Yell.com Reviews

1.13 Rating 404 Reviews
2 %
of reviewers recommend Yell.com
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.09 out of 5

Write Your review

Tell us how Yell.com made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
“Wasted 3 hours with my business manager every time I had to call yell. please guys do not throw your money in the rubbish with yell a disgust service they done nothing, for 6 months £288 per month no customer no call they did nothing for my company please don’t threw your money away they are very good to sell you contract.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
400 reviews with an average of 1.13, and are you still thinking about going with this company or not? I regret I didn't read these reviews before signing a 6-month crazy uncancelable contract. We all have a common pain! Terrible service, pressure selling tactics, zero accountability! They told me their management cost for running campaigns is around 20-30% now in action it's 4-5 times more! Go and do the campaign yourself. You won't lose more pounds if you do it yourself by try and error!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Please DO NOT use yell in any form. . Miss Sold. . 2-3 leads in 6 months. . £470 p/m. . No 30-day cancellation. . Not allowed to cancel at all. . Lied about recorded calls. . False complaints procedure. . Forced to pay for rollover months after cancelling. . 60% (approx) of all website traffic was Bots My startup is currently in a contract that is not fit for its purpose. I was hesitant about starting with them but was reassured that they could use the correct keywords and ranking tools that "a small business like mine needs". This was untrue, and after spending £470 p/m for 6 months, I have received 2-3 calls from leads, and over 60% of traffic to my site has been bots. Then to top it all off, after three complaints and consistently ensuring that I can leave as soon as possible, they auto-renewed my account onto a rolling monthly charge and now won't cancel or stop the payment. This company is the definition of fraudulent!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Stay away from this company. They will promise you leads and lots more and deliver nothing. Then when you complain they will say it’s down to your website then try to get you to sign up to yet another monthly subscription to update and maintain your website STAY AWAY!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Wasted 30 minutes with my business account manager trying to hard sell. Was told my business would fail if I didn’t pay £50 a month to get the top spot. Couldn’t get them off the phone, ended up hanging up! Regretted ever setting up an account!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I am currently going through the process of cancelling my 12 month business account, I felt pressured into taking out the contract and Yell lied about understanding how googles algorithm worked. I have had no work from Yell in 2 months and have not heard from my "sales manages" Im currently paying over £70 a month and its an absolute waster of money.... Create a google business or Facebook business for free!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Disgusting service, looking at other reviews, I’m not alone. We are a small company who we’re doing well with an alternative company. We were then told that the smart performance would increase traffic through the website. We have quite literally been on the verge of bankruptcy for the best part of 3 months now. No calls, enquiries or traffic. You can’t talk to any management at all to get your complaint across. You just get passed over from one person to the next. It wasn’t until today that I found out that they have hidden charges within the budget (we thought were going into our campaign). Also, we were not made aware of this. They have continually said sorry but have not sorted anything. Now when we challenge them about our campaign and to why it is not generating calls or enquiries, they just keep saying the same thing…” it can take a while but we will do our best”. I had to coach your specialist and explain why 68p was not working and it should have been about £5-7 per click… their response “we are always learning and will work hard to get it right” Today I was told I couldn’t pause my own budget for the add campaign… “that’s very odd I thought”… when I asked why, they said they can’t tell us that information. The reason is simple, they finally told me that they take money from your budget as a percentage, so really you just paying them silly amounts of admin fees. We were not told about this at all… I will be leaving as many reviews as possible, as I want to save other business from going bankrupt or taking on this disgraceful scandalous service. We are now forced to go down the legal route. In addition, I have been forced to continue with an alternative add campaign company so we are paying double for advertisement fees for the next 4 months. Yell refuse point blank to take responsibility and will not allow you to leave early or compensate for their mistakes. To put this into context here (for people who don’t know about Google campaign is) I started back up with my old provider and within 3 hours, had generated more enquiries than yell did in one month!! I have all the documentation to back everything up. My advice, stay away from yell, seek other services that will actually keep your business going. If I could leave a 0-10 I would. Disgusting Yell, please don’t just reply to this review with a generic “we’re sorry to hear that you have had a bad experience, our advisers and specialists work hard to promote business”…. Just get somebody to call me that can actually do something about this sorry state of affairs. While your at it, take a look at the sheer numbers of disgusting reviews and change your service. Better yet, take it down till you know how to operate a legitimate operation. I wish I had never heard of yell, you have cost me well into 15,000k so far. No business is any good that won’t stand by their mistakes and learn from it. Clearly you don’t care about the future and your reputation moving forward.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
it's well known that you hide bad reviews. I posted a factual and correct review about a Insulation company- Rockwarm. I have proof of the appalling service we received from this company. Who's work was partly funded by H.M Treasury. But surprize surprize, it did not get published. My complaints to the director of the company, were met with the words "well look how well we are rated on Yell". This proves to my mind that bad reviews are never published if the company concerned pays a premium to Yell. I don't hope out much hope of Yell rectifying this particular complaint from me. But I will take time and effort to contact Trading Standards about this issue.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
To start a brilliant process. Very easy to get the information needed to make a decision about advertising. Jordan was brilliant and very knowledgeable, apologies I didn't take the name of the lady who verified my order but she was equally awesome. BUT heres the kicker. It's a complete waste of money, once I signed up and got going I heard from yell only once, a guy called Christopher who was a pushy salesman who did not want to discuss the performance of yell which by the way was dismal. The results were horrible. I have a window cleaning business and I wasted £35 a month for 12 months, no support, only 7 sales and to give you an idea over 12 months I got 1,999 impressions from yell. If you compare that with facebook where I get on average 2,100 per MONTH!!! and that's free!!! its staggering that yell manages to sell advertising, yell is a dinosaur with very pushy sales people, the results are close to dire and its a complete waste of money.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I left a review for a yell recommended service I had received for cleaning. The cleaning was not good. Yell contacted me and said I had three days in which to verify the review with photos etc. What if I am away?as I was. And why do they think that just because one of their businesses has complained about a person leaving a bad review it should be removed. This is not honest and transparent. No wonder the service recieves 5 stars all the time. It is the last time I trust a Yell Business.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Just want to give a big shout out to JAMIE at RBC Scaffolding,after the nightmare we've been through,it's good to know that there are still some truly genuine people out there, Thank you Jamie,your a true Gentleman,I can't recommend you highly enough for your patience, kindness and understanding,5stars all the way. Sue Davies.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
They remove bad reviews and tolerate fake reviews, mostly from companies with large adverts. I wrote a review about a company I had an awful experience with and it was constantly deleted. All the five star reviews came from single-use accounts written within a few days of each other. Potential customers will simply assume all positive reviews to be fake and that is not good for any business is it.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Copyright and Cheating We have just needed to contact them as they have stolen our images from our website at SplashbacksNI. Images we have taken from our jobs, displaying our product and work and used them to build a website for a rival company in our own area!!! Who are advertising them on their site as their own. Disgraceful!!! Would sue but they are so large they'd probably wipe us out in legal costs first. So, if you you see a repeat - it's our work and other companies should have more pride in their own so they can use their own images. STAY CLEAR!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Renshaw carpetand upholstery cleaners excellent
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
After seeing so many negative reviews of miss-selling. I think I know what the problem is. The telesales staff at Yell are under enormous pressure to secure £700-800 worth of business a day...A DAY! The enormous pressure of keeping your job will lead them to cut corners to ensure a sale and meet their KPIs.. This is not their fault but rather management not selling using a consultative approach.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
DO NOT SIGN UP!!!!! Absolutely useless signed up for top 5 in 2 affluent areas in Essex and had 1 call in 6 months despite them saying I require more reviews and photos which I have more of both within the top 5 listings. I would much rather pay someone £100 to deliver leaflets than pay these crooks a further penny and being tied up in a 12 month contract infuriates me every month paying for nothing.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
DO NOT USE!!!!! SCAM! FULL ON SCAM AND WE HAD TO GET THE POLICE INVOLVED! AVOID!!!!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
JUST LEAVE... and feel free to waste there time and please do not pay them, they cannot do anything... at all. They literally have no legal powers whatsoever. Everything they say is made up and so are all the five star reviews. They'll make empty threats but u can ignore them, some are quite funny. They'll send u letters but nothing will come of it. They can't do a single thing unless they take u to court, which they won't because they're contact is a weak as they are. There are many useful websites that also have zero respect for them, which will also tell u how to leave and FB and Twitter pages etc that hate there guts... definitely worth checking out. Eventually they'll go under, sooner rather than later!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
They're all over covering up their bad reviews. They included a fake 5 stars on their twitter link - there are no google reviews, and you have to find sites like this for the truth about them.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
The agent NEVER told I was entering a 12 months period contract. I was shocked! I demanded the interruption of the contract because of this but have been denied!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Yell.com is rated 1.13 based on 404 reviews