Animal Friends Reviews

1.80 Rating 415 Reviews
19 %
of reviewers recommend Animal Friends
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week

Write Your review

Tell us how Animal Friends made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I have a 2 year old shi tzu who has a bad case of ear infection. He had to see the vets which costed 470 pound which we paid in full went to claim on insurance which only paid 70 pound. This company needs shutting down as shocking payout. The struggle for us to pay our bet bill was hard. Overall disgusting
Posted 4 months ago
I am very happy with the service my dog had a operation on his eye the vets was not going to except my insurance untill they realised it was through paw tall operation was done and was a success and my insurance never went up really happy customer
Posted 4 months ago
Absolutely awful company. Our dog had lumps removed, now they say it’s due to stress... really ?? And won’t pay ..
Posted 5 months ago
My wife and I are sat here in tears, our friends whom are with animal friends want to leave asap. We had insurance we made a mistake and its only for 1k, this appears to be our problem with thought the wording meant 4k. Our 4 year Dashund went for boosters just over a year ago, vet went he as a creaking knee may get arthritis later in life, we thought nothing of it, he now has a problem with his leg and was refered to wear referals they have phoned and said his cover as been pulled 12 hours before his scan which is £1500 as this was a pre existing condition over a year old so no cover, we knew nothing of this so now have no option to put my best buddy in the world to sleep as I cant afford it, they said we can complain but we dont have time he is in pain, Animal Friends I think not. Feel like my soul has been ripped out.
Posted 5 months ago
Let's be clear, they are certainly not friends of animals or owners. Assumed dogs tumor was due to unrelated cosmetic condition (one they don't cover) despite vet stating it was nothing to do with it. They even scoured through pet vet history and found that a previous vet on occasion put a muzzle on our dog (his choice) and then they implied he was also aggressive!!! Avoid at all costs, I wish we had look more at the reviews on the Internet when renewing ( we were with for 4 years).... way mor negstive than positive.

Sadly our dog didn't survive, but they don't care.
Posted 5 months ago
Avoid at all costs. I should have read more reviews before taking out this policy as there are a huge amount of terrible ones. We had some small lipomas on our dog looked at years before taking out the policy. Several years later after having the policy for a couple of years my dog developed a couple of lumps (not near the existing lipomas that had never been an issue or grown in size) these new lumps were growing and would need removing. Although I thought they may reject the pre authorisation because he had had previous lumps checked I did not expect them to then put an exclusion in my policy meaning that he would not be covered for any tumours or cancers! After calling them it was clear that they wouldn't change their minds as they can do what ever they like. I inquired if they would reduce the price of the premium as they had decided to reduce the service they were providing me, only to be given a firm NO and that they wouldn't discuss it. If this company had an honest bone in their bodies they would change their name from 'animal friends' to 'screw your pet we only want your money'. It would be far better to pay a little more for your policy and go with a decent insurer as their insurance isn't worth the paper its printed on! 1 star review is far too generous!
Posted 5 months ago
Referred to the ombudsman for being unashamedly difficult. Going against my vet's assessment so they can link two COMPLETELY UNRELATED conditions and avoid paying.
The vet is totally shocked by their 'assessment' but said "off the record" they're the worst insurance company and they get a sense of dread when a customer says they're insured with them because they'll do whatever they can to avoid paying.
Posted 5 months ago
They really do refuse to pay out at all costs.
Our dog developed a nasty skin infection on her back last month which is now potentially going to cost us hundreds a month in medication but apparently it's a pre existing condition (she has had a bad patch on her leg for years which has never been a cause for concern) but apparently that's a good enough reason to take £45 from us a month and refuse to help when they should be! Horrendous company, avoid at all costs!!!
Posted 5 months ago
Pretty much the same as everyone else reviews. Put a claim in, they refuse then put an exclusion on your policy to prevent further claims. Happy to take the money each month but not to pay out when you need it.

AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS!!
Posted 6 months ago
Awful company, Ruby our Staffy died from heart failure yet animal friends, against our vets advice decided to take upon itself that Ruby died from a pre existing condition.... A lypoma yes a unharmful fatty lump, so with them never seeing Ruby they thought they knew more about my dogs health than my vets and I, please if you have any sense avoid, avoid avoid, they are very condescending and have no empathy. If one person reads this review and looks elsewhere I may just may cheer up a small amount, If your pet for eg hurts her foot/leg when she is 2 years old and later in life suffers problems with said leg, sorry not covered pre existing condition and 365 days have elapsed, disgusting.
Posted 6 months ago
MyDog has a Tumor they refused to help saying teeth and gums not included in my policy,i cancelled my policy then they replied after blocking me on twitter and reading my google review and said my concerns would be looked at by there complaints department and again said no,rubbish company,dont waste your money,i had no claims for years till it mattered at 22ppm for there so called super cover,not loose change,and no refund offered,my vet says problems with teeth and gums are a very common problem in pets and if you want to insure your pet use pet plan uk or just save your money in a bank for a rainy day,now i am faced with a hefty vet bill,thanks for nothing Animal friends,
Posted 6 months ago
Paid out for TPLO surgery with no questions or issues at all. I would say if taking out insurance make sure you do tell of any vets visits, it won't necessarily put your insurance up, but logs whatever was treated.
Posted 6 months ago
The worst insurance company I have ever dealt with. They acted against how the vet filed the claim following the death of my beloved cat. Appalling customer service and exceptionally patronising. Lodged an official complaint with the Ombudsman
Posted 6 months ago
Just cancelled my policy with animal friends,our dog needed an operation on his eyes they refused to pay out saying the dog was born with this condition,would not recommend this insurance,waste of money
Posted 6 months ago
The company does everything not to pay you, it combines, extends the time so that you do not deserve anything. Avoid from afar. It is better to insure in another more expensive company. They are very dishonest, I do not recommend. Never again.
Posted 6 months ago
Like other customers comments we have insured our dog for 8 years with animal friends never made a claim - he needed a scan for a bad leg and the claim was declined on a technicality as he had seen the vet in the previous year for a limp despite being insured with them the whole time - would never trust them again with one of our pets - they weren't there when we needed them as they should have been - be careful out there is all I can say look elsewhere would be my advice
Posted 6 months ago
Awful company. Had policy for 5 years, but they refused to pay out on a ruptured fatty lump. They say they're not paying out because we noticed the lump 18 months ago and apparently we only had 365 days to have the lump seen to. Our vets advised against surgery due to the dogs age but after 18 months it ruptured and needed attention. That's when this company drop in the 365 day rule and refuse to pay out. We now have a £500 bill. Policy cancelled.

Avoid this company like the plague.
Posted 7 months ago
Decent service, decent product for my dogs ruined only by the huge (10%+) price rises every year regardless of any claims or not. Buy if you want the service, avoid if you hate being gouged for no justifiable reason. To be fair the problem seems endemic to the pet insurance market, and AF still come best for my needs on a price comparison site.
Posted 7 months ago
Would not pay claim .. said it was pre existing condition , my vet even rang them to challenge them .. They ignored him .. Took my money for 8 yrs with no other claims the number refused this one .
Rude and condescending..
AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL ..
Stay well clear
Posted 7 months ago
Animal friends is a shocking business , they use anything they can to wiggle out of a claim , even when advice from your vet obliterates their argument, leaving you no option but to pay the bill or take them to court. Their staff don’t really care , in fact they were clearly planning to reject the claim before I’d even submitted it ! My advice is to swipe right on this company, find a proper insurer that can give the security that you and your pet need because animal friends can’t

Please note I gave it a 1 star because that’s the lowest score I can give them on this site but If there was a zero star option that’s what I’d score it
Posted 7 months ago
Animal Friends is rated 1.80 based on 415 reviews