First Tutors Reviews

4.6 Rating 8,866 Reviews
93 %
of reviewers recommend First Tutors
4.6
Based on 8,866 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read First Tutors Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0843 289 9165

Email:

enquiries@firsttutors.co.uk

Location:

PO Box 860
Preston
PR3 9DF

Write Your review

Tell us how First Tutors made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Found information on a number of tutors in my area - really helpful - have had my first lesson and my tutor is great
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
It was very easy and quick to find a tutor.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
The tutor intentionally misled me into purchasing his details by offering one to one tuition, agreeing days and times, but then stating they only do group. First tutors should stop this behaviour. I appreciate will make more money in an hour for group, but it is not why I use this site.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Dear Amit, We were very sorry to learn of your disappointment with your tutor - we appreciate this is not the experience you were hoping for and understand your concerns. I see that you have already been in contact with our Customer Support team and we have provided you with the contact details of a replacement tutor free of charge. I do hope all is going well with your new tutor. If you need any further assistance please contact our team by email again and we will do our best to help. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 10 months ago
Claire ox excellent. She is explaining topics to my daughter exactly how my daughter understands them. Great choice for us.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
This website is helpful, I found 2 great tutors on this website.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Prompt reply and well structured helpful tutorial sessions.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
I thought I was paying the first lesson with my tutor when you wanted me to pay £30, but after the second lesson my tutor told me, I didn t payed her anything yet and need to pay another £40 for the first lesson. So basically I had to pay £30 only to find someone I will hire for 4 times. Its not funny and not great. It is extremly expensive.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Dear Judit, Thank you for your feedback. The finder's fee is displayed on the First Tutors homepage. It is also displayed within the message request forum next to the tutor's hourly rate. (two fee's are displayed). The finder's fee helps cover the cost of tutor ID checks, reference collection, qualification verification and the running of the website. If you find that the tutor isn't suitable or they let you down in some way, we ask that you leave feedback on the tutor's profile and then offer you another tutor at no further cost. We want to ensure that you have a positive experience with us. If you have further questions, please do not hesitate to contact us. We respond quickly via email. Kind regards Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 10 months ago
Didn't realise that the start up was £14.99. The tutor didn't tell me that either! Are your tutors trained in how to meet people for the first time, how to screen share and how to prepare and direct a lesson?
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Dear Sarah, Thank you for leaving feedback. First Tutors charges a finder's fee, this is displayed on the main home page, within the request next to the tutor's hourly rate and also mentioned in the emails we send to clients. The finder's fee is to help cover costs of performing ID checks on tutors, reference collection, qualification verification, running of the website etc. If you have a problem with a tutor we offer another tutor at no further cost once you have contacted us to let us know. Please feel free to contact us if you have further questions. We want your experience with First Tutors to be a positive one. Kind regards Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 10 months ago
First Tutors assisted in finding us a great tutor and the process was fairly straightforward.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Sorry! I had such difficulty getting money paid to you even as far as being told I would lose my booking. I don’t know why my card was not accepted until the very end when it suddenly went through, even my son couldn’t get it right, however, many many thanks for a lovely teacher. She is brilliant and just right for me.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Fine as a platform to access tutors.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Super efficient - really pleased with the service
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
I think the charges to get someone's details are an unnecessary cost that act as a barrier to finding a teacher. I think the price should be reduced or give you a number of contacts (i.e., £10 can be used to get the details of three teachers). I think it wouldn't be such an issue if the site didn't 'vet' your messages to tutors. I sent a message that took time to get to my potential tutor because it had to be reviewed by the website (I hadn't even asked for contact details or anything, nothing sinister, so I don't know why this happened).
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Dear Megan, Thank you for your feedback. First Tutors charges a finder’s fee for connecting you with your chosen tutor. This fee is linked to the tuition rate your tutor charges per hour and is between £4.99 and £34.99. Our fees help cover the cost of identity and reference checks on all of our registered tutors and the fee payable is displayed in the header of the request. We only ask for this payment once you have discussed your requirements in full and you are happy to go ahead with tuition. If you later find the tutor isn’t suitable or they have let you down in some way we offer you another tutor at no further cost. The message forum is moderated but any content that is unfairly trapped is soon white listed by our admin team, usually within minutes. We apologise if this has caused an inconvenience. If you have further questions, please do not hesitate to contact us via email. Kind regards Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 10 months ago
Everything worked well and they answered me quickly
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
First Tutors are very efficient organisation, and they provide quality service to their customers. They are super quick to deal with queries, and i must admit that within hours, you will find your desired tutor.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Easy to use and the Tutor is great.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Very quickly got exactly what i wanted for my daughter.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Very knowledgable, Relaxing atmosphere and a nice comfortable area to learn in.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
responded quickly and professionally. Looking forward to working with them.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
John is very nice and understanding. He has a very good system for me to learn and how I ask questions.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
First Tutors is rated 4.6 based on 8,866 reviews