that is your money, nothing else matters to them, forget quality, forget everything, the only thing they'r concerned about is their profit, absolutely dreadful company, and includes their depot and their head office, all of which couldn't care less, stay clear !!!!!!!!!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
This is unbelievable how badly they treat their customers. Completely not customer minded. We moved away from them
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Brilliant customer service from Kelsey in the Llangefni shop Always there at the end of the phone 5 stars
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Today I had my kitchen delivered by Howdens. I cannot recommend Alex and Mark highly enough, they went well beyond the call of duty to ensure they delivered all my kitchen. All my dealings with Howdens from first contact with Leena who measured and designed the kitchen has a been first class service.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Stay clear from Howdens totally unprofessional poor and very RUDE customer service would not wish Howdens on my worst enemy
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Awful company, worst ever, pre customer services was ok but after sales customer service is dreadful, they have no concept of what good customer care is, their staff are rude and disinterested and they get away with it as their ethos supports it, very poor quality items, and don't trust all their fitters are any better as ours was a disaster, we regret buying a kitchen from them, far too many problems, I actively advise you buy elsewhere if you value your home, your hard earned money, and your sanity, they are absolutely awful.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
A temporary joiner recommended Howdens to me and said 'mention my name'. So I did and Howdens sent a quote to me with the joiners name on the account. I went to their kitchen showroom in Penrith to alter the design, choose doors and haggle the price. At this point Tom, the salesman, said I would be paying them direct. "So I can deal with Howdens directly?" I asked. 'Yes' was the simple reply. (Foolish boy - I had an independent witness with me). From that point on everything was direct, including the payment request. Unusually for me I didn't insist on an invoice - busy, distracted. Howdens then sent the joiner the VAT invoice even though he had not paid, he was not the customer. I now cannot reclaim the VAT or set against capital gains tax so it's costing me over £1,800 more on top of a £4,300 kitchen. The joiner of course can set this invoice against profits on his turnover and - this is clever - can stay below the VAT threshold by having the customer pay his bills for him (even though it was nothing to do with him he will have made a profit). HMRC and the VAT office are very interested and sadly it looks as though literally thousands of fitters, joiners etc will be investigated for a national multi million VAT and tax fraud. Howdens are disinterested but I suspect they will just have to get interested.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
All sweetness and light until they get your money and then you will see a major change which hits you profoundly with the most awful culture, disgraceful staff, and couldn't care less attitude once you've paid. Extremely poor quality items and far too many damaged items. It took three attempts to get damaged items replaced and a staggering 7 weeks. Please avoid, avoid, avoid and shop elsewhere.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Nightmare experience, copious amounts of damaged items, damaged items replaced with more damaged items, one unit even arrived water damaged, very poor quality overall, the fitter blamed Howdens and Howdens blamed the fitter, I was left frustrated, stranded and unsupported in the middle, Jake Cornforth was an awful fitter, he didn't give Howdens a chance to replace all the damaged items and went ahead and installed no end of damaged items with chips and dents galore in my new kitchen, there was no pricing transparency, the depot investigated a complaint I raised internally which was not impartial, the business model puts the customer in the middle and unprotected between Howdens and the fitter, fitters with Howdens accounts need monitoring and scrutiny as the one we had was not good for the reasons outlined and because he also took almost three months on our refit, did not complete the work and would not put right the things he did, he showed hostility and annoyance towards me when I was only asking him to put right the poor jobs he did and said nothing was good enough for me disregarding my right for a good quality undamaged new kitchen, it was a very distressing experience, I wouldn't buy a Howdens kitchen again and can not recommend Howdens based on my experience, I suggest buyers please beware, it was a dreadful experience, and I noticed a culture that makes out the customer is being fussy and expecting too much, vast improvements are needed, having a kitchen refit should be pleasurable and existing but that was not the case, it was instead thwart with anguish and heartache, a sorry state of affairs and one I would hope no one else experiences.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
i call in this branch most days never an issue getting materials at short notice any materials out of stock are ordered straight away and then a follow up call to collect,Chloe and Chelsea great staff to deal with always smiling, plus free coffee can't really ask for much more.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Never again. It is almost two years since they installed the kitchen and due to bad workmandship, the worktops are warpped between the joints and the cheap wood they have used. Their first excuse was a bad installation by the joiner but little they know they send the joiner them. Sent another joiner to rectify the issue but that didnt work either. Now they are asking me to find a joiner to do the job. The reason for that is to hide their poor quality products by blamming the joiner and wash their hands off it. DONT BUY HOWDENS and waste your money. You can get the same quality but a lot cheaper from B&Q
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Had great experience, except would have loved a greater price but who wouldn't. Every thing perfect . Small ring stain already on work top along with another small small stubborn stain that can't be removed on a small island (thin wall laminate). Which I suspect was contractors as kitchen hasn't been used for cooking yet MAYBE HOWDENS WILL REPLACE AFTER THIS 5 STAR REVIEW.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I bought a very expensive units from Howden just over a year ago. Reported to them that some of the hinges has fallen off. They said that the fault was the fitters, but I also had a round disk on the sink which completely broken off the sink. I had a cheap sink for many years and the disk on the sink never came off. I did not expect such expensive items to be in such poor quality. I Reported this to Howden and they I formed me that they would send me a replacement but that was months ago and yet nothing from them. Before they got my money they couldn't do enough for me. It is suppose to be under guarantee. I emailed Howden and they completely ignored me. Regretted buying from them. No aftercare despite what they said to me. Would I buy anything from them or recommend them to anyone "NO"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Howdens are a complete waste of time with regards their kitche ns...all good until there is a problem....their designer and also the manager who checked over everything failed to make adjustments in a island overhang....ends up costing us an extra £750! completely their fault and yet no help at all. and infact silence from them when asked what are they gpi g to do. I was told only told contact their customer service and that was a complete waste of time. This was in Binley, Coventry.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Howdens is rated 1.9 based on 204 reviews