BT Reviews

1.4 Rating 702 Reviews
9 %
of reviewers recommend BT

Write Your review

Tell us how BT made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
BT 1 star review on 15th December 2023
LDH
BT 1 star review on 20th September 2022
Ricardo St Coke
BT 1 star review on 7th April 2022
Anonymous
BT 1 star review on 7th April 2022
Anonymous
BT 1 star review on 16th April 2021
Mohammed
BT 1 star review on 20th March 2021
Patricia Marchand
BT 1 star review on 19th January 2021
Mahmoon Ul-Hussain
3
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
B T made my mental health worse.They don't give stuff..All they care is Money.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Was charged £125 for cancelling the service early (2 months) eve though it didn't work for 2 years and we had to pay for a different provider. Customer service is terrible and you'll waste hours of your life on the phone to them. Terrible wait time for engineers. They'll comment on this post saying they're willing to help but you go through the complaint service over and over with the same outcome. Avoid at all costs!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Disgraceful company, will put your bill up at any opportunity, unreliable internet and non existent customer service. Once my contract is up I will never go with them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
It's bad service, I sent modem to them but they charged me for it ,which is awful and i feel like fraud... don't go for BT it worse service and line is ....
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I resigned for another 2 year contract in Dec 2022 and negotiated a reduction in the bill to stay with BT. I was only charged the reduction once. After 2 formal complaints and 8 calls I am still paying more than the contract agreed price. They could not be more incompetent. The truth is they very carefully bounce you around until you get bored and give up.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Sir/Madam, We have been BT Broadband customers for 18 years but are extremely disheartened by the appalling service we have received over the last 4 months. We have endured a great deal of stress with time wasted, incorrect information given to us and appointments missed. We list below a time line of events. 1/ October 2022. Received an email from BT stating our contract was to end 17.11.2022 and providing a choice of 2 options. The first was to continue with the same plan at a reduced rate of £27.99 per month and the second was to upgrade to BT Halo 3 at £33.99 per month which included Home Tech expert support, a keep connected promise, a mobile data boost and home phone unlimited minutes. We chose the second option, expecting to receive an improved service. We then received an email inviting us to book an appointment for the home expert to fit the new hub and ensure our service was effective. We received several text reminders to be sure to be home on the day of the visit. 2/ November 17th 2022. Appointment was for between 8 and 12 noon. A contractor arrived at 9am and immediately asked where our new hub was. The hub was supposed to be delivered by Royal Mail, however we had not received it. He said he could not do anything but we would soon receive the hub which was easy to install. Meanwhile he checked our broadband speed and just laughed at how low it was. Consequently he ordered 3 discs to be sent to us to improve the broadband speed throughout the house, which again would be simple for us to install ourselves. 3/ November 18th 2022 4.40pm. R phoned BT to enquire about the new hub , still not received. After a lengthy wait and conversation, the operative said the hub had not been sent as it would not work on a copper system. We were obviously very unhappy as both the order had been accepted, we had been told to wait in for the engineer and no contrary information given. The phone conversation was transferred to 3 different representatives and lasted 2 hours. The final operative was so appalled by the service we had received that she raised a complaint. 4/ January 19th 2023. After Christmas, New Year and no further correspondence, R telephoned BT again and requested we return to the original contract at £27.99 per month, as we were unable to take advantage of the better hub. However the agent was adamant that we had signed up to the new contract for 2 years and that we were able to use the new hub on copper. R gave up, the call lasting another 45 minutes. 5/ January 26th 2023. R called again re our dissatisfaction with the service. He spoke to a manager who informed him we were only eligible for the discs on the Halo 3+ contract at £37.99 and the new hub and discs would work on copper. He also persuaded us that S should change her mobile phone contract from BT to EE as it was a better deal. He offered to make an appointment for a home technician but R suggested to wait for the hub and discs to arrive or we would be in the same situation as before. 6/ January 31st 2023 (As an aside ) S received a text from BT stating that she had broken her mobile phone contract with BT but would not be charged on this occasion! 7/ February 9 2023 R rang BT again to check on hub and discs to be told that on this package the discs are chargeable and we needed to upgrade to another deal. However a home tech expert would come to check our broadband. Unfortunately she was unable to get into the system to book an appointment. She promised to call back on R mobile (he supplied the number) the following day. 8/ February 10th 2023 S received a text (on her phone not R ) stating BT would call between 10 and 12. 11.55am BT telephoned S, out and about with her daughter. The operative was unable to get into the system again, she was working from home. S suggested she make the appointment and then text us to let us know the status but she said S needed to be on the line to make the booking. She was unaware of the complaint or why an appointment was needed. She eventually decided to try later and promised to call back by the end of the day. The call lasted about 15 minutes but no further call was received. 9/ February 13th 2023 S received a text to say BT would call between 10 and 12. Again no call was received. 10/ February 14th 2023 R called BT to make appointment. Again a 20 minute call but appointment made. 11/ February 16th 2023 S received text saying BT would visit between 9 and 12. 11.30 am Engineer rang to say running late to do our TV installation! 12.30 pm Two contract engineers arrived expecting to install a BT television. They again could do nothing but rang BT for us and BT called back immediately. We explained some of story but it was inexplicable why we had been booked for a TV installation. Eventually we were transferred to sales where the agent could not get into the account as it was locked because we were supposed to be having a TV installed. He told us to call back in 24 hours. To sum up, we are now 4 months down the line, with exactly the same broadband speeds as we had, yet we have an extra £10 monthly payment. There has been a catalogue of errors, misinformation and incompetence which has contributed to an abysmal customer experience. From a customer point of view, the original order for Halo 3 in October should not have been accepted by BT. We should have been advised, being on copper, to sign for the £27.99 contract and avoided the stress and frustration of these last 4 months. However BT operatives do not appear to have the knowledge to give advice on these contracts but seem to be incentivised to persuade customers to upgrade at every opportunity. As previously stated our customer experience has been horrendous and we would never be able to recommend BT as a broadband supplier. We think we should therefore be able to rescind the contract and reinstate the basic deal of £27.99 per month. LETTER SENT TO BT BUT NOT HOLDING OUT FOR ANY HELP
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Horrendous company charged me in 20 mins for broadband a month ago I made it clear I don’t have the socket for the phone line and would need an engineer Wasn’t processed correctly they said sorry and filed it as a complaint. They promised an engineer would come out 5 different occasions the engineer they booked and Confirmed did not show We even booked in extra staff to accommodate them We said to cancel the contract if they think it won’t come on the final time, they knew that they were “assigning” engineers and they weren’t turning up but still said that this time would be different. Ofcourse no one came, they also stopped calling - I would contact and be promised a call back that would never come. Called to cancel and get a refund and compensation for the staff that had to sit, they tried to say I have a pentalty for cancelling the broadband that I’ve paid for for a month so far with 5 engineers never coming. All companies might tie you into contracts but do yourself a favour and go with someone who will atleast give you what you bought instead of scamming you essentially. Wish I read the reviews before They know they’ve made a massive error and are just trying to continue to send me cables instead of just cancelling after a month of wasting my time Lone behold not received any cables and no “managers” or “complaints reps” have called when promised. Shock .
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Ordered fibre broadband in October,only just been installed today after a full day where the engineer turned up & discovered the fibres hadn't been put in, had to wait for them to come back. During the time between the order & installation had very little information & kept changing the dates. when I did speak to someone she was rude. Will be changing suppliers asap
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Worst customer service ever, Took 2 weeks to setup internet and on last day they told me on call it was cancelled and then said it was failed and asked to wait for another couple of weeks. I cancelled the order. Please don't use their service / place order with them. As they just gonna waste your time.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Appauling service. 3 months to connect us and when they finally arrived they fitted the hub on the floor in the corner of our bedroom . No internet to half the house . Customer services couldnt care less . Waste of time
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Well, what a terrible, insensitive money-grabbing company! I'm trying to block outgoing calls and cancel a BT landline account after bereavement - is it easy? - no it is not. After my mother died recently, as executor I kept the account going just for safety because the house was empty and the security cameras needed internet to function. After getting confirmation that the house was to be sold, with completion in a just a few days time, I immediately phoned BT, and after 50 minutes of fractured conversation all I learned was 1) BT won't close the account for another 30 days -note: not "can't" close it, they just won't close it. 2) BT will not block outgoing calls, meaning the new occupants will potentially have a live phone line for free. Note, not "can't "block outgoing calls, they just won't! So, BT, shame on you for your callous approach to your poor customers. You are the worst of the worst.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Moved house 16 months ago and signed up to BT fast broadband. They keep sending me mini routers to try and keep my broadband up and running, they don’t work they are useless. They have changed my package because they said it was what I needed, they lied, the broadband still no good. They sent several engineers, only turned up on 3 occasions with no excuses as to why they hadn’t previously turned up, leaving me out of pocket for waiting in for them. Kept changing router and mini discs and still no good. Finally after 16 months of complaining I had a call from customer services, a female called Sandra who was my dedicated customer service person, told me she would always be available to get my broadband sorted, she lied, could never get hold of her even after leaving several emails she never got back. The last engineer took about 3 hours to go through everything and replaced my router for the fourth time, at the moment I have stable broadband. I have been paying a lot of money and getting nothing back in return for 16 months, absolutely disgusting, can’t wait for my contract to end then I’m off to someone else who can supply what I need.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I am raging at Bt since I took over the business I have had nothing but mis-sold and lied to! I’ve been cut off I’ve been sold this sold that now I’m paying £129 a month when I was told if I switch to fiber which I had to because they we’re getting rid of copper I’d be paying £60 a month. I’ve had nothing but an absolutely shocking service since I took over in May. Please stay away from this absolute sham of a company and their lies their sales team tell you. Stand by the person at the end of the phone in Monday as I’m having to shut my business AGAIN to speak to your useless business. Everyone I’ve spoken to has not one good thing to say about BT! Please people stay away and please don’t reply with your generic reply! Date of experience: 20 January 2023
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Do not go with BT, horrible scammers, disgusting service, slow internet for most expensive price
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
If I could give BT a minus, I would. Totally shocking and disgusting service. Fed lie after lie. The right hand doesn’t know what the left is doing. November 2022. Moved house. Over the road 🤔, so we’ll within the exchange area. We were told at the start that we could 100% keep our phone number. The salesman on the phone mentioned we could get BT tv package for an extra £2 a month…….so we ok it. Then everything went belly up. The day after, “open reach” cancelled the order……no explanation. We were left with no phone, or internet. A week later, after being on live chat with BT, a mini hub was sent out. We tried to get it to work……..and a week later on another live chat session, the guy discovered that someone at BT hadn’t switched it on their end 🙄 Eventually we got Wi-Fi……….but they were having trouble getting the land line set up. We were promised phone call after phone call…….nothing 🙄 Weeks went by, and promise after promise, but nothing. Over 100 emails & sms messages from them. Including a phone call at 7am on a Sunday morning to tell us that someone would call the following week 😡 We have had emails saying, that’s it, your all set up and ready to go, only to check our phone…….nothing. It is now jan 17th, and have received email telling us that it is “not possible” to keep your number. I am self employed, the old number is on my van, business cards, & correspondence, not to mention possible lost trade due to their incompetence. They’ve offered 3 months compensation, which we laughed at……but they didn’t even have the decency to phone us and explain…….a bloody email. If I could get my number & service elsewhere, I’d jump at the chance, but BT have got the monopoly, and they know it. A total fiasco from start to finish.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
NOT WORTHY OF ONE STAR!!!!!!!! We have been without our telephone service other than a couple of days when engineers came since 23rd December. We have been in touch with BT almost everyday for around an hour at a time, if we charged it would be £40 per hour and they would owe us compensation for loss of service, plus £800 for our time. Every person spoken to gives different stories. It started with a faulty line on 20th December. When help was sought the first person spoken to said we didn't have a contract since 2004. Why the dickens have we been paying BT regularly since then, and agreed new contract terms, and had upgrades on internet etc. if we didn't have a contract? Rubbish No.1 They then tried three times to issue contracts and each one was wrong and also effective at a future date not immediately, Rubbish No. 2 Our service was taken away with a pending contract. On 27th December an engineer visited because the service agent said we needed a home visit. He had been to the green box and found that someone had wired up the lines incorrectly which would account for us and our neighbour not have a service. Friday 13th january our internet and phone service was eventually restored by an engineer who found a fault 680 metres from our house. He set up the new router for the internet as well. Today we went shopping and saw two Open Reach engineers working at the green box at the end of our road. My husband and I both said "looks like we are going to lose our telephone again". We arrived home two hours later and correct, no telephone. My husband has been fed a load of tosh again for an hour on customer dis-service. It will not be restored until 24th January as there is apparently an order pending. We agreed to a free trial of an upgrade to the internet to improve the speed. No one said they would take the phone service away until we receive that engineer visit. We still need our telephone. We are keeping notes of every call and contact. This monopoly was fine when the company was a good one, but it mustn't be allowed to continue with such awful service. Can't speak to a manager or anyone in authority.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Customer service means absolutely nothing to BT. I have had various issues since the start which have been very poorly handled to the extent that I received a large amount of compensation only after going to the ombudsman. Not long after this resolution another issue arose which again has been awfully handled and will likely result in another referral to ombudsman. Issues will always happen with any company however BT clearly have zero interest in providing or training staff that have the ability to meaningfully help customers, avoid at all costs
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I had a great experience with bt customer service.ive had a problem viewing my tv which was fixed today.i did have to speak with 2 separate departments both member's of staff were friendly and very helpful.i did struggle a little on my end because I'm currently unwell with strep.I told them my situation and they were very understanding and patient with me.the last thing I wanted to do to day is be stuck on the phone all day or writing reviews.im so happy with the experience I've had today I cant thank bt enough
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I literally cannot emphasise how bad this company and their practices are. I would encourage any one to stay well clear, and find another provider for your internet etc. It appears all staff are encouraged to lie and will try and claw money from you by any means necessary. I ended my contract early as I moved house some months back. As a result of this I was slapped with an early termination fee. Fair is fair - I knowingly opted into a longer contract. With the cost of the last bill, the early termination fee and the cost of the kit, which I eventually returned, I was left with a substantial final bill. I was struggling to pay this in one go, given the current climate. I rang multiple times only to be told that no payment plan of any kind could be set up. The bill has to be paid in full or it is sent to a debt collection agency, no questions. They also like to repeatedly send emails reminding you of this, I assume as a form of intimidation. I offered to pay back over a period of 3/4 months and to setup a direct debit but was declined. Bizarre, as their letters explicitly say if you are struggling to pay contact us. The next issue, which turned into a 2 month long nightmare, was the BT Hub. I was told this has to be returned or I would have to pay a £50 charge. Over the course of 2 months I repeatedly requested a returns bag to send the kit back. This bag was never sent, yet they kept sending reminders to pay the bill. Enoughs enough, so I ring and explain the scenario. The advisor told me that the fee would be wiped as a gesture of good will and the return kit would be sent. This, I was assured, would arrive within a day. Fast forward a week and I still hadn't received the returns kit and I was STILL being told the £50 remained on my bill. Evidently the advisor had lied to get me off the phone. May I add that the advisor told me that there was a note on the account saying that BT had failed to send multiple return kits. No one notified me of this though, I assume because they want time to run out so they can slap me with more charges. I finally got the returns kit and sent the kit back. I phoned a different advisor on the day of returning, as well as after I had been to the post office. I gave the tracking number, and he said all fees would now be wiped. I requested an email to be sent to confirm this as promises had been made before. An email was sent confirming I had sent the kit so I thought all was finished. Today is the 31st December and I get ANOTHER email saying if I don't pay the fee for the Hub right away it will be handed to a debt collection agency. I am literally pulling my hair out at this point. When I spoke to an advisor today, she said the previous advisor had not marked the kit as returned (I have been now lied to by 2 separate employees). She said BT had actually received my kit on the 22nd of December, yet I am still getting warning notices on the 31st. When asked why this was not resolved internally Kate provided some half arsed excuse about strikes. To be honest, her answer didn't even make sense. What do Royal Mail strikes have to do with BT marking my kit as returned? I have no clue. The kit was received on the 22nd yet I was still getting threatening emails. The case is now resolved, but I would urge any one to AVOID using BT at all costs. Employees seem to be incentivised to lie, and they will do anything to make a few quid out of you. Terrible and deceitful service, poor communication and more. Please avoid.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Haven't got the equipment connected yet nine days without tv viewing it's not acceptable .An employee said an 89 yr old set up her equipment .So rude and at this point of time I really can't trust this company .Appt made last Tuesday the engineer failed to show up .I asked them if someone could set the equipment up and they said it was easy I'm not a techie but a 71 yr old woman who needs a tv
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
BT is rated 1.4 based on 702 reviews