BT Reviews

1.4 Rating 703 Reviews
9 %
of reviewers recommend BT

Write Your review

Tell us how BT made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
If I could give BT a minus, I would. Totally shocking and disgusting service. Fed lie after lie. The right hand doesn’t know what the left is doing. November 2022. Moved house. Over the road 🤔, so we’ll within the exchange area. We were told at the start that we could 100% keep our phone number. The salesman on the phone mentioned we could get BT tv package for an extra £2 a month…….so we ok it. Then everything went belly up. The day after, “open reach” cancelled the order……no explanation. We were left with no phone, or internet. A week later, after being on live chat with BT, a mini hub was sent out. We tried to get it to work……..and a week later on another live chat session, the guy discovered that someone at BT hadn’t switched it on their end 🙄 Eventually we got Wi-Fi……….but they were having trouble getting the land line set up. We were promised phone call after phone call…….nothing 🙄 Weeks went by, and promise after promise, but nothing. Over 100 emails & sms messages from them. Including a phone call at 7am on a Sunday morning to tell us that someone would call the following week 😡 We have had emails saying, that’s it, your all set up and ready to go, only to check our phone…….nothing. It is now jan 17th, and have received email telling us that it is “not possible” to keep your number. I am self employed, the old number is on my van, business cards, & correspondence, not to mention possible lost trade due to their incompetence. They’ve offered 3 months compensation, which we laughed at……but they didn’t even have the decency to phone us and explain…….a bloody email. If I could get my number & service elsewhere, I’d jump at the chance, but BT have got the monopoly, and they know it. A total fiasco from start to finish.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
NOT WORTHY OF ONE STAR!!!!!!!! We have been without our telephone service other than a couple of days when engineers came since 23rd December. We have been in touch with BT almost everyday for around an hour at a time, if we charged it would be £40 per hour and they would owe us compensation for loss of service, plus £800 for our time. Every person spoken to gives different stories. It started with a faulty line on 20th December. When help was sought the first person spoken to said we didn't have a contract since 2004. Why the dickens have we been paying BT regularly since then, and agreed new contract terms, and had upgrades on internet etc. if we didn't have a contract? Rubbish No.1 They then tried three times to issue contracts and each one was wrong and also effective at a future date not immediately, Rubbish No. 2 Our service was taken away with a pending contract. On 27th December an engineer visited because the service agent said we needed a home visit. He had been to the green box and found that someone had wired up the lines incorrectly which would account for us and our neighbour not have a service. Friday 13th january our internet and phone service was eventually restored by an engineer who found a fault 680 metres from our house. He set up the new router for the internet as well. Today we went shopping and saw two Open Reach engineers working at the green box at the end of our road. My husband and I both said "looks like we are going to lose our telephone again". We arrived home two hours later and correct, no telephone. My husband has been fed a load of tosh again for an hour on customer dis-service. It will not be restored until 24th January as there is apparently an order pending. We agreed to a free trial of an upgrade to the internet to improve the speed. No one said they would take the phone service away until we receive that engineer visit. We still need our telephone. We are keeping notes of every call and contact. This monopoly was fine when the company was a good one, but it mustn't be allowed to continue with such awful service. Can't speak to a manager or anyone in authority.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Customer service means absolutely nothing to BT. I have had various issues since the start which have been very poorly handled to the extent that I received a large amount of compensation only after going to the ombudsman. Not long after this resolution another issue arose which again has been awfully handled and will likely result in another referral to ombudsman. Issues will always happen with any company however BT clearly have zero interest in providing or training staff that have the ability to meaningfully help customers, avoid at all costs
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I had a great experience with bt customer service.ive had a problem viewing my tv which was fixed today.i did have to speak with 2 separate departments both member's of staff were friendly and very helpful.i did struggle a little on my end because I'm currently unwell with strep.I told them my situation and they were very understanding and patient with me.the last thing I wanted to do to day is be stuck on the phone all day or writing reviews.im so happy with the experience I've had today I cant thank bt enough
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I literally cannot emphasise how bad this company and their practices are. I would encourage any one to stay well clear, and find another provider for your internet etc. It appears all staff are encouraged to lie and will try and claw money from you by any means necessary. I ended my contract early as I moved house some months back. As a result of this I was slapped with an early termination fee. Fair is fair - I knowingly opted into a longer contract. With the cost of the last bill, the early termination fee and the cost of the kit, which I eventually returned, I was left with a substantial final bill. I was struggling to pay this in one go, given the current climate. I rang multiple times only to be told that no payment plan of any kind could be set up. The bill has to be paid in full or it is sent to a debt collection agency, no questions. They also like to repeatedly send emails reminding you of this, I assume as a form of intimidation. I offered to pay back over a period of 3/4 months and to setup a direct debit but was declined. Bizarre, as their letters explicitly say if you are struggling to pay contact us. The next issue, which turned into a 2 month long nightmare, was the BT Hub. I was told this has to be returned or I would have to pay a £50 charge. Over the course of 2 months I repeatedly requested a returns bag to send the kit back. This bag was never sent, yet they kept sending reminders to pay the bill. Enoughs enough, so I ring and explain the scenario. The advisor told me that the fee would be wiped as a gesture of good will and the return kit would be sent. This, I was assured, would arrive within a day. Fast forward a week and I still hadn't received the returns kit and I was STILL being told the £50 remained on my bill. Evidently the advisor had lied to get me off the phone. May I add that the advisor told me that there was a note on the account saying that BT had failed to send multiple return kits. No one notified me of this though, I assume because they want time to run out so they can slap me with more charges. I finally got the returns kit and sent the kit back. I phoned a different advisor on the day of returning, as well as after I had been to the post office. I gave the tracking number, and he said all fees would now be wiped. I requested an email to be sent to confirm this as promises had been made before. An email was sent confirming I had sent the kit so I thought all was finished. Today is the 31st December and I get ANOTHER email saying if I don't pay the fee for the Hub right away it will be handed to a debt collection agency. I am literally pulling my hair out at this point. When I spoke to an advisor today, she said the previous advisor had not marked the kit as returned (I have been now lied to by 2 separate employees). She said BT had actually received my kit on the 22nd of December, yet I am still getting warning notices on the 31st. When asked why this was not resolved internally Kate provided some half arsed excuse about strikes. To be honest, her answer didn't even make sense. What do Royal Mail strikes have to do with BT marking my kit as returned? I have no clue. The kit was received on the 22nd yet I was still getting threatening emails. The case is now resolved, but I would urge any one to AVOID using BT at all costs. Employees seem to be incentivised to lie, and they will do anything to make a few quid out of you. Terrible and deceitful service, poor communication and more. Please avoid.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Haven't got the equipment connected yet nine days without tv viewing it's not acceptable .An employee said an 89 yr old set up her equipment .So rude and at this point of time I really can't trust this company .Appt made last Tuesday the engineer failed to show up .I asked them if someone could set the equipment up and they said it was easy I'm not a techie but a 71 yr old woman who needs a tv
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
what went wrong ?BT went wrong ,im a vulnerable person who needs the internet to keep in touch with the hospital as i have to do daily reports on my condition, BT were booked to come out and install full fiber wifi and did not turn up on the 23,11,22 so i phoned to find out why ,to be told it had been cancelled ,when the old provider turns off next week we are left in the cold ,no wifi. my mrs wont be able to work and i wont be able to contact the hospital absolutely disgusting service,would i recommend lol you must be joking ,complete waste of time
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I HAD TO CONTACT BT TECHNOLOGY DEPARTMENT BELFAST DUE TO A QUERY WITH REGARD TO MY SMART HUB 2 I HAVE TO THANK SEAN FOR RETURNING MY CALL TONIGHT WHEN HE CARRIED OUT A BROADBAND AND LINE TEST WHICH WAS APPRECIATED TOGETHER WITH INFORMATION REGARDING MY EXISTING HUB.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
No customer service, had our line taken over but still charged a early finish penalty. Complained spoke to an agent who lodged complaint. Agreed a call back the following Sunday - no call or no email to apologise or make an alternative arrangement. Money taken from account so I guess they didn't accept that the line was taken over so been rinsed. Will never use BT again. Terrible.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
BT senior directors should all be fired ! Can’t get an engineer to fix unstable internet in the house. Been 3 weeks and BT are hopeless. They subcontract engineer service to QubeGB ltd. They have cancelled two appointments last minute on the same day. They have now offered me another in 5 days. The BT seniors directors should all be fired. Qube GB are making huge profits whilst delivering awful service. The BT board needs to be accountable. They have a supplier failing to deliver service yet this supplier is making huge profits. Check their accounts out !
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Absolutely everything went wrong from making an order with bt business on 17 August 2022 to being here on 16 November and still no line connection. Diabolical and unprofessional. Unhelpful and incompetent would be just the tip of this iceberg of utter stress and time wasted.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
someone was to phone me on Sunday was in all day no one phoned tried to contact open reach totally impossible haven't got a clue what the recorded messages say. l just wish they would come and strip everything out NOT FIT FOR PURPOSE
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Bt business has the worse customer services provided. Staff is unprepared, service took 3 months to start. I have spender time, lost money at my shop daily with no internet. With no explanation and I was charged a month before start and I was full charge for a cancellation not requested!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
They sent a man to fix up my Internet he was 100% polite and clean .
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Customer service are very uneducated. And are actually DISGUSTING. When they answer the phone, you tell them the problem. They then put you back in the queue because they can't be bothered to be professional. And after waiting almost an hour for someone to answer in the first place.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Can do better..........trying to obtain some information from BT can be difficult as the 150 contact number does not work, the inside the UK tel number does not give you want 'information' options on the auto answer, and texting them gets you an 'auto bot' that does not provide info......so you end up reporting a fault, (when there is no fault) but you will eventually (40min) get an actual person to talk to, which will then get your info answered.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
23rd October 2022 and we have been without broadband since 7th October. Two days now and no landline. One Cube engineer has called and he didn't have a clue. Four Openreach engineers have been and they can't sort it out either. Didn't even bother turning up for last appointment. BT helpline is not fit for purpose. Keep cancelling my complaint when it is unresolved. Clueless advisers in Bombay who don't know what they are talking about. Next Openreach visit scheduled for Wednesday - if they bother turning up again. BT is a total cowboy outfit. Alexander Graham Bell had better engineers ! One star review is over generous !
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Leaving this company is impossible. Only way is to call them on phone lines that are busy for more than two weeks now. I ordered bag to return router before I managed to cancel my broadband. Can I just block my direct debit towards them? Will they be awful enough to go after me cos I couldn't leave?
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
What a horrible company move 3 weeks ago was told by BT not a problem in reconnection to new property, now been 3 weeks still waiting to be reconnected. Had appointments but no one turned up and no explanation. Tried phoning but can't get to speak to anyone . What a nightmare Bet
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
My partner had BT sports, when he died i contacted BT as the contract was his and in his name, they then went into his bank account and took not 1 but 2 more payments even though he was dead! when i complained i got a refund of £3
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
BT is rated 1.4 based on 703 reviews