Barclays Reviews

1.45 Rating 292 Reviews
10 %
of reviewers recommend Barclays

Write Your review

Tell us how Barclays made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Barclays 1 star review on 20th May 2020
Jawed
More Photos & Videos
Barclays 1 star review on 30th November 2019
Anonymous
More Photos & Videos
Barclays 1 star review on 30th November 2019
Anonymous
More Photos & Videos
Barclays 1 star review on 15th May 2017
J suckling
More Photos & Videos
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
No help from Barclays during this hard time of coronavirus, most application are declined after I speak to my friends. Suggesting to change the bank if you can to be more safe in future.
Posted 1 month ago
Barclays Business Dept - never able to get through on the telephone. Once you get connected if you use a mobile they cannot hear you - you are phoning somewhere like Indonesia. When get connected they patch you back to a city in the UK like Liverpool. Once do they cannot change anything, only issue forms. They do not try to help, they dont care a jot about business or customers. Worst bank I have every had to deal with. Appauling service
Posted 1 month ago
I have tried to call Barclays 4 times during this Covid 19 time. They do warn you that you will be on hold for over an hour. They do not warn you that they will not be able to process your request, due to the clocks going forward. I asked for a call back and this was declined saying they could not do so.
Posted 2 months ago
Coronavirus Help...
I'm Discussed......!!! I have multiple accounts.
I have been a loyal customer for over 20 years and I've never missed a payment, Nationwide my mortgage provider contacted me weeks ago offering a payment break due to the Coronavirus. I am self-employed and have been ordered by the Government to close the doors and stop trading for possibly three weeks, like thousands of others have to!!! Not my choice. So I called Barclays this morning explaining my situation and asked for a payment break from my loan, only to be told they have NOTHING in place and can't help me through these troubled times absolute joke Barclays thanks so much for your help. Our Government are doing an amazing job and trying to assist the entire country financially through these troubled times and Barclays can't even help their own loyal customers..!!!!
Posted 2 months ago
Outdated, rude, unprofessional, terrible customer service. Appalling company.
Posted 2 months ago
Ladbroke Grove branch, machines not working, customers queuing to the door & still only one teller working out of two positions available.
Posted 2 months ago
My father died and there was an outstanding mortgage on his home.
Iv paid thousands and they send me a statement showing iv paid a few hundred.
I have my bank statements to prove iv paid thousands. Now its under investigation.
Robbing/ thieving cunts.
Who would bank with these is beyond me.
Posted 3 months ago
My 17 year old daughters account was put under review after I transferred her £10 to pay her phone, it’s been a month and still under review, despite the time frame limited to 10 days, they will not let her take her money out, have blocked her card and online banking, they didn’t even tell her they was doing it, we have phoned many times without success, we opened a complaint in branch, only to receive a letter 5 days later saying complaint felt with, they are the worst bank ever
Posted 3 months ago
Disgusting company. My daughters account was used fraudulently, they accused her of doing it, blocked her account, stopped her taking her wages out after they closed her account all while she is going through cancer treatment. Appalled is an understatement
Posted 3 months ago
Barclays are useless. They take way longer than any bank to clear cash into account. I transferred £500 into my account, all the funds from one account where my card had broken. Then Barclays refused to clear the money and I now am sleeping homeless in a storm because Barclays won't resolve the transaction. I also have a credit card with Barclays with a balance on £7,500 on and they won't let the card use a penny as they now say it has been withdrawn despite the balance being paid off in full the whole time and myself having an income of over £60,000. Never use Barclays use any other bank, Revolut and other challenger banks are far far superior and will always help out and have polite useful staff who resolve situations. Barclays are rude and incompetent staff with a useless banking system they should be avoided at all costs
Posted 3 months ago
Worked for these vultures for 5 years.. Had nothing but grief... Deserted me after I made them millions. Osed all my accounts including insurances..

They say limme.. Make lives easier and heart of customer. All bs more like make live worse than heck... You were warned
Posted 3 months ago
Best way to deal with barclays is in a court room there fixed term which says maximum 3 withdrawals will allow you to make as many withdrawals as you like due supposedly to a glitch in there system which they have known about for the last 4 years which also constitutes breach of contract also asked a Mr Ruben goncalves this morning for information so I could use in court against barclays and have had no reply despite me quoting the legal requirements under the laws of this country they have also previously gave my home number to a survey company which is a breach of data protection which is also against the law they have also not taken my mental health seriously despite advertising they constantly they do they have also had to pay me £200 in compensation because they lied to the fso about a dispute we had they have also admitted there live chat team are not qualified to sort most problems despite when ringing them they tell you everything can be sorted on live chat I've spoke to an Indian call worker before when I asked to speak to a manager he told me he was the chief executive of barclays the company's an absolute joke can't wait for them to ignore my pre court action letter than end up seeing them in court got a feeling im going to be taking legal action a lot of times in the next few months
Posted 3 months ago
Shocking customer service
Posted 3 months ago
Trying to get help about printing statement for ISA twice. The first time advisor did not answer for 3 minutes and second time the advisor left the session. Really unreliable service.
Posted 3 months ago
Absolutely shocking behaviour from a customer service advisor, would not pass me on to a supervisor or manager and also refused to give me his name , changing my bank tomorrow after that fiasco, bye bye Barclays.
Posted 3 months ago
My Barclay card expired last dec.2019 and for some silly reason Barclays didn't send a new one to replace. so i noticed on the 19th jan. last week, on an attempt to make a payment in petrol station. That same day i rung them up about. They couldn't tell why they haven't sent the replacement card on time as it should. Anyways then have been a new card will be sent to you on monday. It comes friday and nothing so i rang them again and i asked if the new card comes from abroad? Then he ask me to confirm my home adress and we came to a conclusion that part of the adress is missing! No house number in so the letter could be delivered to anyone with that street postcode !!!
Someone is sleeping at work!
Mind you, my new debit card replacement came to my door with no issues a couple months before...
Posted 4 months ago
My father died on the 20th December 2019, in tragic circumstances. Due to the xmas/new year period we were unable to lay him to rest until the 13th January 2020. It was a very traumatic time for the family and a lonely festive period. My mother had passed in 2016. With loving fore site my parents had left funds in their Barclays accounts to cover the funeral costs and other outgoings.

On the morning before we laid dad to rest I went into Barclays bank in llandudno to cancel his accounts and to ask the bank to transfer the funds to my bank in Dublin. I filled in all the forms, provided all the ID they needed and provided them with details of my Irish account. I was told all was in order and that the funds would be available to me in 5 days.

The following Monday (5 working days) no funds in my account. Maybe the next day I thought. On the Tuesday I received a call from the payments section saying that they could not transfer the money due to an error in the account number. After a considerable time it transpired that the bank clerk had written my bank card number as the account number and had not supplied the IBAN number. After 4 or 5 calls to Barclays and considerable distress and frustration, they were given the missing numbers and they assured me that the funds would be transferred that day for me to receive on Wednesday.

No funds Wednesday. I called Thursday and was told the funds would be transferred before close of business to receive Friday.

No funds so far today. I called Barclays. Yes, they said. The money was transferred this morning and will be in your account imminently. Friday afternoon and still no funds.

It is 11 days later, I have been lied to 3 times, spent hours on the phone at considerable cost and still do not have the funds. I think the Barclays bereavement teams ought to be ashamed of themselves for the lacklustre and cavalier way in which they have treated me and my grieving family. I have no doubt that they will have charged me for the transfer and the delay has cost me dearly in the exchange rates over this 11 day period. Shame on you Barclays. You will be hearing from me. Very loudly!!
Posted 4 months ago
My wallet was stolen and I went straight to the Bank to cancel my cards! Three weeks later I'm still waiting on one card ,i go to the bank to realise it's not cancelled.No apology...
Posted 4 months ago
Luke Henshall, of Plymouth branch was exceptional, he found me stood in a queue, he basically simplyfied everything and I left understanding all I needed to know. If all your staff have this attitude this is the bank to be with.
Thankyou
Mrs kempthorne
Posted 4 months ago
The new banking app is absolutely rubbish
Why not leave well alone
I've been with this bank for over 40 years and am considering move
Posted 5 months ago
Barclays is rated 1.45 based on 292 reviews