Animal Friends Reviews

1.77 Rating 432 Reviews
18 %
of reviewers recommend Animal Friends
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week

Write Your review

Tell us how Animal Friends made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Recently I had to have my dog put to sleep due to kidney failure. My vet submitted the claim form to Animal Friends and then it was up to me to provide the whole of my pets medical history all 12 and a half years!! That meant contacting 3 vets for the history. Seems that Animal Friends are looking after share holders and not our pets. They were not so picky about the medical history when i signed up!.
I paid a loaded premium due to the age of my pets only for on pay out to find that Animal Friends took another 20% excess off the claim due to the age of my pets.
Totally unsatisfactory if I ever get another pet I will avoid using these badly worded Animal Friends.
Posted 11 months ago
Don't waste your time with this people and get a insurance with a decent company.
Posted 11 months ago
An absolute sham. Our poor old dog developed a chest infection, he coughed up blood and we thought we would lose him and these cowboys...Animal Friends refused to payout. An absolute shower of S**t
STEER CLEAR
Posted 11 months ago
Awful, awful, awful, I have an ongoing claim with them because my vet went to the vets back in November for an ear infection - They sent me an e-mail to say it was being processed - good - I am a very busy working mum of 3 children with horses etc and last month I realised I hadn't heard back from them. I called and a adviser said that my claim had been 'forgotten' was still pending and couldn't explain why! I asked her to look into it and process - I am now on my third email from them - they keep asking me the stupidest of questions and I swear it is to avoid paying up - I had a big claim from them last time and they bearly refunded for all sorts of stupid reasons. Also some of their staff are cocky and you can tell they enjoy telling you you will not get a refund - disgraceful company - I am waiting for my claim to be sorted (just in case they were to refund me but doubt that will happen ) and then I cancel my policy with them. Thieves!
Posted 11 months ago
My beautiful Labrador had ruptured his cruciate ligament approx 2 years ago and they paid the £4K bill! Our vet stressed it might happen to his other back leg, I checked with AF and they said it was covered, in the meantime I am paying nearly £40 per month for him as my premium went up! I also have 2 other dogs so pay just under £100 per month! He recently ruptured his other leg, they’re not paying as its time limited to 365 days! What the hell! So now have to take out a loan to pay this ridiculous amount of money! All I want is my labbie to be ok! What a rip off! I have cancelled all of my insurance and set up a savings account to put the money into! Please beware!
Posted 11 months ago
Awful and totally unhelpful. Our Vet advised us in 2017 that the Lipoma lump on our dogs leg was harmless and no need to get it removed. Took him twice & got same advice. Finally took him to another vet as he was uncomfortable, & they removed lump the next week. We were advised by AF that as he is over 8yrs we would also be deduced a further 20% from any claims on top of the £100 excess. We have now been advised that our claim of over £900 has been declined as initial diagnosis was in 2017 - although we had simply followed vets advice. In addition we have were advised that as he has put on weight the premium goes up from £17.46 to just under £24. Followed by another email advising new premium will be £27.00. So even though we have not been paid for our claim the premiums have gone up by £10 pcm. In addition they have now told us that Lipoma is now excluded on our policy! What?? He is 12yrs old and is bound to get more lumps!
Have now cancelled policy and would rather put money to one side for any future eventualities. Sad that they are quick to take money, increase premiums but reluctant to pay out claims.. Steer clear !!
Posted 1 year ago
Worst insurer, whilst I appreciate insurance has exclusions, I’ve never know so many and at these high prices for older dogs, stay away from this insurer on reviewing I’d like to see how many claims they actually pay, will be looking around for a different insurer now..... stay away from Animal Friends they should be closed down by the regulator and not allowed to sell insurance .
Posted 1 year ago
OMG - don't bother!

We paid for 17 years and now, because our vet noted a cough over 365 days ago (hidden in the detail of course), our death cover has been declined. Seriously - don watts your money. Put it in a jar instead and use it when you actually visit a vet.
Posted 1 year ago
They're great at taking your money. They're great at whacking up the premium even though you haven't claimed.

When you do claim, they're terrible at actually paying out. They'll find any excuse in the book, or hidden in their masses of ts&C's.

They expect you to go against the wishes of your vet. If your vet says monitoring, animal friends say operate.

They're nothing like friends to animals. Avoid these charlatans.
Posted 1 year ago
Worst insurance company going. Been with Animal Friends for 7 years and have never missed a payment. Have tried making claims over the years and every time they come up with a reason why they don't need to pay out. Just want to get you off the phone as quick as possible. Have finally left them after just trying to make another claim and guess what. No chance. Definitely would not recommend them. Do not waste your money with these con men. Asked to speak to a manager with which they replied one would get back to me within 24 hrs. That's because it will be a long distance call from a Yacht off the coast of Spain where they are spending all our premiums.
1
Posted 1 year ago
Stay clear of these weasels
Posted 1 year ago
DISGUSTED
Wish I'd never got a policy with them!! For dogs over 8yrs old you pay 20% of every single bill. Plus so many things are excluded which you don't realise you'll need. Then the lowest blow is they don't help pay to get your loved pet cremated.

Policy wording
Section 1: Vet fees
1.3 Exclusions
The following are excluded from cover:
1.3.16 Costs for cremation and disposal, including post mortem costs, coffins or caskets;
Posted 1 year ago
Awful company. Customer service unbelievably bad.
I been with this company for many years and never had to claim.
I called and ask if I could have my mail delivered to my office instead of my house (1/2 mile ) they said no problem that will be £70!!
I said don't bother then ill keep the address where it was, they said they couldn't change it back.
There now being reported to the FCA.
If they are this dishonest on a address change God knows what would happen on a medical claim.
Im not going to take that chance and I'm going elsewhere.
Check all the other bad reviews.
Posted 1 year ago
Shocking company! Do not use!! NOT Recommended!!! Paid over £1200 in insurance policy fees over 4 years because we chose a premium policy thinking we were doing the best for our dog. Premiums rose every year despite no claims.
We recently claimed for the first time and it was any pathetic excuse to send the claim back to the vet and 2 months later they awarded 1/3 of the claim... £150. We had to fight to get that!!! Got a 2nd smaller claim waiting for monthly meds as the issue is going to be a long term condition, however I'm waiting to see how many creative ways they can come up with to wriggle out of paying!!!
They are quick enough to take your money but will not pay out when it is needed. I think they need to remember they are being paid (a lot) to provide a service instead of acting like they are doing the customers a favour by dishing out an odd payment and expecting us to be grateful.
I am furious with this company and there is a complaint ongoing. I consider myself to be completely out of pocket as I would've been hugely better off saving the money in a bank account. There is no way we will ever get anywhere close to the premiums we have paid in and I get that most of the time insurance is throwing good money away on 'what ifs', but come on... ur happy enough fleecing the customers with over inflated premiums! Dreading how much they will go up on renewal!!! Better off saving it yourself and cutting out these con artists. Even our vet said they were by far the worst company they have to deal with. Wish I'd seen this review page before I took out our policy.
Do yourself a favour and dont touch animal friends with a barge pole!!!
Posted 1 year ago
VERY POOR - Please do not take insurance with animal friends, if your pet has had anything previously the matter with it then this is basically classed as a pre-xisting condition even if they are not linked...
Posted 1 year ago
Just to let you all know if you are considering taking out pet insurance with this company be aware they will not pay out if your dog is involved in a road traffic accident. Apparently, you have to foresee EVERY eventuality, EVERY possible scenario that may lead to your beloved pet getting hit by a car. The implication being you threw the dog under the car deliberately!! Well, policies have been canceled and complaints filed. This company is a disgrace and should be put out of business! Make sure you tell all your doggy friends!
Posted 1 year ago
Like others have said when your dog is older they are basically not covered for anything. Something noted by the vet in the past will be used as an excuse not to pay, despite the vet confirming to me that they are unrelated. Policy cancelled now and money will be put away each month to use if required.
Animal Friends is like a protection racket!!!!!
Posted 1 year ago
If I could leave no stars I would. They have been taking payment for my beagle cross for nine months. Come to make a claim and because I said he could be a different breed due to his height,they told me they don't insure foxhounds as they are a banned breed. Biggest liars I have had the displeasure of dealing with in years. Cowboys of the worst kind. DO NOT GIVE THEM YOUR MONEY.
Posted 1 year ago
I have been a loyal customer for 10 years and I can say they have gone downhill. I have had cause to contact them twice in the last 12 months and both times have been thoroughly disappointing. The first time was for my 'elderly' dog of 10 years for whom they only paid me a percentage of the cost. The second for my cat who I had to take to the out of hours vet. She had severe diarrhoea and was floppy and deteriorating. the cost of the vet was £316.42 yet they only paid me £70.95!!! I have a Superior Plus policy yet they gave me £70.95. I think I am paying my money for no benefit, they like to take the money but not pay it out.
Posted 1 year ago
On line quotes do not highlight the clauses and claim deductions on policies. For pets over 8 years good example 20% deducted from the final vets bill.no death payment, no cremation payment. No blood samples paid.excess on policy is £90.
Posted 1 year ago
Animal Friends is rated 1.77 based on 432 reviews