Sure Thing Reviews

3.48 Rating 552 Reviews
62 %
of reviewers recommend Sure Thing
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat

Write Your review

Tell us how Sure Thing made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Absolutely shocking !! after I sold my car at end of my policy date was then told I owed £130!! It’s taken me over 3 months to try and sort after they wanted proof I had sold car to be told I owed £18 which I have tried to pay but been kept on hold for over 30 mins the past 3 days to then go onto live chat to hope I could simply sort but was told I needed to speak to an advisor so asked if I could be called back which was told would do ASAP was then asked the best number to contact so I told them my home number as I don’t get a good signal on my mobile. For them then ring me on my mobile!!!! So tried ringing again and on hold a further 20mins to then be told 4th in the que!!! Absolutely shocking customer service complete rip off Avoid this company!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I'm sorry to hear that you have been unhappy with the service provided by Sure Thing!. If you can email your details to feedback@surething.co.uk I will arrange for one of the team to call you directly to collect payments. Regards, Vicky.
Posted 2 years ago
Rubbish customer service . After buying my insurance over the phone, I noticed the information was wrong on the paperwork. I call back to change my details and they tried to charged me £30 for their mistake and the premium went up by £100. So, I cancelled the policy and still got charged £30 for their mistake. Poor service!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Tony, thank you for taking the time to leave your one star review. We're sorry to hear that you have been unhappy with the service provided by Sure Thing!. I would like to look into this for you if you would email your policy details to feedback@surething.co.uk. Regards, Vicky.
Posted 2 years ago
Money scammers, there are many better insurance companies out there. DO NOT buy car insurance with these crooks....
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave your one star review. We're sorry to hear that you have been unhappy with the service provided by Sure Thing!. Can you please email your policy details to feedback@surething.co.uk. Regards, Vicky.
Posted 2 years ago
Terrible, terrible experience, customer service is shocking....
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Zoe, thank you for taking the time to leave your one star review. We're really sorry to hear that you have been unhappy with the service provided by Sure Thing!. Can you please email your policy details to feedback@surething.co.uk to allow us to look into this for you. Regards, Vicky.
Posted 2 years ago
Awful company,money scammers and very unprofessional..
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave your one star review. We're very sorry to hear that you have been unhappy with the service provided. Can you please email your policy details to feedback@surething.co.uk to allow us to look into this for you. Regards, Vicky.
Posted 2 years ago
These guys are crooks pushy money scammers and very unprofessional.... They don't know how to treat customers and try to push for unjustifiable payments...
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave your one star review. We're sorry to hear that you have been happy with the service provided by Sure Thing. Can you please email your policy details to feedback@surething.co.uk and we will look into this for you. Regards, Vicky.
Posted 2 years ago
Legal con men,avoid avoid
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Clint, thank you for taking the time to leave your one star review. We're sorry to hear that you have been unhappy with the service provided by Sure Thing!. Please be advised we make you aware that the dash cam is included in the cost of your policy. You can keep the dash cam after cancellation at which point £49.02 will be retained towards the cost of this, however should you wish to return it to Halfords your account will be credited with £49.02. Can you please email details of your concerns regarding additional charges to feedback@surething.co.uk along with your policy details and we will be happy to investigate this for you. Regards, Vicky.
Posted 2 years ago
After taking out a policy with surething, they cancelled this now they are asking for a cancellation fee 60.00 when they cancelled it, 10.00 fee for sorting out the monthly paper which they never sent me to sign or even sign online dispite chasing them, break down at cover 8.49 which I never took out as my car comes with 3 years cover, 10.00 legal cover which I never took out, dash cam which was part of the deal, and I’ve offered to send this back but they have never supplied an address to send it back to them,,, I’ve now gone to the ombudsman about this Avoid this company at all cost
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Darren, thank you for taking to time to leave your 1 star review. I am sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the service provided by Sure Thing!. All of our fees and charges as well as terms and conditions of the policy are disclosed both online and via telephone prior to purchasing a policy. I would however appreciate the opportunity to look into this for you and I would like you to email me your policy details to feedback@surething.co.uk. Regards, Richard.
Posted 2 years ago
Came up as good price on comparison website, so I clicked the link but it didn't work, I then went to their website and put in the reference number and this didn't work, then tried direct chat you guessed it, that didn't work, so gave them one last chance and called in, after 20 minutes I gave in. Now insured elsewhere and on reading previous reviews frankly I'm delighted I didn't take out my insurance here, maybe changing the name to "can't contact sure thing" would be a somewhat better suited name! With service such as this I'm more than sure they will not be in business long.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave your one star review, we are very sorry you have been unable to get in touch with us, if you could please send me an email at feedback@surething.co.uk with your quote number or your contact number you tried to contact us on, i would like the chance to investigate your problems in contacting us. I hope to hear from you soon. Ross
Posted 2 years ago
AVOID! AVOID! AVOID! Extortionate cancelation fees! Extra charges for clerical errors they made! £170 to cancel my policy?? rip off artists!! Never pay monthly either they'll shaft you!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave your one star review. Please be advised our cancellation fee after the first 14 days is £60, however you will also be charged for the time that your policy was active and any optional extras are also charged in full after the first 14 days. All of our fees and charges as well as terms and conditions of the policy are disclosed both online and via telephone prior to purchasing a policy but I appreciate this doesn't take away from the frustration of having to pay cancellation fees when cancelling your policy. If you have any specific aspects of your cancellation you would like me to investigate please email me at feedback@surething.co.uk and i will be happy to investigate this for you. Regards, Ross.
Posted 2 years ago
I thought Dick Turpin was dead but this robbing crew takes the prize. £60 to cancel a policy. try other companies please.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave your one star review. Please be advised our cancellation fee after the first 14 days is £60. All of our fees and charges as well as terms and conditions of the policy are disclosed both online and via telephone prior to purchasing a policy but I appreciate this doesn't take away from the frustration of having to pay cancellation fees when cancelling your policy. If you have any specific aspects of your cancellation you would like me to investigate please email me at feedback@surething.co.uk and i will be happy to investigate this for you. Regards, Ross.
Posted 2 years ago
Avoid at all costs. After taking out a policy for £200 and making 2 instalments of £25 I had to cancel my insurance. For this they charged a whopping £85! When I questioned it the lady became very abrupt and told me I should read the bottom page of the agreement. Whilst I appreciate it may well be there it doesn’t excuse a cancellation cost that is nearly half the total policy cost! Disgusted.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave your one star review. We do charge a £60 cancellation fee if you do need to cancel a policy after the first 14 days, however this is in addition to any premium from the insurer or any charges for time on cover. If you would like to me look into this further please email your policy details to feedback@surething.co.uk. Regards, Ross.
Posted 2 years ago
"I spent 3 days calling spending between 20 to 30 minutes on hold before giving up. I tried to activate my quote on line and every time I put my date of birth in it would change it. So after numerous attempts and several frustrating days I tried live chat. I explained my predicament and sat and waited for reply..............that didn't come. If it's this bad trying to take out a policy with this company god help anyone trying to make a claim."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Hazel, thank you for taking the time to leave your one star review. We're sorry to hear that you have been unhappy with the service provided by Sure Thing!. We are currently experiencing a very busy time and we endeavour to answer your calls and chats as quickly as possible, however there are times when our customers will have to wait longer than normal to speak with one of the team. If you would still like to discuss the quote please email the details to feedback@surething.co.uk and we can arrange for one of the team to call you. Regards, Vicky.
Posted 2 years ago
I had a 1999 honda crv insured with surething I had y=this for 2 months & was happy with the £36 but the car broke & I had to scrap so i brought another honda crv identical model 1 year newer i need to insure this when i had brought irt so i logged in went on to change car put in the reg 7 it flashed up £495 didn't think anything of it as this is what it cost originaly & i was paying monthly but hen i got an email telling me that i had taken out an additional premium & was now going to cost me £111 a month which i don't understand. i have had a load of cars over the years & when ever i have changed my car they have just charged a transfer fee of normally £25 to £30 then the policy continues. So please be carful if you use this insurance company & change your car they will tart another premium & charge you three times as much
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave your one star review. Changing the vehicle details on the policy can impact the price that the underwriters of your policy are willing to offer. We do charge a £30 service fee to adjust your policy, however this is in addition to any premium from the insurer. If you would like to me look into this further please email your policy details to feedback@surething.co.uk. Regards, Vicky.
Posted 2 years ago
Awful company. Spent 1.5 hours trying to have business class 1 added. Cheap but dreadful service
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave your one star review. We're sorry to hear that you have been unhappy with the service provided by Sure Thing!. We are currently experiencing a very busy time and we endeavor to answer your calls and chats as quickly as possible, however there are times when our customers will have to wait longer than normal to speak with one of the team.We can only apologies for this and the inconvenience caused in the meantime. Regards, Vicky.
Posted 2 years ago
Absolutely awful experience! Within minutes of buying the insurance I realised that I'd made a mistake after discovering that other insurance companies do not charge 57% APR to pay in instalments. I thought the APR wold be standard, but it isn't so beware. I called to cancel the very next morning (just 12 hours after taking out the insurance) and was told I needed to pay approx. £60-70 cancellation charges for 12 hours cover! Was actually given 2 different quotes to leave, they couldn't get it right! I was over a barrel so decided to stay, then 2 weeks later received a letter to say they are adding £300 to my policy for a slight change to my policy! I called again to cancel as this policy is quoted with the same insurer £400 cheaper on several other sites, they are now threatening cancellation charges of just under £200, £118 of which are for excess protection and breakdown cover. I asked if there is an option not to cancel the excess prot/breakdown and to keep these elements in place and was told no. I need to pay for 12 months yet they will be deactivated immediately hahaha, you couldn't make it up. Such an unethical company, definitely not getting a penny out of me!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi , Thank you for taking the time to leave your one star review, we are sorry you have been unhappy with the service and costs involved when paying direct debit, our finance is provided by Close Brothers Premium Finance and the APR is 19.4% on our policies, we find this is inline with other providers within the insurance industry. We do offer the option to pay this policy in full with no interest charged. All of our fees and charges as well as terms and conditions of the policy are disclosed both online and via telephone prior to purchasing a policy but I appreciate this doesn't take away from the frustration of having to pay cancellation fees when cancelling your policy. Your cancellation figure will also change depending on the date you action the cancellation as you are charged for the days your policy has been active. ^Ross
Posted 2 years ago
A dreadful experience. One of the worst culprits for hidden charges. On telling them that I was changing they put up the cost of my car insurance by £250. I asked how much it would cost to cancel the policy and they told me over the phone that there was a £60 cancellation fee, all well and good. They subsequently claimed that they gave me the full sorry story, but they did not. I found a better quote, and came back to cancel, guess what it was now £160 to leave and I was over a barrel. The fact is that they are a broker, although they pose on comparison sites as an insurer. This was not made clear, except buried in the terms and conditions of course, and I had to pay both THEIR broker's cancellation fee AND the REAL insurer's cancellation fee. Why should I have to pay TWO cancellation fees? Why does a broker need to charge a cancellation fee? Avoid and beware. Go with a reputable insurer like Direct Line.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Oliver, thank you for taking the time to leave your one star review. All of our fees and charges as well as terms and conditions of the policy are disclosed both online and via telephone prior to purchasing a policy but I appreciate this doesn't take away from the frustration of having to pay cancellation fees when cancelling your policy. Your cancellation figure will also change depending on the date you action the cancellation as you are charged for the days your policy has been active. If you would like me to investigate any specific concerns you have please don't hesitate to email me directly on feedback@surething.co.uk. Regards, Vicky.
Posted 2 years ago
Just hung up the phone after 20 minutes on hold to cancel my policy. Will be writing in by snail mail it will be quicker. DO NOT AUTO RENEW POLICY WITH THESE GUYS , RIP OFF
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave your one star review. We're sorry to hear that you wish to cancel your policy. If you can email your policy details to feedback@surething.co.uk we will be happy to look into this for you. Regards, Vicky.
Posted 2 years ago
Impossible to speak to anyone on the phone regarding policy changes. Always on hold due to high volume calls. Live chat - no response either No replies to email sent to complaints. Rubbish customer service experience, certainly won’t renew.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave your one star review. We're sorry to hear that you have been unhappy with the service provided by Sure Thing!. If you require assistance with your policy please send your policy details to feedback@surething.co.uk. Regards, Vicky.
Posted 2 years ago
I have just taken out a motor policy with them. However, trying to contact them is an absolute nightmare!!! Three calls of waiting 20mins plus and STILL didn't get through!!! I have a simple question which could be done with and email - but guess what, I can't find an email address and there is no response from their web contact form. And don't even mention the chat line! I started that when I called and 20 mins on - nothing!!! I will say that when I was taking out the insurance, the guy I spoke to was friendly, knowledgeable and on the ball - but he is being let down by the rest of the company. I wanted to write to the CEO, but I couldn't find one or even a MD. I ask myself, is this a real company??? I can't answer the questions below because I never got through to anyone!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Phil, thank you for taking the time to leave your one star review. We are experiencing a very busy period at the moment and unfortunately our customers may have to wait longer than normal to speak with one of the team. If you have not yet spoken with the customer service department please email your query to feedback@surething.co.uk and I will be happy to help. Regards, Vicky.
Posted 2 years ago
Sure Thing is rated 3.48 based on 552 reviews