Churchill Reviews

3.9 Rating 1,351 Reviews
74 %
of reviewers recommend Churchill
3.9
Based on 1,351 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
1.8 out of 5

Write Your review

Tell us how Churchill made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Thanks very much very helpful and cooperative insurance company
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Phoned them to cancel my home insurance as I found a better deal . Was put on hold but didn't have to wait long . When I said I was going to I didn't want to renew my policy they only asked why , I told them they were very professional about it and didn't pressure me to stay with them.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
House insurance Storm on the 18/02/22 blew 2 tiles from my roof a church 5miles from where I live had a spire blow off on the same day. But Churchill claims my damage was done by lack of maintenance. It cost me £950 to have it replaced,they told me on the day i rang them that they had 7000 claims and was passing all claims over to a firm called BVS . 3weeks later he arrived at 7.30 am stayed 5 minutes took a few photos and said that they would not pay for damage . I am very unhappy after 12 years and no other claims I have moved to a different company and saved £140 as well
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
I would like to submit a formal complaint as the service, or should I say lack of is some of the worst customer service I have ever encountered. It is nothing short of woeful. This is not just once but during a previous conversation at an earlier date and repeatedly today. I have been online to try to access my policy documents. A problem that I was told would be resolved a few weeks ago but no. I was also told that I would be emailed my policy document but again this did not happen. Today I have spent hours trying to communication with your 'virtual assistance' which quite frankly was an absolute joke. Then I spoke to one of your staff who said she would email out my docs after telling me that the reason I cannot access them is because you have the wrong email address. Again wrong because I have to login with the correct email address. Needless to say she sent me an out of date policy that expired last year. I then had contact via whatsapp but where I did not respond immediately I ended up with the bot trying to ascertain my experience and would not let me communicate with the person that had messaged. Finally again I rang and was told by your operator, that they could not access my documents as they only have access to your old system and she would transfer me to someone who is on the new system. I spent half hour on hold before I finally gave up. This service falls way below par and once I have sourced another quote I will be cancelling my insurance with you because lets face it, if I am unable to provide a potential employer with a copy of my documents it now affects my ability to look for a new job. I will be copying this review and post it on Churchill reviews because I find the customer service to be wholly inadequate.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Excellent service
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Had a travel insurance through Churchill, bad luck i fell ill whilst on holiday so when i came back i put in a claim, Every-time i am trying to phn them i am in a queue for ages then when someone does answer i am cut of, I have spent last few months giving them information again and again that I already did in the first place. The customer service reps are lovely but that is not what customers want we want results. I will not be using this company again for travel insurance
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Absolutely useless system. They lost my insurance policy after changing computer systems and no one I spoke to on the phone could find it. They promised to email me the documents but never did. I need to renew my cover but without the documents I can't do it. Utterly stupid
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Where do I start! Sadly I picked up a speeding fine just after renewing my policy last year - come this year a) no way of entering this on the website b) no way of contacting the company as you hold on and it says there is a fault on the line (for the last month??????) and c) when at 8:30pm I finally got through I got cut off (after the chap said he couldn’t enter the fine either!) Really not sure how I’m supposed to sort this out and how I would ever be able to enter a claim, so will have no choice but to go with another company through gocompare
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Great price and good cover for landlords insurance
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Good but wait until you have an home emergency, the so called CET company that looks after their home emergency claim will let you decide whether it is worth insuring with Churchill in the first place!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I went on a site to get insurance for a van, the company I chose was Churchill. I completed the application and was accepted and paid in full. A few days later I received an email from Brightside insurance who apparently insure vans for Churchill. They asked for a copy of the V5 registration. The van has only just been bought so we could not produce it. From then on I received monthly threats that the insurance would be cancelled unless I produced it. Each month I had to get them to extend the insurance because DVLA was taking well over 6 weeks to send out V5s. No explanation was given for requesting a V5 which I have never had to produce before. I was asked for proof that I had applied for a V5, which I sent, but still the threats to cancel continued. DVLA were not taking phone calls but I managed to send a message to them explaining my situation and they replied and told me when I could expect the V5. I sent this to Brightside and was given a deadline and then told I had to pay a further £149 for the insurance. I was told t was because changes were made! No changes had been made at all. I was then told the wrong date of purchase for the van was put down on the application, which I could not dispute because I had no access to my original application of the Churchill website. I was forced to pay, however Brightside's fee of £35 was removed. I experienced over 3 month hanging on the phone every month because of this! I will never use either company again and would never recommend them either. If you use them take a photo shot of anything you do with them online for your own security.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Cannot contact. Been waiting on phone for 1 1/2 hours as I urgently need a copy of insurance. When I got through advisor had no idea and put me on hold for another hour. Terrible
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Their fees for making any small amendment are extortionate. From a change of address to swapping a car - they hit you where it hurts. And, thanks to modern technology, what’s even more gruelling is that you do all the work! The joys of car ownership are practically zero now thanks to an ever desperate money grabbing government and local councils, rubbish roads, idiotic smart motorways and every kind of conceivable speed trap - this bunch of on-line pirates compound the misery ten fold. Then again - what’s the alternative.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Verry happy with our insurance bought through. gocompare ."
Helpful Report
(Home Insurance) - Posted 2 months ago
Great price and extremely helpful if i need to know more about my car insurance
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Very good insurance company but not the cheapest
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Terrible insurance company. Wrote off my vehicle after a no fault claim, the vehicle was virtually irreplaceable but they refused to repair, then offered me a derisory sum to compensate on the basis that there were no cars around like mine so that was best estimate of valuation they could make. Then accused me of trying to profit when I asked for more even though I originally wanted my vehicle repaired. Took 3 days to provide a hire vehicle and then took the hire vehicle away before cheques even arrived to replace it. Appalling service, never use Churchill!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Been with this insurer 9yrs. They are quite pricey and never seem to have any offers. Received renewal details for home contents insurance, up from £77 to £98. Did some price comparisons via Go Compare, several policies much cheaper, but phoned Churchill to see what they could offer. Spoke to a very helpful Adviser who agreed to renew policy at last year's price. In fact, gave me £2.50 off. Result. Stayed with them!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Tried to change my reg number online but did not work have spent 3 days 45 mins each time on the phone to them and still not got through to them Will not insure with them again dreadful customer service
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"The process to apply for the policy was simple and uncomplicated"
Helpful Report
(Home Insurance) - Posted 3 months ago
Churchill is rated 3.87 based on 1,351 reviews