Argyll Holidays Reviews

4.30 Rating 583 Reviews
83 %
of reviewers recommend Argyll Holidays
Read Argyll Holidays Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

01301 705 658

Email:

lisa.allan@argyllholidays.com

Location:

Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, Lochgoilhead, PA24 8AD

Write Your review

Tell us how Argyll Holidays made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Beautiful caravan but in a bad position,constant traffic going past to reception and other parts of park no phone reception and intermittent wifi not experienced in other visits to lodges
Posted 3 years ago
beautiful setting at drymsynie
Posted 4 years ago
The location is very picturesque so the setting is idillic with very nice staff. On arrival at the site it is advertised that entry to the cabin (Osprey 1 Hot-tub) was from 4pm. Eventually and after my own intervention and chasing we got the keys at 4:45pm which created me issues for the two kids whom were restricted in what they could do. The lodge was in reasonably good order albeit the repairs need to be done correctly and finished off properly. The hot tub was cold/cool and when I visited the main office the manager came over and checked the temperature. He confirmed it as 25*C instead of the required and processed 37*5C. This left us without the hot tub for the first day (paid for). I paid for the advertised wifi which was non existent until 10pm the day before we left. The main office said that the 3rd Part provider of the wifi should be contacted as the site does not control it. I would of if I could but the phone boxes were out of order due to jamming and cables being severed 3 weeks prior by workman on site (as advised by staff in the main building). If there is a trend of poor wifi, the site should be addressing the provision and not just brush it off to the customers. Whilst having a meal, I ordered a hot dessert, this arrived cold. When I spoke to the waitress, she stated that the chef was on his first day and needed to learn the temperature requirements. WOW...with the young children and older folk who holiday here, there is a real risk of of drastic illness especially with high risk food items. The chef must have qualifications and experience for the role...a very poor show and response. The Rover Pass at £75, what was this for as everything was paid for on top of the pass cost (apart from the pool) so appears to be a rip off and at no point was the Rover Pass requested on entering the facilities. The £250 deposit was explained that it would simply be marked against the card but not actually taken. This was taken straight away and on leaving the site I was informed that the deposit would be refunded within 24/48hrs. Over 48hrs on and I am awaiting feedback on my refund of deposit. Having read the previous reviews, I took it as disgruntled customers and noted the little apologies and "hope you return"! I would expect a decent response with a better proposal from the company given the money spent for this 5 day stay.
Posted 4 years ago
the accommodation was not up to the standard we have had in the past bedroom doors not closing oven not working properly front door sticking therefore noisy waking the children
fixed glass shower panel made it impracticable to bath the children bed linen stained
we come to drimsynie every year but we were very dissatisfied with this visit
Posted 4 years ago
Facilities for the size of the park don't work when it's full i.e. you can't get a booking in the restaurant, pool was full to capacity when we tried to go in and the entertainment lounge was so busy there were no seats available.
Posted 4 years ago
The parks need more for the kids to do that doesn't cost the earth. Games hall at hunters quay is a rip off. The addition of a bigger play park on the grounds would be great.
Posted 4 years ago
I stayed at the Loch Lomond Holiday park—I booked the royal Lomond lodge (sleeps 4) with hot tub for 7 nights. The best thing about the park, other than its spectacular views over Loch Lomond, was the staff. The staff were friendly, warm and extremely helpful. The hot tub was maintained during the weekend, which was lovely. I was, however, using the lodge as a place to write to meet a deadline. I even emailed Argyll Holidays about this because I needed the receipt for tax purposes. Unfortunately, nothing was mentioned on the website before booking, after booking, or when I contacted Argyll holidays, that this holiday park was under development adn construction. I understand that these things have to be done during the off season, however, I think it's only fair that I should have been notified as the lodge did cost north of £1500 for the 7 nights. It was not the most tranquil place to write a book with a JCB going past my lodge all day, and building work going on only two lodges over from me. The lodge itself was lovely—the only thing that let it down were the mattresses on the bed. They were extremely hard—uncomfortably so— and I did not have a restful sleep the entire week. All in all, a pity these things let my stay down because the staff are amazing, as is the site location.
Posted 4 years ago
Been twice now and same again not enough bar staff in entertainment room plus to small the hall to, also very disappointed in the attitude of the laundry staff very moody, wee had to go back home a day early and didn't have my ticket I explained everything I had in washing bags plus my own person ect all a got was can't give you washing I'm like a need to go home someone has passed away!
Caravan was brilliant and lodge great last time
Posted 4 years ago
Our accomodation was lovely. The lodge was clean and comfortable with good facilities including a hot tub. Our only complaint was that there did not seem to be enough staff present to meet the needs of the large number of people who had chosen this destination for their holiday weekend. On the Friday evening we waited 1hour for our dinner and on the Saturday we waited 1.5 hours. This was not acceptable with two very hungry and grumpy teenagers! Staff were apologetic and almost embarrassed but the matter seemed to be outwith their control. Many people were complaining, not just about the service. but also the quality of the food being served. There did not seem to any management on hand to discuss these issues or to appease the situation. When we talked to staff they said that they did not expect the amount of people that weekend and that the kitchen was not big enough to cope with the amount of orders. However, surely any holiday outlet plans effectively and efficiently for the Easter Weekend!
Posted 4 years ago
Very good but extremely overpriced
Posted 4 years ago
Arrived to find a building site with the bowling gone, no badminton court and the now advertised pétanque court still to be built, in France this is played on any flat surface without any building needed.
Surely we should have been warned about this when we booked by telephone.
Meals taken in the Rob Roy restaurant were very disappointing .
Posted 4 years ago
We have been coming to a few of the parks now for over 10 years and have loved it. the prices however are very very high for families especially when you consider the facilities available and the standard of the lodges. They have had the exact same look and feel for years only now with the addition of a hot tub. The prices are actually now more expensive than centre parks which is very disappointing. Even on last minute holidays when the lodges are going to be empty is disappointing to see there is no special offers.
Posted 4 years ago
The complex caters less for persons staying in the Hotel, of which you could not obtain Wifi in the rooms. The shower was not consistent. Service in the restaurant and pub area was poor.
Posted 4 years ago
The caravan we stayed in was fantastic. We have been staying at your site every year for the last 10 years although this has been in your lodges. Unfortunately you increased the price by £70.00 with no justification for this increase. I also find it staggering that swimming is not included in the Holiday price. Instead of staying in our usual lodge in September we will be staying in a Hilton Lodge for less that £300 with swimming included. My only complaint therefore relates to value for money which I do not believe you are offering. I spoke with a family who stayed the weekend of 9th/10th April and there comment was the exact same as mine - you are overpriced for refreshments and swimming should be included. Thanks
Posted 4 years ago
This was our 2nd time back at Drumsynie after a wonderful stay last year. This year we couldn't hire our same lodge as it had been upgraded to a hot tube lodge and now out-with our price range. Unfortunately a few things negatively affected our family holiday.

Firstly no one told us when booking (or on the website) that renovations were happening outside. I think it would have been common curtsy to say to your guests prior to their arrival. Secondly, we had a poor experience at dining with you - we didn't mind the 50 min wait for food but the attitude of the waiting staff was a real disappointment. For us, with young children the activities package didn't suit our needs and the swimming and soft play was over-priced. We wanted to pay and we go with swimming but forced into a pricing meal/swim offer. Paying extra to have wifi in the lodge we also thought was too costly.

Unfortunately these things may affect us coming back next year.
Posted 4 years ago
We've been regular visitors for 15 years, staying in various accommodation styles. We stayed in Albatross 4 bed lodge 1st-4th April 2016. The lodge was disappointing. Dining room chairs need replaced, broken & uncomfortable. Leather suites need replacing, dated and looking worn. Kitchen crockery needed checked out with all cracked/broken items beefing replaced. Ice making function in large fridge not working. Hot tub lid broken. Not enough TV channels on main TV with poor picture quality. TVs in twin bedrooms too small. Tumble dryer not working. Toilet seat in twin room loose/broken with cob webs visible on bathroom ceiling. It would be helpful to provide guests tablets for the dishwasher.

We found the staff in the bar area/restaurant unhelpful and service was very slow.

Overall poor value for money
Posted 4 years ago
I stayed in March 2016. The holiday itself was fine, Everyone was very nice. This was the off season and the resort was very quiet with no guests, which was nice. Accommodation was good, facilities where undergoing renevations, which would have been nice to know, when booking , but again not a big deal.



I did however try to book out with the weekday / weekend slot booking times. Tuesday to Saturday was what I had wanted.
I was told this wasn't possible as there was allot of bookings, . However when I arrived, I think we where 1 of maybe 3 families in the whole resort. The resort was basically empty, and I though it would have been nice if they would have been a little more flexible considering the time of year and the capacity.
Not a huge deal, but I did not appreciate the less than honest sales approach. I didn't appreciate being told the place was full and that is why i couldn't have the dates I wanted . (which was not true. ).

Staff where great, food was nice, Rooms clean, price was fine.
Sales staff where dishonest.

A.Paterson
March 2016.
Posted 4 years ago
Argyll Holidays is rated 4.30 based on 583 reviews