BT Reviews

1.4 Rating 711 Reviews
9 %
of reviewers recommend BT

Write Your review

Tell us how BT made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
BT 1 star review on 15th December 2023
LDH
BT 1 star review on 20th September 2022
Ricardo St Coke
BT 1 star review on 7th April 2022
Anonymous
BT 1 star review on 7th April 2022
Anonymous
BT 1 star review on 16th April 2021
Mohammed
BT 1 star review on 20th March 2021
Patricia Marchand
BT 1 star review on 19th January 2021
Mahmoon Ul-Hussain
3
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
My elderly, in laws moved to BT. What a joke, 14 weeks on and they do not have a fully working phone line. You can only ring them if you are with BT as well!! Communication from BT has been awful. They completely turned off the phone line today without telling us! Causing alot of distress and upset to two vulnerable people
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
If I could give BT minus 10 , I would. I ditched them 20 years ago after moving house and had terrible trouble with them even then, poor service , poor reception etc. Since then, I met a new partner last year who had BT and was horrified that he could hardly get any reception. We complained, after 2 months of me shouting at BT , they finally fixed the problem for it to go wrong again 5 months later . They have ignored our complaint and after receiving a letter saying as their package was changing, we could leave. So we changed to Sky with supposedly 6 mths of BT left . Since then they have literally gas lighted and bullied us with conflicting emails and letters forcing us to pay £107 to leave despite earlier no charge info previously and are subtly threatening legal action. My partner is so stressed , he is paying but I will be contacting the Ombudsman about this . They are the most unethical company I have ever dealt with . Please do NOT sign with them, there are cheaper and better options out there
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
The problem started after I left BT. I returned the equipments as requested and received confirmation from them. I now face a charge of £30 for a missing dish that the apparantly sent me 5 years ago. After battling with customer service they insist on the charge. Also BT helped themselves to taking another direct debit after i left them. My account shows credit and I am promised weekly that I will receive the money back but so far nothing. I left BT because the Fibre braodband kept breaking up and despite one call after another, you get told that someone is going to look into it. Never agian
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Worst experience with a company in my life. Told on multiple occasions they would get my internet sorted. 5-6 times they messed up and it looks like I am 3-4 weeks without internet due to their incompetence. Also misled me on switching and couldn't claim compensation. An utter joke of a company.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
SCAMMERS, PLEASE STAY AWAY FROM THIS FRAUD SCAMMERS COMPANY! WE CLOSED OUR ACCOUNT 2 YEARS AGO AND SOMEONE FROM BT RE ACTIVATED ACCOUNT PROBABLY TRYING TO REACH TARGETS,we then closed it again!!!! SPOKEN TO THE MEMBER OF BT TEAM TOLD IT WAS RESOLVED, 2 MONTHS LATER RECEIVED A NEW BILL WITH THREAT to pay , CONTACTED AGAIN- BT CUSTOMER SERVICED SAID NO ONE EVER CONTACTED THEM TO CLOSE THE ACCOUNT, BIGGEST SCAMMERS !!!stay away!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Over nine months and still not sorted.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Horrendous experience with this company. Blocked my account after i tried to withdraw all the funds inside. EVEN DEMANDED to ASK FOR TAX PAYMENT ????? in order to unlock the account???? GOING TO REPORT THEM TO Finalresolute. com WHO IN THE WORLD CHARGE TAX FOR BUYING COINS???? THIS IS THE MOST FISHY AND SCAM CO I EVER SEEN
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Price for internet £48.99 however I tested the broad band speed its the same along side their competitors with the same speed their's much more competable and affourdable price. I had cancelled my TV contract however I had one channel and my understanding it was AMC £6 p/mth however Numerous attempts to get a reception i was on the phone with BT to access the AMC to no avail. At last BT gave an explanation I still had my YOUVIEW box and failed to return a box which iv had ffor over 12 years!! They said I wasnt paying for AMC despite all the hassle on the phone and staff trying to assist me accesssing the channe on numerous occassions.. I was so incenced being with BT for over 35 years!!! and all the hassle trying to get a reception ffor AMC!!!! IN a huge rage I paid the full amount, gone was the family holiday!!! And i marched on and went to Virgin. I SHOULD HAVE BEEN TOLD MONTHS EARLIER OR ON MY BILL I WAS PAYING FOR A YOUVIEW BOX IV HAD FOR YEARS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Messed up on 2 orders and didn't get my stuff sent in time for the engineer. Terrible company and is messing with my business. Absolute disgrace.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I have been trying to cancel my BT landline for several weeks. No matter when I phone the cancellation line it's "extremely busy" and I'm forced to queue for ages listening to Ed Sheeran. So not only are BT charging me for a line I don't use, they are obstructing my path to cancellation with a wall of Ed Sheeran. By my reckoning I have listened to 7 hours of Ed Sheeran this month and I'm still nowhere near getting my account cancelled. I think this is their plan, I am almost willing to pay a monthly fee not to have to listen to Ed Sheeran. I am beginning to wish I had just been born deaf, or in a country with no telecommunications infrastructure. And what does an "extremely busy" phone line look like to a corporation that deals exclusively in phone lines anyway? They must have the entire population of South East Asia phoning up to listen to Ed Sheeran all day. No wonder everybody's burned out and depressed and turning to opioids.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Left BT recently because of billing issues I was told I would could leave without any exit phase they kept sending me a bill for nearly £200 after eight phone calls we resolved it after them threatening to send some kind of bailiffs to my address and then send my BT box back they are now claiming that I haven’t sent my BT box back and asking for more money from me it’s basically harassment what’s going on here avoid them they are the most disgusting company you will ever deal with
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Worst customer service you can find. They cause more problems than solve them. They accidentally blocked our wifi because a neighbour was switching providers and the BT team registered this change under our address (how this is even possible is beyond me). Then they refused to recognize they were at fault and couldnt re-install our internet until the following week.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
BT cancelled my fully paid for businesses land line trying to sell it to another customer. I kept getting cancellation notices which I responded to telling BT the line was active and still required. However, they persisted in cancelling despite telling me they wouldn't. I then spent about £1k putting temporary lines & redirections in with my IT company to do everything necessary to keep phone communication open. BT did revert my line back to me. It probably took 3 working days in waisted time talking to the BT merry go-round along with my IT company. Took the dispute to the Ombudsman to get reimbursed however in the T&C's BT somehow aren’t responsible for this type of self-imposed problem. I got awarded £108 compensation. BT is a disgraceful company that is too big to take care of its customers with care, there is no continuity from them & they're expensive compared to other providers in the market. It was with great delight today that I have thrown the shackles of this dreadful company NEVER TO RETURN!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE. ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE. They don't know their own processes and don't make concessions even if they're in the wrong. They asked that I return my hardware equipment at the end of my contract as I was moving address. They said go into any EE store and drop it off, it couldn't be easier. I arrived at EE and was told that they have never accepted routers etc. so I called BT from the store to ask what was going on and why they had wasted my morning by advising to take the equipment to EE. They apologised and said they'd send out a returns bag instead so I could send the equipment back. I gave them all the details of my new address as I was no longer living at the old address, and thought nothing of it. The next time I hear anything, it's my old landlord calling up to say there's a bag addressed to you from BT. Obviously they've sent it out to my old address. After calling up again and explaining the series of errors from BT, I was then told I still had to return the hardware or I'd be charged. So after wasting nearly 8 hours of my time. They wouldn't waive a £50 charge. It was out of circumstance that I left BT, but I'll be cancelling my business broadband and EE contacts now and won't be back again. Treat people better and you may manage to keep some customers. But I won't be one of them.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Worse company to provide broadband service for this generation!!! I am a BT customer for more then 3 years and previously I had issues with the broadband speed with BT and currently I have the same issues plus they increase the monthly payment from £30.99 to £35.45 for the worse internet service and speed is only 57 MB. I tired to speak to the customer service few times and they were unprofessional and didn't resolve my problem. later I asked them to cancel the BT broadband and they asked my to pay cancelation fees £195. unbelievable!!. Even I was with BT for long time, they did not value their customers and told me that they don't care and they can't do anything about it. So, now I have to pay £35.45 for Worse internet service where they promised it will be £30.99 per month. I do understand they increase their price every year but from 30.99 to £35.45 is not acceptable for only broadband with the speed is only 57MB. where other service provider offering full fibre optic broadband speed 1GB for £30 per month. (everyone can check online). So, My advice will be to not get any contact with BT as they don't value their customers and they will put you trough the same situation which I am having right now. Please search for other providers for better service.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I spoke to a customer service member called Ben. He was new in the job but I cannot praise him highly enough for his customer service. He was warm, friendly, very patient and came over as such a nice person. It was so nice to speak to someone so pleasant and he answered my query really professionally. Well done to Ben.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
awful. if you are a business owner and you want to spend your days arguing with them, please sign up with BT. no broadband for 1 month and after the activation, after 2 weeks they cancelled the line again.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
DO NOT even think of using BT, worst customer services ever. They don't listen even when they are the ones who make the mistake, they fail to honour promises of correction. And then charge you for their errors. After being a customer for 12 years + I was out of contract and told I could move with my current number and remain out of contract. I provided ample notice of my move and the new address in full. However my line was not moved when I contact BT they apologised and said they would get it done after waiting 3 weeks for the line and Internet to finally be ready to use I was then informed I was now in a new 2yr contact of which I was unable to get out of without paying £250 cancellation fee!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi.This was my shameful interaction between myself and this half joke hard to even be named a company Internet provider called BT. Started with promotion of 21 pound per month as being part of EE provider for last 2 years. They sended wrong modem pack with unfunctional USB cable,I've lost precious time from my own life dealing with engineer coming home and having that adjusted saying it was not my fault. Company tried charging me 245 pound for that just so you can imagine and just run 🏃‍♀️ when hearing about this half joke and clown company called BT After not paying this extra charge for non fault reason contract was closed and company tried to make new price instead of 21 pound per month they ve said the increase would be now to 38 per month including vat for a period of 2 year mandatory. With all due respect and in the most civilised way all I could think about is to just say F**k off Folks stay AWAY of this thieves please and all the hassle that is provoked. Bless you all and stay safe P.S. Do they even have a star rating available that is included for this clowns and their joke of a company pretenders ?????????????????????
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
We contacted BT 8 weeks ago for internet service. They since missed 3 appointments without letting us know no one will be showing up, billed us twice, and we are still without internet. I have the transcript of my chats with BT agents, being transferred back and forth, being promised that the engineer will come next Monday. That was 3 weeks ago, no agent, no internet. Please see the screenshot of the chat ((first and last page) that lasted 2 hours with no outcome. Avoid by all means. Unprofessional and a joke of a company. Oh, the bill is also double the amount than what the contract they didn't adhere to stipulates. Worst company I ever had the misfortune to deal with. Avoid.
BT 1 star review on 7th April 2022 BT 1 star review on 7th April 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
BT is rated 1.4 based on 711 reviews